FB Twitter

Balvonie House-Skelmorlie (Scotland)

Balvonie House-Skelmorlie (Scotland)

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Sleeps 22 - 26 in 11 Bedrooms. 1x Ground Floor Twin En-Suite, 1x 4 Poster Double, Master Bedroom with 7ft Bed & 2 Day Beds, 3 Double En-Suites, 3 Double Bedrooms,1 Bedroom with 4 Single Beds and En-Suite, 1 Bunk Room with En-Suite,1 House Shower Room and 2 House Bathrooms. Games room, Hot Tub, 2 pets welcome.

Fantastic Stay at Balvonie

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic house, with everything you could possibly need!

The house is even more impressive in real life

Would highly recommend, and we are looking to re-book for next year! :)

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
We wouldn't change a thing!





Great House

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great........................................................................................................................................................

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Just for a weekend away

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Washing and ironing services

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Baby Sitting Services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
None





Wonderful stay at Magnificant Balvonie

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
26 ladies descended on Balvonie house one weekend in September and the house did not disappoint. Beautifully set up a hill with incredible views over to Rothesay which are best viewed from the hot tub. The rooms were excellent, large and very comfy beds. Most had en-suites and those that didn’t were steps from shared bathrooms. The decor is quirky and all the rooms had there own unique personality. The kitchen is huge, perfect for catering for large numbers and there’s additional fridges in the utility room. The formal dining room is great for a big dinner and the lounge is large enough for everyone to sit in comfortably. There’s also the addition of the cinema room which was great for rugby viewing on the Sunday we stayed. Arriving was incredibly easy via Duncan, we cannot thank him enough for welcoming us, showing us around and letting us know how things work! All the guests were so impressed with the house, facilities and how it fitted our weekend to a T. Thank you

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
N/A



Great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Family two week birthday celebration. The house is unique and beautiful. The communal areas were superb. The kitchen is particularly spacious and is able to seat 18 comfortably and you still have the dining room. The lounge is also spacious with comfortable seating for large parities. The only downside was the amount of showers, lots of baths but with a large party access to more showers would have made the stay even more perfect. Would recommend the property to anyone.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
.





Simply Perfekt

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifull house with a great view. Kitchen leaves no space for complaints, well organized has got everything you might need for cooking and even sharp knifes! Rooms are all very comfortable. An excellent Place for a large Group of People.

Just one small critic: to find the house in Halketburn road you need to come up the hill. If you come down the hill, you will not see the sign for balvonie house.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
place a signe to the house on both sides of the driveway





Big family birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balvonie couldn't have suited us better. We are two friends from nearby who no longer live in Scotland and both extended families came to Balvonie for a weekend to celebrate a Big Birthday with us. There were 20 adults and 5 children - an age spread of under 2 to nearly 70. The house was perfect for this group.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable, spacious and very tastefully decorated - and there are plenty of them!
The public spaces massive, very well-equipped and numerous. The golfers didn't need to miss The Open, thanks to the cinema room. The kids loved the big open spaces outside and the treehouse, the younger adults enjoyed the hot tub even in the rain and those in the middle could chill out in the lovely lounge with the magnificent view over the Firth of Clyde.
We found Balvonie House via an internet search and we are VERY happy we did!
Thanks for a great weekend.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Everything was great



Helen replied 176 days ago
Dear Jane, I am so glad you had a great stay at Balvonie and everyone enjoyed themselves and we hope to welcome you all back in the future. Kind regards Helen

Family gathering

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous weekend in beautiful Balvonie house. Well equipped spacious comfortable property with incredible setting and views. Caretaker very responsive eg bedding all feather and with one person allergic they went to shops to get non allergic bedding. Great response.would definitely recommend

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
No further comments





Helen replied 205 days ago
Dear David, So glad you enjoyed your stay at Balvonie House and we hope to welcome you bacak again soon. Kind regards Helen

Hen Weekend in a Mansion!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back a 3 night stay for my sisters hen do and what can I say.. amazing! The house is massive and has absolutely everything you need for the weekend. Beautiful views and I loved all the individually decorated bedroom some with amazing baths. Everyone had the best time! We jumped along on the bus to Largs for the day but were happy to get back to the house to party! Well equipped for children also.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
House looks clean but under beds, corners etc are quite dusty.





Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the house for a group of 23 girls, though we ended up with 22. It was a surprise for the Bride and I have no doubt she was over the moon. The photos on the website don't do the place justice so we also got a wee surprise!

The room we spent most time in was what we called the Disco Room, which is a beautiful dining room with a disco ball and speakers in it. We went out for a meal in Largs but decided to come back to the house instead of going out because we just didn't want to be away from it. We pushed the tables to the side and danced until the morning.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful, the kitchen is well equipped and, though the house is huge, it was very cosy.

We met the owner, who lives next door, and he showed us around and how everything worked. He then left us to our own devices all weekend and let us party through the nights.

Check-out wasn't until 4pm on Sunday which gave us plenty of time to recover from the night before and ensure that everything was tidy/clean before leaving.

We'd stay here again in a heart beat.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
n/a



Hen Party

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a Hen weekend.
The house is amazing and so beautiful, the views are Wow!
Will be booking again!!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Amazing House and stayp





Excellent property

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an excellent house for a family and friends holiday of 16 people, incorporating a 70th birthday party.
Apart from a couple of minor plumbing problems, and a lack of waste paper bins in the rooms, we could not find fault with anything at all at Balvonie House.
It's a beautiful home, in extensive grounds, with fabulous views.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
We would have appreciated waste paper bins in the rooms.





Beautiful house in a great location easily accessible from Glasgow

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had my sisters hen party here and it was a fabulous stay from start to finish. It is beautifully decorated, warm and has everything you need for a weekend away, including a 7 sweater hot tub overlooking the amazing view of the sea and Ayrshire coastline.

We hired the recommended caterers, Osprey. They were amazing to deal with and the food was delicious. I highly recommend them if you are looking for anything from fine dining to a 3 course meal to a BBQ.

I can’t praise Vilius, the maintenance man, enough. He was incredibly helpful and accommodating. He really went above and beyond for us during our stay.

Overall, a really great experience!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
No further comments



family gathering August 2019

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We held our annual family gathering at Balvonie. The week is known as cousins holiday. There were 26 of us.
The house was the best we have stayed in and that’s saying something as this event has happened for the last 24 years in different places.
The cooking and dining facilities made catering for this large number very easy. The sitting room is big enough for everyone to gather comfortably. In fact we had an impromptu engagement party there one evening.
The hot tub was well used and fun for all.
The cinema was a fab addition especially as we were all able to watch the first Liverpool match of the season which we won 4-0
My mother is 95 and in a wheelchair. We have found previously that facilities described as for the disabled are not as easy / true as we expected. But Balvonie was truly suitable. Downstairs bedroom and wet room with flat access throughout the downstairs of the house.
Duncan who lives on site was friendly and helpful but never intrusive.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Daily Maid Service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
We organised help in the evening to clear and wash up after we had cooked and eaten. We would value this in any property.



Wedding at Balvonie House

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired Balvonie House for 3 nights for our wedding. It was absolutely wonderful! The house is utterly incredible, every room is unique and beautiful and the house has plenty to keep everyone entertained. We checked in on a Monday night, held the wedding on the Tuesday, had a free day on the Wednesday and checked out on the Thursday. The owner was kind enough to allow us to check in a little early at our request which was a great help as we had a lot of work to do on the Monday night to set up for the wedding. I'm sure the house would be wonderful no matter what the function, but it was certainly spectacular for a wedding. All our guests commented on what an amazing venue it was. We held the ceremony in front of the big bay window in the living room. The dining room was perfect for the wedding dinner. We used the recommended caterers, Osprey, who were fantastic also. Just by moving the dining tables we also had a dancefloor with disco ball. The game / cinema room was excellent for the kids (and adults actually!). The hot tub was a total hit and wasn't unoccupied for more than a few hours across the whole stay! There is also so much space in the grounds outside. We didn't have good weather but still benefited from this, using the hot tub, treehouse and swings. On a nice day I can only imagine it would be even better! We saw a deer and a fox during our stay!

The communication between both House Parties and the owner was very good throughout. All questions were answered swiftly and we were able to visit the house on 2 occasions before the wedding to allow us to make plans, which we also really appreciated. The owner / caretaker was on hand for any issues, we only had one which was a blocked toilet and it was fixed almost immediately. In general, the house is in excellent condition and everything is of high quality. I only docked one wee point for condition as we did find the odd thing here and there that was worse for wear such as stains, worn/curled rugs and a few dirty glasses. But these were minor and very few considering the size of the house.

Our stay at Balvonie really was perfect and the best few days of our lives. Sure, part of that is because we got married there but it wouldn't have been the same without the beautiful surroundings. It gave us a cosy, intimate feel for our small family wedding and we have so many wonderful memories now. Everyone was very down about having to go home, the kids were crying, not wanting it to end. It really is a wonderful place.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Daily Maid Service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
I understand that with a house of that size it must take a lot of time to turn it over between guests but obviously early check ins and late check outs are always a bonus.



Amazing time at Balvonie House

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House parties was great to deal with, the house was fabulous. Even better than the pics! Loved it!!!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Yws





Our wedding at Balvonie House

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful two night stay at Balvonie House with our closest friends and family to celebrate our marriage. The celebrant attended on the second day and performed the service in the beautiful grounds in the sunshine. Everything was perfect! The house provided a fantastic location for the relaxed, intimate wedding we wanted. Everyone commented on how amazing the place was. Rooms so beautifully decorated and comfortable. Every amenity provided. Fantastic catering from Osprey Caterers topped the day off. As did a beautiful sunset view from the hot tub. Wish we could do it all over again!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
*



Girls hen weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house which is ideal for a hen weekend. Rooms were all stylish and comfortable. Kitchen was very well equipped with a great selection of glassware. Can not fault the house or the service we received. Would definitely return.

Only one drawback was we could not access the house until 4pm on the Friday. Would have liked an earlier entry time. Even 2pm.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
All services were great, booking was easy





Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Laura, So glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try and accommodate slightly earlier arrivals but they are not always possible. On this occasion we had a departure the day of your arrival and the cleaning team have between 10am to 4pm to get a very big house ready so on this occasion it was impossible to offer an early arrival as we always want our houses to be presented as clean and tidy as we possibly can. This is why we offer a 4pm departure time on Sunday so guests get a full 48 hours in the house. Kind regards Helen

Hen Party

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
16 women and 2 babies stayed for 2 night and couldn’t fault anything, they told us we could make as much noise as we wanted and were not bothered by anyone. Brilliant location, Short drive to the local supermarket to pick up supplies, we even had the cinema room to watch the Royal Wedding!! Would recommend to anyone and lovely views

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Couldn’t fault the experience from booking, staying and departure





Fabulous luxury house

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked Balvonie house for daughters Hen Weekend. Did not disappoint. Beautiful large house in great location. It had everything and more required for a large party to stay. Rooms are beautiful. Large kitchen with plenty seating and every utensil you could possibly need. Large dining room ideal for parties with even a disco ball creating a great atmosphere. Hot tub with amazing view.
Can’t fault at all, all the guests loved it. Duncan who showed us round very welcoming and friendly and there for any help you may need.
Would definitely recommend and love to stay there again

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Great communication from House Parties. No issues at all



Amazing hen do st Balvonie

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic house in a perfect location! We had a great weekend at Balvonie House celebrating a hen do! The house was very comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. Lovely comfortable beds, large dining room , lounge and kitchen. Plenty showers and amazing baths. Would highly recommend it!!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Plenty choice of properties!





Easter in Balvonie

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balvonie House is an extremely comfortable, well appointed "Arts and Crafts" style mansion located in Skelmorlie overlooking the Firth of Clyde and Isle of Bute.
As a large family party, it took us no time at all to dissolve into the fabric of the building and start to unwind.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Nothing to add





Big 60 Birthday Party

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time our family had got together under one roof to celebrate a big (and unwanted) birthday. We have previously stayed in multiple properties ie lodges, caravans etc during similar outings and I did wonder if a single property would work out. I need not have worried. Balvonie House was fantastic. It provided wonderful rooms with enough space and seating for everybody to be together but not crowded or on top of each other. The house itself is in a superb location with fantastic views of the Clyde coast. The kitchen is very high tech and spec with enough plates, glasses cups and cutlery for an army and all really good decent quality. The sitting room was enormous and was fitted with a cinema style screen and projector for watching TV. The separate cinema room was fitted with two rows of seats (no kissing in the back row please!) and doubled as a playroom having games consoles and boxes of toys for the children. There were also shelves of children's books and toys for outdoors also. Extra fridges in the laundry room which is also fitted with a pool table, meant this was an ideal location to set up our bar. The dining/ party/disco room was amazing. We decorated this room for the birthday girl and had dinner served here on Saturday by two wonderful girls from Osprey Catering. On Easter Sunday the huge gardens made for an eggsraordinary Easter egg hunt. The weather was kind and we enjoyed a BBQ and afternoon of hot tub fun and a visit from the Easter Bunny!
Duncan our caretaker (and Tom Jones sound-alike) met us on arrival gave us the grand tour and demonstrated how things worked etc etc. He instructed us to have a ball and we did as we were told. Overall: great location, first class property with quality fixtures and fitting and all the little extras that made the difference. Haven't even mentioned the wonderful and individually themed bedrooms.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Balvonie House. 5 stars all around for location and quality of everything.



Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Ian, We are so glad, that even though you were reluctant to celebrate the big 60, that you had a great time and we hope to welcome you back to Balvonie for many more birthdays. Kind regards Helen

Hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant time at Balvonie house for my hen do.
All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. For being such a big house is also a very nice temperature.
The kitchen is amazing and very well equipped! Plenty of cutlery, crockery etc
The hot tub was a lovely bonus!
House parties were very good at communicating regarding the booking and Duncan was only a phone call away if we needed him during our stay after he showed us around.
We used Diamond beauty who came in on the Saturday to do treatments for our spa day which was amazing and then Osprey Catering came in to cook our dinner on the Saturday which was also lovely.
Would highly recommend this house.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Beautician

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Everything was perfect thank you very much!



Perfect Venue

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a house Balvonie is! Cosy, beautiful, spacious, stunning. We picked Balvonie for our friends hen weekend who wanted everyone together having a laugh. It couldn't have been more perfect for just that. There were 21 of us and we never felt on top of each other at any point as each room is of great size. The dining room was amazing for meals. Hot tub was brilliant and lovely to sit in and appreciate the gorgeous views. We stayed the weekend of 'the beast from the east' so it was a miracle we even made it to Balvonie. Duncan the lovely host couldn't have been anymore helpful. Himself and the housekeeper had cleared the drive for us. The road before the house entrance wasn't passable on arrival for our coach so we had to walk a little in the snow. When we arrived at the house the extremely helpful housekeeper went to the coach and collected the rest of our luggage on his quad bike. Thank you so much! We really appreciated this. Couldn't recommend Balvonie anymore. Well stocked with plates, cutlery, glasses etc. FABULOUS!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
no other comments



Our stay at balvonie

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for my daughters hen party. The house is excellent plenty of room and very well equipped with crockery cutlery and glasses. The hot tub was superb.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
The house was perfect for what we wanted you could not have improved.





Perfect for a get together

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I rented Balvonie House in January for our yearly gathering, as we have done so in many different houses over the years. The general consensus was that this was one of the nicest, high spec properties that we had stayed at. Beautifully decorated, and perfectly warm in every room for the entire stay. It was easy to get to for all our guests, even the ones flying into Glasgow airport. Everyone enjoyed it so much that we will definitely return in the future. If you are looking for a house for a get together with friends or family, you need to look no further.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Just for a weekend away

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
None



Sarah Hutchison - New Year Balvonie House

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall the house was spectacular the views were to die for and the location was perfect for a party of our size. The heating in the house was a bit temperamental which wasn't great and some of the showers just ran cold water (downstairs bedroom) which meant the guests weren't happy. The induction hobs in the kitchen were quite hard to work and I think a few of them were faulty. One of the dishwashers didn't work well either. A house of this size we thought everything would be in running order but that wasn't the case.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Balvonie was a great house with lots of things to do. One comment is that the treehouse was a bit dangerous for small kids.



Annie Bennett replied more than 1 year ago
We are sorry you had problems at the house, we have investigated and our reports show that all the appliances and heating and water are operating as they should be and so we are a little at a loss as to the problems encountered and our team report that they did not receive any calls asking for help which of course we would have supplied immediately. All the appliances in the house have full instructions and if followed correctly work as they should,the induction hob works as do all such with the correct size of pan used on the correct ring. The heating can always be adjusted to suit all guests and the team would have been only too happy to help make any corrections needed. The house was left in a dreadful state with rugs rolled up and moved, a glass table chipped, furniture moved and the hot tub a big mess. The clean took significantly longer than usual and the owner has kindly made no charge for any of this.

Most successful Family Gathering at Balvonie House

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceeded our expectations. Wonderful house, warm welcome from Duncan, a perfect place for a family gathering. In addition, the listed caterers (Osprey Catering), used for the Saturday night dinner were excellent; all 22 guests enjoyed the meal. Table and clearing up afterwards was perfect.

The only addition to Balvonie House that we would suggest would be the availability of more than one front door key. However,for us, that was a very minor inconvenience.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Birthday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Booking process was straightforward. No suggestions for any improvements.





Just the ticket for our family holiday, great property in a great location - just skip the caterers

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was spacious and very pleasant and clean & tidy on arrival. Fully stocked kitchen (we only ran out of forks once!), ample seating for meals and relaxation and bedrooms were a good size. Beds were comfy and showers hot, always a plus.

Also well equipped for children, you don't really need to take much.

Given the number of people staying in the house you never felt crowded or lack of space. Location and views of the bay were lovely.

We were however disappointed in the caterers (contact suggested in the booking). No effort seemed to go into it - the food quality was poor, using paper plates and plastic cutlery was a let down and for the price, we would have expected them to clear up. We wouldn't use them again - a takeaway would have been cheaper, likely better quality and the same level of service.

A few points to feedback on the house, as we say overall it's a great property but these would make it faultless:

- For a large property, we could have done with a key safe or additional keys.
- All the shower rooms get very wet to the point of being dangerous
- No locks on bathroom doors, not ideal for communal living
- A few more hooks in the bathrooms would have been helpful
- Bins in the bathrooms would also have been helpful, bedrooms too
- No egg cups!
- A draining rack by the kitchen sink would be useful
- Bedroom downstairs is very damp and musty despite regularly opening the window, the only one which is a let down
- The tumble dryer nearest the entrance to the laundry didn't seem to work properly
- As a luxury property and one with a jacuzzi, bath robes would have been a really nice plus

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Family Holiday

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Daily Maid Service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
Caterer

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
See detail above - a few mostly minor points on the house but unfortunately wouldn't recommend the caterer. Booking service was easy to use, electronic guide book was great.



Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I believe the catering company have now contacted you directly to discuss the issues you had. Please find below comments from the owner:- Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time at Balvonie. While we are not affiliated at all to any caterers, we are sorry that on this occasion the caterer you brought in didn’t meet your expectations. We’ve had a word with our recommended caterer and they will not supply paper plates in future, as it doesn’t suit the overall tone of the house. In regard to the tumble dryer, perhaps you weren’t aware that they occasionally need to have the water tank emptied in order to function properly. We will amend the house instructions accordingly. As we usually have family groups or groups of friends, locks on the doors have seemed superfluous until now. However, based on your feedback, we will add them to the two bathrooms which are shared. Thanks again for coming to Balvonie. We hope you return to make more wonderful family memories.

3 night stay with friends at Balvonie House

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we have recently returned from a fantastic stay at Balvonie house, there were 10 adults and 13 children that stayed.
the house is huge with loads of outdoor space, the kids loved being able to run around freely and have access to the lovely tree house.
there was a fabulous jacuzzi which we took full advantage of as the weather was lovely.
there are plenty of everything in the house, the kitchen is stocked full of plates and loads of glasses etc, there are 2 dishwashers to help with the clearing up (being so many of us).
the cinema room was great for watching movies etc. the living room was very large with plenty of seats.
each of the bedrooms were decorated very nicely, I would just say that some of them got a little warm even without the heating on !, but they all had very comfortable beds.

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Just for a weekend away

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
we had a great stay and will definately be back



Weekend stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in the beautiful Balvonie House which was very well equipped & in excellent condition. We could not of asked for a more perfect weekend and thoroughly recommend a stay here!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
Supermarket Shop unpacking and checking service

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
No suggestions





Alice's civilised hen weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house in fab location The house and facilities were amazing and thoroughly enjoyed by all. Hoping to find 23 people to make another booking!

Reason for your stay (i.e birthday, hen party, family holiday)
Hen Party

If House Parties were to offer additional services would you be prepared to pay for these?
I would not use any additional services

During your stay did you use any of recommended service providers
No other services used

Would you recommend House Parties to your friends and family?
Yes

Would you reserve a property again through House Parties?
Yes

We want to ensure we provide you with the best possible properties and services, we value your comments and suggestions.
Shower in bunk room needed fixing.





Stunning location, views and house

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a Hen party, 21 girls ranging from ages 27- 60.

I can tell you one thing the photo's of this house do not do it justice!!! Every room is absolutely stunning with tonnes of character and some of the views are to die for! It also has a disco dining room and cinema screen in the living room - need I say more?

The mansion/castle house catered to all of our needs whilst we celebrated my best friends Hen, over a long weekend.

Can't recommend the house enough! x




Amazing location for a family celebration!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
26 of us stayed here for a weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was everything we could of hoped for and more. The whole house was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with a mix of modern and traditional decor. The weather was terrible but the house had plenty to occupy us. The hot tub was fab (even in the rain) and the kids were kept amused in the games room. The ball room was perfect for our party on the Saturday night and the kitchen had everything we needed.
The only thing I would say is that the house was overly warm and the heating could not be controlled. However we opened some windows, being locals perhaps we are just used to the cold :D
Overall it was the perfect stay and a great place to celebrate my birthday with friends and family of all ages. Got to think of an excuse to come back now!




Weekend Hen do at Balvonie House

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house, the grounds and everything that came with it was absolutely fantastic!

The bride did not have a clue where she was going and it was so wonderful to be ale to surprise her with such a gorgeous house for the weekend. The photos really do not do it justice and it has to be seen to be believed.

The owner allowed us entry and hour early than planned which was very much appreciated! However, I do have one small complaint from a customer service point of view - on the morning that the final guests were leaving, one of the cars would not start leaving 5 young women (1 pregnant) slightly stranded. The owner was less than interested and made them feel rather uncomfortable (he clearly just wanted the guests out), so much so that they ended up carrying all their belongings down the long drive and waiting outside on the road for breakdown assistance. No harm done in the end, but a rather rude end to an otherwise lovely weekend.




Lorna McLelland replied more than 1 year ago
We’re so happy you had a great time at Balvonie. We’ve worked hard to make a luxurious home from home where you can relax and have a wonderful time. It’s such a shame that your car broke down while you were visiting. That’s always a stressful situation. Unfortunately, Duncan didn’t have any jump leads to offer you so he couldn’t help you start the car. He went into the house to get the linens and when he came back out you’d gone. So sorry that we couldn’t help you any further but glad you had a fabulous time nonetheless. Kind regards Lorna Owner

Desperately looking for an excuse to go back

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 27 of us visited and stayed at Balvonie House for a hen weekend. The house was unbelievable. As a group we have stayed in a number of these sorts of properties and this is by far the best in terms of 'wow' factor, cleanliness, facilities, service -
Everything.
The customer service from the ladies at house parties to the owner Duncan, his sister and care taker were all just brilliant. Given the situation we were in - let down by another property - they were simply wonderful. Looking back we're so glad we ended up at Balvonie.
The dining room was fabulous for our formal meal on Saturday night which we brought in caterers for who were superb.
A group of 27 girls from 15-75 years old is hard to please and I can honestly say not one person had a moan about this house.
The utility room proved to be a very useful space to set up our bar.
A few little pointers - need bins in all the rooms and the big room with the massive bed could be doing with a bigger / more mirrors, would also be great if someone en suite facilities were incorporated into this room but that's us just being lazy.

We're already looking for a reason to go back.




New Year at Balvonie

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 19 adults and 5 children plus 3 dogs, we were all very warm and comfortable and made very welcome.
Balvonie caters for all ages and stages; the views, garden and hot tub were much appreciated.
It was great that the ferries only take 1st Jan off.
Food shopping was easy and Nardini's visited by all (some more than once).

If we were to suggest changes then it might be nice to have curtains in the dining room.
We liked the signature lighting, the magnificent candle holders and the disco ball!

Would definitely recommend Balvonie for a great venue at any time of year, thank you.




70th birthday

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house and setting for my birthday weekend which culminated in a Murder Mystery party. Fab.



Girlie weekend for 50th Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Invited 22 ladies to help me celebrate my 50th birthday in November. The house was just wow and was in a stunning location with amazing view overlooking Firth of Clyde and we were able to watch the ships/ferries sail back and forth-just magical. We even had lovely young deer in the garden first thing in morning which was delight to see.

My friends thought the house was amazing and equipped to very high standard. The amount of glasses, tableware etc on offer was just fabulous. We spent most of first night in the kitchen which happily was roomy enough for all of us to enjoy some singing etc. The sitting room was just marvelous and fantastic wood burning stove.

Saturday we used the formal dining room and dressed up for dinner which was just marvelous.

The caretaker was readily available for any requests/problems which arose during our weekend but was not interfering in any way.

Would love to use the house again for celebrations in future and really would recommend Balvonie House to give your celebrations that extra WOW factor.





Wedding Celebrations

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently chose Balvonie House as the venue for our Wedding and booked a 4 night stay in this beautiful luxury home. It met our needs perfectly! From beginning to end, we had the most fantastic time. The configuration of the bedrooms allowed 25 guests to stay for 2 nights, while a few other guests arrived on the Saturday and booked.into accommodation between Inverkip and Largs. The views from.Balvonie to Bute are stunning, and photographs were taken within the beautiful private garden grounds. The kids were effortlessly kept occupied by the tree house, hot tub and games room. Our external caterer was able to provide and prepare a full buffet in the well appointed kitchen with no problems whatsoever. Every guest loved our concept of marrying at Balvonie and it was the most magical experience!



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Balvonie House for a surprise 30th birthday party and it was everyone we could have wished for and more.

The location and views are stunning and all of the bedrooms and bathrooms are very well decorated, spacious and up to date.

The layout of the ground floor area with the spacious living room and kitchen and very well laid out dining hall makes this house perfect for either a family getaway or a celebration weekend/party.

To top things off the hot tub, BBQ and tree house in the garden, all overlooking the stunning views, make this house perfect.

Would definitely recommend and will probably go back for another trip.




Pleasant week

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were a group of twenty staying at Balvonie House for a week. We enjoyed our stay.
Some problems with the hot water in some showers being too hot.
We would have enjoyed having some more armchairs in the drawing room.
Better response when problem reported.




Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kay, We are delighted that you had a wonderful family stay at Balvonie House. We are sorry that you found your shower too warm. This is not something we hear too often in chilly Scotland! Rest assured this issue has already been reviewed and remedied. We are constantly upgrading and improving Balvonie to ensure a luxury experience for all of our visitors. In the past few months we have made many enhancements including over 300 new trees in the garden, a newly rebuilt treehouse and a cosy new wood burner in the sitting room. We are also responding to previous visitor comments by including kitchen amenities such as dishwashing liquid and cloths etc. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next family get together. Kind regards Lorna Owner

Family gathering of four generations for a 95th birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balvonie House was a wonderful venue for the whole family to celebrate a 95th birthday. We were blessed with sunshine and amazing views across to the Isle of Bute, with ferries coming and going; we made good use of the hot tub, and played outdoor games on the lawn. The children used the long swing, but the tree house is not really safe. The purple rhododendrons gave a lovely background for our group photograph! The caretaker Vilius was swift to help us by making an excellent wooden ramp to link the indoors with outdoors so that a small mobility scooter could be used carefully throughout, and this was much appreciated. The furnishings indoors are substantial, and fairly child-proof once a few glass vases have been moved! There is 'Duplo' and a large plastic workbench in the games room for the toddlers. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped, and has enough room for informal eating. Advisable though to bring some cleaning wipes, sprays, wiping up cloths, bin liners, spare toilet rolls and so on. The sitting room is large, being on two levels, with a quality lowering screen and projector, and excellent Wi-fi. The dining room has a long and a smaller table, and makes a suitable venue for a celebration meal or even a ceilidh! The bedrooms upstairs are lovely, with plenty of towels and hot water. The heating in the downstairs bedroom only came on for Sunday - a bit chilly before that! One or two minor glitches with the taps and locks in the shower rooms, and care needed with the recessed floor system so as not to cause a flood! There is a well-equipped laundry room which also has two extra refrigerators, which meant that we only needed one large Tesco delivery (which came on time, soon after our arrival)! We were there in the broad daylight of midsummer, but there are no blinds or curtains in the public rooms, which might be looked for in winter. Overall a lovely venue, quiet, well equipped, spacious - well recommended!



Beautiful view and very comfortable. An excellent stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the house for our wedding weekend, with 19 guests, and had a wonderful stay. One of the highlights of the location is the amazing view, which we and all of our guests loved and also provided a beautiful backdrop to our ceremony. The grounds had suffered a bit from the recent bad weather, but with such a big area to choose from, we found a great spot to get married.

It had the feel of a hotel in the bedrooms and the beds are really comfortable. The whole house felt stylish, yet homely, and everyone loved it. There was plenty of space for us and the games room and the cinema-style screen were great for relaxing the next day.

Whilst the house was generally really well equipped, there were some things that were not provided, which we had noted from a previous review, so had come prepared. But it would make more sense from a guest perspective to have these included. Cloths, washing up liquid, soap for the kitchen and shared bathrooms, extra bin bags, additional toilet rolls, salt and pepper... We also couldn't find an oven glove.

If Balvonie House provided these things as part of the package I think it would give an even better experience, but we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. It has so many positive features and everyone said that they felt like they'd been on a mini-break. It has obviously become a very special place for us, and I'm so pleased that we booked it.




Fantastic house with wonderful views

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at Balvonie. The house was immaculate & rooms so modern. We all thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub & the views & sunsets were spectacular. It's a fantastic location & the house is very well appointed. The kitchen had everything we required & the lounge was very comfortable. We even had a deer in the garden one morning! The only minor niggle was that the treehouse is unsafe for anyone to use. We were advised to use it at our own risk but it should be taken down as it is dangerous & the children were disappointed. The only bin in the house is in the kitchen, as I mentioned to the house manager. We had a wonderful stay, will definitely recommend & would love to return, Thank you for making our weekend with friends so enjoyable.



We booked Balvonie House to celebrate my Mother's 80th birthday and it was absolutely perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location of the house was perfect, easy access, fantastic views across to Bute and plenty parking for everyone's cars. We were really impressed with the size of the house and in particular the public rooms. The lounge was bright , beautifully furnished with great facilities; the large screen was perfect for the family film show! The Dining room was ideal with all 26 of the family able to sit down together and the space and facilities in the kitchen were perfect, great views over breakfast, even on the wet and misty mornings. All bedrooms, en suites and bathrooms were beautifully furnished and the overall space within the house was a real bonus
We did use the wood burning stove but to be honest the central heating was more than sufficient and while the weather was a little inclement it didn't stop four of the family enjoying the hot tub.
If I was to share some constructive feedback. We did find the one sink in what's an extremely large kitchen a restriction; it was a challenge when trying to wash crockery and prepare vegetables. The second point was the state of the lawn at the front of the house. Fortunately the weather meant we didn't really use the garden but I was disappointed that it was so muddy and really out of bounds for anyone (including the dog) without risking bringing in a lot of mud into the house. Its on that one point that I've marked down the overall condition.
The Property Manager who met us was very pleasant and when my brother pointed out a few cracked window panes it was duly noted. We didn't have to contact her for anything although the alarm did go off for about 30 seconds on the Saturday evening and we never did get to the bottom of what had triggered it. In fact we weren't sure if it was a smoke or perimeter alarm but as it happened at 2:30 am in the morning everyone in the house was in bed, safe and it stopped very quickly.
Overall it was a wonderful stay, my parents thoroughly enjoyed having everyone together and the entire family agreed it was perfect for the birthday celebration




Birthday stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Mar 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house, great location and space for a large party. Downside was very cold, the heating comes on at 8am which isn't ideal if you have young children. We asked how to turn the heating up but we're told we wouldn't need to... Ended up being absolutely freezing in the morning which was a slight downer on an otherwise lovely stay



Family weekend get together

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
First impressions of walking into Balvonie House- wow! Beautifully decorated, very clean and amazing views. We had horrendous weather so were restricted to staying in the house but enough space to stop everyone getting under each other's feet. We did manage to use hot tub a couple of times but was a very cold sprint between hot tub and back door! Beds were very comfortable and apart from gale force winds everyone slept very well. Wifi only available in lounge but very intermittent. We ordered food from local Chinese- not the best. Everything came covered in a thick gloopy sauce! We did have a supermarket delivery and there is ample cupboard and fridge storage. We were surprised that considering the house holds 26 people there were no cleaning materials at all. There wasn't a brush and dust pan or even a few dish washer tablets to get first couple of dish washer loads done. There were a few bin liners but were such poor quality that they burst spilling everything onto the floor when you tried to take them out the bins and with no brush or cleaning sprays etc - was a messy job. We did bring kitchen rolls and extra toilet rolls and would suggest that others do the same but you really don't expect to bring cleaning sprays, cloths etc. If the weather had been kinder the children would have had great fun in the large grounds but I guess when you go in February you should expect rain! Maybe the next time we would go in the spring.