FB Twitter

Horseshoe Lodge

Horseshoe Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 47 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Horseshoe Lodge is located on Limefitt Park at Wansfell 5. This is a modern and beautifully presented 3-bedroom self-catering lodge enjoying an elevated position with uninterrupted views across the valley to the fells beyond from its spacious deck. This lodge has two bathrooms, a dishwasher and LCD television with free view. Sorry no dogs accepted.

A short relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and not far from all major sightseeing points within the Windermere region. The lodge is well maintained and provided the 'home from home' experience that we wanted. The lodge is lovingly furnished and provides additional unexpected features such as children's games and a range of DVD options for the whole family. The outdoor space is excellent and perfect for sitting out and enjoying the spectacular views. The on-site activities are great for young children (park, zip wire etc.) and it even has its own pub restaurant with scheduled entertainment most nights! We couldn't fault anything about the property and our only gripe is that we were only there for a long weekend.....we would thoroughly recommend and you will not be disappointed with what the lodge and the surrounding park/area has to offer.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was extremely homely and furnished to a high standard.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Our day at 'Hill Top' (Beatrix Potter's cottage) was a delight and a must do.

Julian from Tamworth stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 56 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Julian, we are so delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Horseshoe is a lovely and modern three-bedroom lodge located on the popular Limefitt Park. The lodge offers a welcomed relaxing retreat with fantastic views, what more could you need! We hope to welcome you back in the future for a longer stay.

Perfect peaceful holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was perfect and in a peaceful location. A nice pub on site with reasonable price food.

GOOD

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruise down Windermere



Melanie from King' S Lynn stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in August 2019


School holiday break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Holidayed with grandchildren who thoroughly enjoyed their stay and have taken home some fabulous memories

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location, Troutbeck river pool, Kirkstone pass

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Enjoy the tranquility and beauty offered by Limefitt



Guest from Blackpool stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in August 2019


HORSESHOE LODGE.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I would love to live in Horseshoe Lodge full time, the lodge was so comfortable clean and airy, the layout of the lodge was perfect, the views were perfect everything was perfect for us and the beds were very comfortable, nothings worse if you can’t get a good nights sleep, but we could on those beds. We will definitely be booking another visit there again soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the Lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip on one of the boats on lake Windermere, even if you are in a wheelchair you can still get on the boat.



Roy from Stoke-on-Trent stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


Great location, furniture could use some update

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Splendid view, perfect location, beautiful terrace. The pub was very nice. Quiet park, nice atmosphere.
The kitchen cupboarddoor fell off and the freezer and fridge didn't stop making noise (and ice). The beds could use a new matrass too. You could feel the springs. But other than that perfect!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk in Keswick to Castle head



Guest from Leiden stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 186 days ago
Thanks for writing a review following your recent stay at Horseshoe Lodge. Your comments will be taken on board and looked into - thank you for letting us know. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and as you mention the views are splendid. Horseshoe Lodge is a very popular, spacious lodge which offers the perfect base for a stay at Limefitt Park.

We would recommend Limefitt Park

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been returning here for 5 years since we first travelled to the Lakes.The park is within short travelling distance of Windermere and Ambleside, peaceful and family friendly. The lodges we have stayed have all been of high standard and as we have got to know the site better we can select the location and capacity of the lodges to suit but all have been excellent value for money. We will go back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quality and consistency of experience eaqch time we have visited

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
If you're looking for a peacefule, quiet and relaxing break, this is it



Stuart from Bellshill stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in June 2019


Enjoyed the fall walking.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay. Lots of places to eat in ambleside. We did have 3 days of rain which curtailed our activities.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view from the lodge was lovely. Walking the fells was beautiful.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking up coniston old man and Dow Crag from walne scar car park was the highlight of our holiday.



Ruth from Sheffield stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 245 days ago
Thank you for your kind review Ruth, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Horseshoe Lodge is beautifully decorated, modern and with three bedrooms it is the perfect lodge for a relaxing family getaway. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Total relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to recharge our batteries and succeeded. Lovely peaceful relaxing break. Amazing views. Wonderful lodge In an amazing location.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet after busy day exploing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Stay in and enjoy.



Teresa from Bradford stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Easter break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Horseshoe Lodge. Again can’t fault anything. The setting is idyllic. The lodge is beautifully kept and has everything you need for a home from home feel. I highly recommend it although hope by doing so that it won’t be fully booked next time we want to stay!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peaceful site and setting.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
St Patrick’s Boat Landing at Ullswater. Hire and boat and then relax with a lovely lunch looking over the Lake.



Nicola from Thirsk stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


Relaxation and amazing views

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week here - it was just my 6 year old daugher and I, as unfortunately our friends had to cancel last minute, so we had the whole place to ourselves! We have stayed at Limefitt before, but this lodge was much nicer than our previous one.
Despite it being February, the lodge was cosy and warm. The views from the main living area are a pleasure to wake up to in the mornings, the park is peaceful yet has a good pub and play area for children, and there is loads to do in the local area.
We hope to return with more people in tow next time!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk/climb up to the top of the hill behind the pub for stunning views over Lake Windermere

Amy from Peterborough stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in February 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 354 days ago
Thank you for the review, Amy and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Horseshoe Lodge. This is a great place to relax and unwind. Modern, well-equipped and beautifully presented – and the views are fantastic! Although your friends had to cancel, it is pleasing to hear you had a wonderful week with your daughter. Just perfect.

Perfect break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Horseshoe Lodge was perfect. A couple of lights weren’t working on arrival but after a phone call they were fixed immediately. Punctual service. The lodge was beautiful, clean and had a lovely welcoming feel. The setting was idyllic. Can’t wait to go back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view and location of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Pony trekking at Limefitt



Nicola from Thirsk stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Horseshoe Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Horseshoe Lodge is an amazing place to stay. It has everything you require and more that you don't. One of the best lodges I've ever stayed in. Beautifully clean, very roomy. The kitchen/dining/living room had windows to 3 sides providing beautiful views all around. The decking is extensive and outdoor furniture very nice indeed, there was even a slab situated for a bbq. I would definitely recommend and would very much like to return. Limefitt Park is a fantastic location, on the Kirkstone Pass road but only minutes from Windermere/Bowness/Ambleside. The perfect lodge and location for a perfect, relaxing retreat!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The fact that it rained and howled so much outside meant that we made the utmost of the lodge itself, which was beautiful! Had the weather not been so bad we probably wouldn't have spent so much time relaxing in the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Turn your phone off and enjoy the great outdoors, be it a stroll alongside a lake, a visit to one of the many National Trust treasures of stomping around forests and mountains. See, breathe and feel the outdoors. Oh, and definitely look up into the night sky and be dazzled by the stars.......probably the most magical sight ever, and it doesn't cost a penny!

Pamela from Leeds stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in September 2018


Another great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stopped again at horseshoe lodge for the third time, couldn’t fault the lodge or park. We used the onsite pub a bit more this time and would recommend it highly.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip on a boat on windermere



Andrew from Annan stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Perfect place for a break in the lakes.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice lodge, great location in safe surroundings for the whole family. Would stay again. Booking process very easy too!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole visitor centre



Bryan from Gateshead stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in August 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such great comments and perfect ratings, Bryan. Horseshoe Lodge is fantastic. A modern and immaculately presented three bedroom luxury lodge with splendid views of the fells. We are so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay, a wonderful place for a family break. We look forward to welcoming you for another in the near future.

Weeks family break in August.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first break to the Lake District and we travelled as a family of 5. Age ranges from 10 to 46.
Absolutely loved it from day one with so much to explore in so little time so will definitely be going back.
Think we have found our own slice of heaven.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge has perfect unspoilt views and is in a quiet location within walking distance yo all amenities on site. Bowness just 3 miles away with access to all the lake cruises shops and cafes. Perfect location for a bit of everything.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We did the walk and cruise from Bowness to Ambleside which included a 4 mile walk. Perfect for families of all ages and for the novice walker.



Anna Marie from Pontefract stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Perfect lodge for exploring

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in various lodges in the lake district Horseshoe Lodge was by far the most impressive. Having 6 adults in 1 lodge I thought we would be tight for space on occasions but that was not the case. Spacious lodge.. with comfortable beds.. with even better views. Central for visiting all different areas around Lake Windermere. Would definately love to visit Horseshoe Lodge again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Central location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tree Top Trek



Sam from Whitby stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in August 2018


We stayed for a week in Horseshoe Lodge, a family of 5, the youngest being 14.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having left Kent in temperatures of 33 degrees, it was rather refreshing to arrive at Limefitt Park in much cooler conditions! We happened to pick the week that the drought broke for our holiday, which we probably wouldn't have been happy about any other year, but was actually rather a relief on this occasion, and although it rained at some point most days it didn't spoil our week.
Horseshoe Lodge is most definitely the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in and it is in an ideal position on the park, with an uninterrupted view across the fields of Troutbeck. Even though the school holidays had started, we found the park to be quiet in comparison to other sites we have stayed on at this time of year, although The Haybarn seemed understaffed for the time of year, usually with only 1 serving behind the bar in the evenings.
Horseshoe Lodge had everything we needed for our stay: a bath and hand towel for each person, and very well equipped kitchen, plenty of crockery and cutlery, hangers in the wardrobes, and a small amount of hand soap for the bathrooms. It was really spacious inside and plenty of room outside on the decking aswell, The one useful item we did take with us was a clothes airer, as there wouldn't have been anywhere to dry wet swimwear/towels otherwise (we didn't make use of the washer/dryer).
We enjoyed days out at Ullswater, Derwent Water, visited Beatrix Potter's house and cruised on Windermere itself.
Limefitt Park is ideally placed to access many walks and is only a few minutes drive from WIndermere, and the nearest supermarket.
Special mention to Marie in The Haybarn who went out of her way to ensure my diabetic husband had a meal the evening we arrived, as we were just too late to order food, but she went out of her way to accomodate him. We had a few meals in there over the week, and all of us enjoyed the food.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet, and the beautiful views from the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The views from Kirkstone Pass

Frances from Orpington stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


4 night stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a 4 night stay at the horse shoe lodge in July and had a great time the lodge was very clean and was just like being at home. There are a number of walks to go on that start from limefitt park so the location is very good as well. Overall I would rate it 10/10 and will definitely be back at some point. Oh and the on site pub is very nice with great food would also recommend trying the mortal man hotel at the top of the road for something to eat.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The walks

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We went on a few walks but can't remember the name of them



Andrew from Walsall stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


Short break Windermere

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our first holiday at this location and we found it very impressive, Horseshoe lodge was excellent and surroundings beautiful beautiful, we had wonderful weather which made it perfect will visit again.Thankyou

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boer trip on the lake



Gerald from Taunton stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
the accommodation was a little tired but provided everything we needed for a long weekend.
loved the views and the peace and quiet. Would probably visit again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
walk up orrest head



Valerie from St Annes stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in May 2018


Horse shoe lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful lodge, very comfortable, everything you could need, prime location, views were amazing from the lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing in the lodge on Christmas Day and after Christmas walks.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Eating out at the mortal Man Inn.



Jane from Blackburn stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in December 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Jane and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Horseshoe Lodge is idyllic. Peaceful location with stunning views, and a beautifully presented lodge, well equipped for guests to simply relax and unwind. A wonderful holiday retreat for all the family, and the perfect place to escape for a relaxing Christmas.

Excellent Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time we have stayed here and would thoroughly recommend it. The lodge was spacious,very clean and with central heating it is perfect for all year round visits.

It's only a 10 min drive down to Bowness and the lake.

We will definitely book again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip to Keswick



Philip from stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in December 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Philip. We were delighted to read your comments and to hear you had an excellent stay at Horseshoe Lodge. What more can we add about this cosy and modern three bedroom luxury lodge! We look forward to you returning in the near future.

AMAZING

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was very spacious this was our second time at limefit and this one was much larger than the previous one.
It's is very comfortable, cozy and spotless.
Good quality bedding and towels, my only comment would be it could do with larger bath towels but small ones do seem to be the norm wherever you stay these days.
Everything is there you could possibly need including washing up stuff.

Now what makes it amazing the most is the view from the decked area and listening to the running of the stream.

For what we paid it was a absolute bargin.

I will most definitely be back next year!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A walk to the Mortal Man for Sunday lunch is a must!

Sarah from Heywood stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in November 2017


A lovely break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Horseshoe Lodge, Limefitt Park for a weekend break. The position is fantastic, with stunning views over Troutbeck. The lodge was lovely, and accommodated 4 adults and 2 children with ease. We parked 3 cars on site, 2 at the Lodge. My grandsons both enjoyed the play area . We had a pleasant meal at the pub on site. We will definitely use the site again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The position of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockholes is nearby



Sally from Lytham stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in September 2017


A excellent lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great lodge with a beautiful view from the living area out through the double glass doors and onto the decking. Could not fault the lodge or park. We were so impressed we booked the same lodge for the same week next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and tranquillity

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Can't recommend any experience, the lodge and park was that peaceful we didn't go far, just enjoyed the quietness.



Andrew from Annan stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Lovely stay, fantastic lodge with amazing views from our balcony

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both myself and my family had a fantastic stay. The lodge was lovely and had everything we needed from games to play on rainy days, to DVDs and maps with info for walks you could do while there.The location was perfect for exploring the Lakes, with amazing views from our balcony that we thoroughly enjoyed. The park was fantastic with excellent service from the lovely onsite pub, nothing was too much trouble and the food, especially the puddings where delicious! We enjoyed days out at Bowness, Ambleside, tree top treck and the local health centre swimming which the kids enjoyed and was free to access while staying at the park and only a few minutes drive away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the lodge and park to anyone and hope to return for another stay in the future. Thank you x

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views from the lodge balcony and amazing service at the pub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tree top treck

Sharon from North Shields stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in August 2017


The Perfect Lodge and Location to enjoy the Lakes

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Horseshoe Lodge is a credit to the owners everything you could ever need is on hand for a comfortable stay.
The views from the decking are truly breathtaking along with the tranquil sound of running water from the beck below we would describe this lodge and its location at Limefitt Park as the perfect base to relax and explore all what the Lakes has to offer.
Would highly recommend if you like scenic views in a peacefull setting.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet of the location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ullswater steamers & Windermere Lake Cruises.



Stephen from Heywood stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really great site to be on, quiet and idyllic. The lodge was also very clean and comfortable and well equipped.

Our kids loved the adventure playground - zip wire was a big hit. Would definitely come back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location and views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
brockhole centre



Alexander from York stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Alexander and letting us know you had a lovely stay. Horseshoe Lodge is a superb choice for a family holiday. A luxury three bedroom lodge with amazing views and in a beautiful location. The perfect retreat for enjoying peace and tranquillity yet close to many attractions for the whole family to enjoy. Brockhole is an excellent day out and a super experience for the children. Thank you for the great comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have asked for a better lodge, had everything you needed and more. We had a 10 year old and a 4 year old and there was a variety of welcome games and dvds to suit both.

The lodge was absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean with gorgeous views, unfortunately due to the weather we couldn't make use of the veranda

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We walked up the mountain behind the pub, it took about 2.5hrs going at a slow pace but we all enjoyed it



Clare from Peterlee stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in July 2017


Easter holidays

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely lodge , more basic than other lodges we have stayed in ,but nice and spacious and well maintained , lovely position in the park with excellent views - which they don't all have

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Waterfalls at ullswater



Beverley from Southport stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Lakes 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge, we had a fabulous holiday and we would be recommending it to friends and family. We will be booking it again in the future. Thanks!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Waking up to a lovely view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking Striding Edge



Sophie from Harlow stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Lovely January stay

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge, quiet and peaceful. Great position on the site, view of rolling hills whilst eating breakfast! The lodge had everything we needed; kitchen utensils, towels, bedding, games , books and DVDs. Great for local walks and nearby Bowness and Ambleside, we wil definitely be going back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Warm and cosy lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk from the lodge over the hills to Ambleside and go to The Apple Pie for coffee!



Wenda from Bebington stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in January 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Wenda. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and letting us know you had a lovely stay. The lodge is a super choice for those looking for luxury 3 bedroom accommodation that will comfortably sleep 6 people, and with the advantage of two bathrooms and a spacious decking area to admire the beautiful views - Indeed a great spot for having breakfast! We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted to hear you will be returning in the near future.

Wonderful Christmas at Horseshoe Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family had a wonderful stay over Christmas at Horseshoe Lodge. The location was perfect with wonderful views from the windows. The lodge was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. It even had a Christmas tree! The site was lovely and we enjoyed Christmas Eve drinks in the onsite pub, The Haybarn, playing pool and darts. During the stay we climbed up Troutbeck Tongue, Sour Howes, Sallows, Wansfell, Yoke and Ill Bell, all directly from the lodge. We went to Christmas morning service at Troutbeck Church which was very welcoming. I would highly recommend the lodge and we plan to go back again. Thanks to all for a great holiday.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Beautiful views, walks and a cosy lodge to come home to.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking along the valley and up Troutbeck Tongue which all the family can enjoy.

Jennie from London stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in December 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review, Jennie. We were so pleased to hear you all had a wonderful stay over the festive period. A lodge that is indeed very comfortable, it is designed with comfort in mind. With three bedrooms, an ensuite, and fantastic views this lodge serves well as a family retreat. And the location is ideal for walking enthusiasts. Thank you for recommending Horseshoe Lodge to others. We look forward to you returning in the near future for another family holiday.

Great for family get together.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Staff polite friendly and welcoming. Perfect situation with lovely views. Site immaculate. Lodge very comfortable.
Adventure playground a hit with grandchildren! Hope to return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace! Happy to let children run about safely.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on Windermere



Jennifer from Tarbert stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


Excellent lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had stayed at White Cross bay last October and decided to try Limefitt park this time. We got the last lodge available and this was clearly a case of saving the best until last. A fabulous lodge in a fantastic location and beautiful surroundings. We had a great few days and will definitely be back again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge and location of the park

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to Hawkshead and Grasmere and also highly recommend the Gateway Inn at Kendal.



Janine from Liverpool stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in August 2016


A good time had by all.

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited with our children and grandchildren and all of us had a thoroughly good time. We were very impressed with the location of Horseshoe Lodge. It was wonderful to look out to beautiful views of the hills and look down to the flowing water. Watching sheep being rounded up by the sheep dogs one morning was an unexpected joy. On a particularly hot day my 3 year old granddaughter enjoyed paddling in the river pool with her Mum and we all agreed that it was great to see her enjoy such simple pleasure. My daughter was impressed with the standard of the children's play area which along with the rest of the park was well maintained. Horseshoe Lodge was very comfortable and as previously mentioned in a very good location. I would highly recommend it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Amazing scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A meal at The Mortal Man

Alan from Chatham stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Horseshoe Lodge, Lindsey. We were delighted to hear you had a great time there. The lodge enjoys a great location with lovely views and is a great place to relax and enjoy a stay in the Lakes.

Another visit to Horseshoe Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely holiday lodge in a beautiful location. The lodge had everything required to make our stay comfortable. The icing on the cake was sitting on the decking looking out over the hills.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfortable surroundings in the lodge, as we had a lot of wet weather

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A visit to Wray Castle and Hawkshead village



Ian from Jedburgh stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in June 2016


Horseshoe lodge 8th to 11th January 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this lodge for my birthday weekend. This was our first stay at limefitt and we weren't disappointed. Lodge is lovely, comfortable and well equipped with fab views. We would definitely book this lodge again! The on site pub is also great with nice food.

Samantha from Sunderland stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in January 2016


Autumn at Horseshoe Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge with three bedrooms, well equipped kitchen and plenty of sofa space. The site is quiet and secluded with a handy shop as you do need to drive into Windermere for supplies. Will book again. The Haybarn on site is cosy and you would think you were in a lakeland village pub.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
seclusion, views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Drive through kirkstone pass beautiful views



Carole from Leyland stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in October 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Carole. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay at Horseshoe Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. The lodge is nice and spacious and enjoys lovely views.

A week at Horseshoe Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The whole family really enjoyed the stay at Horseshoe Lodge. The kids loved the site play area, sports field and paddling in the stream. The adults appreciated the location with it being a short drive from lots of different attractions.
The lodge was clean and full of all the necessary things to make our stay very comfortable.

Overall a very easy and enjoyable holiday from the booking to checking out.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Going out on the decking in the morning.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter World.



Tom from Stockport stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in August 2015


Excellent break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked 2 lodges. Horseshoe was the better one of the two.
Everything you need in the lodge. All kitchen items, towels etc. no point taking any utensils.
Waking up the the views of the fells in the morning was the best part of this lodge.
The porch furniture was also very nice and comfortable.
The furniture and beds were all modern and comfortable, it really felt like home for a few days. There were some board games included which we enjoyed as well. We would definitely return again.
Parking for 3 cars.
A park on site for little ones.
Only very minute downside was the shower in the ensuit was very slow to drain. Didn't hinder our visit in anyway but could be something that can easily be addressed.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views and the comfort of the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk to aria waterfall.

Zainab from Batley stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in August 2015


Lovely location in the Lakes

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first UK break (usually opt for abroad) due to new baby. We were delighted with both the property and the location. The park is situated close to Windermere but far enough to feel a bit rural. The views from the lodge are idyllic and uninterrupted. I had thought a site like this would be rows of lodges but they were well spaced out which gave a good level of privacy. There is a good dog park on site and a pub within a short walk. The generous outdoor / decking space is great for barbeques and outdoor socialising. The lodge itself was so well equipped, the owners really have thought of everything, right down to having baby cutlery in the drawer! The kitchen has everything you could possibly need plus much more (a pizza cutter??) - all cooking utensils, pots, pans etc. I was very impressed with the planning, it made the stay so much easier to have everything at your fingertips and not have to keep nipping out to get things. One improvement which could be made (if any) would be to add either a BBQ or an area to put a disposable BBQ / stand. The lodge was clean and tidy, board games provided, good wifi connection, decent sized TV, very comfy beds with good quality bedding etc. Even with a young baby, it managed to feel like home from home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Horseshoe Lodge and will definitely be booking another family stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort and ease of holiday due to owners thoughtful provisions at the Lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit Bowness

Guest from Ribchester stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


summer holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Horse Shoe Lodge was a fabulous place to stay whilst we, a family of four, enjoyed our time in the Lake District. The lodge was home from home, it was clean, spacious and had everything a family could ask for.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quietness at night after a busy day out.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We enjoyed the day out on the steamers.



Guest from Lisburn stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a fabulous time at Horseshoe Lodge and rated all aspects of your stay as 5 out of 5. The lodge is perfect for a family holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Review Horsshoe

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at Horseshoe Lodge, very good .Only problem was dog poo on the grass when we arrived which we did not see as we unloaded & trod in without realising.Dissapointing that guests do not clean this up.
Suggestion for future, put some hooks on bathroom & bedroom doors.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
walk up Yoke via Garburne Pass, strenuous but great views,& 7 & 10 year old grankids managed it



Guest from Stourbridge stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in July 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your writing a review of your latest stay at Horseshoe Lodge. Sorry to hear that some guests were inconsiderate for you. We will pass on your suggestions to improve things and we have passed these on to the owners. We are pleased you had another very good stay at this lovely lodge.

Wonderful lodge great location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time staying in horseshoe lodge on limefitt. Lovely views and some great walks on your doorstep. The lodge is fully equipped with all you need for a relaxing stay. Looking forward to our next visit!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Carmel races



Jayne from Darlington stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 4 nights in May 2015


horse shoe lodge stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all enjoyed our stay at horseshoe lodge, lodge fantastic, setting, and amazing views, park peaceful and idea for children, will definitely be back

Sarah from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


Most pleasant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most relaxing weekend. The lodge and it's surroundings were lovely. Even the rain didn't dampen our spirits. Hope to visit again in the future. Great stay with our adult family.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aira force



Grace from Bolton stayed at Horseshoe Lodge for 3 nights in June 2014