FB Twitter

High View Lodge

High View Lodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.4


High View Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Pony Meadow 40. This is a modern and compact yet cosy 2-bedroom self-catering lodge with fabulous views of the lake and mountains from the decking and hot tub. The lodge offers dedicated WiFi for streaming devices, double beds in both bedrooms, en-suite in the master bedroom, television and dvd player in the master bedroom and patio doors from the master bedroom which leads to the decking. Sorry, no dogs accepted.

Well worth a visit

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic area, facilites, very clean. Only scored Good for comfort and condition due to chair been broken which meant 3 adults had to squeeze on uncomfortable sofa. The sun lounger bench had no cushions also bolts had eroded so had to be careful when sitting on it.
We would visit again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Browness on Windermere



Joanne from Whitehaven stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


4 nights of relaxation

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay , excellent on every aspect , will definitely be returning . Very handy park right in the heart of everything , easy access to all of the lakes , fantastic views across lake Windermere

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything was fantastic

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lots of short walks , suitable for everyone



Geoffrey from Whitby stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in September 2019


High view lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at high view lodge was perfect.

The view from the lodge of the lake was stunning.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this lodge.

Thank you for our perfect stay x

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and the hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Day out to Windermere



Haley from Bolton stayed at High View Lodge for 3 nights in August 2019


The smallest lodge on the park?

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
OK, I gave it 2 stars – 1 for the view, one for the hot tub.
This has to be the smallest lodge on the park. It is advertised as ‘compact’, which is misleading – it is, in fact, ‘tiny’. Though it is advertised as sleeping 4 people, it is unsuitable for any more than 2 and, as a family of 3 we felt cramped and claustrophobic from the moment we arrived until we left. As soon as we walked in we stood in the lounge, looked at each other and said ‘you’re having a laugh’…
Once our 12-year old boy had installed himself on the sofa, my wife and I were left wondering where we would sit? The only other chair was a bizarre recliner-type thing that you slid off as soon as you sat on it. We tried to solve the problem by bringing in a couple of the outdoor chairs but that made the tiny lounge so cramped that the only way all 3 of us could relax in the lodge was to be in different rooms. 1 in the lounge, and 2 in the bedrooms. Hardly ideal when we want to chill out and spend some family time together.
The kitchen is so small that there was literally no cupboard space for the food we brought. It had to sit on the bench, leaving us with virtually nowhere to prepare meals; even making a light breakfast was a challenge.
Any movement around the lodge involved turning sideways and squeezing past each other.
By Sunday, I was on the park’s website looking to see if we could cut our losses at High View and book another lodge Monday-Friday so we could at least finish off our vacation in comfort, but there was nothing available as it was August / high season. By Wednesday we just wanted to get home. On Friday we packed up and left without a backward glance, just glad to be leaving.
Actually, I should pull the star for the hot tub. It was installed right behind our bedroom, and its constant water cycling kept us awake all night.
All-in all, we feel like we didn’t have a holiday.
Nice view, though.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub & view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ambleside

Philip from North Shields stayed at High View Lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 69 days ago
Thank you for your review of High View Lodge, Philip. Noting all you have said we can only apologise that the lodge was not quite as you had hoped. High View is indeed a compact lodge, although beautifully furnished and equipped to accommodate up to four guests. With two double bedrooms – an ensuite toilet to the master, an open plan living and kitchen area and a superb veranda looking out towards lake windermere and the fells beyond. This is a great little lodge for couples or small families looking for a break in the Lakes – with a hot tub. And a super location for exploring the area. Beautiful towns and villages are within easy reach and of course lake windermere is a stones throw. Whilst pleased you did enjoy the hot tub; we have noted your further comments and apologise it caused you some disturbance at night. We will have the tub checked to make sure it is working efficiently. On a better note, thank you for letting us know you like the view, and what a view. We do hope you will consider returning for another lodge holiday soon and we will do all we can to make your next stay an enjoyable holiday in the lakes.

Great stay next to lake

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Compact accommodation but very high quality with an excellent position right near the lake. We really enjoyed the stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
View of lake from decking

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat on the lake



Gaynor from Bolton stayed at High View Lodge for 2 nights in August 2019


Short Break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge is lovely, very light and bright, with a side view of the lake. We found the living/kitchen area a little more compact than previous lodges we have stayed it, but the 2 double bedrooms were a welcome change and the hot tub was fantastic.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot hub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Clare from Barrow In Furness stayed at High View Lodge for 2 nights in July 2019


Our beautiful stay at high view lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most loveliest time at high view lodge. Peaceful, comfortable, and so relaxing. The lodge was Spotlessly clean with the most amazing view of the lake and mountains. Only a couple minutes walk to the shores of the lake.An added bonus of a hot tub to which we really enjoyed each night. Would most definitely recommend and will be returning. Thank you for the lovely touch we received on arrival of a voucher for a lake cruise to celebrate our pearl wedding anniversary to which we thoroughly enjoyed. A definite 10/10 from us.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The amazing view and the hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruise.

Beverley from Middlesbrough stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in June 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 126 days ago
We are so delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay Beverley, thank you for your excellent review. High View is a lovely two-bedroom lodge moments from the Lake and with spectacular views that can be enjoyed all year round, what’s not to love? We are so pleased you had the loveliest of stays and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Nice lodge, a bit on the small side and some repairs needed!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Overall the lodge was very clean and nicely decorated however it was a tad on the small side. Some repairs needed.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lakeview

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness on Windermere



Jemma from Doncaster stayed at High View Lodge for 3 nights in June 2019


Could not have chosen any better.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the location of this lodge. Superb decking all the way round. Everything you could need in the kitchen was provided from tin foil to washing up liquid. Added bonus of huge fridge freezer and dishwasher, ideal for a family. Lovely comfortable beds and plenty of towels provided. Did not use the hot tub another added bonus hope to take advantage of next visit. Loved having patio doors in the bedroom. Most enjoyable stay, looking forward to returning in the future, of all the lodges offered would definitely choose High View.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The club house served good food all day, nice clean environment.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Superb drive and scenery over to Keswick.

Guest from Clitheroe stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Tranquil and relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge situated close enough to the shore of Lake Windermer for beautiful sunsets over the water. An excellent way to relax, unwind and reacquaint yourself with nature.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful evenings on the decking area overlooking the lake.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Climbing ‘old man conniston’ very tough but extremely rewarding!



Samantha from Waltham Abbey stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Another great stay at White Cross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it was our 3rd stay at White Cross Bay. We loved it. Our lodge was clean and tidy on our arrival. Lodge was well equipped with everything You might need during Your stay. Hot tub was ready to use.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lake view, mountain views, quacking ducks :)

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Cruises



Kate from Newtown stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in March 2019


Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing lodge with amazing views, the lodge was extremely clean and more than comfortable in a perfect setting.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Pony trekking



Cassie from Colne stayed at High View Lodge for 2 nights in November 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 282 days ago
Thank you for the great comments, Cassie. High View Lodge is beautifully presented for guests to simply relax and unwind in comfort. A cosy, two-bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub and lake views. Can it get any better? We are delighted to hear your stay was perfect and we shall look forward to welcoming you for another in the near future.

A beautiful view from a lovely lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arriving the check in was fast and smooth, the lodge was warm, clean, comfortable. Lots of decking room for children to use. A beautiful view. The area surrounding the lodge was peaceful, Just a few seconds to the waters edge. The lodge was warm, hot water ran well. Lots of storage for clothes. Ideally placed for visiting local attractions and walks. Thoroughly enjoyed our time and would highly recommend. It was just very easy.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks, there are walks for everyone, every ability.



Guest from Tadley stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in October 2018


My stay at White Cross Bsy

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nicely sited lodge with good views of the lake the down side to doing this review is the review itself

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lake district

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Public transport as opposed to driving



Guest from Middlesbrough stayed at High View Lodge for 2 nights in October 2018


Great week away

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I stayed here for a week. The lodge was very clean and comfortable. Everything was catered for fully equipped kitchen , Tv games books etc
The location was fantastic just a few yards from the marina.
The hot tub was amazing one of the best we have used.
Overall it was very good, beds were very comfy, the lodge lay out met our needs would definitely recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks. Boat trips



Andrea from Barnsley stayed at High View Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Perfect weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time to the Lake District and was not disappointed. Our place was so clean and had every thing you needed. Was lovely to be right by the Lake and looking out to the views. Plus we were really lucky with the weather. Already planning our trip back next year!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view and hottub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
To climb Cat Bells great experience



Natalie from Borehamwood stayed at High View Lodge for 3 nights in August 2018


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High view lodge did not disappoint. On arrival the lodge was extremely clean and presented nicely. There was no fuss on arrival it was nice and easy. It is in an amazing location right by the Lake and is quiet and peaceful. Hot tub was great. Fantastic weekend. thank you so much ! We will be back x

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and the lodge its self

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aquarium



Guest from Middlesbrough stayed at High View Lodge for 2 nights in June 2018


70

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was OK nice site maintenance out side needs attention hot tub noise was a disappointment cleaned the outside table as it hadn't been cleaned for long time

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Thought the site was good

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The drive to Buttermere by the slate mine



Janice from Newport stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in June 2018


Excellent lodge in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay in High View Lodge, White Cross Bay. The lodge was very clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the lake. With plenty to do/visit in the surrounding area and a relaxing hot tub to return to, this is the perfect place to stay. I would highly recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub, view, location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat hire



Cain from Bristol stayed at High View Lodge for 3 nights in May 2018


May 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic park brilliant location. The lodge catered for all our needs. There was a bit of noise on Saturday night from the lodge over the road. This only annoyed me as I'm pregnant! Lake view was fantastic

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The site was brilliant

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hot tub



Louise from Workington stayed at High View Lodge for 3 nights in May 2018


A perfect holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lake District holidays couldn't have done any more to make our holiday any better than what we had. They are excellent and I Will use them again.i have recommended to 2 people already and I will recommend to any one who asks.the service we received from them, on 2 holidays now has been excellent.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views, and location.day trips out.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruises



Neil from Preston stayed at High View Lodge for 7 nights in April 2018


Cracking location, great outdoor space, clean, comfortable and well equipped

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge is in a great quiet location in Pony Meadow, with lovely views to the lake which is 20 seconds walk away. Hot tub is great and relatively private. Main bedroom is large with plenty of storage, 2nd bedroom is small with only a small double bed, only suitable for 1 person. Lounge area compact but comfortable and kitchen is really well equipped. Would stay here again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lake view from the hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Get out and walk anywhere in the area



Joseph from Inverkip stayed at High View Lodge for 3 nights in April 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Joseph and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. Indeed a great location, and very comfortable and beautifully presented for an unforgettable holiday in the Lake District. Add in the hot tub and lake views for a very relaxing stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future (complete with your loyalty discount!).

Very well appointed lodge, would like to visit again.

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great Lodge, lovely views of the lake and very nicely decorated. We would recommend it. We will be booking it in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Fabulous views and great hot tub.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Water Mill at Ings, lovely food.



Lorna from Falkirk stayed at High View Lodge for 4 nights in March 2018


Lovely Clean Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our stay here and the lodge has everything provided that you could possibly need including a hot tub. It was great that there was a dishwasher and very thoughtful that there were a few kitchen products to start you off, and complimentary toiletries.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot Tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Had a lovely walk to the top of Herons Pike and the views were outstanding, with fighter jets flying down the lake actually below us.



Guest from Haworth stayed at High View Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful lodge,situated on a fantastic clean site, with a lovely relaxing hot tub, would definitely stay again, top marks!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing and walks

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
local walks



Frank from Durham stayed at High View Lodge for 3 nights in January 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you leaving such a great review and awarding top marks on all aspects of your stay, Frank. High View Lodge is new to our portfolio and a very welcome addition. A two bedroom holiday lodge beautifully designed and equipped to a high standard, complete with hot tub and lake views. Can it get any better? We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to you returning in the near future.