FB Twitter

Clifton

Clifton

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.2
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


3 Double Bedrooms, 3 Twin Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Enclosed Private Patio and Garden with BBQ, Parking for 3 Cars, 1 Pet Welcome

Beautiful house full of character

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently booked a stay at Clifton, York for a weekend to celebrate my sisters Hen party, and what a wonderful time we had! We were delayed on arrival due to awful traffic but the ladies were more than understanding and very helpful. We found the house to be very welcoming and spacious, which is what you need when you have 12 ladies staying! It was lovely and clean and had everything we could have needed for our stay. The location was perfect, and a lovely walk into York centre which is not too far at all - just the right distance that our Yorkshire pudding wraps were still warm when we got back on the Saturday night from a few drinks in town!! The bedrooms were lovely and great sizes too.
I found it very daunting trying to find suitable accommodation for a group, but booking with House Parties and especially Helen and Annie, it could not have been made any easier. Would highly recommend Clifton to anyone.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Great service and very easy to book. Thank you



Helen replied 31 days ago
Dear Shona, So glad the hen party was a great success. We must try one of these Yorkshire Pudding wraps! Helen

Family break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an absolutely amazing short break @ Clifton with family , partners & friends.
Short walk into York and lots to see and do in the city. Very comfortable stay and house keeper very helpful

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Arrived in 3 separate vehicles and only just managed to fit into allocated parlking as one was a small car





Fantastic House

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This home was perfect for our weekend. It was comfortable, central and spacious. It was fabulous!!!!!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
N/A





Perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Clifton for my sisters hen party after looking for somewhere suitable for 11 guests close to the city centre. Due to Having activity book on the Friday afternoon we arrange with the caretaker an early arrival which was very helpful. Upon arrival the house did not disappoint, my sister, who knew nothing about it as it was surprise was very impressed! The garden was lovely and with the sun shining it was the perfect place for drinks, the kitchen/dining area were plenty big enough for the group and beautifully presented. The Living room was big enough for all to sit and chat, play games but also cosy. The bedrooms were all beautifully individually decorated with lovely finishing touches, although a bed side lamps in the attic rooms would be great.. The beds were very comfortable, we all had a good nights sleep and there were enough showers/bathrooms to get ready.

The house was 10/15 min walk to city centre but with a good taxi and bus service if you can't manage. there is a spar just down the road which was perfect for any bits we had forgotten to bring.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Clifton, everything was well thought out right through from the booking process online to the arranging our arrival on the day. The house is charming with lots of character, I would highly recommend for a weekend away or longer, to explore the sights and sounds of beautiful York, if we visited again we would definitely book again for a large group great value for money.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
couple of suggestion is there needed to be a full length mirror hung on a wall although there were plenty of mirrors they were either half length or propped on the floor and it was difficult for a group of ladies to all get ready, also a small mirror needed in downstairs shower room. couple of areas needed little TLC- front of the shower tray in Downstairs shower room cracked, and hot tap in bathroom on the top floor didn't seam to work very well. finally not enough champagne glasses for the whole group on 6/7 when says 12 in welcome pack and feel all the pots should be checked between stays as we got some pots and pans out that were dirty.



Weekend Stay away with the girls

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Clifton for my sisters hen party after searching for a suitable property for 12 of us online. This one immediately jumped out since it was close enough to the town centre and big enough for our group, plus it looked amazing! Upon arrival it did not disappoint and my sister, who had not seen it since it was a surprise, was very happy! The garden was lovely and great for drinks and chat, the kitchen area was nice and big and beautifully presented. The front reception room was big and cosy, lots of space for all. Each bedroom was well designed with cute finishing touches, such a cushions, lamps etc. The beds were very comfortable, we all had a good nights sleep and there were enough showers/bathrooms to get ready (two bathrooms with showers and one with a bath). One note, although I did not stay in the attic bedrooms, these did not have curtains or blinds so you would be best to bring an eye mask.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Clifton, everything was well thought out right through from the booking process online to the arranging our arrival on the day. The house is charming with lots of character, I would highly recommend for a weekend away or longer, to explore the sights and sounds of beautiful York.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Great service online in regards to booking and queries, etc, all professional and friendly. Easy to reach someone if you have any issues with your stay, nice to know that.



Helen replied 123 days ago
Dear Liz, I am so glad your sister enjoyed her hen party. There are velux blinds at the windows, however, the house is going to be refurbished and re-configured early next year so the upstairs bathroom will become a shower room with w.c and the downstairs bathroom will be made bigger. So you will have to find an excuse to come and see us again. Kind regards Helen

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was a beautiful big house, plenty of space for our party of 12. Only issues were we had a Ant infestation in the living room and had to use ant spray under the sink. There was broken glass on the kitchen floor which wasn't from our party wasnt ideal as we had 4 small children. Also the Iron is in need of a brand new one as the cable is broken and live wires are on show which is a huge health and safety issue. The first aid kit is in need of a brand new one as I burned my hand while cooking and the only thing in the tiny first aid kit was plasters. The location for an able body person was great only a 15 minute walk from town walls but for a disabled person I would say was too far. Maybe put on site just how far the walk is or leave bus timetables etc in the house, We used a taxi which was only £5.00 each way. Overall thought the house was good the location was fantastic and myself and my family had a great holiday.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Other

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Should have a big welcome pack with leaflets, bus timetables etc.



Helen replied 132 days ago
Thank you for your review. The cleaning and issues with ants have been raised with the cleaning team. There was a teapot, we will investigate as to why it has gone missing and replace the iron and update the first aid kit. Kind regards Helen

Perfect Hen Weekend House

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic house for a hen weekend! The house was a perfect size with a great lounge and dining room space. All of the bedrooms were clean and comfortable and really spacious! Slight negative was that the wifi wasn't very strong. The location was great - just a 15 minute walk into the centre of York. Overall, very good value for money and a very memorable stay!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Other

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Stronger wifi connection





Home from Home

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here for my daughters wedding and used the house as if it was our own family house. It lived up to our expectations and there is plenty of room so you are not living on top of each other. It is walking distance to York there is a Spar corner shop just up the road and lovely walks by the river if you have a dog with you. A great place to stay what ever the occasion .



Girly stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very spacious accommodation very close to the city centre. Could do with touching up in a few areas but was ideal for what we all needed. Lovely garden and excellent bedrooms. Slightly difficult to sleep due to hearing traffic noises outside. A great little gem close to the centre of York, an excellent find. Only other negative would be the driveway is very very narrow and we struggled getting 3 cars on the driveway. The owners and. Are takers were lovely and accommodating. I would definitely go again.



Faults

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was very good for what we wanted as a family . But a little tlc is needed in places . The bath room on the top floor no hot water would come out harldy a small trickle if that and only one light bulb was working . The kitchen sink tap lose could do with a larger frying pan for the amount people . BBQ not use able only small things but hope they help . Over all we loved the house very much and poss would use again with other family members .



Helen replied 239 days ago
Dear Raymond, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for letting us know about the water, tap and BBQ I have alerted the owners who are sorting the problems this week. Kind regards Helen

Lovely well located property in York

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with a party of eleven for my friends hen party. It was a lovely well presented property, clean, and well equipped. The location was excellent, just a short walk into the centre of York. This was my second time at this property and we would definately stay again.



York with friends

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location a little bit of a walk into York (15 minutes), 6 comfortable sized bedrooms, great for a get together with enough comfortable seats for everyone, kitchen / dining area very large & seats 12 comfortably.
Only negative was not enough bathroom facilities for 10 women but we managed with good communications and relays. Lovely garden area although not the weather for us to use it this time, good parking & free !
We would definetly use this property again.




Clifton House York

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A large comfortable house with a pleasant enclosed rear garden.
Ideally placed for walking into the city centre - just 10 minutes away.
We easily parked our 4 cars in the allocated space.
Just 5 minutes walk from the house is the river and green space for walking dogs.
There are 2 nice pubs within 100m of the house plus a small number of food shops.
Our only negative experience was that the bins were full on arrival and although we immediately left them at the front of the house as directed they were not emptied consequently we were left to pile our rubbish up in plastic bags in the back garden. This is the second time we have stayed at Clifton and on both occasions this has been the case.




Helen replied 337 days ago
Dear John, I apologise for the issues with the bins, unfortunately over Christmas and New Year bin collection is disrupted, however, the care taking team should have taken the rubbish away so you had an empty bin for your stay. Kind regards Helen

Family Christmas shopping break

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely made up with this house, we were a family of 12 ladies and this was just what we needed. 15 minute walk into town, very spacious house, brilliant facilities.

The house was clean, warm, comfortable etc.

If I had any fault it would be that with three larger cars it was difficult to park in the spaces provided but that's it, no other issues at all.

We would gladly book this house again

Loved it!!!!




Good place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place with plenty of room.the only thing it would benefit from is an extra shower or bathroom.
Enjoyed our stay and would be happy to book again.




Fantastic hen do setting

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all arrived on the Friday and couldn't believe how big the house was, spotlessly clean and fully equipped kitchen for the well needed breakfasts! Lovely finishing touches of cakes and some fizz left for our arrival and Rachel the housekeeper was lovely and made us feel welcome. Perfect location only 15 walk from town centre. Would definitely recommend and go again.



Family occasion

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Easy access to city attractions marred by busy road during night.
Detail fixtures and fittings poor.
Electric kettle unsafe - reported to housekeeper. (This had already been mentioned previously in early August!)
Would not recommend without many reservations.




Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Joe, We are sorry that you did not enjoy our stay at Clifton as many of our previous guests have been very happy with the property. Clifton is located in the heart of York a busy city and as with most city centre locations they come with a certain degree of noise. The house has recently had been upgraded with many pieces of new furniture and has also undergone redecoration and we have had positive feedback aabout it. We market the house as a "value for money" property and as such we feel that the fixtures and fittings are of a good standard for a house charging £36.00 per person per night compared with other self catering properties or B&B I am sorry you experienced a problem with the kettle, I believe you met Rachel as you arrived several hours prior to check in time and she did say if you needed anything to call, I am sure she would have had a new kettle with you within a matter of a few hours. We appreciate your note and a new kettle was purchased for the guests that arrived on your departure date. Kind regards Carol Campbell Owner

Beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clifton is a beautiful place to stay - absolutely perfect for our girls weekend. The rooms are spacious and really comfortable, lovely garden, and the kitchen/dining area is great. The customer service has been flawless from Holiday Homes Group, who we booked it through. The kettle could do with replacing as it's leaky, and it would've been great to have had some hand soap in the bathrooms but other than that it was wonderful. Thank you!



Ideal for a hen party

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I hired the house for a hen party and it was ideal. It was an excellent size in good condition with plenty of space for us all. Rooms were simply furnished but had everything you needed for a weekend stay.

There was no guest book or tourist information which would have been handy and there wasn't any information on the house or where to leave the keys etc. Being such a big house more parking would have been useful too.

We had a pleasant stay.




Great Hen Party!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely, clean house with friendly staff. Great location, perfect for our hen party and any other large groups requiring a house within walking distance to York



Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at clifton for my hen party. The house is beautiful, very clean and spacious. Lots of room in the living room and kitchen for 12 people to sit. Nice walk into York, would highly recommend the house, we all want to go back.



Just perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 12 of us stayed here for a hen do over bank holiday and it was fabulous. The location was great - just a short walk into the centre. The booking and checking in/checking out process was easy and the house was lovely. There was a huge garden and plenty parking!! We couldn't have wished for anything better!!



My sisters hen weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clifton was the perfect destination for my sisters hen party. It has a large comfortable living room which was a great place for all the girls to get together, have a drink and play our silly games. The kitchen diner was perfect for sitting together when we were eating. Its a shame we didn't get the weather to make use of the lovely garden. The bedrooms are all comfortable and clean. The house is only a 10-15 minute walk from York town centre which was ideal. Overall great location and fabulous house, would be even better with a hot tub in the garden!



Hen weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and 9 other ladies stayed at Clifton cottage for two nights for my friends hen weekend. The house was very spacious and never felt cramped. The kitchen / dining area was perfect for group entertaining and the large dining room table was big enough for a meal. There were plenty of glasses and pans to cater for 10 people. The dishwasher was very useful but we just needed a few extra dishwasher tablets. The only complaint we had was that there was not a single full length mirror and for 10 girls getting ready for a night out in York this was noticeably missing! The location was perfect. It was a short walk to the centre or a very cheap taxi ride. I would definitely recommend this property!!



Wedding Party

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a party of twelve eight adults four children under eight. the downstairs accomadation was excellent with a large kitchen bathroom and lounge .Two of the first floor bedrooms provided plenty room with good access to the other two single bedrooms and bathrooms .The third floor consisted of bathroom two bedrooms one double and two single beds which was k if your legs were short Easy walking into York city. Nice garden for the kids to play.



Disappointing

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Lovely big house - so much potential.
Nice side of town.
Disappointed by budget furniture presentation and lack of attention to detail which made it feel more like a student let.