FB Twitter

Highwards-Gartocharn (Scotland)

Highwards-Gartocharn (Scotland)

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


4 Double En-Suites, 1 Double & Twin with En-Suite, 1 Twin, 1 House Bathroom, 2 Twin En-suites. 1
Indoor Heated Pool. Pool Table. Tennis Court. Children Outdoor Play Area. Free Wifi. 2 Pets Welcome

Great family holiday on Loch Lomond

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loch Lomond was a lovely area for our annual family holiday(21 of us). The house is very well equipped and has masses of space. The children enjoyed playing on the little cars and in the swimming pool.the whole family walked, climbed Ben Nevis, ran, cycled, sailed, canoed and swam in and around the loch
My only practical suggestion is to get the piano tuned, so that although it will always be honky tonk all the notes will sound (I was going to bring up a keyboard, but at the last minute had to change cars and hadn’t space for it)
Thanks for a lovely venue for our holiday

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
No more suggestions



Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So much space, lovely location, very comfortable bedding, lovely pool and efficient booking service.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
No real issues at all.





Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an absolutely perfect house for an extended family get together. We came for a birthday party and all ages (19-86) loved it. The house is incredibly well appointed and unlike other large holiday homes is very well maintained - in NO way tired or in ned of upgrade. The location is fantastic and allows great walks for all abilities and there are wonderful amenities. Emily and Jim provide wonderful service and are on hand for every request, whilst providing all of the privacy one would wish for. We cannot recommend it highly enough and would certainly book it again for another event.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Beautician

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
No

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Nothing further



A 70th birthday celebration to remember.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to spend a special birthday celebration with family and friends of all ages from 1 to 80. The venue exceeded
all expectations from location to the facilities provided. The meal booked for the main event was perfect and Sophie our waitress was very polite and helpful. We booked The Lomand Ceilidh Band for the evening(who were amazing even the oldies joined in) and the furniture had been moved out ready for us to have a fabulous evening. Would love to do it all again as would all our party guests. It has been the topic of conversation since returning home.
If anyone has any doubts about booking this venue be assured it is amazing.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Daily Maid Service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Follow up with large properties for Christmas.



Lovely house in an excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was booked for 15 plus baby for a family reunion for a belated birthday party. The facilities were excellent, the location was lovely and Emily looked after us very well. We used her catering services for dinner one evening and the food was extremely tasty and very good value for money. Would definitely recommend and would book again.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Used Emily 's catering services





A very special location ,and owner .

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Wards was a perfect place for our Golden Wedding Anniversary Party : sufficient accommodation for most of our family ,and plenty of hotels and B&Bs nearby for our guests .
The facilities for the function itself could not be improved and all our guests commented very favourably on the location .
For those staying in the house for the week ,and in particular the children ,the house and its contents of toys/bikes/ play area /pool etc etc was first class .
But the critical ingredient for success was Emily .She came up with a number of superb ideas which helped make both the celebrations and the aftermath of them so special .
She clearly understood how important the week was for our family and ,over the two years we were working with her ,was always highly supportive .
Shame about her weather inducing skills ; but as she said at the end ‘ it is Scotland,after all’

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Anniversary

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Other

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
No comment



The most perfect birthday ever

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is absolutely nothing to fault with High Wards. It is the most beautiful house, furnished to a very high standard throughout in the wonderful surroundings of Loch Lomond side.
A large group of us (family and friends) spent 3 days here, celebrating my 60th birthday and it could not have been better. There is nothing that Emily has not thought of. The spacious public spaces allowed us to do everything we had planned, very comfortably, from a quiz night to a fancy dress party and a murder mystery dinner. It was such a treat to be a belt have a swim first thing every morning! A great start to the day. During the days, we climbed Duncryne, watched the most memorable Scotland v England rugby match on the huge TV screen and had a beautiful walk along Loch Lomond at Balmaha.
Emily's cooking is wonderful - we enjoyed the catering on two of our nights and the chilli, mac n cheese, lasagne and veg curry were all absolutely gorgeous!
Now just trying to think of an excuse for another visit in the future - we will definitely be back.

Thank you, Emily for making our stay so memorable.

Love,
Barbara

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Keep doing what you are doing! Amazing.



High Wards,Gartocharn.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous property in a beautiful location. Great facilities and highest standard of equipment provided. Public rooms and bedrooms were very comfortable. Catering by owner was superb. An ideal venue to have a wonderful time with family and friends.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Booking arrangements etc worked well and I do not have any suggestions for improvements either with booking or with this property





An excellent choice for a family celebration.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With an age range from 6 to 85 we found Highwards was the perfect choice for our week together.
The space inside and out was wonderful with a good choice of sitting and dining space, and very comfortable bedrooms.
The facilities were fantastic, with entertainment options for young and older family members. It has a most peaceful location, but is well positioned for tourism.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
n/a





A celebration in a fabulous house!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am so lucky to have been able to gather all my family and close friends from around the world for a special celebration over a period of 2 weeks at High Wards.

It obviously took a lot of planning and Emily, the owner, was brilliant in helping me with some of it.

The house is decorated and fitted out to a very high standard and, I have to mention the beds, which were so comfortable!!

The only negative is the wifi connectivity which, although it didn't bother me, did bother the younger generation.

All I can say is that, if that is the only negative comment after a stay of 2 weeks, then it is proof of the high quality of the house!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Nine



Stephen's 40th Birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we went to High Wards to celebrate my husband Stephen's 40th Birthday he dint want a party as such so we took some family and friends to celebrate with us. On arrival we were met by Emily the owner who was so nice and showed us round and told us what we needed to know. the house is amazing the grounds are stunning the house had everything you need for your stay.

it was a delight to hire your house for the 5 days and what a beautiful place to create amazing memories with good friends. On departure again Emily came over to say goodbye and made sure everything was okay for our stay.

i would recommend this house to everyone as its just an amazing place.

thanks to emily for the personal touch she gave on arrival and departure.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
the house was amazing nothing else to add.



Lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this break was perfect. The location is stunning, as is the general condition of the house. We were blown away by the size of the place - so many magnificent rooms with so much space that our party of 19 never felt like we were getting in each other's way. There was a lovely, cozy TV room, as well as two other very large spaces to play board games, etc. The swimming pool was excellent too. The standard of furnishing, as well as the quality of the appliances, etc. was very impressive for a self-catering property. We are already planning our next trip.



Easter break at High Wards

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family party to celebrate a milestone birthday, we had children aged from toddler to ages eight and they had a wonderful time. They loved the heated pool and the outdoor activities.
Wonderful log fires and comfortable spacious bedrooms and bathrooms.
Hostess very helpful and friendly.




Significant birthday celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group of 20 Family and Friends had the most wonderful celebration taking in Emily's catering and all the facilities offered especially the indoor pool. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and the beds exceptionally comfortable. High Wards is in a beautiful spot providing the perfect backdrop.



Wife's 30th

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Highwards for my Wife's 30th. We brought family and friends with varying ages. We had a truly fantastic time. The house had everything we could ever need. The help we received from Emily leading up to our stay was great. The caterer and waitress we had made the Saturday night such a good experience. Honestly the weekend couldn't have been better for us all.



A Brilliant Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a review of High Wards I did anything else anyone wants to add?


We were a party of 20 with toddlers and teenagers. The house was beautiful. The pool and grounds kept the toddlers and younger children happily entertained. There were plenty of outdoor activities nearby for the teenagers to enjoy....and there was ample room for the adults to find a quiet room to read or relax. The kitchen was very well equipped and although we initially were surprised at the three dishwashers it really made clearing up after 20 people so much easier.

The only downside really was the wifi - I had planned to do some online courses with video streaming and the broadband speed precluded this. It also meant we were not able to stream films from our lap tops.

Emily was always helpful and unobtrusively at hand to answer any questions. We would definitely book again.




Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Fairoz, So glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately wifi can be a bit patchy in such old and large houses especially with so many iPhones, iPads and laptops connected. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards Helen

Fabulous Holiday Home...wish we could have stayed for longer.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
17 of us have just returned from this beautiful holiday home. Emily the owner's attention to detail is faultless. The extras they provide go above and beyond what you would expect from a holiday rental. The facilities were fantastic and the finish to the house and grounds are outstanding. We would all return in a heartbeat..private beach, amazing picture windows, cooking/dining facilities, superb seating areas inside and out and stunning bedroom/bathrooms.



April family visit

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house. Beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms. Loads of social space. Well located for walking: Conic hill and Ben Lomond. We had a family reunion and the proximity of the airport and Waitrose food deliveries made the organisation very straightforward. Highly recommended.



Amazing house in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked High Wards for a family holiday of 8 adults and 6 children. The property is in a superb location with terrific views and wonderful facilities for adults and children. The standard of the accomodation is 5 star. We enjoyed relaxing in great room in the evening and having pool competitions. The outside areas were excellent for the children riding their bikes and the house has its own collection of bikes and ride on toys. The tennis court and childrens play area were well used together with the wonderful indoor pool.



Amazing house in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked High Wards for a family holiday of 8 adults and 6 children. The property is in a superb location with terrific views and wonderful facilities for adults and children. The standard of the accomodation is 5 star. We enjoyed relaxing in great room in the evening and having pool competitions. The outside areas were excellent for the children riding their bikes and the house has its own collection of bikes and ride on toys. The tennis court and childrens play area were well used together with the wonderful indoor pool.