FB Twitter

Squirrels Snug

Squirrels Snug

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Squirrels Snug is located on White Cross Bay at Pony Meadow 1. This is a modern and comfortable 2-bedroom self-catering holiday lodge located in a very popular area within the park close to the lake. The lodge offers glimpses of the lake from its decking, hot tub, dishwasher, television in master bedroom and double patio doors leading to the front deck. Dog friendly - up to 2 dogs accepted.

.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was lovely and absolutely thrilled to bits with the Christmas tree and lights around the cabin. Beautiful location

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Views



Emma from Oldham stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in December 2019


Squirrels Snug

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent stay. Would recommend this lodge to anyone who wants a nice relaxing long weekend in the lakes.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub, quietness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grasmere walk



Jack from Huddersfield stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in October 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 36 days ago
Thank you for your review and ratings Jack, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Squirrels Snug is a very popular two-bedroom lodge, spacious, modern and tastefully decorated throughout - it is easy to see why! With the added bonus of a wonderful hot tub and dog-friendly, it is perfect for everyone! Thank you for recommending this lodge to others, we hope to welcome you back in the future for another wonderful stay.

Excellent, homely, comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at squirrels snug. The hot tub was amazing after long walk in to Ambleside. Amazing!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk to Ambleside or Windermere



Anna from Manchester stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in September 2019


Second stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another great stay at Squirrels snug. Everything you need for a comfy easy family holiday. Great location.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Ease and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
River walk from Elterwater to Chesters



Rachel from Altrincham stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in September 2019


Lyn and Johns visit

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent lodge, good location providing you have your own transport. Very cosy, hot tub lovely after a day out. Bed very comfortable, kitchen fully equipped for all your needs. Bathrooms very adequate.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Home from home comforts.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on Windermere.



Linda from Bristol stayed at Squirrels Snug for 7 nights in August 2019


Lovely lodge, nice location, ideal

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A stunning lodge, very clean, all the things you need. Location was lovely, central for everything, hot tub was nice and also the sail shade should lakes weather be as usual though the hot tub did cut out a few times when jets were on (being looked at after u told them!).

Can't really fault it but for those staying be aware you don't get access to the onsite pool, it's one down the road at choices leisure centre. Only downside for me this, again have suggested it would be a good change!

Park location superb in case you aren't aware. Brockhole next door, 10 mins walk at best. There you have lots to do and access to ferries to see rest of the lake. Idwal

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole

Chris from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in August 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 148 days ago
Thank you for your kind review and ratings Chris, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the lodge ideal. We have noted your comments and thank you for bringing these to our attention, we have made the hot tub contractor aware and please accept our apologise for any inconvenience caused. Squirrels Snug is a very popular 2-bedroom lodge equipped with everything you need and in a lovely location on the park and with the bonus of a hot tub - simple perfect! We hope to welcome you back in the future for another stay.

Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The hottub was lush, and all rooms were clean tidy and comfortable. A really nice cabin with a lovely kitchen and 2 bathrooms.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
boating on lake windemere



Jon from Blackburn stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in June 2019


A perfect getaway home away from home!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are pleased with the overall cleanliness and facilities provided by the lodge. The bedrooms were comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped with new utensils and crockeries and the living room comfortable. For those who drive, this is a great location to the villages and towns in the lake district.

Will definitely consider staying here again if we are back at the lake district!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The drive up to highlands and the quaint villages like Cartmel and the beach at Silecroft

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A drive to Silecroft beach to see the wonderful plethora of colours on the beach. Visit the cafe at the Blackwell Art & Craft and the Old Village Bakery at Broughton



Kok Hwa from Singapore stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in June 2019


Perfect first time stay in a lodge.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning lodge perfect for families who need a little break away from home, but still the comforts of home with a massive bonus of a lovely relaxing hot tub. The lodge is in a great place the site is fantastic clean and well looked after. The lodge is within walking distance of the lake perfect for a little stroll with the kids to see the ducks and boats. Inside the lodge is spacious and lovely modern feeling, fantastic storage, clean and tidy. Having the hot tub was a massive plus especially knowing that it was checked during our stay kept clean and safe.
Would highly recommend using this lodge.
Great small getaway for the family x x

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Home from home feeling with added bonus of hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter museum and Windermere boat trip

Hannah from Rochdale stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in June 2019


Great Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved this lodge, great location, clean, comfortable, well equipped. We adored the hot tub which was so nice to relax in.
Will return and will/have recommend to friends and family.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Near to lots of nice places a good base.



Josie from Nottingham stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 245 days ago
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay Josie and thank you for your very kind review. Squirrels Snug is a very popular two-bedroom lodge, within walking distance of the lake and with a hot tub to enjoy after a busy day exploring the local area, it is a firm favourite amongst our guests. We are so pleased to hear you would like to return and thank you for recommending the lodge to others. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A Cosy Squirels Snug

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at squirels snug. The location of white cross bay holiday park is ideal for exploring the lake district and the lodge its self is in a good position within the park. We were a group of 4 adults and I think realistically in terms of size the lodge is more suited to a family with small children or a couple. The master bedroom is a really good size with an en suite, the only criticism I have is that the mattress needs replacing as it is very uncomfortable. The living room is a good open plan space along with a well equipped kitchen. The outside space is a good size and you can easily sit outside to enjoy the park and theres the added bonus of a hot tub. I understand due to the fact that the lodge backs onto a wooded area that you are bound to get tree sap and leaves on the decking area but it could do with being cleaned before guests arrive as we had to give the table and chairs a good clean before we could use them and I think this would benefit the guests especially if they have nice weather and want to sit out. I think a few things could be improved on with the lodge facilities such as it being a pet friendly lodge but we weren't provided with a Hoover and had to ask for one from lake district lodge holidays customer service however I'm sure this will be rectified. Also we obviously wanted to leave the lodge clean and had to purchase a few cleaning products as none were provided this would be handy to have just to keep the lodge nice and clean during your stay and when you leave. Overall squirels snug is a pleasant holiday home in a great location and I would recommend it anyone looking at staying here, it's a modern pet friendly lodge which allowed us 2 dogs which is usually hard to find.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Rydal Water near Grasmere

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Squirrels Snug for 7 nights in May 2019


What a way to celebrate

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked squirrels snug to celebrate my 40th birthday. I wanted a lodge with a hot tub where our dog was also welcomed. We’ve never been to the lakes before for a holiday so we did a lot of comparing to find the right lodge for us. I can honestly say we made the best choice. Squirrels snug was perfect, very clean, comfortable and had everything you could need. We have already recommended to family and friends and can’t wait to return to squirrels snug for our next holiday.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Our dog enjoying the holiday with us and the hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Take a walk to Brockhole visitors centre



Sharon from St. Helens stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in April 2019


An Easter Family Break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely relaxing break this Easter at Squirrels Snug. We have previously stopped on the same site but in a different lodge.
We liked the lodge’s position which was fairly near the lake, and not far from the facilities at the clubhouse.
The lodge itself felt welcoming and was clean and comfortable, with the hot tub making the experience really special.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Meeting up with the rest of the family who were stopping in a nearby lidge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We always enjoy a day in Keswick, which never disappoints



Guest from Gainsborough stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in April 2019


Squirrels snug

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay here very peaceful n some lovely places near by to visit we had a couple of lovely trips out n visited a pub n restaurant which were amazing

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxation and lovely restaurants n pubs close by

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The safari zoo n the boat trips are amazing



Marie from Sunderland stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in April 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 295 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review Marie, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed a peaceful stay. Squirrels Snug is located in a very popular area of White Cross Bay, just a stone’s throw away from the lake and marina itself, this lodge offers great value accommodation with the added bonus of a hot tub for guests who also enjoy exploring the local area. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely comfortable stay at Squirrels Snug. It was clean and tidy when we arrived and everything in great condition. The kitchen is well equipped. Plenty of storage space inside. Position is lovely and peaceful. Made the most of the hot tub which was also regularly checked. Overall a great stay and we would return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
View from Orrest Head is worth the walk



Kathryn from Peterborough stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in April 2019


Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge was very clean very comfortable. The hot tub was great and the location was just right - it was very peaceful - it was also safe for the dogs with the decking having a locked gate would definately recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peacefulness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ambleside



Karen from Blaydon-on-tyne stayed at Squirrels Snug for 4 nights in March 2019


Really enjoyable

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay, really relaxed and as it says in the title "snugg"would highly reccommend!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on the lake



Katy from Bradford stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in November 2018


Cosy in Squirrel's Snug

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing break in Squirrel's Snug, the lodge was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a nice long weekend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We loved the hot tub!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We like to go and wander around the shops at Windermere and Ambleside



Donna from Stockton-on-tees stayed at Squirrels Snug for 3 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and perfect ratings, Kathleen. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at this delightful lodge. Squirrels Snug is a cosy and well equipped two bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub. A great location and a great value lodge. A wonderful place to be. Perhaps we shall welcome you again in the near future?