FB Twitter

Woodpecker Lodge

Woodpecker Lodge

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


Woodpecker Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Pony meadow 5. Close to the lake, this is a modern and contemporary 2-bedroom self-catering lodge which is stylishly decorated throughout. The lodge offers a bright and spacious living area, lovely hot tub, dishwasher, American style fridge/freezer, wine cooler, king size bed in the master bedroom and double bed in the 2nd bedroom. Dog friendly - 2 small dogs accepted.

Fab honeymoon

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was perfect for our honeymoon although the weather was the wettest we have ever had staying in the lakes!

We had a few issues such as the hot tub not working initially and the DVD player dying on us. The maintenance man was great, he got the hot tub working as best as possible without draining it and taking it apart- which wasn’t ideal but ok and he brought us a new DVD player within about an hour!!

For me it would always be better for dog friendly lodges to have laminated floors throughout the living area. The only other thing which i really was disappointed in- was that there is no parasol over the hot tub- meaning it was not protected from the rain, which is one of the reasons we chose it. When we asked we simply got told the owners must have taken it away.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The mod cons, the walks the hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
.

Sarah from North Shields stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in October 2019


My answers are in form at bottom

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything I have about the holiday are at the Bolton of this form the lodge was very nice the view was lovely everything you needed was there beds were comfy bathe rooms were clean kitchen had all you needed

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location to lake an woods an peace an quite

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip on steam train an ferry



Guest from Bootle stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 30 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodpecker Lodge and would recommend to others. Noting your ratings and additional comments, these will be passed on to the lodge owners and the park management for their reference. Thank you. As a cosy two bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub, this is wonderful place to relax and unwind - and perfect holiday retreat. We do hope you will return for another stay soon.

Amazing lodge!!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing 3 nights away here. The lodge is lovely. Bed so comfy. Loved the hot tub was great after long walks. Would defs stay here again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We did Orrest head walk would recommend, amazing viewpoint!



Gemma from Redcar stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in September 2019


Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge, no parasol over hot tub so couldn’t use in the rain. Lodge had a wet dog smell. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
All the attractions within the Lake District

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Zoo, lake cruise



Katie from Washington stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 27 days ago
Thank you for your review Katie. We are so pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay in Woodpecker Lodge. We have passed on your comments to the lodge owners and independent housekeeper for their information, thank you for letting us know and we do hope this did not impact on your stay too much! Woodpecker is a delightful two-bedroom lodge, cosy and compact with a hot tub to unwind in at the end of a busy day - it is an ideal place to stay. We do hope you will consider returning in the future for another stay in the future.

A wonderful long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We recently stayed in woodpecker lodge for a long weekend. It is a beautiful lodge; cosy, comfortable and modern. We had everything we needed and more. The location was great and despite the rain all weekend we still loved it. The best part by far was the hot tub; so wonderfully warm with colour changing lights! Even sitting in the rain and cold didn't dampen our spirits in the hot tub. Its was probably more fun because of the rain. Loved It! I would quite happily stay in this lodge every time we come back, and we definitely will come back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub was amazing!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boating on Lake Windemere

Lauren from Crawley stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 29 days ago
Thank you for your review Lauren, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the hot tub even in the unpredictable Lake District weather! Woodpecker is a modern and cosy two-bedroom lodge which two double beds! We are delighted to hear you wish to return and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Birthday break

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
location excellent, relaxing surroundings, peaceful and short distances of lakes trips etc. Just a pity i didnt know beforehand this place is doggy friendly.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
relaxation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
lake crossing



Allan from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in July 2019


June Break

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge,well equipped in a great position to visit both Windermere and Troutbeck...best lodge we have stayed in.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely comfortable lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wansfell Pike, Troutbeck, and Skelghyll Wood



Debbie from Gateshead stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in June 2019


Really enjoyed our stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay in this cabin. Good location to water front and amenities. Only suggestion was that sofa wasn't the most comfortable but I understand with it being dog friendly.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Chocbar



Megan from Allerton stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in June 2019


A very lovely lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely and I’d recommend it to a friend. It was very comfortable and within close proximity to Ambleside and bowness.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot top was lovely.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Take the boat to Ambleside and then onto Wray castle



Lainy from Salford stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was everything we wanted and more. We couldn’t fault it if we tried. We will definitely be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot Tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk



John from Scarborough stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 170 days ago
Thank you for your review John, we are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and you will be looking to return. Woodpecker is a modern two-bedroom lodge with a hot tub and space to enjoy the relaxing evenings in the Lake District. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Beautiful dog friendly lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, was in a great quiet location. Lodge was brilliantly equipped with an array of pots pans etc to use, best we’ve stayed in! Hot tub fabulous but no canopy there now so limited use in the rainy weather.
We had a fabulous stay and will definitely be back

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Fab location beautifully decorated

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aira force water falls



Rachel from Consett stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 169 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Rachel, we are so pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and made use of the fabulous hot tub. Woodpecker is a lovely modern two-bedroom lodge close to the lake, ideal for a relaxing time away. We are delighted you wish to return and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Brilliant lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location. Loved the hot tub. Lodge was modern and clean and tidy. Excellent stay and would book again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks



Tracy from Nelson stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in April 2019


Stunning lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful modern lodge in a secluded spot, excellent place for a relaxing getaway. Hot tub was amazing, very relaxing. Would definitely highly recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Wendy from Wakefield stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Woodpecker Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab lodge, lovely decor. Plenty of extras included. Hot tub a bonus. Will definitely be booking again. Only downside, tv wouldn’t tune in properly.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just relaxing.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
None



Liz from Bradford stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 220 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments Liz. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. Thank you for informing us of the slight issue you had with the television, we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Woodpecker Lodge is an ideally placed, modern two bedroom lodge with a hot tub and a spacious deck to enjoy relaxing after a day out. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Surprise birthday trip

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this lodge as a surprise birthday treat for my boyfriend. It did not disappoint at all. We arrived and got unpacked. Quick trip to the onsite shop then headed to the hot tub! Instructions on how to lift the lid were simple to follow as some can be a little complicated and it was at temperature which was lovely. The facilities within the lodge were excellent and there wasn't anything that we were lacking while there. Was a shame to have to leave and we will definitely be booking again!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing and peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Book in at baha restaurant in Windermere. True little gem!



Charlotte from Cleckheaton stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Feb 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful lodge was moden through out the lodge which you could not fault. The only problem we found with the lodge was poor signal to tv in the front room and WiFi signal. There was also stuff left on the floor were house keeping had not cleaned up and window cleaner left on the bed.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The modern feel of the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lovely location if you don't mind walking into Bowness or Ambleside.



Neil from Ferryhill stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in February 2019


Weekend retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Popped into the lakes for a weekend for our anniversary First time we have taken our Cocker, and found the lodge an excellent place overall for our stay. Clean and well equipped Loads of room on the decking for Jasper to patrol and a gate to keep him safe. Hot tub was ace and the lodge is in a great position. Had a very relaxing time. Tv and WiFi reception was a bit iffy but We were on holiday so loads of other things to do and see. Club house is good what more could you want.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip to windermere



Andrew from Barrow-in-furness stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in November 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 282 days ago
Thank you for the review, Andrew. We are so pleased to hear you had a relaxing weekend at Woodpecker Lodge. A wonderful place to celebrate your anniversary. Woodpecker is a modern two-bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub, and with a spacious terrace to enjoy on those glorious hot days or simply for Jasper to patrol. A well-presented lodge and a great location. We shall be delighted to welcome you again in the near future.

Lovely lodge. Well equipped.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful lodge. Well situated. Well equipped but not many matching wine glasses. Seating very uncomfortable in living area. Hot tub was lovely.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful location and hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
All walks were lovely.



Susan from Alloa stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in September 2018


Happy hols

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifull lodge,very clean and a lovely place. Maybe the only thing is a small screen to the side of the hot tub as it's overlooked and an updated menu card from the restaurant but a fantastic stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aira force at ullswater



Clare from Stafford stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in September 2018


First family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing time in the lakes and at woodpecker lodge. It was the first time to the lakes and staying in a lodge it was beautiful. Wish we stayed longer as there was loads we wanted to do we will definitely be back at woodpecker lodge it was to a very high standard. Very comfortable, we enjoyed the hot tub and there was everything in the lodge we needed.
Thank you for our amazing stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just being able to relax.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The lake Windermere cruises were lovely and we had a lovely walk once we got off the boat was a lovely day out and my baby loved having a look out of the boat.



Darren from Stoke-on-trent stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 3 nights in September 2018


Woodpecker Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lidge was clean on arrival and in a good location on the park, with the woods behind. The hot tub is private and a great addition to the lodge. The kitchen is very well equipped.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on Windermere



Rebecca from Halifax stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in August 2018


Excellent stay at woodpecker lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd time st whitecross bay. Stayed mon - friday at woodpecker lodge. Perfect location, lodge very clean, well equipped even a wine cooler - fab. Hot tub excellent. We loved our stay it just wasn't long enough. Would highly recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Luxury lodge, excellent position, hot tib

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruises



Leslie from Musselburgh stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 4 nights in June 2018


Woodpecker Lodge, White Cross Bay, Lake Windermere

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was in excellent condition, great range of towels bedding cutlery etc. When we arrived lodge was very clean. Hot tub was very clean and well maintained by staff throughout our stay.
The only issue we had was that when it rained the noise on the roof of the bedroom and we had a couple of sleepless nights due to this.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and standard of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere sail



Alan from Motherwell stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for 7 nights in April 2018


Fiona- Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Woodpecker Lodge, Alan. We are delighted to read your comments and pleased you enjoyed the lodge. Whilst we note your further comments about the noise of the rain we assume that the beauty of the Lakes, the peace and tranquillity and the scenery more than makes up for the heavy downpours we can often expect from this stunning part of the world. Woodpecker is a modern two bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub, a super place to relax and unwind.