FB Twitter

Walker's Retreat Lodge

Walker's Retreat Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Walker's Retreat is located on Limefitt Park at Fellside 5. This modern, spacious and comfortable 2-bedroom self-catering lodge enjoys picturesque views from its elevated position. Behind the lodge is a wooded area - great for spotting wildlife. The lodge is the perfect base to explore and has a dishwasher and Xbox 260 unit to enjoy Sorry no pets accepted.

Please note: Walker’s Retreat is accessed by 8 steep stone steps followed by a small gravelled area and then 5 wooden steps to the deck.

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cabin was lovely inside and beautifully located for the most amazing view! Would definitely stay again. Just one thing to mention was on our last day there was no hot water or heating, but other than that a great stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A walk up Nanny Lane was challenging but amazing views



Louisa from Newark stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 129 days ago
Thank you for your review and ratings, Louisa. We are delighted you had a lovely stay at Walker’s Retreat. With that said, we are sorry you had a problem with the heating and hot water. Had you let us know at the time, this would have been quickly resolved for you. We can only assume that as the boiler is checked every changeover day and nothing was brought to our attention, it was a simple adjustment/resetting. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Despite this we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the location - thank you for letting us know.

restful break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We unfortunately had a lot of rain when we stayed so we were not able to take advantage of the decking which had incredible views. However, as the lodge was very comfortable we had a very restful break and it was not a hardship to end our days early go back and curl up with a book. Watching the fells opposite appear and disappear at regular intervals. It was very private and we would go back again but hope to be able to relax on the deck next time.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
views when they appeared.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk around Tarn Hows easy and pretty even in drizzle



Chris from York stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Wonderful Stay at Walkers Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful midweek break at this lodge. Right from the initial booking to checking out. The Lodge & park has to be be one of the best we've stayed in with my husband and two children. We will definitely be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location & Cleanliness of park & lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Rydel Caves



Elyssa from Harrogate stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 148 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Elyssa, we are so pleased to hear you all had such a wonderful stay. Walker's Retreat is a delightful two-bedroom lodge in a glorious elevated position where you can enjoy the views of the fells from its spacious deck. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay - complete with your returning guest discount!

100/100

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect venue with fantastic views. Will definitely stay again. Food in the site restaurant not really exciting though.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Mountain views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Just sit on the balcony and enjoy the view



David from Oakham stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


Wonderful first family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic, cosy lodge for a first family holiday. The staff on reception were helpful when we arrived and an issue with a missing travel cot was quickly rectified when calling Lake District Lodge Holidays. The lodge is immaculately presented in a great position in a small holiday park. The pub and children’s playground on site also came in useful. The lodge is situated a 5 min drive from Lake Windermere and is not too far from the towns of Bowness and Ambleside. I love a drive around a country road so trips to other lakes including Ullswater and the breathtaking Aria Force were definitely for me. Overall we had a great weekend away and only wished the 4 days went slower.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views in the area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Driving up to Ullswater and getting the boat to Aria Force

Matthew from Waltham Cross stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in July 2019


Short stay at Walker's Retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really impressed with Walkers Retreat lodge. It is a well set out lodge on a slight hill so it overlooks all the other lodges giving clear views of the hills. It is not overlooked. Behind it there is a wooded area. There is ample space to park a car next to the lodge. In fact although it states one car per lodge the parking bay at Walkers Retreat would accommodate two cars. The lounge area is spacious, both bedrooms are more compact but are adequate with plenty of storage space. There is one shower room with toilet that has two doors, one into the master bedroom creating an ensuite effect and one into the hall. There is also a separate toilet. The best part of the lodge though is the decking area. It wraps around the front and one side with access through the front door or patio doors from the lounge and dining area.

We were lucky to have good weather when we were there and the decking area was a pleasant place to sit during the evenings facing the sun.

The kitchen was well kept and clean.

There is a pub, The Haybarn Inn, about 2 minutes away via a small path through the woods at the back of the lodge. The food there is passable, it has a patio area and a beer garden.

The location of the park and lodge is very good. We stayed for a weekend on a walking trip but if you stayed longer it is a good base to explore the Lakes.

The customer service was also excellent. The instructions to access the lodge were clear and precise and the booking experience as a whole was excellent .The receptionist at Limefitt Holiday Park was also very helpful.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Sitting outside on the decking area in the evening. Peaceful and relaxing.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We stayed here because we had planned walking up Scafell Pike. We did this from Great Langdale. Our route started at the Old Dungeon Ghyll. The route took us over The Band, Bow Fell, Esk Pike passed Great End and over Broad Crag to Scafell Pike. We decended via the path passed Tongue Head, Angle Tarn and Mickleden. This was a long walk, 8 hours. However I if you don't want to to do the whole walk I would recommend going as far as Bowfell and Esk Pike. A really nice walk and fantastic views. It takes about 20 minutes to drive to the Old Dungeon Ghyll from Walkers Retreat.

Carole from Chorley stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 2 nights in July 2019


Nice and relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at walkers retreat lodge. The lodge was well equipped for our needs and spacious. The lodge was in a lovely location and we were able to see some wild life from our lodge window.

The location of the lodge is about 10 minutes drive from Bowness-on-Windermere, which is also a lovely place to visit.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely views of the lake district

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter experience



Robert from Cannock stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 4 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 245 days ago
Thank you for your review Robert, we are delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. Walker’s Retreat is beautifully presented and offers lovely sweeping views of the valley. Ideal for families with its two-bedrooms, it is ideally placed for a relaxing getaway or as a base to explore the local area. We are so pleased to hear you would recommend this lodge, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Morning Coffee Views

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing little lodge, views of the Cumbrian mountains in the morning and evening with the sunset just sitting on the Veranda.
The lodge is situated in what I think is the best place in Limefitt Park for views , it’s easy access to Windermere walking takes about 45 minutes with little side paths most of the way to the town.
The inside of the lodge is a decent size felt very comfortable for our long weekend stay .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The veranda views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Try the ship Inn Pub on Windermere lake has cracking fish chips and mushy peas



Gary from Wilmslow stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Great lodge, felt like home

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first experience renting lodge and it was great. This sprcfic lodge was in great condition . Extra clean and it looks someone has put their heart in putting together.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Condition of lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk out



Bilal from Walton-on-thames stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 2 nights in February 2019


Fantastic last minute stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay here. The lodge is in a great location with fantastic views and not really overlooked.
Lodge was lovely and clean, very spacious and everything we needed was provided. Our boys loved the games/ dvd and xbox which was provided which kept them amused while we were in the lodge.
Site was a lovely a little more out the way than we thought it would be but wasn't a problem
Some lovely walks.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Couldn't really pinpoint one thing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness in general. (Lots to do boat trips, feeding ducks, nice restaurants, walks)



Leanne from Newark stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in August 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, Leanne and we are delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay at Walker's Retreat. This lodge is in a stunning location for a relaxing break in the Lakes and is cosy, modern and equipped to cater for the whole family – the Xbox is a real hit! We will be very pleased to to welcome you again in the near future.

Superb Lodge on Modern, Well Maintained Park

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Walkers Retreat Lodge is a modern, spacious, well appointed lodge in an excellent raised position on the park, not overlooked by any other lodges, (except the adjacent lodge on the same elevation, but there is a dense screen of vegetation between). The interior was modern and clean, with board-games, TV, DVD, (and films to watch) and an Xbox. The kitchen had everything you could need when staying away from home.
The spacious fully enclosed decking area to the front and side of the lodge is a boon to families with young children. We were able to enjoy many evening meals on the outside table, safe in the knowledge that the children, (aged 1 & 2), were perfectly safe and unable to run off.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We loved the calmness and serenity of the park, sitting on the deck in the sunshine, with no traffic noise, enjoying the uninterrupted views across the valley.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The children particularly enjoyed our visit to the South Lakes Safari Park in Dalton on Furness.

Stewart from Washington stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


10 days at Limefitt Walker's Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think our 8th or 9th stop at Limefitt, superb lodge again from Lake District Lodges. Ideal spot higher up on the fell side. Would fully recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Kids tried horse riding from the back of the park and loved every minute

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ideal location for mouting biking down to the Tongue or high up on Garburn pass.



Jonathan from Thorton stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 10 nights in May 2018


Walkers Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent lodge with all the essentials required when away from home. The lodge was to a high standard. Great location for walks and days out and the lodge has a detailed folder with information we found very useful. The park has a great adventure playground and football pitch for the children. Great riding school located on site. Would highly recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Windermere Cruises



Helen from Sheffield stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


Lovely weekend away for NYE

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is beautifully situated with amazing views across Windermere. It’s very well equipped, plenty of parking space and lots of hot water!

We had a wonderful stay over NYE. The on-site pub saves you having to travel far although the lodge provides a perfect base to explore the Lake District further.


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views from the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The local pub - the mortal man - gorgeous pub grub and a big open fire! Very cosy!



Laura from London stayed at Walker's Retreat Lodge for 3 nights in December 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review and awarding top marks on all aspects of your stay, Laura. Walkers Retreat is new to our portfolio and a very welcome addition. The lodge owners will be delighted to hear, as are we, that you enjoyed your stay over New Year. A spacious two bedroom holiday lodge with magnificent views. Ideal for families or couples to relax and unwind in comfort. We note you enjoyed the onsite pub, indeed perfect distance from the lodge!