FB Twitter

Somerford Lodge

Somerford Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Somerford Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Langdale 7. This is a very pretty and modern 2-bedroom self-catering lodge with double bi-fold doors leading to a spacious deck with a sunken hot tub. The lodge is stylishly decorated throughout and offers a Smart Television with 5th generation iPod doc in the living area, dedicated WiFi for streaming services, dishwasher, slow cooker, slide out pantry cupboard, televisions with integrated DVD players in both bedrooms and a quiet position in a wooded cul-de-sac location. Dog friendly - 2 small dogs accepted.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay
Lodge was large, perfect location in a wee cul de sac nice and quiet but not too out of the way.
Booking was all very easy no issues there
Hot tub lovely and sunken so also really private.
One of the best lodges we’ve stayed in at white cross bay - cleanliness wise far better than staying with the park directly.
Only comment was wifi, in spite of having it’s own personal wifi (which was a huge draw for us) it was still very temperamental at times. It was still a big improvement on lodges without it though having said that.
Overall really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location, hot tub & size of lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking down to bowness from the lodge

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in April 2021


Lake Break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a break away during these restrictive times and I found Somerford Lodge looked to meet our needs. We were not disappointed. It is in a great location, quite secluded and quiet very close to the Lake.
Check in was a breeze as I got the keybox code 20 mins before we arrived on site, staff at reception were friendly and helpful.
Parking next to the lodge, soon settled in and had a walk around the park. Everything was clean and tidy, the hot-tub was ready to go that evening. As the days are shortening the hot tub was to be the evening relaxation, great that it was sunk into the deck and in a private location on the deck.
Overall the perfect stay away from home.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Secluded and quiet, plus the hot-tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hired a boat on Windermere for 4 hours, excellent.

Adrian from Peterborough stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in October 2020


Fantastic Lodge and Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Somerford Lodge was a fabulous place for me and my teenage children with the added luxury of a hot tub which we used every evening. I dont drive and the bus service was very good with stops right outside the park. Overall a very relaxing break.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The gingerbread shop in Grasmere



Sarah from Brighouse stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in August 2020


Fabulous Staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is are 5 th stay on whitecross bay , but are first time in this beautiful lodge (Somerford Lodge).very spacious lodge ,Home from Home. the hot tub was a added bonus.it is by far the best lodge we have stayed in on this site. the location of the lodge was great .I put some pics up on my facebook and had a lot of enquiries as to were we were staying . the lodge is done to a very high standard with everything you need .the only negative I have and this is my personnel preference ,that the living room would benefit from another lamp .we enjoyed are short stay here and would definitely recommend this lodge and cant wait to return . also this lodge is pet friendly

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
relaxing in the hot tub , just chilling

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
fantastic bus service into bowness and ambleside

Janet from Prescot stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in August 2020


Two Week Summer Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was lovely, bright and clean. Sunken hot tub was fab and nicely located to the side of the lodge away from view. The dedicated wi fi allowed us for the first time ever while staying at White Cross Bay to be able to sign in and use our netflix accounts which was ideal in the evenings. Pillows were the best ones we have ever slept on. Lodge had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. We would definetley return to this lodge again in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Change of scenery. Lovely long walks and spending quality time with the family.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizedale forest and Wray castle walk to the viewing station.



Robert from Wirral stayed at Somerford Lodge for 14 nights in July 2020


GREAT time would return BUT...

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge we stayed in was perfectly clean and was such a great lodge the hot tub was so clean and worked great. The ONLY problem was that we payed for the additional dedicated wifi but this wasnt working ALL week. The first day was due to wether but the rest of the week was sunny and the issue was not solved. This is the only problem we had.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub / comfort of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Keswick walks in forests



James from Preston stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in February 2020


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay to Somerford Lodge, James. We are delighted you had a great time although noting the wifi was not working during your stay, we are sorry. As you rightly point out, the lodge does have its own wifi although as it is provided by the park it is something outside of our control. We can only assume there was a technical problem on site that caused the issue. As far as we are aware it is back up and running as no further issues have been reported. As with all lodges on the park, the quality of connection may vary at times and no guarantee is given as to the speed or reliability of the Wi-Fi service. We can only apologise and hope it did not cause too much inconvenience to your otherwise great stay in the Lakes.

A new favourite

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th stay at the park but our first time at this particular lodge. It’s deffo on the return list!

Perfectly maintained. Literally thought of everything- from rain hats for the hot tub! To coffee pods for the machine. This lodge was like a home from home. We were very sorry to have to leave!

Set in a quiet row, it’s spacious, large patio/ decked area, clean and well looked after and with a lovely hot tub for ending those days trekking through the beautiful surroundings. We had such an amazing time.
Thanks somerford lodge for letting us stay! We are already looking at our next break with you!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
All the home comforts. Tvs in bedrooms for lazy mornings.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Crafty baa for a quirky drink and bite to eat

Cheryl from Bolton stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in February 2020


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the five star ratings and super comments, Cheryl. We are delighted to hear you had an amazing time at Somerford Lodge. We agree, the lodge is perfectly maintained, and super equipped to simply relax and unwind. This is a great lodge to stay in and a brilliant location for exploring the lakes. We are so pleased you are looking to return and look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!

Pre xmas stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was beautiful, didnt want for anything. I didnt want to go home and I could have moved in. Perfect!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Baha bar for the evening.



Kelly from Barnsley stayed at Somerford Lodge for 2 nights in November 2019


October 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was in a convenient location. Overall the condition was good, but a few minor repairs wouldn’t go amiss. The only part we didn’t enjoy was the bed in the master bedroom. The mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable. After looking at it I would imagine it’s probably as old as the lodge. When you’re paying over £600 for 4 nights you expect to have a good standard of mattress in the bedrooms. The hot tub was excellent and well maintained. Overall we enjoyed our stay here but probably wouldn’t book this lodge again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A walk around Rydal Water

Michael from Stockport stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in October 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Michael and raising a few things with us. We will follow up on all you have said and address any issues accordingly. Thank you. Noting the mattress was not to your liking, we are sorry. We do find that comfort is a personal preference although again, we shall check for any signs of damage and advise the lodge owners of your comments - who are themselves frequent visitors to the lodge. Thank you for letting us know of your lodge experience and we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Great lodge, fantastic location - our 2nd visit

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great lodge, owners have thought of everything. The hot tub, which is very private in comparison to other lodges, is a great way to end the day after walking in the lakes. The beds are very comfortable and a king size which is so rare in lodges.

Location is perfect, short drive to Windermere, Bowness, Ambleside and Grasmere

Love it, this was our second visit and will definitely be back !



What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location, hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
All fantastic walks, lovely food in Flying Pig and treat afternoon tea at the Daffodil Hotel



Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in October 2019


brilliant

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I received a one night five star hotel voucher for christmas, as we had to travel nearly two hundred miles we decided to extend our break and booking this lodge turned out to be an excellent decision. The lodge had everything and more very comfortable and spotless and having superb weather made it a perfect holiday.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How relaxing it was

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
visit Brockhole visitors centre which you can easily walk to



Julie from Nuneaton stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Somerford lodge, white cross bay.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great lodge with everything you could need ie Wi-Fi, good amount of TV channels, netflix, dog bowls.
Lots of information on the lakes and places to visit.
Great bedrooms and decent sized shower in the ensuite.
Great decking area with furniture and hot tub.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Visiting Buttermere and Derwent.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Climbing Cat bells or walking around Buttermere.



Luke from Hessle stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


Brilliant lodge and great location.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really clean spacious lodge, with everything you would need. Just need instructions for dishwasher as had no idea how to work it! Hot tub was excellent. Would definitely return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wansfell pike walk from troutbeck.



Lisa from Lockerbie stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in this fabulous lodge Lisa and thank you for your very kind review. We have noted your comments regarding the dishwasher and we will endeavour to make the instructions more visible for future guests, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we do apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Somerford is a beautiful and modern lodge and with its sunken hot tub, it offers a welcomed retreat for all guests. We are delighted you would like to return and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic lodge all the home comforts very good location would return every year staff on site can't do enough for you credit to the staff

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Every thing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Plenty of locations to do what u want



David from Rotherham stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Fantastic lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge was amazing absolute spotless, beds realy comfy , hot tub was great watching the night sky , would definitely recommend this lodge and will be returning again , bowness bay was great well worth a visit

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness bay



Lee from Sunderland stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


My favourite so far

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge. Having stayed in a few lodges on the same site this has been by far the best one!
Will be booking for next year!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Orrest Head



Lydia from Halifax stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review, Lydia and we are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay. Somerford Lodge is a well presented 2 bedroom lodge equipped with everything you will need for your stay. The hot tub is perfect for unwinding and relaxing in after a busy day exploring the local area. We are delighted to hear you would like to return and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Our stay at Somerford lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Somerford lodge was lovely. A beautiful lodge very clean. We would definitely return and tell our family and friends about this lovely lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Staying somewhere lovely to go back to.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Would recommend going on a ferry to Ambleside and then back to Windermere.



Tracy from Brough stayed at Somerford Lodge for 10 nights in July 2018


What more do you need...

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had an absolutely perfect stay. Have to say, we knew we were making a good choice but that was really compounded as soon as we arrived at the lodge. We had taken some bits and pieces (household gizmos) just in case but the owners have literally thought of absolutely everything. Amazing home from home and the DVD collection was an excellent touch which we hadn’t expected.
The hot tub and surrounding furniture were ideal and it was great on a night to open up the bi-folds onto the balcony and enjoy a drink whilst winding down.
Absolutely would recommend this lodge and we would definitely stay again.


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The sheer home fromhome comfort after a busy day out.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
For those with young kids who would still like s nice (easy) walk we’d recommend Orrest Head which starts just opposite the bus station in Windemere. Some oustanding views from up there.

Nick from Sunderland stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


A lovely setting and a bright modern lodge with everything you need for a fab holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is of a very high standard especially for a dog friendly accommodation. Very clean and has a well stocked kitchen with everything you need. We loved the bi-folding doors especially as it was very hot during our stay. The hot tub provided a lovely relaxing end to the day. Customer service from Lake district lodge holidays was of a high standard. I would highly recommend this property.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quiet relaxing environment

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A must is a lake cruise, and a visit to Bowness



Brian from Wigan stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


Our holidays to whitecross bay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our holiday to somerford lodge,lake district lodge holidays are a really good company to book through,would recomend this lodge to anyone,the luxury of this lodge is fantastic and the hot tub is amazing the lodge really is like a home from home

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The luxury of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Derwent water



Emma from Liverpool stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Wow factor

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First impressions were WOW amazing ticked all the boxes ..fab week in a gorgeous lodge 5star ...would defiantly stay again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Was like home from home beautiful

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness is gorgeous .



Ann from Hartlepool stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments and superb ratings, Ann. Somerford Lodge is beautifully presented for guests to simply relax and unwind in comfort. A spacious and modern two bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub, can it get any better? We are delighted to hear you had a fab week and we will be very pleased to welcome you for another stay in the near future.

Fantastic holiday in the Lake District

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in November. The lodge was exceptionally clean and modern with every need catered for. We loved the extra touches like blankets on the sofas for cosy nights, not that we really needed them as the lodge was so warm and snug. We made the most of the hot tub and went in in the evenings after our little boy had gone to bed. The location is perfect for exploring, we had great days out to Bowness, Windermere and Grasmere. We’re already thinking of our next trip to the lodge as it really was a home from home.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on Lake Windermere

Jonathan from Newcastle stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in November 2017


Would come again

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable holiday staying at Somerford Lodge. Had everything we needed and in addition the luxury of a hot tub!
Very clean & welcoming.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location within National Park area.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit Ashness Bridge - awesome views



Barbara from Bristol stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in October 2017


THE BEST LODGE IVE STAYED AT IN A LONG TIME. JUST BEAUTIFUL

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived at this lodge and was just Wow how nice and clean and professional. The layout of this lodge is stunning. Everything you need is there in the fully equipped fitted kitchen with integrated fridge & freezer, gas hob, electric oven, microwave and dishwasher, slow cooker, kettle toaster, cutlery, utensils and crockery. living room with a great layout with tv on wall. The bedrooms are Beautiful with master having ensuite shower room. Outside with Decking and not forgetting huge hot tub that was lush in the evenings.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
everything was perfect

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
on site lake views

Barry from Plymouth stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Lodge holiday was amazing we have already recomended it to all our friends and family lovely lodge x

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sommerford lodge was amazing . It is spacious modern and clean the hot tub was brilliant the location was perfect we had a great time and have recomended to all our family and friends

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake windermere



Graham from Burnley stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


A home from home - just what you need on a UK break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd year in a row staying at the Somerford Lodge, we loved it so much last year that we came back again for a week during this summer. The lodge is very comfortable and modern and if you are lucky like we were and get good weather the glass doors at the front fully open to make the outside wrap around deck become part of the inside. The hot tub made for very relaxing evenings after a fun filled day in the nearby lakeside towns. The site is very quiet but does have a really good restaurant and some entertainment. Our 11 year old son loved this holiday and there is something to do for everyone but coming home at the end of the day to the warm, cosy and welcoming lodge certainly made the holiday for me. I would highly recommend a stay at this lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge, the hot tub and the tri fold opening doors.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
I would highly recommend the Brockhole activity centre where we took our son to the treetop nets and we all also took part in the archery.

Tammy from Coatbridge stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Perfect for a relaxing break in the Lakes

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay in Somerford Lodge. It is in a great location with in White Cross Bay, not too close to other lodges but near to the leisure facilities, restaurant and bar. Everything about this Lodge is fantastic. Well equipped kitchen, nice comfortable beds, great bathrooms. Spent lots of time in the hot tub and enjoyed playing the board games available in the lodge, with a glass of wine (or two) in the evenings. Will definitely be booking again!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The beautiful surroundings and relaxing in the hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A walk round Tarn Hows followed by lunch in the Drunken Duck



Barry from Liverpool stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent. The location and cleanliness were second to none. Would recommend to family and friends our grand-daughter of 18 thought she was in heaven when in the jacuzzi. Ideal for all ages and abilities ( being disabled ) I found it suitable even for my limited mobility.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was all good

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to hawks head and hill top



James from Lanark stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Nice

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice modern Chalet in a good position, very well equipped kitchen ( if you`ve forgotten something it`s probably there ) :)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
walking ( in the rain lol )

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
boat trip on windemere



Klaus from Stanford-le-hope stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Klaus, and we were pleased you enjoyed your stay. A beautifully designed lodge with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a spacious outside terrace and a hot tub. The perfect holiday retreat for families or couples. And the location is ideal for walking, even in the rain! Perhaps we will welcome you again in the near future?

puppy's 1st birthday

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time we have visited the lakes we thought we would treat our dogs it was our puppy's 1st birthday while we was away everywhere we went accepted dogs and couldn't of wished for anything more

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The spacious lodge and decking for dogs

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walk around the visitor centre



Tanya from Wakefield stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Short stay would definitely recommend

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was wonderful, the best we have ever stayed in, will definitely be booking again. Lodge was perfect.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge, site and all of the surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere town



Tracey from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Disappointed

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Disappointed with the lodge. On arrival at the lodge the carpet was covered in what appeared to be dog hairs. We tried to hoover it up with the hoover provided, with no effect. We then contacted Customer Services, who came with a different hoover, again this failed to pick up the hair. The customer service representative stated that this carpet was difficult to hoover and remove the hair with a hoover, you could scoop up the hair in your hand, not very nice. This problem was in all the rooms. We felt that paying a lot for the lodge we expected it to be spotless, it either needs a decent hoover or the carpet changing. Very disappointed.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge is well decorated. The hottub was lovely

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We drove to Scarfell Pike, a long way but worth it.

Michelle from Doncaster stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in April 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback review Michelle. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cleanliness of the lodge and that the cleaners responsible did not put things right to your satisfaction when they returned. The lodge is cleaned by an independent contractor and we have passed on your comments to them. It is most unusual to receive such comments as the lodge generally gets very good reviews. We can only apologise for what you experienced. Somerford is a very popular, spacious lodge with a lovely outside hot tub and is enjoyed by all those who stay there.

Our heaven!!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My teenage children and I have stayed at this lodge twice now. We all absolutely love it to bits. It's a special place away from all the stresses of normal life. It is soooo quiet, peaceful and relaxing. As a single mum I felt really comfortable and secure in this lodge and park. The wifi wasn't great but that actually brought us together more as we talked more and played games instead!

The sofas, beds and showers are all wonderfully luxurious. It was hard to get out of bed some mornings as it was so cozy and comfortable. The hot tub is awesome! Perfect to relax in after a long day out walking and sightseeing. The location is great, we even saw lots of deer on our woodland walk through the park!! Everyone is very friendly and polite. We enjoyed walking down to the lake and sitting on the bench watching life go by.

We brought our little chihuahua Teddy, and he loved it too.

We definitely want to come back here again!!

We had to call customer services about a very minor problem and they were fantastic in their attitude and speed of sorting things out for us.

Thank you so much for this wonderful lodge.

Erin, James, Jodie & Teddy (woof)! x

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How peaceful and comfortable the lodge was.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole was awesome. My two teens went in a canoe and loved it. It's a beautiful place and it's only a 10 minute walk from the lodge!

Erin from York stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Just what the doctor ordered!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely relaxing stay at Somerford Lodge. Very clean and well presented with the books and DVDs a nice touch. We all enjoyed the hot tub after a day out walking. Highly recommend and would love to book again for next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge was very cosy - a home from home. Great to relax in hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walker's ticket on Lake Windermere cruises



Sandra from Wells stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review, Sandra. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed a relaxing stay at Somerford. Modern, spacious and tastefully designed accommodation that is fully equipped with all home comforts for guests to unwind. Indeed a very cosy home from home. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed the hot tub after a day out walking, a welcoming treat. Thank you for recommending this lodge to others and letting us know you are looking to return next year, we look forward to welcoming you.

Fantastic Stay at Somerford.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, partner & our dog stayed for 4 nights. We all had a great time. Lodge is lovely, we loved the open plan kitchen/dining/living room area. Very modern and nice and cosy at night. Has a great enclosed decking area and the hot tub was fantastic (especially when you have been on long walks in the day) We found the site itself was kept tidy and if you have a dog there is a little woodland walk near 'Pony Meadow' to take the dog for the early first/last walk of the day before bed, which is a nice walk and you can spot some wildlife. You can also have a walk down to the Lake which was about a 5min walk from Somerford Lodge. Had a drink outside the on site bar, seemed nice, didn't eat from there but the prices seemed standard. Went on lots of walks and visited both Ambleside and Windermere centre. Recommend both, some lovely pubs/places to eat & dog friendly too. Ambleside is about 15min walk, Windermere centre about 40min walk. Visit Grizedale forest for a good day out walking. We can't wait to go back and would definitely stay at Somerford Lodge again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely lodge, hot tub and forest walks,

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizedale Forest

Chloe from Macclesfield stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Perfect lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great lodge for a weekend away. The site is lovely with all amenities close by and the lodge is in excellent condition!! We had a wonderful stay and will be booking our return shortly,

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Had a lovely meal in Windermere at The Pig



Sarah from Chester stayed at Somerford Lodge for 2 nights in March 2017


The Mason Family Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
loved the place and lodge, been twice now, but would like to have area on site in bar area or other area, where people can come in with there dog if dogs behave for a drink on an evening etc, as dogs are are not allowed to be left in lodge by them selves.Would have thought that it would be more money going into the site if you accommodate and do not want to walk far. for people with dogs who also like to go out for a drink

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the cozy cabin and hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
If you have dogs, would go to Ambleside to be welcome in pubs with dog



Shaun from Morley stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in December 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, Shaun. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Somerford Lodge, and indeed the private hot tub. We have passed on your comments about allowing dogs in the onsite bar to the Park Management for their consideration and although it is something outside of our control, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. As you discovered there are plenty of bars and cafes in Ambleside that are dog friendly, and plenty more in other villages – an excuse to return for a third time. The lodge itself is modern and spacious that is ideal for families or couples, it is beautifully designed for a relaxing and peaceful break and with the addition of a sunken hot tub. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future.

Excellent!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic 4 nights away in somerford lodge with our 2 toddlers. The lodge was lovely and clean on arrival and we enjoyed the added bonus of the hot tub. Will be booking to go again next year!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizdale forest



Nick from Sunderland stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in October 2016


A late Summer stay in peace

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant site surrounded by peaceful woods and for the first time in ages I heard the call of Owls at night. The cabin itself was very well appointed and very clean although I thought that the kitchen area and one could have done with a little extra spit and polish, otherwise very good.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The freedom to do as we wished without the feeling that we were being watched all the time

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Take trip by boat down to Lakeside and enjoy their "Fabulous Fish and Chips " as a lunchtime treat



William from Nottingham stayed at Somerford Lodge for 14 nights in September 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, William and for choosing Somerford Lodge for a relaxing break away. We were pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay, and although very kind of you to comment on the cleanliness we were sorry to hear that the kitchen needed that extra bit of effort – we take on board your helpful comments and have passed them on to the contract cleaners for their reference. Thank you for letting us know. Fish and Chips, boat trip and stunning scenery – a lovely day out! and after exploring the Lakes the lodge is the perfect retreat for a family or couple to unwind, with the added bonus of a hot tub!

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was beautiful, spacious and comfortable.
The park is stunning and well maintained. We went to the marina each and choices health club.
The club is very clean and modern.
The pool, steam, sauna and jacuzzi are beautiful we really enjoyed spending time there.
We cant wait to return next year, we have been three years in a row.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lakes is so peaceful, we love it.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole, get a boat to Ambleside and Wray castle (Wray castle is free to national trust members).



Guest from Warrington stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


Somerford lodge,White Cross Bay.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have on three occasions booked lodges with lake district lodge holidays at limfitt park but for our holiday dates for 2016 were unable to do so as doggy accommodation was all booked up, as we love the area we looked up white cross bay and discovered Somerford lodge,what a bonus,absolutely beautiful very well equipped lodge in an excellent location.Many thanks to owners John and Claire Harvey and all at Lake District Lodge Holidays.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Wonderful home comforts and of course the hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beautiful drive up to Hawkshead and a lovely meal in the Red Lion.



Paul from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely long weekend break here. The lodge is well presented, has all amenities you will need and the hot tub is great.
Only very small negative was that the dishes weren't very clean at all. But they supply you with washing up liquid and there's even a dishwasher so wasn't a big problem. Overall had a great stay and would definitely go back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness is lovely



Guest from Widnes stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in July 2016


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Somerford Lodge. We were sorry to hear the dishes weren't very clean and apologise for this. We do ask guests to leave these things clean as it isn't practical for everything to be checked prior to a stay. That aside we were pleased you had a lovely stay. Someford is a lovely, spacious lodge complete with it's own private hot tub - perfect to relax in after a day out enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Can we tempt you back? We sincerely hope so!

Ideal for a lovely break in the lakes

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second year in this lodge. The lodge is modern, very well equipped & kept to a lovely standard. Friends and family stayed across the park but we found Somerford to be much better stocked in terms of crockery, cutlery & glassware etc.

Very comfy beds & bedding.
This year I made use of the travel cot and high chair with my 7 month old. Both in great condition.

The hot tub was lovely and warm in comparison to another friends lodge so we found our lodge soon became the 'go to' for everyone.




What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort & quiet location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brantfell walk

Rachel from York stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in June 2016


Excellent Stay At Somerford

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to book here as it would be perfect to take our little boy and our puppy. Couldn't fault a thing, our stay was perfect. From arriving to departing. We will definately be returning in the future. Thanks for a great stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Eveything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk around the lake



Sarah from Northwich stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in June 2016


Great place to stay in the Lakes

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday
We loved the lodge and it was close to Windermere and Ambleside with so much to do
from Beatrix Potter to steam engines,
Walks round the Lake, lots of activities for the children
The Lodge was great, absolutely perfect

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and so much to do and see in the area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
White Moss country park



Paul from Colchester stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in May 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and rating Somerford so highly, Paul. We are so pleased to hear you had a great holiday and found the lodge to your expectations. A delight to read your review. The lodge is situated in a desirable spot on the park with close proximity to the clubhouse yet just a stroll to the shores of Lake Windermere. And White Moss is a lovely walk for a relaxing day out with some beautiful scenery along the way. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in the lake district, and the lodge is a popular choice with having a sunken hot tub. A lovely way to relax after some fun filled days out. We look forward to have you stay with us again in the near future (complete with your returning loyalty discount!).

Relaxation

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is fantastic , site staff are really friendly and the lodge was just fantastic!!!
loved it so much we booked straight back up for next year!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Luxury lake side accommodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole visitor Ctre with treetop trek & nets



Keith from Middlesbrough stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in May 2016


fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this lodge is in a perfect location for exploring the many places the lake district has to offer.
facilities on the park are very good,the lodge itself had everything you would need plus the added bonus of the hot tub

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the hot tub after a day out walking

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
wray castle, nearby



Michael from Halesowen stayed at Somerford Lodge for 7 nights in March 2016


Another Great Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is highly recommended, clean, cosy and luxury for a great stay! The location of this lodge is great and quiet with a private hot tub. The location of the site is also great with good access to the whole of the Lake District. Thank you for another pleasant stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Keswick, Ambleside, Bowness on Windermere



George from Bolton stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in November 2015


Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in in the lakes! Out all day and back in the evening to the warm comfortable lodge all a comfort of home. Would strongly recommend Sommerford. I'm unable to find any negative comments. Thank you to the owners and the housekeeper warm, clean and perfectly maintained.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Take the ferry to raby castle then do the 4 mile walk to ferry house it's lovely! Make sure to go to the viewing tower!



Ann from Wallsend stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in October 2015


fabulous few days away.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptional lodge.very comfortable & so comfy!! Decor beautiful would highly recommend. Looking forward to visiting again in the near future. Beautiful part of the country.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
surrounding areas

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ingleton falls



Joanne from Oldham stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in September 2015


Somber ford Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was beautiful, well equipped and provided an excellent place to visit. The hot tub was a bonus and the site was very peaceful. The lodge is very well decorated and is somewhere I would like to visit again. The bar and shop and restaurant are very expensive so take as much as you need before hand. Bow ness is worth a visit.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness



Joanne from Middlesbrough stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in July 2015


Amazing lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Somerford lodge we loved from the minute we pulled up. The lodge was beautifully presented and had a lovely feel to it. Would 100% book up again without a doubt!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
bowness



Charlotte from Bishop Auckland stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in July 2015


summer holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location. Lovely surroundings. Very clean & tidy. Immaculate accommodation. Everything catered for. We loved the hot tub and would definitely recommend to friends. We stayed 11 nights. Would like to go back for long weekend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
quality of accommodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
brockhole



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Somerford Lodge for 11 nights in June 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for your summer holiday at Somerford Lodge. We were delighted to hear you had a great time at this lovely lodge and enjoyed the area and surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back for a short break in the future.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay in somerford lodge.
The Hot tub was amazing. The location
Is fantastic.. The lodge is very well equiped catering for your every need. Truly home from home. The park has really good onsite facilities. All in all a great break.
We will be returning soon

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visiting dove cottage in grassmere



William from Skelmersdale stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in June 2015


Fabulous!!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me, my husband, our 9 month old son and 2 year old Chihuahua Bruce, stayed in this lodge and it was stunning! We got married on 31st may and stayed here from 8th-12th June, so it was classed as our honeymoon! we couldn't believe the value for money. The lodge is immaculately clean, equipped with everything you need, even DVDs! the décor was definitely the final touch and I think the owners can give themselves a big pat on the back for that. The hot tub was lovely for us especially once we got our little boy to bed and had some well deserved mum and dad time, relaxed with a glass of wine or two and a dip in the hot tub. The park resort was lovely, we went swimming every morning, had few drinks at the bar on site, played in the park and the on site supermarket had everything you needed! it was just perfect. The location was well in close vicinity to Windermere, Ambleside and other gorgeous little villages. A car would be needed to get around but even still I was blown away by the scenery. What a beautiful place and we are now looking at rebooking for our 1st anniversary next year! Great stay and would recommend this lodge to anyone!

Mr & Mrs Brown:)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge and a day out at Bowness on Windermere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Beatrix Potter attraction was nice, ambleside was a nice village too

Guest from Pontefract stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in June 2015


Bank holiday break.......

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our weekend away was so relaxing & peaceful. We enjoyed it so much as the decking round the holiday home kept our two dog's nice & safe, the holiday home itself was so impressive it was clean, modern & had everything you require to cook, beds were so comfy & clean we couldn't ask for any better and that's a lot coming from me as I'm really fussy I do like a bit of luxury when l go away and we got it. It wasn't very cheap but to be honest it was so comfortable & based in a lovely spot we know that 's what we paid for, it's the same as going to a hotel you like a but of luxury so you have to pay for it.
I can only say one thing about the holiday home the cleaners they are using don't seem to be cleaning the decking post area as there was webs and the possum from the trees were sticking to the webs but it didn't stop us enjoying our stay. Thank you we will definitely be back....Marie, John ( Molly & Roxy - two Westies)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was so enjoyable for my two Westies who were allowed to stay they absolutely loved it.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Peace & quiet, how clean it was, the lovely walk's to the lake, also the town centre close by......great choice of shop's....

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in May 2015


mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Somerford Lodge. The outside spaces and deck area are cleaned before each stay although they are prone to getting cobwebs no matter how often they are cleaned because of the location of the lodge. Pleased you found this very luxurious lodge exactly that.

Our stay at Somerford Lodge, White Cross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at Someford Lodge for four nights commencing Monday 25th May. The lodge was one of the best that we have stayed in and could not be faulted in any way. The surrounding area was quiet and peaceful and beautiful scenery all around. This holiday was fantastic and enjoyed by all of our party and we will certainly return. Lakeside Lodges were great in every aspect of the management of our holiday!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing in the lodge and its hot tub!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Islands Cruise around Lake Windermere



Guest from Trimdon Station stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in May 2015


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sat, 09 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Somerford Lodge. The lodge was modern, clean and had everything that you could need for a comfortable stay. Location was quiet and fairly private. The hot tub was a nice additional feature although we didn't get to use it too much unfortunately as the nights were a little too cold. The balcony/decked area at the front of the lodge made a nice area to sit when the sun was shining. We would definitely recommend Somerford Lodge and would love to return again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Walking the dogs to the Marina on an evening & sitting out on the balcony.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk through Troutbeck which is quite near to the park, was enjoyable and provided a good long walk for the dogs.



Guest from Leeds stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in March 2015


Somorford lodge, White Cross Bay.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge in a great location. Ideal for families as site has amenities to use. We found the lodge very comfortable with everything you could need. The hot tub was an extra bonus. Will hopefully be able to return to the lodge soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and amenities in and around lodge/site.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
South Lakes Wildlife park is worth the drive to especially with children.



Guest from Widnes stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in April 2015


Could not fault it !

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Somerford Lodge with our friends for four nights and had a fabulous time. The weather was exceptional for the time of year so was a real bonus. The park was quiet and all the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The lodge was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The hot tub was fantastic after a long day on our feet ! We will be back ... hopefully soon !!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We were so lucky as the weather was exceptional so everything was perfect !

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up to Troutbeck and across the bridal path and back down to Troutbeck Bridge .... 2 hours.



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in April 2015


5 day stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An unbelievable stay that really relaxed myself and my partner. We usually go for city breaks but this time decided to stay here and i've never gone back to work feeling so recharged. The lodge itself is near on perfection. (Perfect if it had a BBQ.) Everything was clean and tidy, everything working, the Hot Tub was fantastic, just everything about it was amazing. The park itself was good, we didn't use the facilities however everything was clean and tidy and no disruption. We made the most of the surroundings going to Glenridding, Troutbeck and Grasmere throughout the week whilst often making the short walk into Windermere fairly often. 10/10 will be staying again very shortly. A massive thanks to the owners for providing this excellent holiday home!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The Lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk from Glenridding to Howtown around the lake.

Guest from Lancaster stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in April 2015


out of this world

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location. The lodge was incredible and the hot tub we used every day. The lodge is finished to a very high standard and has everything you need. We are looking to stay at the end of the year as nd have recommended Somerford lodge to friends and family.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
accommodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
day at the marina



Guest from Sale stayed at Somerford Lodge for 3 nights in March 2015


A great base for exploring the Lakes

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely lodge in a good location for exploring the Lake District. It had all we needed for a family holiday. There was plenty of room and storage space and the decor was modern and clean.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just being in the area - The Lake District is one of our favourite places.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
For a family day out, we went for the all-in-one ticket for steam train Haverthwaite to Lakeside, boat from Lakeside to Bowness, then visited the Beatrix Potter museum.



Guest from Leamington Spa stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in March 2015


A lovely new years break

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay was a lovely break after our first very busy christmas as a family and our son's 1st birthday. The lodge was absolutely gorgeous, warm and cosy.
Everything was great quality, the decor, furniture, down to the bedding and towels.
Our Son settled in straight away and slept better at night that he does at home. The travel cot and highchair were of great quality too.
It did rain most days but this did not spoil our stay and we did use the jacuzzi outside once the rain did stop.
I would advise to take some DVD's with you as there is only freeview TV and when the weather isn't great neither is the signal.
This really was a home away from home stay for us, the site was really quiet (as it would be the 1st week in January) but we took advantage of this and used the onsite facilities, the pool was a little too cold even though it was heated however we went into the jacuzzi instead.
We didn't use the onsite shop however there is a spar shop at the garage not far from White Cross Bay and a tesco in windermere centre. We will hopefully return soon :)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
All of it

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake District wildlife park

Guest from Warrington stayed at Somerford Lodge for 4 nights in January 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
What more can we say other than 'thank you' for writing the first review for the lovely Somerford Lodge. It sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas in the lodge and we were delighted to hear you rated all aspects of your stay as a maximum 5 out of 5. We look forward to arranging another stay for you very soon (complete with your returning guests discount of course!)