FB Twitter

South Mill at Meikle Trochry

South Mill at Meikle Trochry

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A one bed holiday cottage located in the scenic Perthshire countryside near Dunkeld. The cottage sleeps up to 2 guests. There are two cottages next door to each other which can be hired individually or together, each with private balconies to spot eagles, osprey, pine marten and wild cat. Sleeps 2. Bedrooms 1. Garden. Parking.

A Tranquil Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Mill is a charming, comfortable and well equipped property in one of the most scenic and tranquil areas of Perthshire. Ann, who owns the property, gave us a very warm welcome and has lots of knowledge on the local area. We recommend this property highly.

Jim from stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 28 nights in April 2017


Beuatiful spot to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and the cottage is very well appointed. Very comfortable and provided everything we needed. Would recommend to other visitors.

Debbie from Bradford stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2016


Warm, comfortable and inviting

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Mill is in a delightful setting. The Mill itself is warm, comfortable and tastefully furnished and it met all of our needs - we recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful break or somewhere as a base to enjoy the wonderful walks.

Ann and Ian from Trochry stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 10 nights in October 2016


A great base for exploring the wonderful countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Mill is located in a peaceful countryside location only a few miles from Dunkeld and all the amenities it offers. The upside down house means no lugging of suitcases upstairs to the bedroom and provides a lovely sunny living area where the visiting birds provide breakfast and evening entertainment. A cosy, warm house, with ample room for a couple, and decent facilities. Great selection of maps and information about the local area is provided and all in all a very pleasant place in which to charge your batteries and relax.

Judith from Hayle stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 6 nights in September 2016


Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ann helped us very last minute with this cottage. She did everything to have a perfect holiday together with our 4 month old baby. The cottage is very close to the city of perth and is very central for some nice hiking trips.
We will certainly recommend the cottage!


Klaas & Silvie & Fien Espagnet from stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 5 nights in June 2016


A great retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at South Mill with the lovely owner Ann always on hand if you need her. The property is in an beautiful spot surrounded by the most stunning views and we will definitely be back.

Megan and Glen from Maidstone stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in May 2016


The perfect weekend retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Mill is a charming apartment in an idyllic setting - the perfect spot for a short break. The rooms are tastefully decorated with furnishings of a high standard.

Liz from Glasgow stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 2 nights in April 2016


Cosy, comfortable and peaceful escape

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous visit to South Mill. Ann provided a warm welcome as always with those special touches to make us feel at home. Cosy cottage with pretty much all you need for a break away from it all but without feeling too isolated. Well positioned for getting to lots of lovely places for great walks.

Louise from Sheffield stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in December 2015


A cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Mill is a lovely cosy, cottage with everything you could possibly need. After long walks it was wonderful to return to the cottage, light the wood burning stove and hunker down on the comfy sofa for the night with a good book or a DVD. The underfloor heating in the bathroom and the storage heaters also kept the bedroom toasty. The owner was very welcoming and full of local knowledge. We would definitely return.

Linda from Edinburgh stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 2 nights in November 2015


Trochry South Mill October Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What we received was as on the label.Ann very knowledgeable and we could have used her more! Enrtance about to be improved .Straath Braan incl. river very exciting.

Robert and Jane from stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2015


Lovely, comfortable and cosy place to stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a lovely, cosy and comfortable place to stay. The owner, Ann, was very friendly and helpful. It was a beautiful location, although we needed to get in the car to go to Dunkeld and we had hoped we could have been able to walk to town.

Guest from Pentyrch stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 5 nights in September 2015


Cozy and comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautifull little house with very comfortable beds. We had a lovely time here. The only thing missing is a private place to sit outside. The hostess Ann is very kind and there was a table set for tea when we arrived.


Inge from Loosdrecht stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in August 2015


Ann Lindsay replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. Sorry there was not enough outside space for you, but so pleased that you had a really special time here.

A thoughtfully and comprehensively equipped cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in this beautiful place and the cottage lacked nothing. All the little extras were there, even a cake and pot of tea to welcome us. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water.
The owner is a delightful lady and is most hospitable and helpful. She had provided lots of maps and suggestions for places to visit in the area.
We would definitely stay at South Mill on any future visits to Scotland.


Susan from Dalyellup stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in August 2015


Brilliant anniversary holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, very scenic, fantastic cottage. very quiet & peaceful location.

Friendly, helpful & thoughtful owner. Going back ASAP!

Amazing!


Guest from Manchester stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in July 2015


Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at south mill and had a great time. The cottage was warm, clean and we'll stocked with cooking utensils. Ann Lindsey was always on hand to answer any questions about local walks etc. Great time had by all.

Isla from Dalkeith stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in July 2015


South mill

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owner on site and very helpful with any problems that occurred and resolved them immediately. Perhaps some info in rental for trash separation with bags provided

Elizabeth and Jesse from Center stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 5 nights in June 2015


Excellent self catering in Perthshire

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for exploring the Perthshire area. Ann the owner was on site and gave us good advice on the area.
The cottage was pleasantly decorated and provide all equipment for our self catering needs. Double doors opened to a balcony overlooking a small burn and trees. The bedroom, being on the ground floor was a plus for international travellers.


Guest from stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in May 2015


A lovely relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 07 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy cottage, ideally located to explore the area. Plenty to do within the area. Dog friendly and lovely walks nearby. The owner was charming and friendly. We often weekend away and have said we would put this on our list of places to come back to.

Guest from Arbroath stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in April 2015


An excellent wee retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, 7 moth old son and I had a wonderful 4 night stay at South Mill at Meikle Trochry over Easter. The owner Ann was extremely helpful and welcoming, but not intrusive. The accommodation was lovely, a terrific, peaceful hideaway for a few sunny days, with great local walks on the doorstep and but a short hop in the car to Dunkeld and Birnam for a stroll by the Tay and a pleasing cafe lunch. Would totally recommend this property to others and will very likely come back in the future.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 4 nights in April 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had s great stay in this really cozy and sympathetically designed and furnished cottage . Owner was really friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay again

Caroline from Aboyne stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in March 2015


Weekend stay at south mill

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thourghly enjoyed another few days at south mill, Trochry .
This cosy cottage set in beautiful rural Perthshire is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday .


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in November 2014


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at South Mill. The website gave a very accurate description of the accommodation.
Very comfortable and thoughtfully equipped.


Guest from Penicuik stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2014


Beautiful Haven

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Charming cottage set in beautiful countryside. The cottage is equipped with everything you need and lots more. Many towns and villages situated a short drive away with plenty of good walks, pubs and restaurants. Our relaxing holiday was perfect and the cottage certainly had a hand in that. Highly recommend!

Guest from Lytham St Annes stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2014


Good September break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location from which to enjoy Perthshire. The cottage was cosy and comfortable with everything needed for a pleasant stay. Plenty of local walks. If only the weather could be this good all the time.

Guest from Rochester stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 14 nights in September 2014


Quite Location

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A peaceful location not too far from the main A9 with links into Dunkeld and Birnam ,as well as other villages to visit along either side of this main route .The small single track road with its twists and turns over Glen Quaich was spectacular on the top section where wild grouse and pheasants flew across this glen into the mist.

After busy days out and about discovering these gems of beauty it was good to know that returning to South Mill you would have peace and comfort to recoup for another trip the next day.


Guest from Stevenston stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in September 2014


Superb South Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Mill accommodation is extremely clean, every need catered for and nice welcoming tray of goodies. Set in a superb location with excellent local information guide, ideas for walks, eating out etc. Helpful and friendly, but not intrusive owner lives across yard. Will definitely stay here again.

Guest from Maidstone stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 4 nights in September 2014


Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time that we stayed at South Mill. We had a very pleasant week with daily enjoyable walks in the lovely countryside. No hestitation in recommending.

Guest from Birmingham stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in September 2014


a really lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a super holiday in lovely cottage that was well situated for our needs and some good walks from the front door -highly recommended for all year round visits

Guest from Ampthill stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in August 2014


Lovely area . Comfortable accomodation .

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable . Beautiful area . Very peaceful. Great host ,

recommend this to friends . Sightseeing ,villages . Steept in

History . Would go back .



Guest from Swindon stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 12 nights in August 2014


comfy cottage at South Mill Meikle Trochry

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A charming stone cottage in a quiet country location far from the madding crowd. Lots of birdlife that come to the feeders on the balcony.

A washing machine is in a boiler room cupboard just inside the front entrance. The double bedroom with large firm bed and soft bed linen is on the ground floor with a view of the wooded area opposite. The ensuite bathroom has large towels and a bath with shower over and a separate shower attachment for hair washing. Under floor heating and heated towel rail.

2 sets of a few stairs to the upper floor that has an open plan kitchen/lounge with 2 skylights and log burning stove. Very tastefully furnished including table and chairs, settee and all mod cons provided including a small dishwasher.

Free Wi Fi and DVDs provided.

Very peaceful and only 3.5 miles from Dunkeld and a short drive to Aberfeldy where there is a watermill with art gallery, bookshop and café and several shops and small cafes.



Guest from West Molesey stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in August 2014


Perfect accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt very welcome - after several of hours driving to get here, we found a nice piece of cake and some strawberries waiting for us… a cup of tea and relax! We love open-plan-living and found South Mill Cottage a really wonderful creation. There are a lot of attractive details such as the tables in the living space or the lighting of the staircase. We also appreciated the descriptions of walks right from the doorstep – very amusing and informative! And we totally enjoyed those walks.
All in all we had a very pleasant time and we think about coming back again – which is quite an award as we barely stay at the same place twice…


Guest from Solingen stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 6 nights in July 2014


A wonderful week in Scotland

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week staying in the South Mill at Meikle Trochry, the mill is very clean and comfortable (great king size bed) and a perfect place to use as a base to travel around Scotland. It was a delight to meet Anne and she was a great help for all our tourist question and gave us some wonderful suggestions. We were looking for a small town to base ourselves in Scotland and chose Dunkeld and it was just what we were after, just wished we could of had 2 weeks instead of 1.
I would definitely recommend the South Mill at Meikle Trochry to anyone wanting a nice quite place to enjoy Scotland, and hope to go back ourselves one day.






Guest from stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in July 2014


Lovely stay at South Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Mill is in a gorgeous setting, not too far away from 'civilisation' but very peaceful. Good base, Ann is very helpful in suggestions for walks.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 10 nights in July 2014


A Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I had a wonderful stay at the South Mill at Meikle Trochry. Ann replied promptly to my email and accommodated us at short notice. The cottage itself is a lovely space and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get away for a short while. It is also perfectly situated for exploring Perthshire and even the bottom of the Cairngorms.

Guest from stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in May 2014


A very enjoyable week

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing and comfortable stay. The cottage lived up to expectations and the owner was as helpful as she could possibly be. The location was just right - quiet and peaceful but not too far away from all necessary amenities. All in all, I would highly recommend both the cottage and the area.

Guest from Clitheroe stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in May 2014


short break

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the mill on Friday night it was amaculate and spotless .lovely tray left out with biscuits and tea and a lovely welcome card .can't wait to go back up in summer and autumn. James brennan

Claire and James from Ayr stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in May 2014


A week in Trochry

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, warm and comfortable cottage. Owners welcoming and thoughtful in providing everything you need for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. A short drive into Dunkeld where there are shops for all your catering needs and several good eating places. A good area for walks to suit all abilities. We saw the ospreys nesting at Loch Lowes which was a bonus.

Guest from Heywood stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in March 2014


A beautiful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd stay and great again. The cottage is cosy and warm even in February in the snow! There is everything you need and more. Anne the owner is marvelous, always there if you need her and has a wealth of knowledge of the local and surrounding area. We will be back again next year.

Guest from Maidstone stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 6 nights in February 2014


A warm welcome guaranteed

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to South Mill was just as good as the first. The cottage is warm and cosy with everything to hand - a real home from home.

We enjoyed watching the Roe deer who visited each morning and the variety of birds who feed on the balcony.

A lovely cottage in a great location - we will be back!


Guest from West Markham stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in January 2014


Festive break 2013

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay here & found the place to be perfect all round.
A delightful, charming landlady on site too who was most approachable and helpful with nothing was too much trouble.
Would highly recommend and would return back.


M & Farhana from Old Crookhey Farm, Cockerham stayed at South Mill at Meikle Trochry for 4 nights in December 2013