FB Twitter

House on the Harbour

House on the Harbour

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
78% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.3
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.2


This exceptional and beautifully renovated 160 year old harbour-side house provides a spacious and comfortable living space. Two large lounges, with a dining room opening onto a sheltered private patio and small sunny garden. Two king-sized bedrooms, a comfortable twin bedroom and bed settee provide flexible accommodation. If you need even more space we have the apartment upstairs (Penthouse on the Harbour) for rent too. (5% discount if you book both properties).

Sleeps 6 comfortably - can accommodate 8 maximum with use of sofabed (which is chargeable). Parking. Garden. WiFi

Hogmanay 2019

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
6 of us stayed for 3 nights over New Year 2019, and had a great time in The House on the Harbour. The house was spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable and welcoming. We appreciated the quality of the furniture, bedding and towels and the kitchen was very well equipped. We self catered over the 3 nights and there was plenty of glasses, plates & cutlery for our dinner parties. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the East Neuk and would love to return to this lovely house.

Kirstin from Glasgow, stayed at House on the Harbour for 3 nights in December 2019


Jo at ClickBookStay replied 146 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for House on the Harbour. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time over the New Year and found everything to your liking and a well equipped kitchen for your dinner parties. We shall pass on your kind comments to the owner and we hope to welcome you back.

Third time around!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we have now stayed here on 3 occassions probably says it all really. The House on the Harbour is a really special place, very comfortable, perfect location, really high quality fixtures and fittings and beautiful artwork in every room. Probably the best thing about it though is a bit harder to put into words, there's just a lovely 'feel' about the place which is hard to quantify. As always the booking through Click Book Stay couldn't have been easier and communication was excellent throughout.

Stephen from Perth stayed at House on the Harbour for 3 nights in November 2019


ClickBookStay replied 178 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed staying here so much that you have returned for a third time. It is always great to hear from returning guests and that you not only loved the property itself but the great feeling of the property too. This always makes for a much more enjoyable holiday when you feel so welcome in a property. We are happy to hear too that you found the booking process and communication excellent. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards ClickBookStay Team

Modern comfortable house in great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Modern and comfortable house. Very well furnished and fully stocked with good quality kitchen items and appliances. Great location with good restaurants nearby.

Guest from Larbert stayed at House on the Harbour for 3 nights in September 2019


ClickBookStay Team replied 240 days ago
Thank you for your review of House on the Harbour. We are happy to hear that you found the house comfortable and well stocked and also enjoyed the central location with plenty of good restaurants to choose from.

Perfect location to relax or explore.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This property is perfectly positioned allowing you to relax or explore the stunning Scottish landscape. The surrounding areas and the harbour itself are truly beautiful. And don't worry about being too isolated, amenities are close enough if required.

The house itself is very welcoming, well presented and large enough to accommodate 6 (for us, 4 adults and 2 teens) comfortably. The kitchen is well stocked and the knives were sharp which is a real bonus if you plan to cook.

The two main bedrooms are very spacious and we wanted to take the beds home! The third room is quite compact, fine for children but maybe not for fully grown adults.

The living room/s are cosy and the dining area is a good space for eating together.

In the interest of true transparency, the penthouse above can be noisy depending on the occupants. We had noisy neighbours for the first half of our stay. Mainly footsteps and the opening / folding away of the sofa bed. It's acceptable for some but for a light sleeper this will wake you.

Again, particular to our needs, the internet connection really isn't the best. I take a work laptop away for a couple of evenings of work but the signal dropped a lot and wasn't capable of powering my machine and social media for the other guests on their phones. Phone signal inside the house isn't really there... but step outside and it's fine along with strong 4G.

And finally, car parking* isn't always ideal. You will find it's quite a walk from the public parking on the harbour and when the weather isn't great, it's a little annoying. Depending on how busy the harbour is, it could be a five minute walk to the house. We tended to park on the hill as you approach the house, it's much easier.

Yes the house has a very clean and spacious garage but as we all know the convenience of popping the car into the garage a couple of times a day, isn't going to happen. However, if you're the type to explore on foot, you could happily stow the car away for the week and forget about it. We had two cars with us, so one would always have to look for a spot regardless.

Overall we did enjoy our stay and once the noisy footsteps stopped and we weren't be woken at 7am every morning, it was a great place to stay. The area is a keen photographers dream and the coastal path is well worth exploring.

IF you don't drive much, don't require the internet and you're a heavy sleeper, this house would be perfect. : )

--

*Images suggest that parking is available immediately outside the house but this space is for harbour staff, Mon-Fri. Public parking is a little further down (or roadside if you're lucky, first come basis). We visited in the height of summer so it was busier then normal so this may not be an issue in lower seasons.


Martin from Bradford stayed at House on the Harbour for 7 nights in August 2019


A week in Pittenweem

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Executive summary :

Foosty smell especially downstairs

Mixed info re bins/refuse disposal - if you don't have a car how do you access the recycling depot?

Where is the tea pot?

We brought our own bed linen for the travel cot - just as well as you did not advise we'd require to do that. Not an issue - just a question of communication.

Sky sports? - unable to follow the Open whist in residence.

Sleep for eight is a bit of an exaggeration - how do you deal with peace for those downstairs in the TV area whilst others are upstairs in the lounge conducting normal conversation.

And finally, repeat repeat, seriously over priced.




Angus from Aberdeen stayed at House on the Harbour for 7 nights in July 2019


ClickBookStay replied 311 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however we are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at House on the Harbour. We have had excellent reviews for this this property with returning guests. To answer some of your comments; The property was thoroughly cleaned and set-up for guests arriving, as was the garden. Both the owner and caretaker were at the property to ensure the property was in exceptional condition and ready for your early arrival of 2pm that you had requested and was kindly agreed to (even though check-in states from 4pm onwards). They did not notice any smell from the downstairs lounge. With regard to bedding for the cot, an email was sent direct to you on 16th June at 14:24 to advise that there would be a cot and high chair in place but that you would need to bring your own bedding for the cot. This was confirmed by yourselves with a reply at 16:52 on 16th June. Bins/Refuse - there are large bins approximately 6ft away from the property and we only kindly ask that you remove your rubbish from the property. Fife Council has recently changed the opening hours of the local Recycling Centre: there are handwritten updates to the information provided in House on the Harbour Welcome Pack and at the back door. Revised typed and laminated information is scheduled to be provided on 1st August 2019. The price - we feel that for the location and setting of this holiday property as well as the beautiful interior of the property and amenities, the price is appropriate. We worked out that when you break down the cost for the number of people, it amounts to approximately £25 per person per night during the time that you booked. The property is maybe better suited to guests arriving by car and we shall update our listing with this information. However, we have had many guests staying at this property who have used public transport to reach nearby places. With regard to the number of people, your booking stated 6 guests. The property is ideally suited for 6 people but can accommodate an extra two people with the use of the sofabed (for a small additional charge for use). A room screen is provided to enhance ‘peace’ and privacy for those using the sofabed in the downstairs lounge whilst others are using the upstairs lounge. Sky Sports - there is nothing on our listings to say that this property has Sky Sports and with regard to noise level, the photographs show that this property has an open stairwell directly from the lounge and therefore, noise/conversation will travel. We will ensure to update our listings for future reference. Kind regards

Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay there's not much more to say, very convenient luxurious a bit tricky trying to find parking at times. Friendly neighborhood.

Hugh from Edinburgh stayed at House on the Harbour for 5 nights in June 2019


Kirsten at ClickBookStay replied 352 days ago
Hello Hugh, Thank you for your lovely review of House on the Harbour. We are pleased to hear you found the property luxurious. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Kirsten

House on the Harbour

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful well equipped house a very relaxing holiday, lots of lovely walks and pitstops along the way. As a bonus the weather was bright and sunny every day.

Joseph from Paisley stayed at House on the Harbour for 7 nights in December 2018


Terrible place

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
1.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Thoroughly disappointed in our booking experience and stay. House was not as described and was lacking amenities expected including napkins, paper towels and toilet paper. Town was boring and no grocery store to pick up lacking amenities. Towel warmer was broken, no clothes dryer. No screens on windows so tons of bugs came in. Called manager for assistance the first day to report broken towel warmer, bleached towels and missing amenities and never received a return call.

Kamila from Stanwood stayed at House on the Harbour for 4 nights in July 2018


Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place, the house was absolutely spotlessly clean and had everything you could possibly need. Great location, friendly pubs with superb food. The village also had a wonderful wool shop my wife spent a lot of time in, cocoa tree cafe and chocolate shop, ice cream shop, st fillans cave and a really terrific chip shop. Walks along the Fife coastal path to St Monans and Anstruther were very close by. Together with the wonderful home from home and the great weather, Pittenweem had it all

Kevin from Edinburgh stayed at House on the Harbour for 7 nights in June 2018