FB Twitter

Drylaw House-Edinburgh

Drylaw House-Edinburgh

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Sleeps 24 in: 1 four poster king bedroom, 2 King size bedrooms, 1 double bedroom, 1King (zip and link), Bedroom with four poster King plus 2 day beds, 2 Triple bedrooms and two twins 3 En-Suite Bath / Shower Rooms, 5 House Bath / Shower Rooms.
2 TV Rooms, 2 Dining Rooms, 2 Kitchens, Large Drawing Room, Extensive, Private Gardens, Games Room, 6 Seater Hot Tub

Drylaw House

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely Fabulous. We had a family get together over the weekend with people arriving from all around the country, so Edinburgh was a good location. One would be unsure about the surrounding area until entering the gates, you are transported into a different world. Very peaceful with spacious grounds and a grand house of character. Everyone enjoyed their stay. Hot Tub, snooker, plenty of space, warm and comfortable.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
covered by above





Great property

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was clean with beds and sheets especially clean and professionally prepared. The AGA was perfect for cooking lots of meals for 14 people.

All interaction was very professional and Abid was fantastic and helpful.

Overall a perfect venue for our family Christmas. Would rent again without question.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Overall a very pleasant experience from start to finish!





Excellent stay at Drylaw House

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used Drylaw House as a venue for our work Christmas meeting and everyone really enjoyed their stay. We received a lovely welcome from John. The house had everything we could possibly need and was a good location (close to Edinburgh city centre and the airport).

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Corporate Stay

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
The app was very useful. Could have a bit more info on e.g. takeaways which deliver to the house.





Unparalleled Quality in Proper Edinburgh Style

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I were married summer 2019 in Edinburgh, inviting family and close friends from Europe, the United States, and beyond. We had many requirements for the venue: open to parties, enough beds for 20, indoor and outdoor space, flexible check in and check out, and, of course, location. Drylaw House exceeds expectations in all categories. The restoration completed by the owners is a triumphant labor of love, and truly makes the house unforgettable. Renting and celebrating here, you get much more than you pay for — believe me. John and Nicki made us feel extremely welcome, responded to all inquiries promptly, and set us up for a 100% successful weekend. If I had a weeklong event, I would take the place for a whole week. As soon as the opportunity presents itself, I will be contacting them again, as Drylaw House is at the top of my list.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Anniversary

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
My experience with House Parties was very positive. The owners at this property in particular provided excellent engagement. Enough to feel like we were being taken care of, and hands off enough to feel like it was ours. The management agency really streamlines everything.



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is immaculate and very well kept. The owners have thought of everything and the house had everything we needed and more. The owners were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The house is ideally located for Edinburgh and for the beaches too. We will definitely be back!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
-





A stunning house which made for the perfect hen weekend!

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Drylaw House for my sister’s hen weekend in April. As soon as I saw the house online I fell in love with it, and it certainly did not disappoint in real life! The drive up to the house was breathtaking and the house itself was pure luxury! There were 14 of us so plenty of space, and the house was amazingly decorated and extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The owners were so helpful and had thought of everything! They met us at the house and had even unpacked our Tesco order for us! I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and recommend to anyone wanting a luxury house only 10 minutes out of Edinburgh! I honestly cannot fault it!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Excellent service from House Parties with great communication. Thank you



FANTASTIC holiday home close to Edinburgh city centre

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic holiday home for our large family over Christmas 2018. Niki & John (owners) were amazing on hand if needed & the house itself is in great condition with all amenities to hand. Highly recommended by us all.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Daily Maid Service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Large family homes (18/20)





A beautiful house with all the luxury on a hidden spot in Edinbrugh

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend in the beautiful house of John and Nicki!
What a warm welcome and a beautiful location.

We enjoyed all the luxury in the house.

Thank you dear John and Nicki for your hospitality and look back with great pleasure to our weekend in Edinburgh!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Just for a weekend away

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
The house booked through House Parties and the service is very good





Great venue and service

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drylaw was a late change to our booking after a previous booking in Oban was cancelled 2 days before we were due to arrive due to a building fault. When making the change we had a lot of work to do to reschedule all the activities that were booked for the weekend. It was disappointing that House Parties did not make an offer to recognise the inconvenience caused, they did offer to meet any out of pocket expenses (there were none) and while Drylaw was a more expensive property than the one originally booked. House Parties did also try to find a venue for dinner.

The house is amazing, wonderfully clean and well equipped, within easy reach of the city centre and shops. Niki from Drylaw was extremely helpful and accommodating, wonderful customer service.

Only a couple of minor suggestions, a tumble dryer would be useful, especially for towels and the BBQs had some historic dirt and grime, we chose to use disposables.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Washing and ironing services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Almost perfect and lovely venue.



Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Our Terms and Conditions state that should a property become unavailable all we are liable to do is to refund your money. Fortunately, we were able to offer your a more expensive property at no extra cost to yourselves. You mentioned you had organised a whiskey tour and dinner in Oban, my staff and also the owner of Drylaw spent many hours finding alternatives, including a private chef, 3 reservations for 20 guests at restaurants and suggestions for a whiskey event in Edinburgh, all which you turned down. The owner of The Drury also offered to re-imburse any deposits lost from the whiskey tour company, but you advised this was not necessary as you had not been charged. The owners have taken on board your comments and a brand new tumble dryer has now been installed. I am sorry you did not feel we did enough to help you reschedule your special event.

My hen weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself & my bridesmaids booked this amazing place for my hen weekend. We had the most fantastic time! The house is out of this world, it has everything you could possibly need & more. It is so clean and the hot tub was amazing. Everyone was so lovely & made us feel very welcome. Would book this again for another special event :) x

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Daily Maid Service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Had the most amazing weekend everything was perfect.





Absolutely fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really stunning place to stay, I couldn’t recommend it highly enough and the owners were so helpful.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
No further comments





Great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Incredible old house, new furnished and well modernized. Nicki and John are just perfect hosts. Highly recommended stay!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
.





Brilliant hen weekend in a fabulous house

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Drylaw house for my friends hen weekend at the end of March. We were the first people in the house and it was absolutely fantastic. We had the best weekend. The house caters for 21 people on 4 floors. There is a hot tub in the basement which is brand new with decking area. They provided flip flops and robes which was a lovely touch the rooms were all gorgeous and could tell a lot of work had been done to the house. The kitchen has a lovely aga and the house was so cosy. The kitchen also had everything you could possibly need and 3 good sized fridges for the prosecco to chill! The garden area is also lovely and big. We had a cocktail lady come in (vintage cocktail company) on Saturday afternoon which was amazing and a private chef catered for us in the dining room which worked perfectly (Alistair Reid of tartan stag catering). Couldn't recommend both enough they did a fab job. My hen was very happy and everyone couldn't stop saying how lovely the house was. Thank you for such an amazing weekend.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Cocktail Making / Wine Tasting

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
House was excellent couldn't fault it!



Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kiera, I am so glad you enjoyed being the first guest at Drylaw. It sounds like you had a lovely weekend and we will add the cocktail making company onto our list of suggested companies we recommend. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Helen