FB Twitter

2CS Richmond

2CS Richmond

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8



A VERY LOVELY COTTAGE GOOD LOCATION,EASY ACCESS TO SHOPS,TRANSPORT,WOULD NOT HESITATE TO GO AGAIN

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A VERY LOVELY COTTAGE,EVERYTHING YOU NEEDED WAS THERE,EASY ASSESS TO SHOPS,TRANSPORT,AND TO TRAVEL TO PLACES OF INTEREST

Jean from Sherborne stayed at 2CS Richmond for 6 nights in August 2018


Great location for exploring the old town

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is ideally located just off the old square but with its own parking and in a secluded courtyard. We had plenty of options for places to eat out on our doorstep and a co-op and bakers within a short walk.

The kitchen was very well equipped and the decor all feels very new and clean. With four adults it is not overly roomy but still very comfortable.

As a base Richmond was great for exploring the Dales, Malham Cove, Whitby and Richmond itself. We could have happily filled another week with places to explore.


Graham from Odiham stayed at 2CS Richmond for 5 nights in August 2018


Loved this cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage! It was clean, modern and well equipped. The location was excellent....right in the middle of Richmond, but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. The owners and property manager provided excellent customer service, were very responsive and dealt immediately with the one small issue that arose.
I would definitely recommend this cottage and look forward to staying there again!


Laura from Tucson stayed at 2CS Richmond for 15 nights in June 2018


Our first week in the Dales

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spot, perfect for two with sleeping for more. We really enjoyed Richmond and the flat was extremely quiet, convenient and comfy. Would definitely stay again.

Shirley from Fredericton stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in April 2018


A week with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying with friends in Richmond. Booked both 2CS and Little Cobblestones, the properties worked really well for us.
Well equipped and great location.


Heather from Wrenbury stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in September 2017


Lovely central Richmond cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is about a minutes walk from Richmond market place - the town centre. It is well equipped and comfortable - ideal for two - and has the great advantage of its own parking space.

Guest from Wokingham stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in August 2017


lovely flat

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This flat had all we needed for our week in Richmond. The reserved off road parking is a real bonus in England.
The flat was modern and clean.


Phill from Mount Gambier stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in July 2017


Last minute stay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is lovely. Mike and Bev are very friendly and professional. What a beautiful property in an idyllic and picturesque location. Close to all amenities. Home from Home type property that was very well facilitated. The owners of this cottage really know what is needed for a comfortable stay.

Michelle from Wolsingham stayed at 2CS Richmond for 1 nights in April 2017


A most comfortable and convenient stay in Richmond.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We required a property in or near Richmond to visit my family living in Richmond, Darlington and Low Worsall. 2SC fitted the bill on paper and we were not disappointed when we arrived at the cottage. A small problem with the key safe was solved in two minutes by Dave and the cottage proved to be comfortable and convenient for our needs.
We had specifically requested a secure off road parking space for our Mercedes Benz sports car and Mike the owner assured us that this would be available. In fact we had two spaces to ourselves all week.
We had also queried the building work next door but were assured by Mike that he had spoken to the agent and they were aware of our concerns. Indeed the builders were most helpful in ensuring that the lane was clear whenever we wished to go out.
We would most certainly return.


Damian from Bury St Edmunds stayed at 2CS Richmond for 4 nights in March 2017


A lovely cottage, fantastic location town location with parking!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mike and Bev Smith, go out of their way to ensure that they have a cottage that is of a high standard, beautifully presented and comfortable throughout. It has been thoughtfully and tastefully presented, and there is nothing that we can say other than, thank you very much. It could not have been more perfect! We will be back!!

Eddie from Liverpool stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in December 2016


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in the centre of Richmond, in a quiet location, with it's own parking space. It was beautifully furnished and had everything one needed for short stay.

Sheila from Nantwich stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in September 2016


stay at 2cs richmond

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is lovely and has everything you want. De location in the middle of richmond is perfect exept for the view you have when you step outside. It is at the back of some shops and restaurants. The smell of food is not nice. The building work at the fleece hotel was not nice. You could here them all the time.

Guest from Someren stayed at 2CS Richmond for 14 nights in September 2016


Bev & Mike Smith - Owners replied more than 1 year ago
Our guests agree "the cottage is lovely and has everything you want". The setting is enclosed in a courtyard immediately behind the Market Place which forms the town centre. The location affords guest privacy, dedicated car parking and pedestrian access literally a few steps away from one of the most stunning and picturesque views you could wish to find. We regularly stay in our cottage to visit family and friends and have never been troubled by "the smell of food." On the contrary, the town centre boasts a variety and mix of local shops, pubs, hotels, restaurants, cafes and other essential amenities which are welcomed and enjoyed by ourselves, residents and visitors alike. The fact that these amenities are within walking distance of our cottage is seen by us and the vast majority of our guests as an attraction. The Fleece Hotel, situated directly behind our property, is currently undergoing redevelopment into mews/courtyard cottages and quality apartments, which is welcomed by us as owners of two of the three properties in College Square. The Fleece is a prominent landmark building in Richmond which has recently stood unoccupied and unloved in recent times. When fully restored, The Fleece will become a complimentary and imposing gateway development beside our properties. The developer does not work all the time, so the statement by our guests “You can hear them all the time”, is simply not true. No work takes place in the evenings or at weekends (the occasional Saturday morning aside) and reasonable weekday working hours are kept. We are in direct contact with the developers, who are aware of our interests as owners of holiday properties and we are maintaining a close watching brief on all activities. We respect the right of these guests not to recommend our property to others, but we consider this to be grossly unfair when the review is based mostly around their judgement of the location from their personal viewpoint. The narrative in the review itself offers them sufficient opportunity to give opinion about location and value to them, which should rightly inform others about their personal experience, but the decision not to recommend to others seems odd when viewed against the other scores on cleanliness, service, comfort and condition and therefore should not in any way deter other guests who are drawn to a town centre location and, in our opinion and the reviews of other guests, one of the best town centre located cottages in Richmond and possibly North Yorkshire.

Great first experience

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Mike and Bev for this wonderful apartment. We arrived later than expected on Friday (thanks to Bank Holiday traffic). Instructions given were very accurate, the welcome pack (Milk, coffee) were spot on. The brilliant location of this lovely apartment together with the fact it has its own parking - this was absolutely priceless. The apartment itself is great - everything we needed (and more) was there. The "secret" door to the market square was the highlight of my daughter's stay, together with the bunk bed :) Before and throughout the stay, Mike answered any question we had and made our stay as pleasant as possible. Once again - thank you ever so much, we will definitely come back.

Guest from Cold Ashby stayed at 2CS Richmond for 3 nights in August 2016


2cs cottage Richmond

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely cottage with all home comforts in the centre of a beautiful town, close to lots of lovely restaurants and cafes. Lots of lovely areas to visit, including the dales, the coast and some amazing cities.

Guest from Tavistock stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in July 2016


Fantastic cottage, excellent location, perfect short break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just had the perfect short break in Richmond. Cottage was spotlessly clean, well equipped and we didn't want for anything. Joining instructions and directions were easy to follow. So quiet, couldn't tell we were in the town centre yet so convenient for the shops and pubs - through the secret door! Wifi signal strong and fast.

Anthony from Thackley stayed at 2CS Richmond for 4 nights in April 2016


Lovely cottage in ideal location.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage lived up to expectations. It was very clean, comfortable and cosy. The location was ideal. The welcome pack was very thoughtful. There was plenty of information regarding the cottage and local places to eat and visit. We would recommend.

Carolyn from Scunthorpe stayed at 2CS Richmond for 3 nights in February 2016


Exellent comfortable cottage in midde of terrace with parking in central Richmond.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit. We love this cottage, it is perfect for us, quiet, central with parking right in the middle of Richmond. Everything on our doorstep yet within a very easy drive to the Dales. Perfect for break at any time of the year. Owner and his representative offer first class booking service and support during the stay. We hope to return.

Patricia from Oxted stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in December 2015


Excellent Location

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to use as a base to discover the Dales! We explored from one end to the other using Richmond as our base and being able to walk through a door and get anything we wanted was an absolute bonus!

Margaret from stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in November 2015


A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful cottage was an excellent base for our holiday in Yorkshire and within reasonable travelling time for the Lake District.

The cottage was perfectly equipped and we did not lack for anything. The owners should be so proud of their property and it is so tastefully decorated.

We would not hesitate to book this cottage again if we were going to Yorkshire again.



Guest from Staines Upon Thames stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in June 2015


Recommended property

Review submitted on Sun, 03 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great modern accommodation - ideally located in middle of Richmond, which is a wonderful historic town with a castle, river, variety of shops and most importantly blessed with many real ale pubs. Easy access to the delights of Swaledale and Wensleydale.
Everything you need is provided for at 2CS, but a small bin in the bedrooms and bathroom would have been appreciated.
I would recommend however that you view Victoria Road on Google Street View beforehand particularly the location of the Fleece public house behind which College Square is located, as it is very tucked away. Fortunately this pub is currently closed otherwise it may be noisy at night.


Guest from Wallasey stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in April 2015


Mike Smith - owner replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the review and the points raised. 2 College Square is nestled behind the town's market place and The Fleece public house, which is currently closed. Strict noise limitations were imposed by the local licensing authority when the venue was open and noise was not a problem. Richmond boasts a fair number of public houses, which is part of its appeal and the night time economy is part of town life for residents and visitors alike. The author of the review has no experience to support his suggestion that "it may be noisy at night". As owners, we maintain that 2 College Square is as cosy and as quiet a town centre property as any you will find.

A Hidden Nook in Richmond

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at 2 College Square - The cottage is compact and it gets top marks for being spotlessly clean and in a good location. The lounge/dining room was comfortable and had dining seating at a breakfast bar for four and lounge seating for 3 - a two seater sofa and another single chair. The chairs were very comfortable. The cottage was easy to find and a great plus having a private parking space in the courtyard. The reason I have marked the cottage down under the comfort rating is that we found the beds rather uncomfortable - the double bed is only a double (not a queen) and the bunks are only suitable for an average weight person - two of our party were 6ft 2 +. I agree with a previous review that as the cottage does not have washing facilities, a second towel should be provided for a week stay. You can take the towels to be laundered to Johnston's the drycleaners/launderers in the square (look for the green shop front near the Green Howards Museum),they offer a very efficient same day service. The cottage is the second home of the owners and we felt a little uncomfortable with all the instructions of what we should and shouldn't do which slightly spoilt our stay. We have rented many cottages/flats/converted barns during our travels and haven't encountered this. Despite saying this it is a pretty little cottage in a great location.

Guest from Stretton stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in November 2014


A lovely weeks break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all had a lovely stay at 2 College Square. Great Location! Just look in the visitors book and you will see just how much we squeezed into 1 week. We would definitely recommend it to our friends. We were really lucky and had lots of sunshine os we were able to maximise on all that you can see and do in Richmond, we even managed to get tickets to see King Lear in the Theatre which is right by College Square. One thing I would have changed was the towels mid-week they just weren't enough for 4 people - 1 medium towel per person per week was a challenge.

Guest from Worcester stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in August 2014


Fantastic cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic little cottage in the heart of Richmond. It was easy to book and the owners went the extra mile to make our stay great. When I mentioned in passing that I was arranging a funeral they gave me the contact details of Roots and Shoots (a fantastic florist) in Richmond.

Having a parking space and being a stones throw away was great.

You couldn't ask for anything more! I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay in or near Richmond.



Guest from Folkestone stayed at 2CS Richmond for 3 nights in July 2014


A beautiful little cottage in a very convenient location

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful little cottage in a very convenient location. We were a little worried as we drove up the narrow driveway beside the Fleece Hotel leading to College Square. The sight of the three little cottages reassured us, and once inside no.2 we were delighted with all we saw. The cottage is beautifully decorated and maintained and very well equipped. Every inch of space is used imaginatively and there are many thoughtful touches. Again, we were a little disconcerted when we walked through the rather scruffy alleyway across the little Square leading to the "secret door" but once through were delighted to be right in the bustling and attractive Richmond Market Place. It was a delight to step through the gate in the mornings and evenings and have everything on our doorstep. So an excellent location in most respects. The "Apple Tree Fences" outside the cottages are a lovely idea and will provide a pleasant outlook as they grow.The owners were most helpful and friendly from the moment the booking process started and they did all they could to make our stay enjoyable, as did the local representative.

Guest from Llandudno stayed at 2CS Richmond for 14 nights in June 2014


A treasure behind a secret door

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in this cosy cottage, a real home from home with all the convenience of the wonderful town of Richmond through you own secret door to the market place.

Guest from Northampton stayed at 2CS Richmond for 7 nights in June 2014


January long weekend in Richmond

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for our 3 day visit which included an overnight car rally. Communication with the owners by email was very straightforward. Richmond provided all immediate needs including last minute navigation equipment. Very helpful visitors file in the cottage.

Guest from Oxford stayed at 2CS Richmond for 3 nights in January 2014