FB Twitter

North Mill at Meikle Trochry

North Mill at Meikle Trochry

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Traditional 1 bedroom holiday cottages located in the scenic Perthshire countryside near Dunkeld. Each cottage sleeps up to 2 guests. Cottages are next door to each other and can be hired individually or together, each with private balconies to spot eagles, osprey, pine marten and wild cat. See North AND South Mill listings on this site to hire both.
Sleeps 2/4. Bedrooms 1. Garden. Parking.

A beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at both North and South Mill over recent years. The accommodation is perfect for a couple who like us are looking for an away from it all break but within easy driving distance of the beautiful surrounding areas. Ann the owner is always on hand with her vast amount of information on just about anything if you need her. We love it there and will hopefully be returning later this year.

Megan and Glen from Maidstone stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 8 nights in April 2017


A great holiday destination

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
North mill is a very comfortable apartment with all the mod cons and is situated in one of the most beautiful places. Its peaceful and quiet but near to Dunkeld a lovely town which has places to eat and a small co op. Near by there are water falls at rumbling bridge and also the Hermitage .Pitlochry isn't far away and you can go to the theatre and see the fish ladder. There is always so much to do and see the wild life is wonderful we have seen deer, eagles,and salmon leaping . The autumn colours around north mill are stunning and you can do many walks from your door step, just up the road is corbenic poetry path which is lovely .
I couldn't recommend north mill enough.



Lee from Kent stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in November 2016


Comfortable and relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay has been restful in this delightful accommodation. A great base for our extended stay and our dog loved it, too. Ann is helpful and knowledgeable. Recommended.

Ann and Ian from Trochry stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 17 nights in October 2016


5 star cosy hideaway cottge

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
North Mill Cottage is an idyllic cosy hideaway for 2 and is equipped with everything you need for a comfortable and peaceful stay. It's hard to believe one is only minutes from the A9.
Ann, the owner, is delightful and helpful but not intrusive and she always leaves a delicious welcome treat for her guests.
We've returned time and time again and the added benefit is being welcome to bring your dog along.
I can't recommend it highly enough.



Guest from Murthly stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in August 2016


Trichory Mill

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a warm welcome. There were just a few very small things that could be improved on. The microwave was a very complicated digital one that was also an oven etc. If they were there I didn't find instructions for use so it wasn't used. For us, a more basic one would have been better. Re the kitchen some pyrex dishes or bowls would have been good (I cook all o ur meals). I hadn't used a ceramic top before, but I found the instructions and had no problems with it after initial use. The television we could only let us access channel 1-5 all other Sky were unobtainable and very often the Tele lost its picture. I found out that if I gave it a gentle tap in one corner I could often get it back, but not always and with the bad weather we spent more time than perhaps we would have done if it had stopped raining. We have n't got Skye but have Freeview so found using two control confusing but I know a lot of people do have Skye these days. I must say that al l these critisisms are only meant to be used constructively. The accommodation was very comfortable. Bedroom and shower room were excellent with all that could be wanted and lounge area and kitchen area were were very good too.


Barbara and Mick from Huntingdon stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in June 2016


Ann Lindsay replied more than 1 year ago
Than you so much for your very useful comments. I am so sorry about both the microwave. Actually the one in situ decided to stop working a few hours before you arrived and I heaved my one upstairs, completely forgetting to put the instructions in. Please accept my apologies. A nice, simple, dial one is on its way! As for the television, there are many channels available on Freeview, but Sky with us is so variable that often unobtainable. Hence also the electricity supply was cutting in and out when you stayed.... very annoying for us at the end of the line, but I will certainly look into the difficulties you had. Again, so sorry. Just pleased the rest of the accommodation was satisfactory. Best wishes, Ann

Dunkeld Delight

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the North Mill. Ann is the perfect host; the place is a real home from home; and we couldn't recommend it more - we'll be back !

Karen from Glasgow stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 5 nights in May 2016


A warm welcome and a delightful hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When you arrive at this little gem of a hideaway you will appreciate the warm welcome you receive from Anne, the owner. Your every comfort is catered for with thoughtful touches. Opening the French Windows onto the little balcony overlooking open fields and a pretty stream you will enjoy the peace and tranquility as you breathe in the fresh Perthshire air. If you're chilly there's a very efficient wood burner for you to cosy up in front of. Freshly prepared meals using local produce are available to order and there's a regular oven as well as a microwave making it easy to self cater. You wouldn't think this little haven is only a few minutes from the A9. Convenient, comfortable and quiet and highly recommended.

Guest from Murthly stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in April 2016


A perfect 'mini-moon' in the coutryside

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After our wedding in Perth, my wife & I took a short honeymoon at the North Mill in Trochry. We are great fans of Perthshire, love being outdoors among the hills and the trees, and Trochry is ideally located for exactly that. From the mill you can walk straight in to Tay Forest Park, exploring a huge variety of walking routes.
Unfortunately for me, I was unwell during our stay, but found that the mill was a lovely place to just sit, read some of my books and watch the birds come to the feeder on the balcony.
If you're looking for a peaceful getaway, with opportunities to see some great countryside, then North Mill (or South Mill) in Trochry are just what you need. I know we will be back many times in future.


Andi from Ellon stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in April 2016


A perfect hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
North Mill Cottage is a perfect hideaway for couples. The owner is charming and extremely helpful but not intrusive in any way. The cottage is very well equipped to a high standard and comfortable.

Guest from Murthly stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in March 2016


Short break in North Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our short break . The cosy cottage was a perfect base for a relaxed (and sunny )few days in Perthshire . We will be back here soon .

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 4 nights in February 2016


Look no further

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd stay with Dunkeld Holidays at Trochey and as fab as usual. A cosy cottage with everything you could possibly want ( and lots more). A definite get away from everything location but has easy access to the busier areas. Ann Lindsay the owner lives nearby and offers lots of local information if wanted - a truly lovely lady. We will definitely be returning.

Glen and Megan from Maidstone stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 5 nights in February 2016


Excellent weekend break.

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at North Mill many times and have always thoroughly enjoyed it. The friendly welcome, quality of the accommodation and natural beauty of the area are outstanding.

Angus from Glasgow stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in February 2016


Highly recommended cottage comfort

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at North Mill, Trochry and Ann, the owner, is a marvellous host. Sufficient to say we have booked to go back almost every month this year. Do book, you won't be disappointed and you can take your beloved pooch with you too.

Guest from Murthly stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in January 2016


The perfect B and B

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another stay at our favourite cottage. Really nice attention to detail like heated bathroom floors, a lovely wood burning stove, and my favourite, red squirrels playing in the snow outside the big windows in the sitting room. Highly recommended.

Laurence from Edinburgh stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 2 nights in January 2016


A short Christmas Break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is really perfect in every way. We have stayed over Christmas twice and we could not have asked for
anything more comfortable.. When we arrived Anne Lindsay was most welcoming and made a point in coming to
say fair well and chatted before we left. We were sorry we could no stay longer. We would give it top marks.


Stuart and Elizabeth from Dunkeld stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in December 2015


A wonderful short break

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful stay in the North Mill cottage. I wanted to use the time to study without distractions and it was ideal for getting lots of work done in the cosy living room, with the log burning stove on and with the balcony view over the stream. The cottage itself is tastefully decorated and clean. I had pre-ordered meals from the local chef and these were waiting for me on arrival (as well as tea and cakes!). I felt very at home and Ann was always close by if I needed anything. There are some fantastic walks from the cottage - Rumbling Falls is well worth a visit. Also, I forgot my electric toothbrush at the end of the stay which Ann posted back to me - much appreciated! I would definitely recommend a visit.

Sarah from Edinburgh stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 5 nights in November 2015


A warm friendly welcome, home from home.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both the cottages are beautifully and stylishly furnished, quaint but modern. The under floor heating in the bathroom was a special treat for us, and the location is fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over the Perthshire Amber week, and we would love a return visit.


Trevor from Driffield stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2015


Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tasteful, imaginative and comfortable accommodation in a beautiful setting - enhanced by the availability of access to a kind, helpful and knowledgeable owner.

Anne & Eric from Edinburgh stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2015


A glorious haven ...

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this at the last minute as a birthday treat for my friend and her partner. They had the most wonderful time, found the property to be absolutely excellent and idyllic and I found the owner to be extremely helpful and pleasant. So much so that I have recommended it to someone else who is going to book. Highly recommended.

Guest from Murthly stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in August 2015


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely decorated and had its own stories to tell. These stories are also explained in a book in the cottage, which is very interesting and makes it a personal stay.The surroundings have plenty to offer and Edinburgh is just an hour away. We especially liked the Active Kid Adventure Park in Stanley and the Black Watch Museum in Perth.

Guest from stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in August 2015


Beautifully appointed, re-booked already.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My 6 year old daughter and I had a lovely time. Mrs Lindsay was very kind and accommodating. The cottage is beautifully appointed and cleverly renovated. We loved watching the garden birds and rabbits and I enjoyed the sunrise from the courtyard window while making an early morning cuppa. We have already booked to return in October with our dog! Please note that due to the septic tank, bleach-type cleaning products cannot be used in the bathroom but all necessary products were provided.

Guest from Elgin stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in July 2015


Lovely cottage, warm welcome

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt instantly at home in the lovely, welcoming cottage. The conversion of the mill has been done cleverly and tastefully to make this relatively small place feel spacious and very comfortable. Immaculate throughout and outside where gorgeous flowers line the path to the front door. Our dog was also welcomed wholeheartedly.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 3 nights in June 2015


Quiet, convenient and stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great few days at North Mill and wished that we could have stayed longer. Trochry is an excellent location – very peaceful, but convenient for the A9 and places to eat in Dunkeld.

The property is very well appointed and furnished in a contemporary style (with a satisfying and eclectic range of books too). We were also entertained by the birdlife – swallows in the courtyard plus chaffinches etc. on the balcony feeder.

Ann was very welcoming and had some great suggestions about places to visit. I was particularly grateful for her suggestion that we take the short drive up Glen Quaich to Loch Tay. This is single track and steep in places, but not too difficult. The scenery is gorgeous, with views over moorland to the peaks of the West Highlands. The real highlight though was the short eared owl that we saw quartering the ground – a stunning bird in a stunning place!


Guest from Manchester stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 2 nights in June 2015


Lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great cottage in a lovely location. It is beautifully appointed and we were warmly welcomed by our hostess Anne.

Highly recommend it to other potential guests


Bill and Margaret from , Merivale Christchurch 8014 stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 6 nights in June 2015


Our favourite self catering...but keep it to yourself.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for a fix of mountains, burns, glens, tall trees, lochs, cafes and also Perth (20min) and Edinburgh (70min). Sitting in the lounge watching loads of birds coming through the large balcony window is very relaxing. We were very comfortable here and walks into Dunkeld from Trochry through The Hermitage is wonderful. A real treat.

Guest from stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 14 nights in May 2015


Thank you for a delightful short stay in a GORGEOUS cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband travels extensively for business, staying in 'luxury hotels' regularly. I convinced him to go away with me to a self catering cottage (no small feat) - and he has surprised himself by suggesting that we book again into your cottage in Dunkeld!

We had such a lovely stay and were delighted when we walked through the door to find such a charming cottage, complete with tea and cakes so thoughtfully left for us! The cottage was spotless and very well equipped - perfect. The gorgeous bedroom was warm and comfortable, and we felt spoilt with the underfloor heating in the bathroom, and now thinking of putting it in our own bathroom....

We spent a lovely evening having dinner from the larder (so easy and delicious!) by the fire. And really enjoyed feeling like we were "away from it all" - the large glass doors opening onto the small balcony overlooking trees was particularly enchanting.

Thank you also for your suggestions of short drives from the cottage and places to stop along the way. We will see you again soon!


Guest from Hindhead stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 2 nights in April 2015


North Mill, Trochry

Review submitted on Fri, 15 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time staying at property, always a great stay and well recommended! Ann made us very welcome and is very approachable. The area is also fantastic and scenic.

Guest from Morecombe stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 10 nights in May 2015


Relaxing stay in beautiful part of the country

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stop not far out of Dunkeld and within easy distance of Aberfeldy. Full of character and really comfortable and no need to drive to get out walking.

Guest from stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2014


Autumnal holiday at North Mill, Trochry

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
North Mill, Trochry is a lovely converted mill ideally suited for a couple providing all mod cons along with quaint rustic touches to make it feel very homely and cosy. Situated near Dunkeld and ideal for walking which we enjoyed every day luckily due to the great weather. The mill was supplied with all you require and the owner who lives in an adjacent house made us very welcome with cakes and fresh flowers on our arrival. The surrounding area is very scenic but we loved returning home to the comfort of the log burner in the mill at night. We had a great week and would not hesitate to recommend North Mill to friends and family.

Guest from stayed at North Mill at Meikle Trochry for 7 nights in October 2014