FB Twitter

Megala Lodge

Megala Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Megala Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Ambleside 82. It is a delightful 3-bedroom self-catering lodge with far reaching views from its decking and hot tub large enough for 6 guests. The lodge offers dedicated WiFi for streaming services, some Sky channels including Sky Sports, dishwasher, washer/dryer and double walk-in wardrobe in the master bedroom which leads through to the en-suite. Sorry, no dogs accepted.

Please note: All bookings are subject to a £100 security deposit, which is refundable up to 7 days after your stay should it not be called upon.

Great location for a short break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights at the end of November. The park is in a great location on the shore of Lake Windermere and had decent amenities. The lodge is spacious and well equipped with everything we needed. It's in an elevated position with a view of the lake. The hot tub was a great place to relax with a drink and watch the sun go down. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruise on Windermere



Christopher from Lancaster stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in November 2019


Weekend away with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge with everything you could need. Reception staff very friendly. We didn’t use any of the facilities as our lodge had its own hot tub which was lovely. Only comment I would make was it is difficult to remove/replace hot tub cover. Perhaps a handle could be added to make it easier. Although the park seemed very busy it certainly wasn’t noisy or crowded. Taxi into Bowness-on-Windermere was only £10 for a 6 seater which is excellent value. Would definitely recommend this park and this lodge

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Albert bar in Bowness-on-Windermere had wonderful food and lovely atmosphere

Janice from Stone stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in November 2019


Beautiful stay with stunning views of lake

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family fully enjoyed the lodge and its facilities, especially the large cosy hot hub. The lodge is spacious and well appointed. It sits in an ideal location and is very clean with all home comforts available.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location of hot hub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks around the area



Helen from Prestwick stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in October 2019


lovely log cabin how ever the restaurant lets it down

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we got there waited over an hour for food only 6 people in restaurant when came sausage raw complained night time went down fro entertainment very poor also short staffed on bar waited 40 mins to be served terrible

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
log cabin

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
peaceful



Julie from Ferryhill stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in August 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 165 days ago
Thank you for your review, Julie. Noting all you have said we can only apologise that your stay was let down by the onsite restaurant. Neither we nor the lodge owners are able to control how the Park or its facilities are conducted; that is the responsibility of the Park Owners although we will draw their attention to your comments. With so many other places to eat and drink close by, we do hope you found somewhere for you all to enjoy. On a better note, thank you for letting us know you would recommend the lodge to others. Megala is a great place to stay - modern and spacious with hot tub and fabulous views!.. We'd be delighted to welcome you again.

Fab 60th birthday stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay at megala lodge modern clean bright spacious lodge ,hot tub lovely ,we were never out of it ,location great short walk to the lake with beautiful view ,celebrated 60th birthday amazingly ,lovely lodge beautiful surroundings oh fabulous weather ,loved it loads booked already for next year

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on lake windemere



Lynda from Wirral stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


Fab stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge in a great position between Windermere and Ambleside.
Lodge is very comfortable, never slept so well In a bed away from home before, nice that’s it’s a king size too.
Shower in en-suite is also very good but not that big.
Only thing to watch for are the steps. My 2 year old worked out how to open the gate in the first 5 seconds so if you’re worried about this take a small padlock. The elevated position of the lodge does make for a superior view though

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortableness, if that’s a word!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up Loughrigg



Alastair from Dunfermline stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in June 2019


Amazing Modern Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although there was only me and my partner stopping here this lodge accommodates 6. It is spacious , modern and has an amazing view out of the hot tub.
If you like small walks then it is perfectly located for Bowness-on-Windermere and anything around there.
To sum it up Absolutely perfect!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location of Cabin and views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat Ride to Ambleside



Julian from Gainsborough stayed at Megala Lodge for 2 nights in May 2019


Memories Made Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked Magala to celebrate a special birthday with family. We had a wonderful time and the Luxury of having our own hot tub added to the celebrations. Great location. Lodge was perfect inside and out. Couldn’t have wanted for anything more.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub was wonderful with beautiful views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Great Northern pie company in Ambleside #delicious



Selina from Manchester stayed at Megala Lodge for 2 nights in May 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 262 days ago
Thank you for the excellent review and ratings, Selina. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at this amazing lodge. Megala is a fantastic three bedroom lodge with hot tub and lake views. A fabulous place for a celebration and an unforgettable holiday in the Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Easter Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (three couples) had a brilliant stay at Megala Lodge mon-fri during our Easter Holiday. The lodge was clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay in the Lakes. The hot tub is an added bonus particularly after being out on a long walk all day! We had amazing weather so we were able to enjoy the seating on the decking area outside. Already looking forward to our holiday next year!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
View from the hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Silver How in Grasmere



Jim from Burton-on-trent stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Easter at Megala Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 5 spent one week at Megala lodge. It provided a most comfortable base and met all our requirements.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Friendly atmosphere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter’s house



Neil from Chichester stayed at Megala Lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


10/10

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a lovely break at megala lodge ,it was light and spacious and had everything we needed ,the hot tub was wonderful ,would recomend this lodge and sight highly

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
everything about the location,lodge ,was just right ,

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
we would recommend bowness as a lovely day out



Dorothy from Chorley stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in April 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 308 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review Ernest and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Megala is a delightful three bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub and great views. As you rightly point out, everything is just right. This is a wonderful place to stay in the heart of the Lakes and it will be pleasure to welcome you again very soon.

Just perfect for a short break away with friends and children.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to forget about life and disappear to the lake district. The lodge is very well presented with everything you need. We enjoyed using the activities on site for the children but was overwhelmed with the amount of local activities. Nights and mornings we took advantage of the hot tub, a great feature!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot Tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hiring a boat on Lake Windermere



Adam from Hereford stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


An excellent stay in an excellent location

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was everything we expected and more. It was clean, spacious and modern. The hot tub is excellent with great views. Help was provided immediately when I couldn't figure out the boiler.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lakeland Farm Park



Amanda from Glasgow stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Well equipped lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A modern, well equipped cosy lodge with spacious,open plan lounge & kitchen. Loved the hot tub. Great views across the park & lake beyond.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Katherine from Hartlepool stayed at Megala Lodge for 2 nights in March 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 329 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments Katherine, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Indeed the views from the lodge and hot tub are spectacular and we would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Family break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was in a great location on the white cross bay park with partial views to lake Windermere. Lodge was modern and well equipped as well as comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be heading back soon for another peaceful relaxing break. Staff at the park were also very helpful and the grounds was very well maintained. Highly recommend this lodge

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views/hot tub/close to the town

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix potter museum



Michael from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in February 2019


Beautiful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect log cabin with everything needed for a relaxing weekend away with friends. Will definitely stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tapios Resteraunt in Windermere



Jayne from Bury stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in November 2018


Lovely break and great hot tub

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location of park was great to explore other areas. The lodge was light and airy.
We were lucky to use the hot tub as the weather was ok. Comfy lodge with nice big tv. We enjoyed our stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
All of it

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
10 lake tour that we did.



Maria from Cheshunt stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review, Maria and it is pleasing to read your comments. Megala is a beautifully designed three bedroom lodge with lake view and hot tub. The perfect combination for a relaxing holiday in the Lakes, or indeed as a base to explore the area. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Excellent holiday lodge!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, well equipped and in a good place in the park and a good location overall. Near to Bowness/Windermere and Ambleside.
Really well laid out with two bathrooms, and good sized living space. Hot tub was well heated and in a good position.
Kitchen was equipped with everything you could need.
Lodge is located in an excellent place within the park - although there are lodges next to it, it is elevated which gives a good feeling of space, and a great view - especially from the hot tub.
Really comfortable, light and airy, with plenty of windows, and plenty of outside living space.
Good parking spaces for two cars.
All in all, a really good deal.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort of the lodage

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to Ambleside

Carole from Durham stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in September 2018


Brilliant weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay. Great views of lake from hot tub. Shower door came off although just a call to reception resolved issue. No problems. Fantastic weekend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location. Veiw of lake.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Gondola ride on coniston



Nadir from Charlesworth stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in September 2018


Very fair

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was very good,when the loge was cleaned ,but I will say there sort of clean and my clean are miles apart . On saying this we were were given a £25.00 because the lodge was not ready when we arrived at 3.pm The staff were lovely,and I would come back and stay again.a small must is to put a bolt lock or something as we had small children with us and they could open the gate.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The picture prefect view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We just love coming to the Lake,s so there is not just one thing I would recommend



Yvonne from Doncaster stayed at Megala Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Yvonne and it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay at Megala. We also take on board your further comments and apologise that a few things were not quite to your satisfaction. Please be assured that we are keen to address any issues that arise in a lodge, and with regard to the cleanliness we have already taken steps to ensure, so far as possible, in future it is cleaned and presented to the high standard you are entitled to expect - and on time. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your suggestion for a bolt lock on the gate has been passed on to the lodge owners for their consideration, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Megala is a luxury three-bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub and the views are spectacular, indeed picture perfect! It will be a pleasure to have you stay again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you.

Long weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Megala Lodge and would not hesitate to return again next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peaceful location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip to Ambleside



Guest from Newburgh stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in August 2018


Lovely week away

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely amd spacious. Extra touches of childrens games and toiletries were very welcome. Location on site was great. Hot tub was well used and when we required assistance from Lake District lodges it was excellent and very speedy. Only recommendation for the future would be to treat the decking as it looks tired compared to the neighbouring properties.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and space

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruise and aquarium



Bronwen from Matlock stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in August 2018


Megala lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location and property even considered buying the property next door but out of our budget. Xx

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ambleside



Kelly from West Midlands stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in July 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Kelly and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. A beautifully presented three bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub, and a great location on the park with far reaching views. Can it get any better? A lodge holiday at Megala is the next best thing to owning one and we will be delighted to welcome you again.

Sandra gerry owes and pat mum

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay in this log cabin was amazing clean everything in it you needed in ther superb location hot tub amazing and the view from ther was brill the only problem was stairs to the cabin wer steep but managed it could not fault this cabin in anyway and would be booking this again sandra and Gerry Owens

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and the weather

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Get one with hot tub after a long day at the lakes



Sandra from Ashton-in-Makerfield stayed at Megala Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


A great week in the lakes!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant week staying at Megala lodge. A home from home with everything you needed. Fabulous hot tub which we used every day as the weather was so great! Very quiet area of the site complimented by great views of the lake. Would return again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The spacious lodge with a great hot tub and views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A cruise on the lake!



Colin from Denny stayed at Megala Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we felt right at home, the views were amazing especially from the hot tub and with sunshine all weekend we couldn’t have asked for more. Will definitely be staying there again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and space inside and out

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The lake is a 2 minute walk from the property and there is a large adventure park 5 minutes walk away outside the site.



Stacey from Bolton stayed at Megala Lodge for 3 nights in May 2018


Mums 60th fantastic !!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 adults and a 9
Month old went for a two night stay for mums 60 th birthday we thourghly enjoyed it and had the added luxury of having a hot tub .Excellent location close to everything.Nice to have food drinks and swimming pool on site if the weather was to be bad .See you again soon !

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Homely lodge ,hot tub,great location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Quirky shops in windamere



Zoe from Halifax stayed at Megala Lodge for 2 nights in March 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Zoe and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. A gorgeous place to stay for a birthday celebration, the lodge is beautifully presented complete with a hot tub for an unforgettable holiday in the Lake District. We are delighted to hear you will be returning for another in the near future.