FB Twitter

Kestrel Retreat

Kestrel Retreat

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Kestrel Retreat is our Scandivian-style property.

Great view of countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The windows that make up one side of the retreat offer a great view of Herefordshire. The place itself was very comfortable, clean, and modern. (We're not bothered with a hot tub so Value for Money is 4/5). A great place from which to walk or else admire the the view. The Kilpeck Inn is recommended.



Sarah replied 8 days ago
We are very lucky with the wealth of public footpaths around the lodges and I am pleased you took advantage of some of them during your stay. The Kilpeck Inn does serve delicious seasonal food. Great that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. All the best.

Fantastic place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great place to stay, the location was a fantastic location on top of a hill with a beautiful view of fields and towns in the background. The cabin itself was spacious yet still warm and giving cosy vibes, with sonos speakers in all rooms it was great to play some music and have it follow you around the cabin. Although there are 3 cabins within close proximity to each other you honestly didn’t think anyone else was there as they were situated in a way where it felt like it was only your cabin around. A few points for very minor improvements are; include some more outside lightening, there is a few lights out there that are very pretty but when trying to barbecue couldn’t really see the food without a torch, even some fairy lights on the black cladding would be great to increase the light levels outside at night. The mattress on the bed is okay, but only okay, it would be a lot nicer if it was a little bit more softer and increase the luxury feeling of the stay. Finally the table between the sofas (which looks like a clothes peg which is cool) is unfortunately not flat at the top. This meant when trying to play board games in front of the TV it was an uneven surface and things would keep falling off. The points of improvement above are very very small issues with what was a fantastic stay and would still give this 10/10.



Sarah replied 8 days ago
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Sonos speakers in each room and agree the lodge is spacious yet cosy. The properties have been designed with privacy in mind and I am glad you felt like you were the only lodge around! Thank you for your feedback, I am really surprised about the mattress - we are very proud of our premium British-made Harrison Spinks mattresses which many people ask about to purchase for their own homes after staying in our lodges. Thank you for the 10/10, it is great you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes.

Relaxing and beautiful retreat!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay. Everything was so clean, and we couldn't find a single fault, everything had been thought of and more. The views were breathtaking to take In from the jacuzzi! The products such as hand-wash and Bath salts all were so lovely to use during the stay.



Sarah replied 23 days ago
Thrilled to hear you "could not find a single fault". It is fantastic you enjoyed your break so much. Thank you for your kind words. All the best.

Romantic escape

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Kestrel lodge for a short romantic mini break and it didn’t disappoint. The lodge was immaculately clean and super comfortable. The highlights for us were the stunning view and spa bath. We enjoyed star gazing each evening.

A fantastic get away from it all break, we will return.




Sarah replied 31 days ago
We work very hard to ensure the lodges are immaculately clean and extremely comfortable for our guests so I am thrilled you agree. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes.

really impressive

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our weekend in Kestrel retreat was great from start to finish. Such beautiful views outside and such attention to detail on the inside, it was everything we needed.



Sarah replied 37 days ago
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed Kestrel Retreat and all our extra special touches to ensure guest comfort. Thank you. All the best.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect upon perfect. Clean, super modern and luxury. There has been a lot of thought put into these lodges and it shows throughout. If you want a relaxing and private few nights away, I’d recommend this place 100%.



Sarah replied 45 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and kind words - delighted to hear "Perfect upon perfect". Best Wishes.

Beautiful retreat in a beautiful setting! Highly recommend!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this as a surprise for my partner to celebrate a special occasion and it exceeded our expectations! Very clean and well equipped and we were greeted by a welcome basket of local produce which was a lovely touch.

The accommodation is only exceeded by the views from the living room which are to die for. Spent our evenings watching the stars from the outside bath spa.

Couldn’t recommend more highly!




Sarah replied 51 days ago
I am so pleased that Kestrel Retreat exceeded your expectations, thank you so much for the fantastic review and very high recommendation. All the best.

Fantastic Short Break with amazing views. Will definitely be going back.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kestrel Retreat did not disappoint. Personal welcome basket, breath taking views. Very clean with all you need. Highly recommend



Sarah replied 51 days ago
I am thrilled, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best Wishes.

A hidden gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just Wow! We feel so lucky to have stayed at Kestrel Retreat last week. It was a much needed break from the city and Bettws Court is probably the most perfect place to relax, unwind and re-energise!

Sarah was so helpful from the get go, she was happy to provide us with walk suggestions and was also kind enough to reserve our dates while we sorted out transport. We travelled by train and taxi which was super easy for us, so if you’re without wheels, you will not miss out on this gem!

Upon arriving, you can really see how much effort and hard work has gone into Bettws Court, it’s truly amazing to see! Each hut has a view to die for across the fields and hills of Herefordshire. We particularly enjoyed watching the cows from the kitchen! The terrace is the perfect place to watch the sunset and sunrise (as someone who enjoys a lie in, I 100% recommend getting up early to watch the sunrise!) and also to relax after a busy day of walking; the outdoor bath is amazing!

The whole place was immaculate and we really liked that a lot of toiletries were included, it saved us the hassle of packing everything! Although the shops are far ( especially for us without cars ), we really did not miss anything. Kestrel Retreat was equipped with everything you could think of in all areas ( kitchen, bedroom and bathroom; the only thing we prepared to bring with us were specific ingredients for our food.

A few recommendations to future guests:

- If you plan to walk the Kilpeck loop, plan in advance! The team have already put a lot of thought into the instructions and map marking, however we got so busy stopping and enjoying every bit of the walk that we missed the opening times for the pub we were supposed to stop for lunch at! Still, we have no regrets as we fortunately packed a lot of snacks and enjoyed them by the castle instead!

- Tilly’s Farm Shop has the best bacon! We ordered some meat from here due to our stay having an unexpected bank holiday, but Tilly was happy to provide us with some goods and the bacon was definitely the highlight.


If you’re thinking of booking with Bettws Court Retreats, I would 100% recommend for you to do so! We have no regrets from our booking and staying and we are so grateful for Sarah’s ideas. It was due to this that we have left Bettws Court with our hearts full and a re-ignited love for nature.




Sarah replied 62 days ago
Thank you for the high recommendation. Great to hear you enjoyed one of the walks from Kestrel Retreat, we are so spoilt with the surrounding countryside! It was a pleasure to help you plan your stay and it is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed it. All the best.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge exceeded our expectations and was just perfect. Every little detail thought off to make your stay relaxing and stress free. The views were utterly breathtaking and we got lost in them for hours and hours. Cannot wait to go back



Sarah replied 62 days ago
I am delighted to hear Kestrel Retreat exceeded your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes.

Fabulous Place!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely faultless place to stay, the views are wonderful (I even made use of the binoculars!) and the cabin itself is so comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Spent the days exploring and the evenings relaxing in the spa bath and cooked for ourselves. There was nothing that we wanted that wasn't already provided and there has been no expense spared with all the fixtures, fittings and decor. Great attention to detail with welcome hamper, maps and guest book, would highly recommend a stay here and we would love to come back in the future. Thank you so much x



Sarah replied 71 days ago
Indeed no expense has been spared on fixtures, fittings and decor to ensure our guests have the most comfortable stay, as well as ensuring we provide lots of extra special touches. Thank you for the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back! All the best.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place! The lodge is brilliant and the Sarah has thought of everything you could need! The location is so picturesque and peaceful and it is a wonderful place to relax and do nothing!



Sarah replied 85 days ago
Thank you. I am thrilled you enjoyed your break at Kestrel Retreat. Best Wishes

Kestrel Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a relaxing get away at Kestrel Retreat. The stay has everything you need and could think of to feel looked after. My sister and I cooked at home as all equipment was provided and enjoyed using the spa bath under the stars.
The place was very clean, tidy and welcoming. Even a basket of locally sourced goodies was found on our arrival.




Sarah replied 99 days ago
Delighted to hear you agree that the kitchen is well equipped and you were able to cook in the lodge with ease. Thank you for the wonderful review. All the best.

An excellent get away!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolute loved our stay at the kestrel retreat, the view is breath taking the pictures don't even do it just justice. Very well presented from the interior design and the garden deck area. Originally I wasn’t sure how private it would feel from looking at the pictures but you don’t even notice the other Guest being there.

Hot tub and the bbq/smoker are also a really nice touch also everything you need is supplied, plus a really nice hamper of stuff when you arrive. I would recommend this to anyone looking to get away. The surrounding area is beautiful and there’s is plenty to do if you want to go out for the day.

Would definitely Visit again





Sarah replied 113 days ago
Great to hear you loved your stay at Kestrel Retreat. We have ensured each property is very private so you cannot notice other guests being there - I am thrilled you agree. We are very lucky with the wealth of activities in the surrounding area and it's brilliant you had time to explore. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Luxurious Countryside Retreat!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 2 nights for our second wedding anniversary and it was absolute bliss. Yes the photos are beautiful online but they do no justice when you are there and see it for yourself. The views and surroundings are absolutely incredible.

Firstly when we arrived, there was a basket of freebies waiting for us which was a lovely touch. We also pre-ordered from Tilly's Farm Shop and the hamper was in the lodge ready for our arrival!.

The lodge itself was beautiful, spacious with high ceilings and fully equipped. Absolutely love the decor throughout. The kitchen had all the cutlery you need, chopping board, oven trays, pots and pans, plates, wine/champagne glasses and cooking utensils. The living room had a smart TV and was really cosy in the evening. The bedroom looks quite small in the photos but that was surprisingly spacious too. The bathroom was nice and clean and that shower, I am going to miss!!

The decking area with the BBQ and spa bath were an awesome addition! We used the spa bath at night in the quiet outdoors, the town lights shining in the far distance and the sky lit above us full of stars - it was really romatic.

Sarah has done a fantastic job with this lodge, you guys should be really proud of pulling together a luxury countryside retreat!

I'd recommend looking at all of the things included so that you don't need to overpack during your stay as we were provided with everything we needed.

Communication with the host was great too should you have any questions during your stay.

For summer periods, I would definitely bring a fan with you as you can imagine it gets quite hot in the lodge and given you're in the countryside, there's a lot of flies /bugs but thankfully there was bug spray provided at the lodge. These are two things I would definitely recommend bringing with you.

All in all, waking up to that sunrise and seeing the sunset, hearing the cows, the sheep and looking at that fantastic view of the countryside was an amazing experience.




Sarah replied 113 days ago
I agree that photographs cannot do the property justice - it has to be seen for yourself! I am overjoyed to hear what a fantastic time you had and how much you enjoyed the facilities and surroundings as well as how well-equipped the property is. The rainfall shower is very powerful, I can imagine you will miss it!! Thank you. All the best.

Fantastic accommodation.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best accommodation. The cabins are superbly clean and well thought out. Everything you need for a relaxing and restful trip with the most stunning views.
Can't wait to book again.




Sarah replied 113 days ago
A high standard of cleanliness is very important to us and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best Wishes.

Peaceful quirky breakaway

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome two nights stay away. So nice to be surrounded by countryside. Loved the outside space too. Perfect for destressing and doing nothing. Each cabin is private and special. Thank you



Sarah replied 143 days ago
I am thrilled you enjoyed a peaceful break at Kestrel Retreat and returned refreshed. Thank you. All the best.

A luxury cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As someone who does not use a Satnav it would have been very helpful to have some directions to the property. We did manage to get vey lost and had to ask the way from local people on three occasions The cottage was provided with every possible amenity and a great deal of thought had gone into giving maximum comfort. We would certainly recommend it to friends wanting a quiet few days in a beautiful setting.



Sarah replied 158 days ago
Thank you for your high recommendation. With regard to directions - with the payment confirmation email we send detailed directions which also includes an annotated map with directions to the lodges. I am sorry that it seems you did not receive this email sent prior to your arrival. We would also have been happy to help you over the phone, however, I am pleased the locals helped you. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, we aim to provide maximum comfort and all amenities required and I am glad you agree. Many thanks. Best wishes.

Gorgeous place with stunning views, everything high standard

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a gorgeous long weekend in Kestrel Lodge, which is finished to such a high standard and has so many little touches of luxury and comfort. The wide-ranging views are just incredible, and the location is peaceful and private. The icing on the cake is the gorgeous spa bath on the deck, perfect for relaxing in whilst sunbathing or stargazing! The owner Sarah is a dream to deal with, and speedily responsive. Will definitely be back.



Sarah replied 170 days ago
I am delighted you had such a fantastic long weekend and enjoyed all the facilities in Kestrel Retreat. The views really are incredible. We look forward to welcoming you back another time! Best Wishes.

What long weekends and staycations are made for

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely amazing stay, personal touches were second to none and allowed for an amazingly restful break.

My only recommendations would a fan, dimmer lighting and preorder locally sourced. That takes absolutely nothing away from such an amazing property and stay.

Thank you! I’ve returned to the big smoke a very happy, relaxed, recharged…….and a lifetime fan.




Sarah replied 178 days ago
I am thrilled you had such a peaceful and relaxing break and enjoyed all the personal touches. It is great to hear you are now a lifetime fan. In terms of your recommendations - a fan is absolutely no problem (we are not used to such warm weather in the UK!). Secondly, we are pleased to offer different levels of lighting throughout the lodge, with separate lights and lamps to provide a range of ambience. We are also delighted to be working with Tillys Farm Shop who can deliver a range of hampers to the lodge ready for guest arrival. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back.