FB Twitter

High Borrans, Spinney

High Borrans, Spinney

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Spinney Lodge is located on High Borrans Farm only 10 minutes from the centre of Windermere & Bowness. This is a modern 1 bedroom self-catering lodge just for couples in a quiet rural location. 2 small/medium dogs or one large dog accepted free of charge.

Spinney High Borans

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely log cabin very clean an excellent location a very peaceful relaxing break loved our stay would return

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
So peaceful

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Short drive to lake windermere



Tracy from South Shields stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 7 nights in July 2019


Perfect Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights. The lodge was perfect with everything we needed for our stay. We could not fault the place. We will definitely be returning in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We enjoyed everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Would recommend the Watermill Inn which is a very dog friendly pub with lovely real ales.



Amy from Cramlington stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in June 2019


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was very clean and tidy when we stayed. The kitchen was all full of cooking utensils as well which we found very useful. It is also in a perfect location, 10 mins drive to the town of Windermere and the lodge being situated in a very quiet peaceful area. We will definitely visit again in the future

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Orrest head



Sasha from Derby stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in June 2019


High Borrans Farm cabin Spinney

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at High Borrans Farm in the Spinney cabin with out two dogs , the cabins are very high standard in a wonderful peaceful setting on a working Farm.The cabins are a credit to the owner Cathy they are spotless in every little detail you feel at home and very relax when you stay there.We have already booked to return in october.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lovely cabin and its peaceful surroundings.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The water falls at Ambleside, The lake walk at Keswick also the saturday town market.



Lynn from Melton Mowbray stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in June 2019


Lovely short break

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was very clean and comfortable in a great setting and location, very quiet considering it is on a working farm lovely walks from the lodge onto the bridle way.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location to nearby windermere/bowness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip from Bowness to Ambleside and dog friendly



Janet from Reading stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in June 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 39 days ago
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay Janet, thank you for your kind review. Spinney is a lovely lodge on a working farm, located just outside of Windermere it provides the most tranquil of retreats for couples to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another stay.

A comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The spinney was a lovely experience everything you needed under one roof and more,really comfortable and modern,so close to places together out and about especially with a little dog,hopefully visit again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was so peaceful and close to other places to get out and about

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness was a lovely place to visit



Helen from Gateshead stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in June 2019


Short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay lovely surroundings very close to lake Windermere and had a lovely meal at the local pub

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lake Windermere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Local pub



Guest from Bury stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in June 2019


Few nights stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at High Borrans. Lodge was lovely and the site was very peaceful. Great location. Shame the weather wasn’t great but didn’t stop us from enjoying ourselves.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful surroundings and friendliness of owner

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visiting local places ie Windermere or Bowness



Guest from Yarm stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in May 2019


Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at High Borrans. The lodge was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean. Also very well equipped for walkers or dog owners, with the laundry room available if needed and the lodge had a good sized hallway for any bits and bobs to be stored. Lovely surroundings with plenty of walks to explore the area. Only niggle is the distance from a pub but it takes no time to get into Windermere by car! We wouldn't hesitate to go back to High Borrans, great place to stay for a relaxing getaway, our dog also very much enjoyed his stay!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and comfort of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Getting the ferry over Lake Windermere and exploring that side

Sally from Livingston stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 4 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 70 days ago
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your excellent review Sally. High Borrans, Spinney is located on a working farm just a short distance from Windermere and this one-bedroom lodge offers the most tranquil of retreats for couples and their pooch. Equipped with everything you need to enjoy your stay; it is no wonder the lodges at High Borrans are very popular amongst our guests. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic stay with excellent cleanliness and perfect location. Cathy greeted us on the second morning to check if everything was ok and she was very friendly and helpful. It was a brilliant trip and will definitely be visiting again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking in the surrounding areas



Sam from Bradford stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in May 2019


A lovely stay in the lakes

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When arriving at the lodge we were positively surprised by the cleanliness and facilities. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The lodge was lovely with beautiful scenery surrounding us. The location was good as it was only a 10 minute drive to Bowness-on-Windermere and the use of the swimming facilities was an excellent extra which we enjoyed. We are already looking to book another trip with family and friends and look forward to returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing in a lovely location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip to Bowness-on-Windermere



Brittany from Southport stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in May 2019


lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really nice break in the lakes. Fantastic lodge, really peaceful. short drive to Windermere or walkable if you enjoy the outdoor life. Would love to return to this lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
lovely lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
lovely restaurants in Bowness.



Mark from Oswestry stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in May 2019


Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to High Borrans Spinney and I can certainly say it won’t be the last. We arrived and the lodge was beautiful, much bigger than we expected and absolutely spotless. High Borrans is the perfect location to enjoy the peace and quiet to be able to relax and unwind out in the country with only a short 5 minute drive into Bowness to enjoy everything The Lakes has to offer. We brought our Cocker Spaniel, George in our trip and he had a great time. He thoroughly enjoyed lying outside on the patio area soaking up the sun. We will definitely return to High Borrans in the near future!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The huge bath was brilliant to relax in after a long day out exploring.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The lakeside boat trip to see the steam trains was brilliant.

Katie from Warrington stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in April 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 102 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review Katie, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Spinney at High Borrans is a delightful one-bedroom holiday lodge, for adults only. For those looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place to be. Thank you for letting us know you had an excellent stay at Spinney - George too! And we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Such a lovely stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at High Borrans, Spinney. The lodge was in a great location and was only a short distance from local amenities.
The lodge was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed.
It was lovely that Cathy came to check we were okay a few hours after our arrival.
We will definitely be returning to High Borrans as it now holds a special place in our hearts as we got engaged during our stay.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was comfortable and in a great location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We visited the world of Beatrix Potter attraction. Great for children or if you just want to relive your childhood!



Elish from Wigan stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 4 nights in April 2019


Lovely stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was fantastic, roomy and pristine. Everything was catered for. Farm location with nearby walks. Close to Windermere with interesting shops and plenty of cafes/restaurants.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful and relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hire a private boat on Windermere.



Adrian from Ripon stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in March 2019


Lovely cosy cabin break with the dog

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the lodge. Location is beautiful, nice and peaceful but only a short car journey away to Windermere, Ambleside etc. Cabin is great, everything you need and the bath after a long day walking was fab! Our four legged very much enjoyed his first holiday and trip to the lakes - we’ll be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely interior

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Great walk in Ambleside common woods for the doggies



Holly from York stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in March 2019


Perfect new year break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Spinney, it was well appointed, comfortable, clean and warm. There are walks directly from the lodge or a short drive. We will definately return in the near future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful and beautiful location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Long walks directly from the lodge.



Sally from Darlington stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in January 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 210 days ago
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed New Year at Spinney Lodge. This place is amazing. The location is beautiful, and the lodge is cosy, warm and so comfortable. Perfect as a romantic retreat or simply to relax and soak up the stunning surroundings. Thank you for the excellent review and ratings, Sally. We are so pleased to hear you will be returning in the near future.

Weekend getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt that we needed a short break where we could relax and take our dog with us.
This was ideal once I found the email with instructions as my sat nav decided to pack up and there was no phone reception so google maps was out of the window.
Great lodge and had a nice walk down into Staveley.
Top tip. Print off the instructions which are spot on.
Hope to go back soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Pease and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Take a map which we didnt but would have founnd helpfull.



Ian from Ulverston stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in December 2018


Our first visit to the lakes !!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place for peace and quiet.comfortable and well equipped kitchen, Will definitely be returning !

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on lake Windermere



Guest from Birmingham stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in November 2018


Get away

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 2 nights as a little get away for our 15th wedding anniversary with our dog Betsy. Spinney is spotlessly clean, fitted out to a high standard and in a wonderful surrounding.
We had a fantastically relaxing time and I can honestly say the only thing missing was some kitchen tongs (and some sunshine- but I guess that's out of anyone's control!)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Cleanliness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Relaxing in the bath with a glass of wine after a good walk



Sarah from Barrow In Furness stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in November 2018


Gorgeous

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked this as a surprise form boyfriends birthday.
Safe to say him and the dog absolutely loved it.
The lodge itself was perfect. So cosy and had everything you needed. Plenty of radiators throughout, so lovely and warm (which I was worried about)
The whole lodge was spotless !

Was about a 15 min drive to the nearest town which was perfect.

The path at the farm was a lovely little walk through the fields.
Would 100% recommend and hopefully come back for longer next time.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking through the fields



Alicia from Romford stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in November 2018


Weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class place to unwind with the dogs good walks lodge excellent value for money would definitely return

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Internet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks from the lodge



Grahame from Bishop Auckland stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in October 2018


Great lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean and warm lodge. Very quiet site. A little out the way down narrow lanes. This was the only problem we found.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being able to take the dog with us.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trips a must



James from Llangefni stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 294 days ago
Thank you for your comments, James. Whilst we note the location was not quite right for you we are pleased to hear you that you enjoyed staying at Spinney. This cosy and luxurious lodge is super equipped for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Lakes. A rural location and beautiful views, yet only a short drive to the bustling little town of Bowness-on-Windermere. High Borrans, Spinney is a wonderful place to simply relax, unwind and enjoy the peace and tranquillity. For more information on any lodge within our portfolio please visit our website. Alternatively, a member of our bookings team will be very happy to help and advise on suitable lodges and the location. We will be delighted to welcome you again in the future.

The Spinney (September 2018)

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week and absolutely loved it. Would definitely visit again with our four legged friend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lowther Castle



Kerri-anne from Portchester stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 7 nights in September 2018


Good quality lodge, could not fault it.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and comfortable lodge, excellent location to explore the lakes if you don’t mind small car journey. Every thing you needed to prepare a meal. Customer service excellent from booking to when we left the lodge. We could not fault it.
Big bonus for us was we could take are little dog pip.

Thanks for a lovely holiday

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Buttermere, 1 hour journey but worth it.



Kelvin from Ipswich stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 7 nights in August 2018


Lovely stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Literally could not fault anything during our stay, very clean, high standards of decor, lovely location, we will definitely be returning in the near future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Very relaxing.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruise



Victoria from Washington stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in June 2018


High Borrons Farm skinny lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my second stay at High Borrons farm and we have stayed in the skinny lodge each time , the lodge excellent located at the side of a working farm .We stayed in june the lodge is just like a home from home and are a credit to the owner Cathey.We was there with our two dogs and they love it there .We are already planning to return next year we just love it there it is so peaceful and the lodges are kept to a very high standard .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge and the peace and quite

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Go to Keswick also Ambleside.



Lynn from Melton Mowbray stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in June 2018


SHORT BREAK HEAVEN

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you’re wanting to get away for a short break this is definitely the place to do it. The whole area is really picturesque and quiet the lodges are superb the scenery is brilliant overall very relaxing and stress free.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit the lake if you have never been (like me) you will enjoy it



Wayne from Mansfield stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in May 2018


Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in Spinney for three nights over the easter weekend with my partner and our dog. Absolutely loved the lodge, it’s decorated to a very high standard and is very comfortable and homely. The location is perfect, very secluded and quiet but only a short distance from Windermere and Bowness. Lovely walk on the bridal path from the farm which is perfect for walking dogs. Met the owner Cathy briefly on out last day, she was very friendly and welcoming! We’re already planning our next visit!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Secluded location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Jump on the ferry from Bowness across to the other side of the lake and there is a great cycle path all the way up to Ambleside.



Chelsi from Bristol stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in March 2018


Midweek break

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I find the lodges very clean,well equipped and ideal for couples.at least twice the size of any hotel room with en suite and much better value for money.there are plenty of pubs serving good food nearby.as regular visitors to the lakes we've enjoyed staying at high borrans more than anywhere else we've stayed and will be booking a third stay for later in the year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Walking in the lake District is always the most enjoyable aspect and its nice to get back to the cabin to relax in the evening

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We particularly enjoy the langdale area which is nearby,plenty of walking available at different grades



Michael from Thornton-cleveleys stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 4 nights in March 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Michael and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge, a gorgeous place to stay. Cosy and luxurious for an unforgettable holiday in the Lake District. We are delighted to hear you will be returning for another later in the year.

March short break

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely couple of day in this fantastic lodge. All aspects of the lodge were faultless, beautiful furnishings, all mod cons and a perfect setting.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and tranquility.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Well located for many walks and attractions



Francis from Wigan stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in March 2018


Lovely!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and our dog, couldn’t fault it at all!
The lodge is located on a working farm but this didn’t cause us any issues. It’s tucked away so there is no one else there apart from other guests.
Great pub down the road which allowed dogs, wasn’t cheap though!
Easy to get to other places within the Lake District.
The lodge was spotless, and had everything you needed. We asked to check out a bit later and they said it was fine.
Would definitely stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Claife viewing point



Kayleigh from Wirral stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in February 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review, Kayleigh and we are delighted to read your comments. Spinney is a beautiful place to enjoy a peaceful two night break. Immaculately presented, and designed with so much attention to detail for guests to simply relax and unwind in comfort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will be very happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge stay was just not long enough. The lodge was perfect - from decoration and cleanliness through to comfort. We did not want for anything.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
This is a real home from home place to stay. Comfortable and cosy.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Too many to highlight just one. We love every aspect of the lakes but would encourage people to go to the lesser known areas to see the true befits.



Darren from Cromford stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in January 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great comments and superb ratings, Darren. What more can we add? Spinney is a beautifully presented one-bedroom luxury lodge, and surrounded by magnificent scenery. Indeed the perfect retreat. As you had such a great time perhaps we will welcome you again in the very near future?

A fantastic weekend at Spinney.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was beautiful and the interior was very modern and had a ‘homely’ feeling to it. I was very surprised by the high standards from the team for their customer service and I will 100% be returning in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The homely feeling

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Breakfast outside on the patio.



Daniel from Liverpool stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in December 2017


Very pleasant few days away

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at High Borrans with my fiance on a short 2 night break, we both found it fantastic and would definitely recommend it. The quality of the lodge and everything in it was brilliant.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quality of the lodge and everything in it

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A visit to Lake Coniston



Eve from Leeds stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in November 2017


Our two day break at high borrans

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge was very modern and clean. The location was okay near enough to Windermere which is what we wanted! Only thing that let it down was the check in times and check out, seeing as we payed a hundred pound a night you couldn't get in the lodge till 3 in the afternoon then you had to be out by 10 in the morning. Feel like they could of adjust those times! Other then that lovely stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Roof speakers

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The rock shop in ambleside



Daniel from Warrington stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in October 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It is disappointing that you were unhappy with the arrival and departure times especially as you spoke to the owner whilst there. Flexible departure times can be made by special arrangement (subject to other bookings) and this is detailed in the information you were sent prior to arrival. All you had to do was ask as when here! We were pleased you had a lovely stay at High Borrans, Spinney. It is one of a small number of luxury, one bedroom lodges just a stone's throw from Windermere where guests can enjoy a very peaceful and relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings.

Already recommended to friends

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic lodges in a great location. Will definitely be back in the future. There was an electricity cut between 8am and 5pm on our second day but beyond site control. Therefore still 10/10

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aira Force



Jason from Chester Le Street stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in October 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments and rating your stay 10/10, Jason. Spinney is a delightful lodge that is superbly designed for guests to relax in comfort and style. And as we were on the receiving end of storm Aileen, hence the power cut, where better to spend quality time than in a stunning location and cosy accommodation. Thankfully the storm soon passed for you to carry on exploring the glorious Lake District. We are so pleased to hear you will be returning - and thank you for recommending Spinney.

Great weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dogs are allowed in this lodge, and you always expect a lower standard of cleanliness where dogs are allowed; however this was not the case here. You would never know dogs were allowed here, as standard of cleanliness was extremely high. Facilities in lodge were great. Lovely scenery, & peaceful. Would definitely come back here again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Great getaway

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hawkshead



Ian from Ferryhill stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in September 2017


High Borrans farm spinney lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent lodge they are all to a very high specification.they are furnished to a very high standard and are a credit to the owner we are going to go again next year and i will recommend them to all my friends.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
standard and comfort of lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
windermere town and walks



Lynn from Melton Mowbray stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 4 nights in August 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such great comments, Lynn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Spinney, so much so you are returning next year. The lodge owners take a lot of pride in delivering a first class service to their guests, they will be thrilled to read your comments - thank you. Spinney is a superb one bedroom luxury lodge and beautifully designed and equipped for guests to enjoy a comfortable stay. An amazing lodge surrounded by stunning scenery. The perfect place to escape and unwind.

Fantastic stay !

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was absolutely fantastic. The lodge was Spotless and everything we could possibly need was there ! It was only a 10 minute drive from Windermere which is perfect . The surrounding areas were lovely and peaceful . We will highly recommend this lodge to family and friends and will hopefully be back soon for another relaxing break away ! Thankyou so much for a fantastic stay .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peacefullness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The pig pub in windermere



Abbi from Sheffield stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in August 2017


Excellent lodge and location!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge was extremely clean and cosy. We enjoyed the walks around the lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peaceful surroundings and the modern amenities in the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A boat trip on lake Windermere.



Guest from Bourne stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 4 nights in August 2017


5 nights of bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodges are fitted out to a very high standard with everything you would need for a short stay. The area provides lots of opportunities for walking with amazing views. One of the most relaxing breaks we have ever had. Would highly recommend it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was very quiet and peacefull in a beautiful location and close to Windermere for any days out

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Treetop Trek at Brockhole



Neil from Manchester stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 5 nights in July 2017


FANTASTIC ACCOMIDATION

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic four days at the accomidation.The only disappointment was the access road leading to high borrans.This is very narrow and on day one had to reverse back a quarter of a mile to let a bus come down.The bus's should not be allowed down the lane very dangerous

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
relaxing on the veranda

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Watermill brewery at Ings for a meal and real ale



Robin from Shildon stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 4 nights in June 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at High Borrans Spinney and letting us know you had a fantastic few days, Robin. We were very surprised to hear you encountered a bus en route to the farm. As the country lane is not on a bus route a possible explanation could be a mini bus from the nearby outdoor pursuits centre. It seems you had an eventful drive although the lane is used by farmers and other local residents and from time to time will be necessary to reverse or manoeuvre for vehicles to pass. We are pleased that once you reached this fantastic lodge you enjoyed relaxing on the veranda. A beautifully presented and well-equipped holiday retreat in a stunning part of the world - The Lake District has just gained World Heritage Status! Very kind of you to award top marks on all aspects of your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, great location, will need a car if you want to get anywhere, lodges were clean and modern and had everything you need. Spa was lovely too.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on Windermere



Bethan from Buckley stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in May 2017


Wonderful but a little pricey

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at the lodge quite a few times, I am delighted to say that it is a wonderful spot for a relaxing, get-away-from-it-all break at any time of year, The Spinney at High Borrans has all one could ask for and never disappoints. . However, since changing letting agents last year, the lodge has become quite pricey for a holiday for two which may prompt some (your reviewer included) to not make The Spinney their first choice - a shame as it really is an ideal property for anyone seeking comfort and seclusion.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet (excepting the natural noises of countryside and farm)

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
I would recommend a stroll up to Orrest Head for the wonderful panorama revealed there. This walk can be done from High Borrans although this does necessitate a little walking on quiet roads as well as field and low fellside.

Dave from Mablethorpe stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 3 nights in April 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Dave and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your latest stay at High Borrans, Spinney. All the lodges at High Borrans are very similarly priced and offer a great place for couples who want the comfort, peace and quiet that staying there offers. As a new booking agent for High Borrans, we have simply continued with the price structure we inherited and which is set by the owners. We believe they offer excellent value for money especially when staying at peak times such as Easter. You did miss out on a returning guest discount as we weren't aware you had stayed before and we will be delighted to add this retrospectively to a future stay.

100/100

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the lodge was amazing and spotless in total tranquil surroundings. I will and have recommended this stay to friends and family.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The cleanliness and size of lodge, bathroom was fabulous

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere



Caroline from Leeds stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in February 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Caroline and letting us know you enjoyed your stay. Indeed the lodge is amazing! and has a beautiful and spacious bathroom. We love this lodge as it is so welcoming, and brilliantly designed for a relaxing and cosy stay. Complete with the odd sheep as a neighbour. How much better could it get? Thank you for recommending this lodge and we look forward to welcoming yourselves and others in the near future.

Fantastic stay at high borrans

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the high borrans. The lodge had everything we wanted and more and was immaculate.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walks along the public footpath near the lodge are ideal for guests with dogs



Adam from Stoke On Trent stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in January 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Adam. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay. Spinney is such a cosy lodge, warm and welcoming it is a home from home. And a lovely place to stay with dogs with so many walks nearby to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

The kind of place you would go back to!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed every minuet, worth every penny. Ideal for someone wishing to get off the grid for a few days. Good quality appliances/decor/furniture, everything works perfectly. Lovely hostess. Beautiful surroundings and well located near several major towns. Can't wait to go back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being able to be disconnected from the rest of the world whilst being surrounded by nature.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The views



Jamie from Newcastle stayed at High Borrans, Spinney for 2 nights in December 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and rating the lodge with top marks, Jamie. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Spinney, it is indeed a wonderful holiday retreat. The owner takes great pride on delivering excellent service by making sure the guest is happy throughout their stay – lovely to hear you thought so too. Where better to be for a relaxing break – Luxury and cosy accommodation in the heart of countryside – sheep included! We were delighted when Spinney at High Borrans joined our portfolio earlier this year, a unique and very appealing place to return to time and time again. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay in the near future.