FB Twitter

High Borrans, Dene

High Borrans, Dene

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Dene Lodge is located on High Borrans Farm. This is a bright and modern 1-bedroom self-catering lodge just for couples with lovely south facing views. This lodge is tastefully decorated throughout and offers a slimline dishwasher, unlimited WiFi for streaming services, free standing bath and separate power shower. Sorry, no dogs accepted.

Well presented and equipped lodge in a peaceful location of the lake district

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge at High Borrans, Dene, met all expectations and more. The lodge itself had been cleaned to a high spec, and it contained all of the equipment you could need on a lake district holiday (inluding a very warm hallway cupboard to dry boots and clothing after a long walk). The bathroom was particularly impressive, with a large walk in rainfall shower and deep free standing bath. The main room contained an electric fire, and the heating was extremely efficient, great for our stay in October. The location suited us perfectly, with only a few lodges nearby in a very peaceful spot of the lakes. It was great to hear the birds singing on a morning without any other noise! The tight country lanes to access the lodge added to the charm for us, although some may find it difficult if they don't enjoy driving on farm-type tracks (only for a short portion of the journey). Overall, i was very pleased with our stay and wanted to stay for longer.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The high spec of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Fell walking (e.g. Loughrigg fell offers amazing views and is acessible to many, starting from near Rydal water)

Naomi from Leeds stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in October 2019


Dene

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The second time we'd stayed at High Borrans. They are still lovely places to stay although access to the lodges is getting more difficult with rough roads and paths for a small sports car. Also, the wifi signal can be patchy or even non-existent at times although the owner will offer you an alternative wifi login if it's available. We'd possibly stay again although I'd have to factor in the everything first.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A day around Ullswater



Stuart from Harrogate stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in September 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 28 days ago
Thank you for your review, Stuart. We were pleased to hear you had another enjoyable stay at High Borrans Farm. With one of 7 lodges to choose from, Dene is beautifully presented and super cosy in a peaceful and rural location. A wonderful place to stay. With that said, we are sorry to hear you had a little difficulty with the track leading to the lodge. Your comments have been brought to the attention of the lodge owners who are now looking into the matter. Thank you for letting us know of your experience and we do hope you will return for another stay soon.

Blissful

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner had the best time, it was so peaceful and beautiful we were so relaxed. We’re planning on going back very soon! Would highly recommend!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Very relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We hired a boat for the day on lake Windermere



Katie from Saxmundham stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in September 2019


Wooden cabin break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was in exceptionally good order - almost as if it was brand new. Everything was in tip-top condition. We'd certainly return given the chance.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location was amazing... close enough to relevant towns and attractions, yet in the middle od nowhere. A perfect location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The sunset boat trip on the lake



Steve from Stoke-on-trent stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 4 nights in August 2019


Relaxing trip

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful locations and the lodges are outstanding, beautifully decorated and extremely clean. We will definitely be back for another visit.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How peaceful and quiet it was

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip to Ambleside



Sarah from Bishop Auckland stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in August 2019


A great city break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very peaceful and quiet location, just perfect for a break form the husle and noise of the city. The lodge offers a great comfort while.being surranded by nature. We had a lovely stay there.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peacfulness and being secluded

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks



Agata from London stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in August 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 32 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review Agata, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in High Borrans, Dene. Located only 10 minutes from Windermere and Bowness, High Borrans Dene is the perfect tranquil retreat for couples. Close enough to enjoy all the local attractions but far enough away for pure peace and quiet in this stylishly decorated one-bedroom lodge. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another wonderful stay.

high Borrans - Dene

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was my 1st trip the the Lake District and it didn’t disappoint.
I would recommend High Borrans as it is so clean and you have everything you need. Cathy made sure that we had everything we needed for our stay.
Would definitely return for another stay A++++

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere



Michelle from Northampton stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 4 nights in July 2019


My review

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner came for a relaxing few days away and it couldn’t of been better. Enjoyed the view from the lodge every morning, we also enjoyed the peace of the surroundings. It was very good and we would stay again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing atmosphere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Great for a peaceful get away or if you like doing adventurous activity



Jack from Cannock stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 4 nights in May 2019


Peaceful location ,friendly owners. Very clean lodge with everything you need

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyable stay at High Borrans lodge, ideal for us to explore the lake district for the first time. Great location being only 10 minutes drive away from lake windermere which had shops and plenty of places to eat. Lovely and peaceful at the lodge just the sound of the birds and farm animals. The lodge was very clean and has everything you need . Nice to have a visit from the owner to introduce herself when we arrived and often had a chat about our day.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How peaceful it was. Lovely to sit out on the decking morning and evenings and just listen to the birds.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lovely walk from the lodge. Unfortunately did not say how many miles on the sign posts or in the lodge information pack. But what a lovely 8 mile round trip we did. The views were amazing.



Jonathan from Bournemouth stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in May 2019


Quiet, comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable lodge, far enough away from the neighbours. Lovely position in the countryside where you can sit on the veranda and listen to the bird song. However, it doesn't take long to get to either Troutbeck or Windermere.
The lodge is well-equipped. We were pleasantly surprised to find a pizza cutter! It is also very comfortable and warm. There is a hall with enough space to hang wet clothes and 2 radiators to dry them. There are blankets which come in useful on cooler evenings. The bath was appreciated after days out mountain biking.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Warmth, comfort and the bath.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Mountain bike or walk from the lodge. Kentmere is a lovely place to walk/bike to.

Carina from Buxton stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 161 days ago
Thank you for your kind review Carina, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at High Borrans. The perfect retreat for a peaceful getaway, High Borrans Dene is a beautifully presented one-bedroom lodge with lovely views which can be enjoyed throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another stay.

Lovely Peaceful week

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful peaceful week at high borans farm, this is our second visit to high Borrans Dene, The cabin is lovely absolutely spotless & has everything required for a very comfortable stay, we will certainly return again. Thank you.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visited all around the lakes as far as Keswick



Patricia from Manchester stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 6 nights in April 2019


Lake District getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
High borrans lodges are ideal for couples looking for a lake District break.we've been four times now and will be returning again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The nearby walks

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The old man of coniston is a favourite of ours



Michael from Thornton-cleveleys stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 5 nights in March 2019


Dene Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at high borrans farm. The Lodge had everything we needed, for a very comfortable stay & was spotlessly clean. It is in a very good location to walk or explore the lakes. It was our first experience in a lodge, we enjoyed it so much we are returning in April next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace & tranquility

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visiting the lakes & wandering around the locality



Patricia from Manchester stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 5 nights in November 2018


A Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Dene Lodge, High Borrans for three nights. The lodge itself was clean, roomy and cosy, just what was required for a short break. The grounds are lovely and it is not too far from Town. We would highly recommend this lodge for a 'get away from it all' break. Absolutely lovely.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quiet and peaceful surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
N/A



Mary from Northolt stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the kind comments and perfect ratings, Mary. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Dene Lodge is a fabulous one bedroom luxury holiday lodge, and a super location. A beautiful and most relaxing place to be. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Relaxing and recharging stay in the lakes

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend high borrans lodges. Beautiful, clean and well equipped accommodation. Peaceful location. Stunning scenery.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being able to relax and enjoy the amazing surroundings.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Coniston water- something for everyone.



Malcolm from Northampton stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 5 nights in August 2018


A wonderful week away

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was clean and tidy on arrival and has been built to a high standard. The location was as advertised and very tranquil. The owner obviously takes pride in her properties and looks after them very well. We have no hesitation in recommending this lodge to anyone.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxed atmosphere on site and peaceful/beautiful surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grasmere village and area walks



Kevin from Hull stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in July 2018


Spotlessly clean accomodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was spotlessly clean, very bright and airy and was well furnished. The view from the lodge was incredible and the whole site is very rural and quiet we saw deer and red kites from the patio. The lodge was equipped with towels, toiletries, toilet rolls and salt and pepper and every utensil that you could possibly want.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The cleanliness and the rural location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
National Trust steam yacht Gondola trip across Lake Coniston to Brantwood House



Steve from Diss stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in July 2018


Beautiful setting and accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal base for exploring the lakes and lovely accommodation in nice quite setting. Highly recommended and would visit again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quite

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Windermere get a walkers ticket from Bowness



Paul from Hull stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 4 nights in June 2018


Fabulous logde cabin set with a beautiful view

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my boyfriend visited her for five days in July
Can’t praise it enough, our host Cathy was lovely and came to check on us during our stay
It’s a lovely peaceful and quiet area. Will definitely return
I will point out though that l WiFi was only offered in short bundles and the phone and 3G coverage were patchy , which wasn’t a problem for me because I like to ditch the phone when I’m on holidays , but might not suit someone who wants to use their phone a lot

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Getting engaged !

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tree top trek in Brookhole



Guest from Western Distributor Road stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 5 nights in July 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased to hear your good news. From us all at Lake District Lodge Holidays, Congratulations on your recent engagement. Where better than High Borrans to propose - A fabulous lodge and a fantastic location. As you are aware High Borrans is in a rural and secluded location and whilst we accept the mobile phone signal is patchy there is now a reliable internet connection through a dedicated wifi system across High Borrans, although we recommend this place for all those looking to escape from the hustle and bustle of daily lives. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again. A wonderful place to return time and time again.

Great Weekend Break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my girlfriend visited during the heatwave of June 18 and it was perfect. The view from the lodge is brilliant and the lodge itself it clean and comfortable. Would definitely look to book again in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Nice and easy 50 minute walk into Windermere and also getting out on the Lake is enjoyable.



Alex from Manchester stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in June 2018


High boranes, Dene

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location not far from the hustle and bustle, would definitely recommend.
Love the cabin cleanliness etc lovely lay out, very comfortable.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quietness and not far from footpaths/bridlways

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lovely setting, walks etc



Sallianne from Basingstoke stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 5 nights in May 2018


High Borrans Dene.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner stayed at High Borrans (Dene lodge) over a weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The lodge was perfect - very clean & modern. The owner Cathy came over to say hello and made us feel very welcome upon arrival. The lodge was equipped with a DVD player & basic essentials such as tea and coffee. I would recommend watching the ‘Year on the Farm’ DVD provided within the lodge. The only slight downside was the location - as it is on a working farm the area is quite isolated and a good 15 minute drive away from the nearest shops. The lodge was beautiful and we probably would stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge itself - very clean & modern.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A boat trip across Lake Windermere

Guest from Bury stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 2 nights in April 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and letting us know you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. Dene Lodge is beautifully presented and has splendid views and amazing scenery. A stunning place. Whilst High Borrans is located in the countryside for many this is the perfect place to simply relax, unwind and enjoy the tranquility. We will be delighted should you choose to return in the near future, perhaps for another anniversary.

A warm and cosy lodge situated in a lovely part of the Lake District

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at High Borrans. Location was perfect as it was only a short drive to Windermere town and surrounding areas. It was a short distance from many walks and hikes that we did. The lodge itself was very cosy (especially when the fire was on) and bed was super comfy! The area was really nice- situated on a farm, and our lodge was the last one on the left so the view was lovely in the mornings. The only minor issue we had was with the WiFi- it didn’t work one evening when we arrived back at the lodge, which wasn’t a problem really.. but once we had turned it on and off a couple of times the WiFi was back on. Would definitely stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Sitting in front of the fire in the evenings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Loughrigg Fell

Rachel from Docking stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in November 2017


An Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful view. So clean when you got there and it felt as you was at home. Couldn't fault the place

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How cosy is was.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks.



Callum from Scunthorpe stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 2 nights in October 2017


10/10

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was clean and had everything we needed in a Beautiful location.
There is plenty to do in the surrounding areas but the cabin felt very private.
We 100% recommend High Borrans!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Scenic, but convenient location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness-on-Windermere



Guest from Wells-next-the-sea stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in November 2017


Short Stay in the Lake District

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at High Borrans Dene for three nights last week and had a wonderful time! The lodge is a great size and had everything we needed, and was very clean on arrival. The location was perfect for us - away from the busy Windermere and was very quiet. We booked this lodge because we were struggling to find accommodation the week before, and we were so glad we booked - we will definitely be coming back !

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Buttermere Lake



Emily from London stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in October 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay, Emily and it is very pleasing to hear you had a wonderful time. A beautifully designed and spacious one bedroom luxury lodge, presented and equipped to a very high standard. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and of course the stunning scenery - And very kind of you to recommend this lodge to others, thank you.

Relaxing accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dene, is brand new and is warm, comfortable, well equipped to a high standard. The view from the lounge and balcony is lovely. We watched the Rabbits and sheep running around the meadow. It is in a rural location, but 10 minutes drive away from Windermere town, with all its amenities. It is a great location for visiting the southern and central lakes and towns. It was always a great place to return to after a full days hiking.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable and warm

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Waste Water & scafell Pike



Mark from Chelwood Gate stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in October 2017


very pleasant place to be

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased when we arrived at High Borrans. Althoug the way to the place is a bit narrow, the surprise when you arrive is overwhelming. Very nice lodge and very nice host.
Unfortunely we were there only 3 days.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
lodge was very fine indeed

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
make a trip with the steam train.



Jolanda from Veldhoven stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in September 2017


a superb week.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gem! Comfy bed, white fluffy towels, central heating, great shower all in a lovely rural, peaceful setting with good pubs a short drive away. Would love to return soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the lovely lodge to return to agree a day in the lake district.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
aira force and walk to top of gowbarrow fell.



Ruth from Sheffield stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in September 2017


Lovely Lake District Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved the cabin. It was beautifully and tastefully furnished and contained all we would need for our few days retreat in this lovely county. The views out were great and we were very happy with the standard of the accommodation. We did not have the "meet and greet" we were emailed about but it made no difference to us- everything was contained in the property and there were clear instructions in the literature there. We truly loved the place. Thank you.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The self contained accommodation to such a high standard.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to all the lakes nearby!



Shruti from Nottingham stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 2 nights in September 2017


An excellent stay in the Lakes

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent find! Having left it late to book our holiday to the Lakes, we scanned the internet looking for a nice place to stay. Most of the places were booked up, looked tired and dated or were very expensive. Then we stumbled across Dene at High Borrans.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! The lodge looked exactly like the pictures, was very clean, had all the mod cons. We also used the spa nearby which was great - remember to bring your own padlock for the lockers (they don't take coins).

During our stay we manged to walk from the lodge to Stavely and then did two walks further away (Grasmere and Elterwater). Windermere is very close by so can easily get to the supermarkets (Sainsburys + Booths).

Will be returning!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quality and comfort of the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk to brewery and bakery at Stavely.

Guest from Camberley stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 4 nights in September 2017


Great get away!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my husband recently stayed in Dene at high borrans for the weekend, we had a fantastic time and the acomidation was lovely. very modern comfortable and clean and also a great location. The only very small criticism we have is the check in and out time could have been slightly better but over all a brilliant relaxing get away with lots to do in the area. We highly recommend and will definitely visit again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walks are lovely and the boat trip down the lake!



Lucy from Lichfield stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 2 nights in September 2017


one of the best holidays ever

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the lodge was easy to find, clean, peaceful,ssoo peaceful, we loved it! we were close to everything! did loads...but didnt have enough time to do everything we wanted, so we will be back...soon

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the scenery, the peacefullness, the activities

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
kayaking, biking and the walks were amazing



Isabelle from Walmer, Deal stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 6 nights in August 2017


Perfect getaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this cabin as a surprise for me and my husband. We had a fabulous time and dene gave us somewhere to come back to relax after lots of fun in the Lake District. The road leading to the farm quite an experience but this added to the adventure! We loved our stay!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful and beautiful views!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip



Charlotte from Nottinghamshire stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in July 2017


RELAXING

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful brand new Cabin set in a very relaxing environment on a working farm..Perfect for winding down...located near to Bowness and Ambleside..

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
So relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Walks



Guest from Birmingham stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in July 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hazel Lodge at High Borrans. We are delighted you had a relaxing stay at this lovely, peaceful location. When you add in the fact that you are staying in a fabulous, new lodge you couldn't ask for anything better. We hope you will be back very soon for some more 'relaxation and winding down.'

will be returning

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had an awesome time, didn’t meet the owners but to be honest it was nice to be left to our own devices, lovely scenery nice walks and the sheep kept getting in! maybe not so good if you don’t like sheep but we do lol.

highly recommend

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location`

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
motor museum



Luke from Stanley stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 7 nights in June 2017


Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was great close to windermere centre and to many local activity areas. View from the lodge was mesmeric. Definitely would stay here again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Horse riding



Guest from Preston stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 2 nights in May 2017


Lovely accommodation only slightly spoiled by unfortunate occurrences.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely, what with it being a new build, and it shows. Everything was impeccable when we arrived, pristine modern rooms and everything you need for a self catering accommodation. The price for 3 days was a tad on the expensive side, it was £340 for 3 days but only £399 for 7 days, I think it would have been a nice if the fee wasn't so high for a shorter break. The only issue we had with our stay was am unfortunate one, every morning at around 6am we were awoken by a very loud banging on the windows and side of the lodge, at first we didn't know what it was and thought someone was knocking the door in the early morning which startled us. It wasn't until the third day in a row of this happening that we went outside and saw that it was a large bird, for what ever reason, knocking against the lodge every morning. This was a shame because the location was otherwise very peaceful and relaxing, it was unfortunate, but I suppose to be expected in such a rural location.

Aside from this we had a lovely stay, about a 10 minute drive from Windermere and the other lakes, the location of High Borrans Farm to get to the lodges was a little tricky to get to, but again is to be expected in a rural location, just something to be mindful about before booking.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Pristine luxury lodge with peace and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to Lake Windermere for a boat tour of the lake.

Guest from Telford stayed at High Borrans, Dene for 3 nights in April 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at High Borrans, Dene. It sounds like you were woken by some of the enthusiastic wildlife which abounds there! We are not sure where your comments about the prices came from since the 7 night stay at Easter was priced at £620. We think you are getting confused with the low season (starting) price. This very lovely, couples only lodge offers superb value for money and, together with sister lodge Hazel, are the latest 2 brand new lodges at High Borrans. It is a peaceful location 'off the beaten track' but easily accessible from nearby Windermere.