FB Twitter

Tanglewood Lodge

Tanglewood Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Tanglewood is located on White Cross Bay at Thirlmere 15. This is a modern and spacious 3-bedroom self-catering lodge with pitched wooded ceilings. This lodge uniquely sleeps up to 8 guests, perfect for larger families and groups! The lodge offers 2 king size beds, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, television in master bedroom, en-suite in the master bedroom and a selection of books and games. Sorry no dogs accepted.

Please note: Adults to sleep in bottom bunk beds only and a maximum of 4 adults with 4 children at anyone time. A refundable £100 security deposit is required for all stays at Tanglewood Lodge. This is payable with your balance and refunded within 7 days of departure if not called upon.



Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant stay
Very clean and comfortable
Everything you need is here
Plenty of space in the lodge

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip to ambleside



Philip from Macclesfield stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in December 2020


Very nice

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice property in a good location. Was very clean throughout and the heating system is excellent - heats up in no time and we were never cold (December).

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wander around Bowness



Richard from Warrington stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in December 2020


Great stay for up to 6 people

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t fault the lodge and the facilities on site. We had a great stay and would definitely return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Catch the bus to bowness and hire a boat



Adam from Liverpool stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in September 2020


The perfect place for a break with family

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge has everything you could possibly need during a break, well equipped, great position. We loved it.
Just minutes from the lake edge we enjoyed a few stunning sunsets. We all commented that although we were lucky with the weather it would be a perfect place even in the rain
It felt very private and not overlooked.

We were able to run/jog safely in the mornings and were ideally located for many attractions in the Lakes.

The park is well maintained and we felt super safe Covid wise.

We will be back and can recommend



What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Well equipped lodge in a perfect location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk around Tarn Hows

Jane from Leicester stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 4 nights in September 2020


A release back into childhood

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Tanglewood at the beginning of August. As a regular visitor to the Lake District, and someone who has stayed many times at White Cross Bay, I was very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and condition of the lodge. I also appreciated the eco-friendly washing up products that were supplied. We very much appreciated the washing machine and drier - the children were out exploring every day and inevitably came back wet and muddy. The whole trip was an experience of them being able to experience a proper childhood again - climbing, paddling, fishing, exploring. Tanglewood was a great base for this to happen.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being back in my favourite place in the world.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
For the children, it had to be the day out in Ambleside - lunch at the Apple Pie followed by a walk up to Stockghyll Force and then playing in the river at the bottom. Also, they loved the Maize Maze.

Louise from Pontyclun stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 7 nights in July 2020


Fantastic place near the lake

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 5 days during end of July. There were 7 of us and we did not feel cramped in. The place was large enough and comfortable and had everything we needed. Only a minute walk to the lake yet set back from the road so no cars passing. We had a fantastic time and have already booked for next year! The park felt safe for the kids to wander and the pub on site was very helpful and we felt safe with all the Covid-19 restrictions.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and size

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Definitely visit Lakeside Visitors Centre only a 10 min walk away



Emma from Pontefract stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 4 nights in July 2020


Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Comfortable lodge could do with updating sofa And decor. Nice surroundings. All you need in a self catering lodge was there. Very clean. Nice private decking area.Only bad thing cleaner had took key so we didn’t get one till next day .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip around lake Windermere



Lisa from Darlington stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in July 2020


Brilliantly equipped, family friendly losge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tanglewood is a fantastic lodge at White Cross Bay. The location in the park is great, it was lovely being so close to the lake. The lodge itself was brilliantly equipped, a home away from home. The lodge was very clean and we had everything we needed. Loved having a washer & dryer (especially with 4yo and 8mo daughters!). Would highly recommend a stay here

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything we needed was in the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip to Ambleside for a rum butter hot scone!



Rebecca from Whitley Bay stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in December 2019


Excellent stay in a superb lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 4 nights during the October half term. The communication prior was excellent and we checked in easily on the day.
The lodge was modern, clean and comfortable and a perfect base to explore the Lakes.
The park is right next to the Lake and the lodge itself a 30 second walk from the lake. We used the indoor swimming pool for the kids pool party and ate a couple of times in the bar/restaurant. It was very busy and sometimes reception couldn’t cope with the numbers but that was a seperate entity and not part of Lake District Holidays. We will certainly return!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was a great base for our family break

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole House was a 10 minute walk away - Tree Top Trek

Stephen from Leeds stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 4 nights in October 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and ratings Stephen, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Tanglewood is the perfect lodge for a larger family as it sleeps up to 8 guests. Modern and comfortable, as you rightly say, it is the perfect base to explore! We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future for another stay.

Pleasant lodge for a break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in the lodge, it was well presented with nice touches like dishwasher tablets, washing up equipment and plenty of equipment to cook your own meals. Well sized fridge/freezer. Park Wi-F and phone signal poor as mentioned in the listing this may be an issue for some more than others.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Pleasant Lodge and park

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on Windermere



Adrian from Earlston stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 7 nights in October 2019


Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Tanglewood in a party of two families- 4 adults and four children in total. The lodge was plenty big enough for all of us and very well equipped. It was very comfortable inside with nice decked area outside. The children enjoyed the on site playground and football area and proximity to Lake Windermere was lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Enjoying some quality time with friends.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizedale Forest was a lovely day out with children.



Nigel from Wirral stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


Tanglewood

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous lodge, plenty indoor & outdoor space. Lodge well stocked with cleaning materials, crockery, cutlery etc

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Weather, activities on the lake, being with family

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Kayaking



Guest from Sunderland stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 10 nights in July 2019


Well equipped

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge had everything that we needed to enjoy our stay. The location was perfect and the facilities on site were of a good standard.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole within walking distance



Isabel from Lanark stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Isabel, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Tanglewood is a modern and spacious lodge which can sleep up to 8 guests, ideal for larger families! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future for another stay.

Stay at Tanglewood Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceeded our expectations! Well equipped , very clean and plenty of room. Really comfortable.Will be recommending to friends and family.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing break.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole Adventure Park



Julie from Gourock stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Easter at Tanglewood

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this lodge! It has everything you need for a great stay - well equipped kitchen, comfortable seating and cosy bedrooms. It is a short walk from the lake and the little wooded area behind was a great place for an Easter egg hunt.
The facilities on site are great too.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We loved being able to walk to the lake.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We absolutely love visiting Bowness and taking a lake cruise.



Janice from Middlesbrough stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in April 2019


April break

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group consisted of 4 adults and 3 children. The lodge was ideal for our needs and would have no hesitation in returning .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely accommodation and nice weather

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Guest from Helensburgh stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Nice weekend in near Ambleside

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely lodge with plenty of home comforts and little extras in case you forget the odd thing. Lots of information and even tried out a walk from one of the books I the property. Can't fault the lodge itself by wouldn't return as the park itself could do with a little more updating and the properties are too close together for my liking so lack privacy.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The proximity to Brockhole

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole, a 10 minute walk away.



Paul from Market Harborough stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in April 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Paul, we are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay. Tanglewood Lodge is a very spacious 3 bedroom lodge, perfect for larger families as it can sleep up to 8 guests. We have passed your comments about the park to Parkdean Resorts, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Mom's 70th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great stay, great location, we visited Windermere, and boweness went to the world of beatrix potter, had a boat trip around the lake.
Had a top Sunday carvery 3 course meal at Craig manor hotel excellent service reasonably priced.
Lodge was very well equipped very clean and modern.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
As above

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip.



Clare from Hednesford stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Relaxing,just felt like home

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all enjoyed the stay.It was refreshing, it felt so homely,so peaceful. The kids had a great time and we would definitely come back at the same lodge in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was clean, the location was superb for access to all

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat ride to Lakeside+ aqaurium



Sharon from Manchester stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 4 nights in February 2019


Perfect location , perfect lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely and clean lodge , perfect location , plenty of space , modern and well equipped , providing everything you need for a comfortable hassle free stay. With the added bonus of a washing machine and dryer . Great for a large family due to extra beds .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Size , facilities and location of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockholes



Lisa from Fleetwood stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 4 nights in October 2018


Perfection

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous lodge! All we could have asked for and more! Spacious, clean and comfortable. Plenty of room for two adults and three teenagers on our visit. Well stocked crockery, cookware etc. Lots of small touches made a big difference IE toiletries in place, books, games, first aid kits, washing powder etc.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lovely terrace under the trees

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Keswick town market



Deborah from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 4 nights in August 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the excellent review, Deborah. It is pleasing to read your kind comments and to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed a fabulous lodge, super equipped and beautifully presented for guests to simply relax and unwind. Tanglewood is a wonderful place to stay and a great location for exploring the Lakes. Perhaps we will welcome you again in the near future.

Excellent stay at White Cross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a week at Tanglewood Lodge in July and had a fantastic time. The lodge is situated in a lovely part of the park just seconds away from the lake edge and picnic area. The lodge had everything that is required and and there is plenty of glasses, plates, cutlery etc. so no need for loads of dishwashing! It was spotlessly clean and beds really comfortable and plenty of hanging space. The main shower was broken when we arrived so we had to all use the ensuite shower, but the repair was organised and completed swiftly through the customer services team. The washing machine and tumble dryer was a great addition especially after using the swimming pool!

The outside decking area was superb and had frosted glass to give that extra privacy from the neighbouring lodge and car parking was in front of the lodge. It is only 5 minutes walk from the bar/restaurant and swimming pool.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable week in the Lakes in a beautiful lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge location in the park

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Beatrix Potter Experience in Bowness

Alistair from Aberdeen stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Good clean family sized lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal size for 2 couples with children. Unlike most lodges that sleep up to 8 it actually had enough plates, cutlery, glasses, towels etc. to suit that many people. Pool a little pricey but very good and worth it if you will use it more than once. I was worried that you had to book the pool in advance but always got the time slot we wanted. Onsite restaurant had a good range of vegetarian choices. Only issue I had was that weather was so good I couldn't get away from the smell of other peoples barbecues.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location , pool and restaurant.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Within 20 mins walk of country park with adventure playground and boat trips to Ambleside and beyond.

Paul from Glasgow stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 3 nights in June 2018


Tanglewood holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful time. With three children to entertain from 3-11 years. Brockhole next door and Lake Windermere. The sunshine shone on us for the week. Would recommend as a lovely clean lodge. Hope to stay again. We all had a wonderful time.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location of white cross bay

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole next door ideal for children



Susan from Kettering stayed at Tanglewood Lodge for 7 nights in May 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and leaving such great comments, Susan. We are so pleased to hear you all had a wonderful time at Tanglewood Lodge. New to our portfolio this modern, cosy and well equipped lodge can comfortably accommodate up to 8 guests, perfect for families or friends. The location is excellent and Brockhole, indeed ideal for children - and adults! Thank you for recommending this lodge to others and we look forward to welcoming you for another enjoyable stay in the near future.