FB Twitter

L'al Yem Lodge

L'al Yem Lodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 46 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.4
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


L'al Yem Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Skiptory howe 37B. This is a modern yet homely 2-bedroom self-catering lodge on the edge of the woodland, only a short walk from the parks clubhouse. The lodge offers plenty of storage space, television with dvd player, selection of dvds and dishwasher. Dog friendly - 2 small/medium dogs or 1 large dog accepted.

Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely lodge in a quiet area of the park. Kitchen is well equipped. Comfy reclining sofa. Plenty storage space.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Close to Bowness-on-Windermere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Only a short (5km) walk to Bowness-on-Windermere. All boat rides are dog friendly



Philip from Leigh stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in September 2019


Great mid week break

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great mid week break. Excellent value for money. Location and the park is excellent for a family vacation.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Great base for exploring



Vitaly from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Had a lovely week

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week staying in L'al yem lodge. Very comfortable & everything you needed was provided. It's a short walk to the children's playground, swimming pool & club house & Whitecross bay is in an ideal place to drive to all the lovely places in the Lake District. We have stayed at Whitecross Bay several times but loved this lodge. We booked again for next year at the same lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort of the lodge & exploring the Lakes

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The view from Orrest Head in Windermere



Eileen from Bolton stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I went to the l'al yem lodge on white cross bay holiday park with my best friend and 3 of our dogs!
The lodge was absolutely lovely and although there was a seated section with the bar which was dog friendly, we loved the take out option for food at the bar!
The lodge had an open plan living/dining area which we found to be lovely for continuing watching the TV whilst eating along with a 2 seater recliner and a 3 seater sofa. The small hallway lead us to 2 lovely spacious rooms of which both had very comfortable beds. The bathroom also was perfect as it was a bath/shower which I personally prefer but it also worked for when the pups would come in from a dirty walk and could be bathed easily. Although it wasnt particularly sunny when we went, I'm sure the decking, patio area would be lovely to sit out and have a bbq. :)
The lodge was overall clean, modern and perfect for our holiday! We will definitely be returning to this lodge in the future and will be recommending to all friends and family!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hiring a boat at bowness pier for 2 hours (dog friendly)

Selina from Stoke-on-trent stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


Lovely Area

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice lodge in a lovely part of the lake district. The site is quiet and placed right on windermere so lovely stroll down to the waters edge from site. It is however a nightmare to get off site and turn right. The lodge is self is nice, very spacious, lovely kitchen, veranda is fantastic to sit out on a night time but what let it down is it looks a bit tired and could do with a little tlc - wallpaper at the top was stuck with selotape as must be peeling - the bath had black mould round it and the chairs in the dining room were wobbly and loose, very damp and mouldy smell in the back bedroom. I would return to this site it was a very relaxing holiday and close to windermere, ambleside and brockhole. The entertainment and pool is very small as is the amusements so not much to do for kids. Excellent service from Lake district lodge holidays keeping me informed all the way on booking by email, text etc so recommend highly

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Close to amenities site lovely

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole good but expensive, windermere boat trips.

Elaine from Crook stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in August 2019


Lovely park

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
1.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at this lodge Mon-Fri.The 3pm check in seemed a bit excessive bearing in mind you have to leave at 10am.It is the latest check in we have ever had.You almost lose a day!!The Park itself is faultless.Clean with excellent facilities.Our only issues were the location of the lodge.If we had realised it was so near the main road we wouldn’t have booked it as we were after some peace and quiet.It is so loud,it actually spoilt our stay as we didn’t feel relaxed when we were sitting outside.The lodge is on a corner of a road and you also get a lot of passing cars,so as you can see,it’s not quite the peaceful Lake side setting we imagined which is a shame as the lodge was very nice apart from the most uncomfortable double bed we have ever slept it,it was like sleeping on a board!!The lodge is well equipped and has everything you need for a self catering holiday.We would return to this park but just not this particular lodge.We would make sure we were located further down into the park where it seemed lovely and peaceful.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The facilities of the park and it’s location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Swimming in Coniston Water was superb

Paula from Leeds stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 67 days ago
Thank you for your review Paula. We are sorry you did not enjoy the location of the lodge at White Cross Bay. We would love to give guests more time for their stay however the lodge has to be prepared, checked and any maintenance issues dealt with in the short window before the 3 pm arrival time. We haven't received any similar comments about the condition of the bed. Of course comfort can be personal choice. L'al Yem (Little House) is a very popular lodge offering great value, clean and spacious accommodation.

98

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the best weekend ever. Had support throughout and customer service was on point. We will be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Attraction



Mohammed Kasam from Bradford stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in July 2019


GREAT LOCATION NEAR THE ENTERTAINMENT .BUT NOT TOO NEAR YOU WAS DISTURBED

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booking was easy was kept updated every step of the way. great lodge and location. could not fault it in any way.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
HOMELY FEEL

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A VISIT TO HAWKSHEAD



Paul from Manchester stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 5 nights in December 2018


Satisfied

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We are satisfied with the overall experience at the campsite and the lodge was comfortable and had everything we need it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It’s dog friendly and our dog loved it!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks around Windermere and Ambleside, boat trip



Steven from Reading stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 355 days ago
Thank you for the review, Steven and it is pleasing to hear you were satisfied with your stay. L'al Yem is a comfortable and well equipped two bedroom lodge located on a five star holiday park. Ideal as a base to explore the Lakes or simply to relax and unwind.

Excellent returned stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay at L’al Yem our second one this year. The lodge is very comfortable,clean and in an ideal spot hope to return again soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Totally relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tea at the Queens Head in Troutbeck amazing food



Paul from Wigan stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in September 2018


Very spacious

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge has the best layout of all the other lodges we have stayed in so far. The kitchen was really spacious and it was great that it was totally seperate to the lounge. The decor was nice and it wa very homely. We had an issue with the railing around the deck and it was resolved in less than an hour from us reporting it. We would definitely use this lodge again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Walking

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walk around Rydal water - stunning



Kate from Kettering stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Review of stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with two children under 10, and it was perfect for them. The evenings entertainment was spot on and they enjoyed themselves immensely.
The lodge was perfectly sized for us and had everything we needed

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was perfectly suited for everything we needed

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brave the cave



Anthony from Keighley stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in August 2018


Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable lodge with everything you need. Nice location just up from the entertainment centre & playground. We would definitely return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was lovely & ideally located. We even saw deer near the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Claire from Stoke On Trent stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


Lake yem stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic lodge with all accessories needed for a self catering break for the family. Excellent location not far from reception and shop etc. Was generally clean though there was signs of white dog hairs that was on our socks and cloths from walking and sitting but otherwise the lodge was in a lovely condition. Can see from previous reviews that the owner has responded and made changes when any issues raised.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Great location and nice surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness trip on bus or by taxi



Keith from Darlington stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Keith and it is pleasing to read your kind comments - although we have noted and apologise there was cleaning discrepancy during your stay. This should not have happened and we are very sorry. Whilst we are confident it was a one off we have spoken with the housekeepers so as to ensure something similar will not happen in the future. Thank you for making us aware and also for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. L’al Yem is a very cosy two bedroom holiday lodge and a great location for exploring the beautiful Lakes. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Our stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge in a great location. Excellent value for money
Would recommend to all.





...................











What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Spending time in the lake

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hire a motor boat



Lisa from Great Sutton stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in June 2018


Whitecross Bay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice lodge Dissapointed dogs were not allowed in all rooms so not completely dog friendly Patio furniture could do with being renewed Clubhouse on site not dog friendly If its cold or wet nowhere to sit to have a meal if you have dogs and not allowed to leave dogs.in lodge alone So if site advertised as dog friendly this needs reviewing Shop on site very poor

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lake on site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grasmere



Shirley from Southport stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely time. The weather was glorious. The lodge was in the trees and the birdsong was idealic. The dog loved it too. Would definitely stay again. In actual fact you don't need to come off site. Everything is catered to your needs.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location of white cross bay

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole next door ideal for children



Susan from Kettering stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 7 nights in May 2018


Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent 4 night stay in L’al Yem. Beautiful lodge very clean and well kept. Everything you need in the lodge. It has a prime location on site lovely and quiet. Will definitely return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and comfort of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lovely coffee shop Mrs F’s in Keswick Dog Friendly and lovely cakes



Paul from Wigan stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in April 2018


Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a very nice property. You walk through the front door to a very large and spacious kitchen. It is very well stocked with gadgets and equipment. You then walk through to the living room with a large dining table and comfortable settees. There are double doors to open, which would be lovely in the summer, but it was also nice to watch the snow during our stay. From the main room you go through a door to a lovely bathroom. This has a toilet, bath and shower and has plenty towels. There is then a small room with 2 single beds and a larger bedroom with a double bed. All of the beds were very comfortable.
It could benefit from a hot tub though!
The only negative i noticed was that it was quite noisy in this lodge as it is on the corner and has a lot of people walking past and cars going by.
But overall it is a very well equipped and comfortable lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
All of it.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aira Force

Michelle from North Shields stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 2 nights in March 2018


La yem

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this lodge for the second time as we were so impressed the first time we stayed. We were pleased with the redecoration of much of the lodge which has been tastefully done.
The lodge is very comfortable and nice and warm after days out.
We did experience an issue on the first night of our stay in that the twin room had wet patches on the beds. We hadn't noticed this until we went to get into bed at around 11.30pm but despite the late hour I can only commend the night reception staff who dealt with the matter promptly.
We are looking forward to a return visit and would recommend this lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable and plenty of room

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lakeside was nice and we enjoyed the steam train

Carol from Prescot stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in September 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay, Carol. We were sorry to hear there was an issue with the twin beds on your first night, it appears the duvets had been washed and not fully dried hence two damp mattresses. Thank you for letting us know it was promptly resolved and we assume you went on to have a good nights sleep. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused at the time. L'al yem is a super option for those looking for comfortable accommodation at a very competitive price. A delightful two bedroom lodge and fully equipped for a relaxing break in the Lakes. We are so pleased to hear you will be returning and very kind of you to recommend this lodge to others.

Short stay in white cross bay

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge overall excellent comfortable with everything you would need for a home from home stay
Issue with oven as their seemed to be a problem with seal,didn't report it as we ate out most nights,hose on shower had a fair bit of black mound which could have been cleaned better,overall just minor issues didn't put us off and wouldn't stop us from booking again.main issue was with the lack of lighting in the park itself which was very poor,couldn't see anything at night also park is supposed to be dog friendly,yet we couldn't take the dog into the club wouldbe good if you had a section that could be used for dog owners

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location handy for most places

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
River cruises great just to hop on and off

Christine from Widnes stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at La'l Yem, Christine. We appreciate bringing a couple of minor maintenance issues to our attention and these will be addressed. The park has low level lighting which most guests find adequate. Regrettably the park has a policy of not allowing dogs into the restaurant area at present and we are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. We will pas son your comments to the park management for their information as this policy is out of our control as booking agent for this privately owned lodge. We are glad you enjoy your stay at L'al Yem which we agree is a very comfortable, homely lodge offering great value for money.

Wonderful home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely well equipped cabin with everything you need. It's very spacious but homely and welcoming at the same time and spotlessly clean. The bed in the master bedroom is so comfortable and there is plenty of cupboard space throughout. The location is good too - 2 minute walk to the kids play park and main reception - and the decking is enclosed so it is safe for kids and dogs.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
warm and homely feel

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness on Windermere



Joanne from Melrose stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in September 2017


All good

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a nice, comfortable stay. Lodge was well equipped and met all our needs so I would definitely stay again. We were joined by an extra guest in the guise of a VERY large spider!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Well situated for all park facilities.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Go Ape at Grizedale.



Elaine from Gloucestershire stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Our stay at L'al Yem

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay was very comfortable, clean , good location to the main building. Only down side we couldn't get the oven to ignite (Good excuse to eat out).
Would love to stay again soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace & quite

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The cruise/steam train



Karen from Huntly stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in July 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We appreciate your comments, Karen and we were sorry to hear you had a problem igniting the oven. We have had no further reports of any issue although we will check to make sure it is working correctly. Sometimes it can be a little fiddly, although had you let us know at the time a member of our maintenance team would have resolved this for you. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Having said that and with such an excellent choice of eateries nearby, it is a great excuse to eat out. We were delighted to hear you would love to return to L’al Yem. A super holiday home that offers great value accommodation, peace and quiet and a good location on the park and an excellent location for exploring the Lakes.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you could possibly need for a stay in the lake district. Highly recommend!
It was all of your home comforts in a beautiful setting. Couldn't fault where we stayed.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location, being situated on the lake was perfect. Plus the local towns were not too far.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grasmere, Ambelside were lovely towns - well worth a visit.



Luke from Chelmsford stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in July 2017


Great North Swim weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked for 3 nights on Great North Swim weekend.This holiday park is ideally situated in the lakes. The lodge is really nice and homely. We have stayed in the parks own lodges which are nice but this lodge is better appointed nicer couches , nicer bedding . And generally nicer all round . Plenty of email contact from customer services.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Spending time with family.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Meal at the lakeside pub Ambleside.



Sally from Wallasey stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


Good Base

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge is on corner ploy a couple of minutes from club house which was handy for a drink and food. Decking at front of lodge in shade most afternoons a bit of noise from main road. lodge was in excellent condition and spotlessly clean. Two sofas one very comfortable double bed a bit to firm for our liking. Overall very good and reasonably priced would recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The fact we had our own space in quiet location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness Village



Alan from Surrey stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Alan and letting us know you enjoyed your stay at L’al Yem. Very kind of you to comment on the excellent condition of the lodge, thank you. With reference to the noise from the road we are aware a slight noise can be heard occasionally although this is minimised by the tress and the road is usually very quiet throughout the night. We do apologise on this occasion for any inconvenience caused and trust it did not impact too much on your stay. As you rightly point out the lodge is well positioned for peace and quiet - A super option for those looking to relax and unwind. We have passed on your comments about the comfort of the bed to the lodge owners and we will check for any sign of damage although we do find that comfort is personal preference. L’al Yem offers families or couples great value accommodation in the Lakes and fully equipped for an enjoyable stay. Thank you once more for your kind comments and for recommending L’al Yem to others. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future (complete with your returning guest discount!)

Excellent lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 4 nights in may 2017 and was great lodge very warm and welcoming and the site is very peaceful. Will definitely be booking back up.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks



David from County Durham stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


It was brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The log cabin was amazing absolutely fantastic very clean everything you need and more the location was really close to the club house and swimming pool

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
It's beautiful for walks and just chilling out



Angela from Hull stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely comments, Angela and letting us know you had a brilliant time. The lodge offers fantastic accommodation for families or couples and is very convenient to the onsite facilities. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at L'al Yem - a holiday retreat in the heart of the Lakes. Where better to be?

Post New Year Break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived on the 2nd Jan to the heating on and lights on. This gave a very warm and welcoming first impression. The lodge itself was very clean and in good condition. It had everything that we could have wanted for a four night break. Christmas decorations were still up which was a lovely touch, especially as having been very poorly over that period we hadn't really celebrated Christmas this year. The cleanliness was portrayed throughout the park and clubhouse where we ate one night. Very good and worthwhile. Thank you

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
very relaxing, no noise

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
good location for visiting various places in the Lakes

Adrian from Preston stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in January 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Adrian. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed a relaxing break at L’al Yem, and just what is needed after being poorly. The lodge is fully equipped with all modern conveniences for a very comfortable stay for families or couples, and is a super option for those looking for a base to explore the Lakes or as a relaxing retreat. We would be delighted for you to return in the near future.

A really love stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to book Lal Yem for a four night break for our wedding anniversary based on the value for money, the cosy look of the lodge and it's location and we were not disappointed.
The lodge itself was lovely, clean, well equipped and really cosy - perfect for our needs.
The excellent customer service from Lake District Lodge Holidays stood out for us, from the ease of booking and the very clear information provided to the courtesy call a few days before our holiday to wish us a lovely stay and to ask if we had any queries. Spot on :O)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was a really cosy little home from home.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking! Every time! The Lake District is beautiful and walking in the hills is a great way to really appreciate it's beauty.

Cheryl from Middlesbrough stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in December 2016


Can't wait to return!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would recommend this lodge to anyone...we loved it, dog loved it, everyone loved it! Clean & snug! Was the perfect place to come back to after a days walking and exploring, put the feet up, nice and warm, very comfy sofa!! Short walk to lake front, great location between Windermere and Ambleside. Thankyou for a great stay!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfy sofa!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere Christmas markets!



Sean from York stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in December 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay and for the kind comments, Sean. We were so pleased to hear you all, including the dog, had a great time and loved the lodge. A great location for walking and indeed visiting the nearby towns and villages, lovely to hear you enjoyed the Christmas market! The lodge is a super option for those looking for good value and comfortable accommodation in the heart of the Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future (complete with your loyalty discount!).

short break in a beautiful lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was in a lovely location on the site. Couldn't fault anything. Very cosy. A real home from home.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness is a beautiful town only a short drive away



Stella from Walsall stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in October 2016


Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place to stay. It was clean and well looked after. Everything we needed to make our stay comfortable had been provided. Brochures and leaflets about places to see and places to go were in a basket for us to use. We received emails before our stay explaining what to do on arrival, giving full directions and where to park our car.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything we needed for our stay was provided even the dog bed, dvd player and a collection of dvd's.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We found the nearby motor museum very interesting.



Terri from Alfreton stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in October 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Terri. We were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, and delighted the booking process through to your arrival ran smoothly. The lodge is looked after by the owners who will be delighted to hear that everything was to your satisfaction – we trust your dog was happy with his bed? The lodge is ideal for a relaxing break or a base to explore the Lakes, with cosy accommodation for a homely feel and situated by the edge of woodland. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

La yem

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Booked this lodge as it was dog friendly and we wanted a short break with family for a birthday. Have walked past it many times before and never paid it much attention.
It was excellent value for money and in good order inside. It was comfortable and had everything we needed with a nice size terrace which despite its position on the road side was quite quiet and plenty of room.
Would have no hesitation in booking this lodge again. In fact it would be our first choice.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable and plenty of room

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Close to bowness and Ambleside and good position to explore south lakes. Good climbing centre next door



Carol from Prescot stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


5 day break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time in a lodge. We were very much in awe of the facilities that were available, within the lodge. We would recommend this lodge for most people, however, there are 4/5 steps to gain entrance.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
peace and tranquility.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere boat trip with combined motor museam.



Keith from Oldham stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in June 2016


Lovely Little Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You can tell this Lodge is owned by women there are so many lovely little touches. It was equipped with just about everything you need including a dog bed and poo bags. Lodge is located really well on site Launderette is nearby and Reception, pool and club are a 5 minute walk. Lake is within walking distance also.
Plenty to keep you occupied on rainy days spent indoors with a large selection of videos, DVDs, CDs and games.
Site is well located not to far from town for any bits and bobs you need.
Can't really fault anything to be honest. If I had to pick any negatives the restrictions on the dogs in lodge annoyed me a little as we had paid extra for dogs to go which I assumed covered extra cleaning if need be. And the knobs on the double bed near window, kept knocking my leg getting into bed as gap very narrow. But these are very small issues and would not stop us booking again. We totally enjoyed our visit and our stay in our Lal Yem

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Having some time to chill out

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We were there for a Large Shih Tzu Meet Up so spent most of our time on group events. We did go on a Lake Cruise and that was lovely

Karen from Gateshead stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in April 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, Karen. We are so pleased to hear you had a really enjoyable stay at L’al Yem. A great choice for couples and families and we agree very well equipped for those rainy days. Did you put them to good use? We do have a dog policy that is clearly stated on our website, and in the arrival pack sent out to guests – we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Meticulous and with great attention to detail the lodge provides all the little extra touches needed to make it home from home and as dog friendly as possible. Scenic walks on your doorstep, perfect conditions for relaxing and having some chill out time. Delighted you had such a good time and we look forward to you returning next year for another Shih Tzu meet up? (inclusive of your loyalty discount!)

excellent accomodation

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break here. The park is excellent with very good facilities and I don't think we've ever stayed in such well equipped accomodation!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the location and the space and comfort of the accomodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
a day out walking near Hill Top after catching the ferry- the woodland and tarns



Joan from York stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in March 2016


happy break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at L'al Yem ( still itching to know what the name means !) The lodge is comfortable, spacious and homely. There were more things than we needed provided and we really appreciated the little things like condiments in the kitchen and games to play in the evenings. We wanted for nothing. The dogs loved the place too and the huge decking was a great bonus for them and really safe.
The site is very pretty and nicely arranged although finding our way round was a bit problematic - we did get lost a couple of times !

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the comfort and space at the end of a busy sight seeing day.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk down to Brockholes centre and catch the hop on hop off ferry - great value and only ten minutes walk.

Anita from Bolton stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in September 2015


Our short break !!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab dog friendly lodge , great park , for our short break it ticked all the boxes . We will be going back .the lakes are a stunning place to visit and all ways something do rain and shine .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being able to have our dogs away with us and no problems

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat ride on windamere



Jonathan from Richmond stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in August 2015


Home away from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at L'al Yem, the location of the park is ideal for exploring the lakes and mountains. L'al Yem is a fantastic lodge made very welcoming by the personal touches of the owner. It is obvious this lodge is cared for and is not just a holiday rental. We have stayed in another lodge at White cross bay and this was far better, we will be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
After a long walk on the fells the lodge provided a great retreat to rest up on an evening

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The langdale fells



Guest from Blaydon-on-Tyne stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Nice lodge but some issues!

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Upon arrival we were disappointed to discover that the lodge had not been cleaned and the fire alarm was going off! Not what we needed after a long journey and it was sometime before the lodge was cleaned, alarm reset and we were able to move in. We were also not impressed that the owner made an excuse of having high blood pressure for the delay in getting the flat cleaned - not very professional in my opinion. However, after several phone calls we received £50 compensation and a bottle of wine! On the whole the lodge was very nice and kitted out well. It was also very quiet at night except for the boiler continually firing up at night - we had to turn it off to get a good night's sleep! I don't know why there was a sofabed in the lounge instead of a normal sofa. This was quite uncomfortable to sit on and no head support. There was also no surface for a bbq despite this being advertised in the lodge write up. However, on the whole we enjoyed our stay and would consider returning to White Cross Bay, but next time we will book a lodge with a hot tub!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The free use of the leisure facilities.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip to Grasmere or walk along Elterwater -very beautiful.

Guest from Bedford stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in July 2015


First Class Mini Break

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family of three plus small dog stayed at l'al yem for a four day short break, excellent well presented lodge on a superb park. a credit to its owners.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
centraly located base to explore the many surrounding lakes and picturesque towns.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
windermere town centre in the evening, Kendal in the daytime or a nice cream tea in Hawkshead, all within easy reach.



Guest from Leigh stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 4 nights in July 2015


Homely and inviting cabin

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in L'al Yem with our two small boys over the last weekend in May. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by how warm and welcoming the cabin felt; there were lots of homely touches, additional information and extras such as DVDs and books which we appreciated. The cabin is close to the main facilities and play area so is ideal for families. The only negative was that the master bed was too hard for ny liking but obviously this is down to personal preference. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have recommended this cabin to friends and family.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Beautiful scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wray Castle

Kevin from Chester Le Street stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 2 nights in May 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at L'al Yem, Kay. We were pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay in this cosy, comfortable lodge. Sorry that the bed wasn't quite as you wanted it to be. We do indeed find comfort to be a personal thing. Than you for recommending a stay to your family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you (or your friends) to L'al Yem in the future.

Review; Bethany Mitchell

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful log cabin, didnt want to leave: 2 days just isn't long enough! Lovely site, great location!
Only think i would change is the sofa: very uncomfortable.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Sleeping

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking dogs



Bethany from Manchester stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 2 nights in June 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at L'al Yem, Bethany. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay there. Sorry you didn't like one of the sofas - we always find comfort to be a personal thing although we have passed on your comments to the lodge owners. L'al Yem is certainly a very popular and homely lodge.

Bank holiday weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a clen comfortable well situated lodge it had everything you could want in the kitchen and on rainy days there was plenty to do games to DVDS

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quiet and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The lakeside



Guest from Sunderland stayed at L'al Yem Lodge for 3 nights in May 2015