FB Twitter

Wansfell Retreat Lodge

Wansfell Retreat Lodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 51 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Wansfell Retreat is located on Limefitt Park at Wansfell 4. This is a beautiful, modern and high specification 3-bedroom self-catering lodge which enjoys an elevated position with uninterrupted views across the valley to the fells. This lodge has Sky HD channels, docking station, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Dog friendly - 2 small dogs accepted.

4 Night Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed for 4 nights late Sept. Booking was extremely easy and hassle free. Lodge location is excellent with great views from the decking area and pretty central within the park. Condition and cleanliness cannot be faulted and if returning to Limefitt would have no hesitation on booking this lodge again.
Only downside was the on site pub the Haybarn was shut for the majority of our stay for maintenance issues, which has no bearing on the lodge itself.
We would certainly return here again as it is an outstanding location.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Beautiful countryside and relaxing stay

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Explore the surrounding area plenty to be found

Kevin from Lochwinnoch stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Well worth a stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice clean cabin on arrival. Lovely furnishings, In our view,the best views on site. Lovely sized rooms and showers. Plenty of storage. Room for two cars. Would definitely recommend Wansfell Retreat. The pony trekking people attached to the site are brilliant. The only downside for us was the onsite pub/restaurant, could have been better, in that the food and drink was just ok, wouldn’t have gone there again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lovely views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Their are just to many attractions to see and do to write everything down here.



Wendy from Leyland stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Superb

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at several lodges at limefitt before. They are all nice. But this one is outstanding.
The furnishings are very good quality, comfortable beds, it was extremely clean when we arrived,
And Very well equipped,

The outside decking had a secure gate on it so our small dog could run around safely. The outdoor furniture was
Top quality and comfortable and the view is amazing. We can’t rate this lodge highly enough.

No complaints whatsoever - apart from the WiFi. WiFi is advertised as available at limefitt, but in the week we were there, none of
our party were able to get onto the internet, not once. This was very dissapointing, However WiFi is not the lodge
owners responsibility, so we do not blame them in any way.

Overall this was an outstanding lodge with outstanding views.
.





What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grassmere village and Brockhole visitor centre.

Anthony from Bolton stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 124 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review Anthony, we are so pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at this stunning lodge. We are sorry to hear you had trouble with the free WiFi which is provided by the park, although this is something outside of our control, we will certainly pass this to the park management for their information. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Wansfell Retreat is a beautifully presented three-bedroom lodge, decorated to a very high specification and with the most amazing views, this lodge is certainly one to visit! We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Another great stay at Limefitt

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed with our 10 year old son, great lodge, the second time we’ve stayed in Wansfell Retreat. Views amazing. Great position on the park. Very comfortable. Some maintenance required on the lodge - bulbs out/dripping gutters etc - but overall another fab stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Great base for fell walking

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Kayaking at Nichol End on Derwentwater



Helen from Sheffield stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 10 nights in May 2019


Another wonderful stay at Wansfell Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Wansfell Retreat on a few occasions now and it remains our favourite lodge at Limefitt and never fails to be a lovely place to escape to and enjoy the ideal surroundings.
As usual, we found the lodge to be clean, well equipped, and very comfortable. The interior is to a very high standard and feels very much a home from home. The decking and exterior is private and has amazing views. We travel with our dog (Lurcher) and find that the secure decking area is a safe zone for him without having to worry about him escaping. The location of the lodge allows us to choose from a variety of walks, hikes, or Fells either locally or by driving further afield to other parts of the Lakes. On site there is the reliable Haybarn Inn which has always been a good place to have a few drinks or a hearty pub meal which we always enjoy visiting. There are also lots of other dog-friendly pubs serving food around the area to choose from. We've been visiting Limefitt for a number of years now and will certainly continue to come back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge itself and its location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Castle Cragg walk at borrowdale

Andy from Wigan stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


A nice relaxing break.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Still a lovely lodge, but requires better quality bedding and some general repairs needed.
Overall still a very relaxing break with excellent views from the lodge. Would recommend highly. Ideal for people bringing their pet, with the fully enclosed balcony.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing, with excellent surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A visit to Keswick.



Bryan from Beverley stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 184 days ago
Thank you for your review, Bryan and it is pleasing to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Wansfell Retreat. This is a wonderful lodge; Modern, spacious and the views, amazing! With regard to the lodge suggestions, thank you for these and we will certainly follow these up and address accordingly. Wansfell Retreat offers fantastic accommodation for families or couples looking to escape the hustle and bustle of daily life. An excellent location to just enjoy the outdoors, or the views. We look forward to you returning for another stay soon.

Great Easter Week

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stayed at this lodge for the 2nd time, enjoyed great weather the changes to this lodges (sofa’s, TV) much needed improvements. Great stay, Great lodge, Great weather.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Weather was great so enjoyed outdoor decked area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk to Orrest Head



Heather from Knutsford stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


A surprise 3 night stay competition winner at the Wansfell Retreat Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an enjoyable stay at Wansfell lodge the area is beautiful and the situation of the lodge is tranquil and calming you are not overlooked and with plenty of outside sitting area to enjoy. The restaurant which is set back from the lodges is an excellent addition.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The delightful views around the lodge the tranquil environment

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Spending a pleasant day walking in and around Grasmere. Around the lake has breathtaking views and if jigsaw are your thing they have a shop that is full to the top with every jigsaw possible.



Julie from Preston stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 215 days ago
Thank you for the great comments, Julie and Congratulations on winning a 3 night stay to Wansfell Retreat. A fantastic place; Peaceful location, stunning views and a beautifully presented three-bedroom lodge. Perfect. Thank you for staying at this delightful lodge and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time here.

thoroughly enjoyed

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we thoroughly enjoyed staying at this lodge (one of several we have stayed at on the park). it is very warm and comfortable, with excellent views of the surrounding hills. we would definitely stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
good weather and views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
walking over trout beck which overlooks the park, very spectacular views on a good day.



Andrea from Blackburn stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in March 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 218 days ago
Thank you for your review Andrea, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Wansfell Retreat is a beautiful presented 3 bedroom lodge with stunning views across the valley, it is perfect for families or couples. We are thrilled to hear you would like to return, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Staying at limefitt park

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of our party enjoyed the stay at wansfell retreat lodge we cannot wait while next year.we keep trying new lodges each one very nice.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge the walks the park

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walk to amble side



Christine from Sheffield stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 5 nights in December 2018


Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was in a great location, with amazing views and we felt relaxed as soon as we walked through the door. Wansfell is decorated to a high standard and there is everything you could possibly need for a relaxing stay. We booked for a relative's 60th birthday for the weekend and we regretted we hadn't booked for longer.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix potter world for guests with young children



Charlotte from Wakefield stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 2 nights in November 2018


4 day break at wansfell retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our break in this lodge and this area of the lakes. There are good walks from the site and it's not too far to drive further on for ambleside or grasmere.
The lodge was warm,clean and comfortable.
The porch area was very useful for removing wet coats and footwear, however there were no hooks for hanging coats. We had to use the dining room chairs for drying.
As we were on a 4 day break we didn't need to much wardrobe space which was convenient as one wardrobe was packed full of outside cushions!
Well equipped kitchen but lacking a pyrex jug and covered casserole dishes.
These are very small but useful points worth a comment.
Would definitely book again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable lodge, lovely views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Excellent base for walking.

Pauline from Northwich stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in November 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 344 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review, Pauline and it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay. Wansfell Retreat is beautifully presented for guests to simply relax and unwind, and very welcoming after days out walking. Add in the glorious views for an unforgettable holiday in the Lakes. We are sorry to hear a couple of items were missing from the lodge - the lodge is now, once again, fully equipped. Thank you for letting us know and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your further comments have been passed on to the lodge owners for their reference, thank you for these. We look forward to welcoming you again to Wansfell Retreat (complete with your loyalty discount!).

Home from Home

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge was wonderful and had everything you might need. I also chose it because it's dog friendly. The owner obviously takes pride in his Lodge as all the finishes seemed of a high standard. Little details, like the wire on the decking steps so that you don't slip were great.
Beautiful views and warm and cosy on the colder days. Kitchen facilities were great...we wanted for nothing!
It was a wonderfully relaxing break with plenty to see and do close by.
We will definitely be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views and knowing the dog was safe on the gated decking.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip across Windermere



Sharon from Macclesfield stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in November 2018


Wansfell Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge accommodation was very good, clean and comfortable.The lodge was presented nicely and we enjoyed our stay.
Would recommend the following improvements :-
More coat hangers, hooks for coats by the entrance, hooks for dressing gowns in the bedrooms and shower tidies to hold shower gel,sponges etc.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable accommodation and good weather

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Meals in the Haybarn



Paul from Cottingham stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Fairly nice lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Bedding a tad smelly and worn out. The drain smell was really bad at times. Lighting simply wasn’t suitable outside near the steps at night for safe navigation. The car park area where the tarmac, turf and wood meet was rotten and incredibly slippy, my wife fell badly and injured her knee and tore her trousers because of a serious slip on the wood. No storage room for groceries in the kitchen. No towel rails in the bathrooms. Other than that everything else was suitable.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The TV size

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hayes garden centre



Paul from St. Helens stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Paul. We note all you have said and we are sorry to hear that your stay at Wansfell Retreat was not quite as expected. It is disappointing that you did not mention any of these things when contacting us to report a minor maintenance issue during your stay. Had you done so we may have been able to resolve matters to your satisfaction. In response to your comments, we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused and we will certainly pass on your suggestions for improvement to the lodge owners for their consideration. We will also pass on your concerns regarding Park services (drains, outside lighting and parking areas) to the Park management for their reference. As booking agents to privately owned lodges this is something outside of our control. Having said that with regard to outside lighting, the Park are only permitted to use low level lighting. We are pleased that you would recommend Wansfell Retreat to others, thank you - and we assume you enjoyed your stay. The views are simply spectacular and the lodge, beautifully presented. A great place to relax and unwind .

Returning again next year!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a horrible year, me and my family needed a break from reality and wanfell retreat did just the job! It was a beautiful, clean lodge with a view I could look at for longer than 7 days! The on-site pub is great, take your pet and have a proper ale. We all will definitely be making our break to the lakes a yearly gathering and I can not wait to return next year!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The boat trip on windermere



Rebecca from Manchester stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Enjoyed a wonderful family stay here.

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean and well equiped lodge in a wonderful setting.
Would highly recomend to anyone looking to visit the lakes.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The setting.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole (Tree Top Trek)



Stephen from Heywood stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments, Stephen and it is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at Wansfell Retreat. This three bedroom luxury lodge is in a stunning location for a relaxing break in the Lakes. The perfect retreat for families, or couples. We are thrilled to hear you would recommend to others, thank you.

Nice Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge is very well located on this site with open views onto the fells.
The interior is modern and well maintained throughout .
On site you can find plenty of walks ,children play area and a dog exercise field .Also you will find a Pub which caters for meals and drinks .
Overall a good place for a Holiday in the Lake District .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Easy acces to Windermere & Ambleside



David from Durham stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in August 2018


Lovely lodge in a great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really lovely lodge with plenty of space and facilities, everything was provided making it easier to get on with the holiday. The decking area is brilliant if you have dogs or children as it’s gated off so no one can wander off, great for peace of mind. The lodge size was great for a family of 4 but to have 6 people it would be a little cramped I think. Everywhere seemed clean and in good condition, except the bathroom sink and toilet top which I had to clean myself. The bedding and towels were covered in someone’s hair although it was fresh and clean it did make us feel a little uncomfortable having to pull them all off. Overall I would recommend it to people, the view from the decking is really nice and the park itself is well looked after.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Great location, easy to get around and beautiful scenery.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Really well set up for dogs and walking.

Tracey from Chesterfield stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in July 2018


Superb location lovely accomodation great time

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed every minute accomodation was great and dog friendly the site is lovely we have been before and will no doubt return again in the future

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lovely locationtt

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Great day at carmtel races



Sarah from Middlesbrough stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in July 2018


Another lovely stay at Wansfell Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at Wansfell Retreat. Our dogs love Limefitt Park and this lodge has lovely uninterrupted views.
Staff at lake district lodge holidays were really helpful when we had a problem and all of the resort staff were excellent too.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lovely views in the dog field



Sarah from Washington stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


A wonderful stay with fantastic views!!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 6 and a small dog, the lodge was amazing, great views over the fells. There was plenty of room for 6 adults and we were lucky enough to see snow, would definitely recommend and look forward to staying again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything and the great views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Coniston Old Man



Michelle from Preston stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in March 2018


Easter Break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Enjoyed the uninterupted views, lodge warm and comfortable, limefitt park continues to grow excellent walks from the door

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Uninterupted views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks from the door



Heather from Knutsford stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Heather. Whilst we certainly take on board your ratings we also note you enjoyed your stay. Wansfell Retreat is a beautiful lodge with amazing views, a perfect location for a relaxing holiday in the Lake District, and indeed excellent walks from the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you again and are confident you will have an excellent stay.

Brilliant family break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely relaxing break with family, the lodge was very cosy, warm & comfortable. There was everything we needed but would have been better to have more settee seating as there was 5 adults & a child and somebody had to sit on a stand chair.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location, views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness & Ambleside



Andrew from Burnley stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in November 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Andrew. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable family break. Wansfell Retreat is beautifully designed and fully equipped for a relaxing stay. Not forgetting the magnificent views. We note your suggestion for added seating in the lounge area and have passed this on to the owners of Wansfell Retreat for their consideration, although we are pleased that you all had a comfortable stay. Wansfell is ideal for families or friends looking for spacious and cosy accommodation in the Lakes - and on a glorious day the terrace is perfect for entertaining or to simply soak up the stunning views.

Lovely view from lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely lodge in a great position on the park. My only negative about the holiday may seem a bit petty to some. The quality of the bed linen was absolutely fine, however the way the beds were made up was awful...valances not properly fitted and left lying literally in the middle of the floor between single beds...1 bed did not have a valance....double bed fitted sheet did not fit and left half the depth of the mattress showing....such a simple thing to get right..and can create such a good/bad first impression.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
No

Elizabeth from Wishaw stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in October 2017


Great long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely furnished lodge well looked after. So great to be able to take the dogs and still stay in a well furnished clean and tidy lodge. We'd definitely come back again -but for longer!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Tranquil setting and beautiful views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Kids loved Tree Top trek at Brockhole



Jonathan from Whittonstall stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in October 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Jonathan and we were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable weekend at Wansfell Retreat. We will be delighted to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future. The lodge is very popular and enjoys lovely views - the perfect place to enjoy a break in the Lake District.

1st time at Wansfell Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our first stay in Wansfell Retreat, but our second time at Limefitt. The position of the lodge is beautiful. The elevation gave wonderful views over the countryside and meant we were not overlooked from the front of the property through the lovely huge double doors. There is so much space outside with the decked veranda and adds to the spacious interior. It was comfortable and warm, staying in September, the odd time it got a little chilly, so we turned on the heating, which after a short time we turned off again as it warms up very quickly. It's a lovely lodge and couldn't fault it really, sad to leave.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hard to give one example, we thoroughly enjoyed our whole stay.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hire a motor boat on the lake, lovely experience and a change from the public sightseeing tours.

Doreen from Calver stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Great place.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Best night sleep ever!! so comfortable what a enjoyable stay. Views were excellent. My teenage boys love this park for biking walks. Local kayaking hire also. Been limefit park twice and white cross bay. This lodge was very nice inside. Clean we would like a hot tub at the lodge but can't have every thing. Yes good choice.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfy bed. The views being high up looking over the varander

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Complete hr round Windermere on steam boat. Haverwait steam train to Ambleside. Kayaking & go ape. National parks. Kendal is lovely shops martlet wk end.



Cheryl from Winsford stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in July 2017


Fantastic Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in a very comfortable lodge. The staff were very polite and helpful as were the locals.
The location is a little out of the way, approx. 5 mile from the nearest town (Windermere) so a car is a must.

The only bad point is that there is a fairly steep hill leading up to the pub/restaurant which some people may find a bit hard going.
The location is perfect for hill walking and the wee town of Bowness is stunning with plenty boat trips and shops.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The stunning scenery and the walking

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip is a must on the lake



Craig from Berdeen stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay Craig and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Wansfell Retreat. The main centres of Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside are just a short distance away which makes Limefitt a popular place to stay as it offers convenience for all the local attractions whilst being a quiet and peaceful place. The park is hilly in parts but access to the pub would only prove difficult for those who are elderly or infirm. We do hope you will return very soon (not forgetting your returning guests discount!).

Girlie break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at the cabin in late June and where lucky to have great westher. Location is perfect for exploring. We went to go ape while on our visit which is a short drive away. The lodge is perfectly equipment for any group type. The quality of the fixture and fitting especially in the kitchen is fantastic it was like a home away from home. Recommend to anyone wanting a quiet retreat but close enough to explore the wonders of the lake district. X

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Home away from Home

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Go ape at Grizedale



Joanne from Halifax stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge very comfortable, beautiful position - shame about the weather. Would stay there again, can recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
peaceful surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
day out at Rookin House activity centre



Sue from Rugby stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Holiday experience

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent accommodation In a beautiful location and a great base to explore the surrounding areas, the only disappointment for us was the weather, heavy rain for most of our stay but a great pub on site, pity it didn't open lunch times mid week and a limited menu, we will definitely stay there again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort and relaxation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking by the lake at bowness



Kenneth from Warrington stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Pure Joy - total relaxation

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location is extremely beautiful, fell views every way you look. Site is very well cared for and the staff could not be more helpful. Excellent food is served at the Haybarn pub on site and your canine friend can join you there. Would recommend to anyone.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The beautiful scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Windermere steamer trip



Susan from Cleator Moor stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the review, Trevor and we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay, in fact one of pure joy and total relaxation! The accommodation is beautifully designed for guests to relax in comfort and style and views towards the fells, stunning. A very peaceful location, perfect for those looking to escape and unwind. Very kind of you to recommend to others and we look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

Relaxing break in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first time at Limefitt Park and we were all impressed upon arrival - a very peaceful site with beautiful views. The site has a small shop at reception, a children's play area and a field with football goals and tennis nets. The on site bar/restaurant is full of character and a lovely place to spend an evening. We felt very lucky that we had booked Wansfell Retreat as it is in an elevated position with uninterrupted views over the countryside, and no-one overlooking it. It was beautifully presented and very spacious for a group of 6 (4 adults, 2 children). We were very lucky with the weather and so spent a lot of time outside on the decked area, which had a table and chairs and some comfortable rattan furniture. We mentioned a couple of minor points on our feedback form to Lake District Lodge Holidays, and they sent an email responding to these very soon after our stay - excellent customer service. We had a brilliant stay here and are looking to return to the same lodge next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Beautiful views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Cruise of Lake Windermere

Claire from Blaydon stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in May 2017


Few days away

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days staying at Wansfell Retreat. The whole experience was so great right from the booking process until we checked out.
The lodge is so spacious bright and has amazing views of the hills. We even managed to sit out and enjoy a couple of drinks on the decking and soak in the views in the lovely spring sunshine. The lodge is kitted out to high standard and a proper home from home and very comfortable. Loved the fact the Lake Windermere is only a short drive away and a cruise on the lake is s must. We got an amazing day weather wise for it. All in all a relaxing few days away and will definitely be coming back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything. Especially the lake cruise

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The lake cruise

Ian from Glasgow stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Enjoyable stay at Wansfell Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at Wansfell Retreat in March 17, on one of the wettest weekends ever.
The lodge is in a lovely location, with great views over the Troutbeck valley. The decked area is good for small children, as it is fully enclosed with gated access, however due to the weather we could not venture outside at all.
The lodge itself is well laid out, with a spacious living/dining area and well appointed kitchen. 2 of the bedrooms are a decent size, with the third being quite tight, but not unreasonably small compared to other lodges I have stayed in. The ensuite bathroom is a bonus if the lodge is fully occupied.
WIFI / Phone signal is poor, however this is clearly stated on the booking information.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings is generally very good, with an excellent first impression on arrival. The levels of cleanliness were ok, however I would say that some further attention to detail is required in areas such as underneath the sofas (which were quite grubby) and the cooker which could have done with a good scrub out.
Overall a nice lodge, in a lovely location.


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing location, and the views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Cruise.

Amanda from Workington stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Amanda. We were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable weekend, despite the weather! Although we were sorry on hearing the lodge was not quite as clean as expected. It is most unusual for Wansfell Retreat and we have passed on your comments to the contract housekeepers for their reference – and it will be addressed. Please accept our apologies. The lodge is in one of the best locations on Limefitt Park with having magnificent and uninterrupted views across the valley to the fells – indeed a very relaxing location. We would be delighted to have you stay again in the near future.

Our stay in wansfell retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow wow wow, this place is amazing. We had a 3 night stay in wasnfell retreat in Nov it was a beautiful, well looked after and superbly maintained. We went for our 4th wedding anniversary with the in laws and our 3 year old daugher, not one of us as a bad thing to say about this place at all. Great site and perfect location. A *

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Great location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip to bowness in Windermere



Craig from Sutton In Ashfield stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in November 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and awarding top marks on all aspects of your stay, Craig. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have had a great time. And the accommodation is an excellent choice for those looking for three bedroom luxury accommodation with spectacular views, they really are breathtaking. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Wansfell and maybe we will welcome you again next year for your 5th Wedding Anniversary?

Weekend away with all the family

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Used two lodges fir the family .had a brilliant time waking and chilling out. Beautiful surroundings and digs welcomed too was a bonus

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Surroundings



Kathryn from Westhoughton stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in October 2016


The site condition

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This site was very clean and well looked after ,but i think there could be better lighting .
The walk from the Haybarn Inn is very dark and could be tricky in the evening

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful break for the family in a very comfortable lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A visit to Keswick was a good day out with plenty of places allowing dogs into pubs



John from Prestonpans stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in October 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, John. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Wansfell Retreat. One of our luxury lodges with amazing views! We shall pass on your comments about the lighting to the park management for their consideration, and we trust it did not impact too much on your stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. That aside we were delighted to hear you enjoyed some family time in a very well equipped lodge for a relaxing and peaceful break. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
fantastic stay at wansfell retreat will gladly return again, ideal location to explore around the area.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the location and the comfort of the log cabin

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
walks and days out



Anthony from Lydiate stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Anthony. We were so pleased to hear you had an excellent stay at Wansfell Retreat, a luxury lodge with magnificent views across the valley and the fells. The lodge is designed to a very high spec to give the guest a unique experience, and has the advantage of Sky TV for those who want extra home comforts. Delighted to hear you will be returning for another enjoyable stay (complete with your loyalty discount!).

Superb

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was excellent from the lodge and it's views to the site itself. We enjoyed a few good evenings in the haybarn pub onsite where we received a warm welcome. Our dog zabba really enjoyed the pub where he was treated like royalty.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Everywhere is so accepting of dogs



Andrew from Manchester stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in September 2016


Fantastic Lodge with a Fantastic View

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lake District Lodge Holidays could not have been more helpful, friendly and professional.
Wansfell Retreat was fantastic and the situation on the park ensured absolute privacy, without compromising the stunning views from the Lodge. The Park staff could not have done more to help make a break more memorable. Very happy and helpful people to represent the Park.
Our only regret in writing this review is that we are encouraging people to take a break in this brilliant Lodge, and that will make it more difficult for booking Wansfell Retreat in future. We cannot recommend more highly. A credit to the owner.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
So relaxing - enjoyed everything about the stay

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trips on the Lakes on sunny days.

Bryan from Beverley stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in September 2016


Perfect View

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wansfell Retreat was a real treat!! The views from the patio area are the best we've ever had. The lodge is very comfortable, clean and spacious. Everything you could need for a break away was catered for apart from an iron although there is an ironing board.
Good sized bedrooms and comfy beds. Spacious family bathroom and ensuite. Nice bedding and towels.
There is a fantastic play area for the kids and they loved playing in the river. The dog walking field is great. The bar is very nice.
We would definitely return to Wansfell Retreat and Limefitt Park.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quietness of the location and the views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
On this occasion we didn't leave the site as we were very comfortable at the lodge and Limefitt had everything we needed.

Peter from Thornton Cleveleys stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving a review, Peter. We were delighted to hear your stay at Wansfell Retreat was enjoyable and a real treat! Our apologies on hearing that there was no iron during your stay – we will check and put one in if necessary. Thank you for letting us know. Had we known at the time we would have been happy to deliver one to you. Although we assume from your kind comments that it did not spoil your holiday. Wansfell is one of our luxury lodges that is beautifully designed and equipped for the guest to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Stunning views towards the fells and surrounded by open countryside, where could be better? Lovely to hear you will be returning in the near future.

Wansfell retreat weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful location,just a short distance from Windermere and Kendal,the lodge we stayed in was immaculate,which was very satisfying,the food at the pub on site was very good the beer excellent to,plenty of things to do out and about a really good break for us,would recommend the location and lodges to anyone can't wait until we go again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The tranquility

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The attractions in Windermere and bowness,shopping in Kendal



Susan from Cleator Moor stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fab time the cabin was excellent and the location with the views and not being overlooked was brill, would definitely recommend to other people and we will be booking again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The cabin and location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up the hill behind the cabin, the views are beautiful



Joanne from Nuneaton stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


A great lodge in a prime location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
wFirst time to this site and this lodge. Very impressed with the Lodge inside and out for cleanliness and position. Probably one of just a few with the perfect view from the Balcony across the hills.
If I was to go to the site again I would definately look for this lodge

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the realxed atmosphere, close to amenities in Windermere and walks etc.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat on Lake windermere



Graham from Leigh stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in July 2016


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Graham. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. We agree about the views! Wansfell Retreat has quickly become a firm favourite with guests not only for it's lovely accommodation but also the stunning views across the valley. Sitting out on the deck (weather permitting!) is an absolute pleasure. The perfect way to enjoy any stay in the Lakes!

Short weekend break with University friends (Reunion)

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge , very well looked after , beautifully clean , and a great view Wonderful time had by all Recommend the short walk across the field to the Mortal Man Pub Troutbeck Thank You Lake District Lodge Holidays

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The View from the Lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Mortal Man Pub Troutbeck



Guest from Oswestry stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in July 2016


Amazing from start to finish

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great stay in The Lakes with 5 star accommodation. Would definitely recommend. Looking forward to our next stay. Great location to explore the wonderful Lakes.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The whole experience from luxury accommodation to the beauty of lake windemere.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on lake windemere



Steve from Dudley stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 2 nights in April 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review, Steve. It is a pleasure to read such good comments and great to see you awarded top marks for all aspects of your stay. We are so pleased to hear you had a good time. A boat trip is a super day out to soak up the scenery and atmosphere that the Lakes has to offer. And you chose a beautiful lodge – new to our portfolio this year and is already a hit with our guests. Uninterrupted views of the fells that are just stunning. And the owners have thought of everything possible to make our guests stay exceptional. We would be delighted for you to return to Wansfell Retreat and thank you for your recommendations.

Had a great time

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great time had by everyone would definitely go back again lodge was great
Well sited for going for days out dogs loved the walks would go back anytime no complaints well done to everyone great holidayo

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quitt

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The pub was good the food was great



John from Hamilton stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in April 2016


Excellent lodge, lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for one week. Our party consisted of 4 adults and one dog. The lodge is lovely, it has a good location on the park, not overlooking other caravans. From the lodge itself there are many walks to be had. Just under 10 minutes from Bowness on Windermere. The other way leads to Ullswater and Consiton, both within half an hours drive away.
The lodge has 3 bedrooms, 2 twins and one double. One of the twins has only one wardrobe but no chest of drawers or bedside table which was a minus but not a major problem.
The lounge had two 2 seater settees so if there were six people, seating would have to be on the dining chairs, but for us it was just right.
We would come back again and would definitely try and get this lodge. Some lodges did have hot tubs, not this this one, but as we came at Easter it didn't matter.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge location, its superior decor and comfortability.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Getting a boat trip on Windermere and having the walkers combination of a trip and a walk. Well worth seeing Windermere from the quieter side as well as the hustle and bustle side.

Martin from Sutton Coldfield stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in March 2016


Fantastic cabin with great views

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 4 children. Was lovely only problem was the kids got bored easy maybe was the time of month. Would stay again but wouldn't take the kids

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
View

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
South lakes animal park



Kylie from Fleetwood stayed at Wansfell Retreat Lodge for 2 nights in April 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and for giving us top marks in all aspects of your stay, Kylie. We are delighted you had a lovely time although we are sorry to hear your children were a bit bored. We do offer complimentary use of the leisure facilities at Choices Health Club in nearby Troutbeck Bridge. There is a lovely pool, spa, sauna and steam room plus a brilliant gym. Otherwise there are many other activities to enjoy and just a few minutes from Limefitt Park. We recommend Brockhole for a super day out. Tree top treks, tree top trails, adventure playground, boat hire, bike hire, mini golf, pony rides.. and in the most beautiful setting on the shores of Lake Windermere. The zoo is another great day out, and a lovely spot for a picnic on a summers day. Many thanks again for your review and we are very pleased you would like to return (as a couple) to Wansfell Retreat in the future. A great lodge with the most spectacular views, just breathtaking.