FB Twitter

Laughing Duck Lodge

Laughing Duck Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Laughing Duck Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Langdale 4. This is a stunning 3-bedroom self-catering lodge in a partially wooded area at the end of a small cul-de-sac offering a very quiet stay. The lodge offers a large spacious deck with a secluded hot tub large enough for 6 guests. There's a wall mounted television with integrated DVD player in the living area, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, television in all bedrooms and a walk through wardrobe leading to the en-suite in the master bedroom. Dog friendly - up to 2 dogs accepted.

Chill out week

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Love the lakes
WS a bit disappointed with the condition of the furniture in the lodge but enjoyed my stat

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip



Stephen from Buxton stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in April 2021


Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge situated in a quiet corner hot tub was amazing good location for bowness and the visitor centre is just a short walk up the road brilliant place to take the kids would definitely return

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole visitor centre



Tony from Scunthorpe stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in April 2021


Spacious and comfortable lodge - loved it!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many lodges on this park over the years and so far this one has to be the best!

The booking process as always was seamless and clear instructions provided for arrival too.

The lodge is a great size for us as a family of 4 (plus dog!) and had absolutely everything we needed for our stay. It was clean on arrival and the hot tub was ready to go too!!

Beds were comfortable and we all slept well during our stay.

Would not hesitate to rebook this lodge!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Great weather and lodge great size for a family of 4

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Collette from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in April 2021


Payment

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jan 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Hi fay paid £1000 stay 4days
And 4 night got there stay day half got told we have 2 go home cos went back lock down then only give me back £520 not good then owe me money not book again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was clear

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ok



Fay from Liverpool stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 2 nights in December 2020


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 118 days ago
Thank you for your review. Regrettably your 5 night stay over New Year was curtailed due to Cumbria being placed into Tier 4 restrictions and White Cross Bay having to close immediately. This was something which was out of our control and we understand our guest frustrations at a difficult time. We are very sorry you were only able to stay for 2 nights and we have made a pro rata refund based on this as detailed in the separate correspondence we have sent. Laughing Duck is a spacious, popular lodge with a private secluded hot tub and enjoyed by all who stay there.

Recommended 100%

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I wish I couldn't recommend as I want to book for next year and want the best dates. It's an absolutely amazing lodge and can't wait to get back. Highly recommend everything about it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Online search

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Love whitecross bay



Debbie from Dunbar stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in October 2020


Stay at The Laughing Duck Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge.
We have been staying at Whitecross Bay for a number of years as its a good base for the lakes. The Laughing Duck Lodge is probably one of the best lodges to stay in. It’s situated in the Langdale area of the site and was very peaceful.
Very comfortable for up to 6 people with everything you need.A BBQ would have been handy but not that big a deal. Hot Tub always a bonus. It was great to get away in this current climate and we were all truly relaxed after our stay. We hope to stay here again in 2021. Many Thanks

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing atmosphere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
If you are looking for somewhere great to eat then try The Mortal Man in Troutbeck. Not too far from Whitecross Bay. Food and service fab.

Alison from Edinburgh stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in October 2020


Surprise 60th Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault the lodge was clean, modern and an enjoyable stay, hot tub was cleaned and checked twice a day, lodge had plenty of cups pans plates cutlery main bedroom had a perfect onsuite with shower

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The Hot Tub was secluded clean and massive

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Cocktails in Fizzy Tarte



Danielle from Whitehaven stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in September 2020


September stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our first holiday as a family of 4 and loved it. So spacious and perfect location but still a feeling of been private. Hot tub was very big and very well maintained. Have rebooked for next year....but only just as it's already nearly full for most dates!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The space and hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Rydal caves is a great walk for all the family



Kelly from Bilton stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in September 2020


August 2020 Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is very clean with great rooms. Dishwasher and washing machine in the kitchen was a added bonus. The location is excellent with a very private hot tub. Would not hesitate to book this lodge again. We were very happy with our stay there

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing location with hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Coupe of hundred yards towards Ambleside, try Brockholm tree trecking



Robert from Sunderland stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in August 2020


Beautiful, spacious and Private

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nestled in the corner so perfect for privacy in the hot tub. Close enough for the amenities though. Stayed during Covid-19 so we didn’t use the facilities. Lodge was spacious with two huge fridges and a little freezer. Bedrooms were decent sizes and the decking was also spacious and secure for the dog. A short walk to next doors site Brockhole Treetop Adventures revealed tree top adventures/treetop trampolining/zip lines and a whole host of activities for the kiddies, perfect picnic day out. Please be warned though of blue/green algae in the Lake at certain times of the year, pending weather conditions, it is toxic to dogs and many have died so we found out.
This has no bearing on the Beautiful Laughing Duck Lodge, we would stay again in a breath, fantastic lodge and location. Highly luxurious and great comfort. Would highly recommend!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location luxury comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole TreeTop Adventures

Guest from Burnley stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in July 2020


Laughing Duck Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not ask for a better lodge. It was of an excellent standard and we all had a great time. We would definitely book this lodge again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge made our break perfect.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tree top trek



Christine from Irvine stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in March 2020


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great comments, Christine. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Laughing Duck is a gorgeous three-bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub, perfect for an enjoyable break in the Lakes. We are delighted you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Lovely stay with the dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from the Lakes - taken all three dogs this time. It was great to have a lodge that were happy to do this. The lodge was very clean and comfortable - loved the welcome present and Christmas decs up too, which was a lovely touch.

Location in the park was great - we have stayed in a number of lodges and this one is the most secluded with great parking. It was great to go in the hot tub and not be overlooked. Everything was well thought out and we had a very relaxing time. The only suggestions I would make would be to have a sweeping brush and hoover that we could use before leaving for the floors. Great stay though and would recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing in the hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole - can take dogs, great walk down there with lovely cafe and shop

Emma from Goole stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in December 2019


Autumn break with family

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable break, well equipped lodge in an deal location with good parking and a great private hot tub.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet, hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit Blackwell House - arts and crafts gem



Lynne from Runcorn stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in November 2019


October break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay 4 Adults 2 kids, lodge located well in park, good base to explore lake and villages. Kids loved swimming pool and cycling around park

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing break

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Steam train



William from Ayr stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in October 2019


Wonderful 4 night stay at the Laughing Duck Lodge.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to very well presented lodge. All beds lovely & comfy. The kitchen provides every you need, even 2 fridges. The Hot tub is ample for 6 people. The lodge is situated in a corner of a quiet Cul-de-sac. We had a wonderful time & the weather was perfect.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace & quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Amenities at the Park & walks.



Gillian from Scarborough stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Laughing duck lodge -Superb 5/5

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is superb, on entry we were welcomed with 2 lovely gifts for the dog and the granddaughter,left in the lodge
for when we arrived, which was a nice touch,everything you need is there, just like home from home, well everything apart from a cheese grater as we were making lasagne 1 night lol so we left the one we bought lol, the hot tub was great and located very privately at the back, which I noticed most others on site aren't private like this was, a nice cul de sac and the granddaughter played out with the visiting passing ducks which she loved. Only one little negative was that I didn't realise the on site swimming pool wasn't the free one, it's a couple of minutes drive down the road, we went to the on site pool and the staff were great and said its down the road for your free pool but it's fine and let us in for the remaining 45 minutes of the session. I will definitely be booking this lodge again for next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge itself, had everything we needed and was a great location on the site.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole - 10 minutes walk from the site. Excellent for the kids

Chris from Redcar stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in September 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review Chris, we are delighted to hear you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay and got to see some of the wildlife! Noting your comment regarding the leisure facilities, we will definitely look into the information we send out to guests and see if we can make it any clearer, thank you for letting us know and we hope this did not impact on your stay too much. Laughing Duck is a wonderful three-bedroom lodge, beautifully decorated and as you say, a real home away from home! We are so pleased to hear you are looking to return, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Family Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the lodge very plesent but there was a smell of damp and all out cloth felt damp on a morning. In the description for the lodge it says there is wifi suppled by the sit, there is but the signal is very weak and the lodge position recives very little signal at all also the location has very bad phone signal so with no wifi this causes a problem when you need to call any one from the lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Near by horse riding



Andrew from Durham stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Andrew, we are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable family holiday. We are sorry a few things were not quite right for you and can only apologise. We have passed your comments to the lodge owners for their information and we have advised the park management about the WiFi. As the WiFi is provided by the park, I'm afraid this is outside of our control. Please accept our apologise for any inconvenience caused. Laughing Duck is a gorgeous three-bedroom lodge with a lovely secluded hot tub - what's not too enjoy. We do hope we will be welcoming you back in the future for another lovely stay.

We stayed for four nights. Five nights might have been better as there is so much to see and do.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge, comfortable and clean. Fantastic location for visiting places. Friendly and convenient site. Very helpful.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Mountain Goat tours



Guest from Swindon stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in August 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Laughing Duck is a very popular and fully equipped three-bedroom lodge, stylishly decorated throughout, dog friendly and with a hot tub...what could be more perfect! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future for another wonderful stay.

Wonderful stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is delightful lodge with everything provided. It was very welcoming and felt like home from home and a wonderful time was had by all. My son and his family were really impressed.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It is delightful lodge. It is lovely and comfortable and welcoming. With everything provided.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The motor museum



Carol from Wigan stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Spacious and comfortable lodge let down by poor external cleaning

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is spacious and has all amenities. It is located in a fairly quiet area, which we liked. We arrived to small welcome gifts for humans and dogs, which was a lovely touch. We had a couple of minor issues that were resolved within 10 minutes of reporting them, this service was excellent.

The experience at the lodge was however, let down by poor cleaning, the contractors are doing the owners and booking company a disservice. Internally the lodge was fairly clean, it is dog friendly and we were delighted to arrive and find no evidence of other dogs, on the surface it was very clean, however, it is clear that furniture is rarely moved and cleaned under or behind. We moved a coffee table and were a little shocked. The main issue though related to outside. Outside, the cleaning is disgraceful. The windows, including patio doors haven’t been cleaned in some months. The outside seating area was full of cobwebs (and not the kind to arrive in a couple of nights or even weeks), which is a shame.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was spacious and well equipped.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A visit to the Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre, it is very dog friendly and has a great cafe.

Andrea from Manchester stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Excellent lodge , very clean and well catered.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyable stay at the laughing duck. We particularly liked the quiet location, the hot tub was very private, and the gifts provided were a nice touch.
The double room with en suite was a very good size.
The only negative for us was that the lodge did not get any sun from mid afternoon.
The lodge allows for dogs and although we didn't take our dogs with us on this visit, I liked the fact that there were no carpets and the lodge did not smell of pets when you went in.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
All the family enjoying the private hot tub!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
On a rainy day there is a garden centre worth exploring only 10 mins drive on the way to Ambleside.



Lynn from Stockton-on-tees stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


Wonderful lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely, very well equipped, superb location, very private area where the hot tub was located.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
As it was my 60th birthday treat, sitting in the hot tub with my family drinking champagne.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We had an excellent meal at San Pietro in Windermere. Would definitely go again if in the area.



Lesley from Accrington stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Bank holiday Easter holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay at the laughing duck! Great accommodation, surroundings and weather ! Family time, walks with the dog hot tub and bbq made a great weekend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub, Lake District

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat ride on Windermere



Jason from Tyldesley stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in April 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review Jason, we are pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your Easter Weekend at this fabulous three bedroom lodge. Laughing Duck is very dog friendly and with a hot tub to relax in after a busy day in the local area, what could be more perfect!

Excellent family base

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge was clean, comfortable and an excellent base to explore Windermere and the wider lakes. The kids loved the hot tub and it was peaceful and quiet on the site.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizedale



Morag from Barnard Castle stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Laughing duck review

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great Park location between Ambleside and bowness. Good club house. Place in secluded spot and made use of hot tub for family. Dog friendly and large master bedroom.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Location of Lodge not overlooked which added to the relaxation of trip



Charles from Bury stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Weekend Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Laughing Duck Lodge after a recommendation of the site from a work colleague. Booking through Lake District Lodge Holidays was easy and were informative and helpful throughout.

The lodge itself was amazing, it was spotlessly clean and there was plenty of space for us 5 girls to utilise and everything you needed was available within.

The hot tub was an added bonus to enjoy in spite of the rain and snowy conditions we had during our stay.

It was a fabulous weekend, just a short taxi ride to Bowness or Ambleside and we are already planning our next stay!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge and its location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Meal at Bodegas in Bowness

Debbie from Barrow-in-furness stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Fabulous lodge,great location and dog friendly

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous lodge , great location , very comfortable and dog friendly. Usually lodges that are dog friendly are not of this quality - this was a super lodge and provided everything that you could possibly need - hot tub was a big bonus.Owners were fantastic - allowed us to swap weeks as our Labrador Paddy, had to have an operation on our original booked week - big thank you. The arrival instructions provided for the lodge and communication was wonderful and really helpful.
Will definitely be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just a great location for exploring the lakes

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake district walks

Douglas from Auchterarder stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and leaving such kind comments and super ratings, Douglas. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, a superb lodge for a relaxing holiday in the Lakes. Indeed a great location, very comfortable , and dog friendly - plus the hot tub is fab, and so relaxing after a day out walking. Laughing Duck is a wonderful place to stay and we are delighted that you thought so too.

Our family shirt break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic long weekend at this lodge, 6 adults and one baby. The lodge was pristine and was well equipped, cosy and very practical. The bed was the most comfortable bed I’ve slept in on a weekend break, all the other bed got the thumbs up too!
The lodge is in a quiet and private location so was ideal for relaxing in the hot tub uninterrupted.
We’ll definitely be returning to the Laughing Duck next year but will stay for a week next time.....it was far too luxurious to have to leave after 3 nights!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub and comfortable beds

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk around lake windermere

Louise from Stourport On Severn stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in September 2018


MRS H

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge in a quiet location on the park.The lodge its self had everything we needed for our stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
There lots to see if you want to explore the lakes bowness is lively plenty of shops and pubs to enjoy.



Jacqueline from Carlisle stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in September 2018


Fab stay in the Lake District

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location for a break, between Windermere and Ambleside.
The Lodge has the Wow factor, everything you can thing you think you need is in place for you, including a hairdryer.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere cruise



Tracey from Mitcheldean stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time staying the laughing duck amazing stay so clean and comfortable. Fab holiday xx

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and the lodge being so clean and comfortable.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tree top trek



Paul from Auchterarder stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


First timers

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness and comfort provided in the lodge and the hot tub was an added bonus. (The hot tub area at Laughing Duck is under large trees and does tend to be a bit messy). The lodge was in a quiet location at the end of a cul-de-sac which was very pleasant. The facilities on site are ok although the fact that the site bar/restuarant isn't dog friendly can be a real issue if the weather is bad.We enjoyed the woodland walk and the lakeside meet up area, the site is well kept and well organised. The only time we had cause to contact the reception desk was to ask for toilet roll as the on site shop had run out, so they offered to bring some down to the lodge, but this never materialised which was a bit disappointing. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, although I'm not entirely convinced that the lodges are value for money when you see some of the cottages/houses that are available in the area for approx 25 - 30% less.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The sociable aspect of staying on a large park.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Coniston Lake is very beautiful and well worth visiting

Ian from Great Wyrley stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Laughing Duck Lodge White Cross Bay

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful week at Laughing Duck Lodge, the location was perfect. The site was immaculate, the lodge is very private whilst close to the Lake and a few minutes from the facilities (close enough without noise). The lodge was great, everything there that was needed, the hot tub was lovely, again private and screened. I would strongly recommend. Very clean and comfortable, spacious living area, furnished very tastefully.We had a great stay. Staff friendly, helpful, food great and reasonably priced.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge and site was very attractive and well kept, private hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Pedro’s Restaurant, very dog friendly, clean welcoming great food



Donna from Shefford stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in May 2018


Laughing Duck Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at this lodge, all aspects were excellent in our view. We have stayed at the site before in a different lodge but for us, this was the better lodge all round, location was in a quiet cul de sac, decor was really great as was the hot tub. Although they cater for dogs we didn't take a dog with us but I must say the lodge was spotless and there was no dog smell at all. We all enjoyed the hot tub, even my 2 1/2 yr old granddaughter!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The fact that it was in a quiet location as we had my young granddaughter with us and she was able to keep to her normal bedtime routine without disturbance which then meant we were able to relax and enjoy our evenings.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The whole area is great. Pedro's restaurant just up the road is excellent as is the Chinese in Windermere village where we got a take away from. (Magic Wok)



Dorothy from Burnley stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in March 2018


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the Laughing Duck. Great to come home to a lovely hot tub after a day of walking. Will love to return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Helm Crag - lovely views



Karen from North Ferriby stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in March 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such great comments, Karen and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. Laughing Duck is modern, spacious and beautifully presented for an unforgettable holiday in the Lake District, and complete with hot tub. We are delighted to hear you will be returning for another in the near future.

Great but not dog friendly

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a fab weekend, great location and amazing lodge. Snow was an added bonus. Can’t fault a thing, already booked for next year

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The company

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The ship bowness



Claire from Nottingham stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in March 2018


Family gathering

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Laughing Duck for 2 nights recently and had a wonderful time. The lodge is fantastic and has everything you need. There is lots of space and the hot tub was fabulous. The lodge is quite near the clubhouse which is a bonus if you fancy something to eat or drink. The marina is close by and was lovely to have a walk down to early evening. Parking for 2 cars right outside and felt secure. Would definitely book again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being together in beautiful surroundings.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visiting Bowness



Alison from New Mills stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 2 nights in February 2018


Beautiful lodge in perfect setting

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a superb lodge which is situated in a lovely position, both in the park and also for visiting surrounding areas. The lodge itself is spotless, comfy, spacious and very well equipped. The outside decking is a perfect place to sit, loved having breakfast outside, and the hot tub is the perfect end to the day.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was such a relaxing place, it was good to come back at the end of a day out and chill

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Taxi into Bowness was only £11, beautiful place to visit, also Ambleside is a lovely 50 minute walk on a path. Again a lovely place to visit.



Marie from Sunderland stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in August 2017


Well equipped lodge on a well kept site.

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge accommodated 3 adults and a child very comfortably. We also had 2 dogs. The provision of a cot and high chair was a good feature. The equipment provided was of a good standard and the lodge was well placed for a short walk to the excellent leisure facilities on the site. The dog walking area was easily accessed as was the lakeside. The hot tub was a welcome feature after a day exploring the area and is situated in a private area here it is not overlooked.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub, the well equipped kitchen, and the ideal position of the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizedale Forest Park.



Elaine from Gloucestershire stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


luxury Holiday in the Lakes

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic relaxing holiday on the lakes, with family of young adults and 2 dogs. Lodge was perfect, beautiful spacious accommodation. Hot tub was great for aching limbs after a day spent in the hills. Good location for the lakes. A big plus was the ability to utilise Choices gym and pool in Troutbeck with good hours which mean't I could have an early morning swim each day and the young adults either went to the gym then or had a workout in the evening,this was great as you are now unable to do this on site as hours are restricted,having to book and closes early evening.Loved the lodge, loved the holiday.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Alnock Tarn ,steep climb but not too long fabulous views over Grasmere and Windemere,

Aileen from Ayr stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 14 nights in July 2017


Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful and clean. Everything was spotless and lots of attention to detail. Loved the jemima puddleduck plates! Really enjoyed our stay st the laughing duck. Thank you.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lake

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grassmere



Nadir from Charlesworth stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Leah - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and ratings, Nadir. It's a pleasure to hear you really enjoyed your stay in the Laughing Duck; it's a beautiful lodge situated in a quiet, private location. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with your loyalty discount.

Family break

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely comfortable & spacious lodge , enjoyed a lovely family holiday , this is the 2nd time we have stayed at white cross bay & both times we have had a lovely holiday , i would definitley recommend this site & lodge to anyone looking for a some where to stay in the lakes.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing clean & site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness. Plenty of cruises to choose from no



John from St.Helens stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


Surprise 50th Birthday weekend away for my Fiancé

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very easy booking system, very friendly and helpful staff at Lake District Lodges.
The lodge was immaculate on arrival with everything and more to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.
My one and only bad point would be that the third room is very small with little space for belongings and getting dressed. However this would not stop me booking up again in the future as we all had an amazing time and would definitely recommend Laughing Duck and the Park as a whole! Loved it!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Spending quality time with good friends in one location. Loved the hot tub and we were very lucky with the weather.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole Tree Top Trekking - fabulous attraction and only 2 minutes away in the car!



Jo from Guisborough stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in May 2017


Review

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely break at the Laughing Duck lodge. It was excellently equipped with everything we needed (including dog bowls!). We loved the privately located hot tub too.
The site is in a great location for travelling round the lakes. The men in our party thought the beer in the restaurant onsite was very poor though! Also given that pubs all over the lakes are very dog friendly, it was disappointing that the site restaurant/pub wasn't.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
See above

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The nearby walk round Grasmere and Rydal lakes including the coffin trail.



Catherine from Alcester stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review, Catherine. It is always a pleasure to hear guests have had a lovely break away. And ‘wow’ Laughing Duck is luxury. Beautifully designed and equipped for an enjoyable and relaxing stay. A hot tub, spacious open plan living area and three bedrooms, the perfect accommodation for families or friends sharing - and a stunning home from home. We note your comments about the onsite bar although as booking agents this is something outside of our control. Having said that we have passed on your comments to the park management for their reference. We were pleased to hear you discovered many other dog friendly bars nearby - and we trust you found a good watering hole for the men?

Excellent and very private

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is excellent and very private especially for where the hot tub is located - we will be regular customers at this lodge and even booked our next stay whilst we were there. Highly recommend this for anyone looking for a peaceful but fun holiday :)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peacefulness of the location and so close to Windermere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The boat trips on Windermere beautiful views



Rebecca from Wallsend stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Brilliant stay at the laughing duck lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The laughing duck lodge is spacious spotless and so comfy and homely. It has everything you could ever need down to plastic champagne flutes for in the hot tub and a picnic basket. A lovely little goodie bag to welcome you when you arrive which even included treats for our dog. Could not fault it we loved it so much we have booked to back later this year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub and the big comfy bed

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizdale forest is a great place to take the dogs on a nice long walk



Christina from New Mills stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Fantastic lodge with everything you could possibly want or need

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully modern lodge with excellent furnishings and facilities. We had a great weekend at the laughing duck, the location was perfect and close to everything we wanted to do and visit. The lodge itself had amazingly comfortable beds, a cracking hot tub but also came with everything you could need over the weekend. Particularly well equipped kitchen, they had more than I have at home. Brilliant. Me and my family will be returning- when they are not fully booked that is :) x

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge itself

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness town centre visit



Faye from Manchester stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and kind comments, Faye. We were delighted to hear you had a great weekend at the Laughing Duck. It is indeed a beautiful lodge, designed and equipped to a very high standard for guests to enjoy a relaxing and very comfortable stay. Luxury accommodation in the heart of the Lake District – where better to be? We were delighted to hear you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

A lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay here, everything you could need was provided even down to umbrellas! The hot tub was lovely and in a really private spot. It was a comfortable, stylish lodge and a very relaxing stay, just what we needed!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Pedros the restaurant



Gilbert from Cheshire stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Laughing duck lodge 10th -13th March

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Laughing Duck lodge for three nights and had a fantastic time.
The lodge had everything that we needed to enjoy our stay plus more and it felt like a home from home.
It was in a perfect location, secluded and not overlooked when sitting outside on the decking area and when using the hot tub.
It was exceptionally clean and we had a welcome pack when we arrived which made our stay feel that bit more personalised.
I will defiantly be going back as myself and family had an amazing time.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything!!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk into Windermere

Alex from Wigan stayed at Laughing Duck Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review and great ratings, Victoria. A pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay. Laughing Duck is new to our portfolio this year and is off to a flying start. Luxury modern accommodation with a hot tub and in a good location close to the club facilities yet having privacy and seclusion, the perfect lake district escape. And indeed a very comfortable home from home. We are delighted to hear that you will be returning to Laughing Duck in the near future and look forward to welcoming you.