FB Twitter

High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut

High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.6
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.7


The Shepherd's Hut is located on High Borrans Farm only 10 minutes from the centre of Windermere & Bowness. This is a modern self-catering bijou, a wonderful quirky place to stay just for couples in a quiet rural location. Sorry no dogs accepted.

The perfect spot for a romantic rustic weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3 nights in the Shepherd's Hut at High Borrans was exactly what we were looking for on our Easter weekend getaway. The location was perfect for us: up in the hills, away from the hustle and bustle of the lakeside towns, but still within 10-20 mins drive of loads of stuff. The hut itself is beautifully done and very welcoming, with all of the conveniences that you need. Our only sadness was that we didn't get to stay for longer...

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Great accommodation set in the middle of some of the most breathtaking scenery in the natural world.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Our favourite walk was the one you take heading due West and South out of Grasmere. An hour to the top and spectacular panoramas in every direction.



Guy from London stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in April 2019


Beautiful hide away for a relaxing break!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Shepard’s hut is the most beautiful use of space! We absolutely loved our stay - never felt more relaxed in the atmosphere! It’s placed in a perfect location that’s not too far away from all things needed - but still feels secluded. The spa and gym was brilliant & to get this free was fab! Would 100% return and recommend!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and relaxation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lakeland segwaying



Ella from Lechlade stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in May 2019


Shepherd's Hut Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were blessed with great weather for our stay, which made it even more enjoyable. The hut was extremely clean and tidy and everything we needed was there. We would certainly recommend the Shepherd's Hut to stay in if you want to go somewhere secluded and quiet.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Watermill Inn/ brewery and walking Old Man of Coniston



Oliver from York stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 28 days ago
Thank you for your great review Oliver, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are so pleased the weather was glorious for you! Thank you for recommending “Percy” to our guests, it is a very cosy and luxurious hut for a very peaceful getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most peaceful and calming stay. Everything was so chill and the place is beautiful. The decor of the shepherds hut itself is so clean and charming. It was the perfect few days away. The views are totally amazing. Great location, not far from the town with plenty of places to eat and explore. Close to many glorious walks and a short drive away from Ambleside and Kendall. If you want a romantic getaway for two we would highly recommend this fantastic place.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
There were so many enjoyable moments. The views, walks, hut itself it was all so beautiful.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We had a day out to Ambleside and would definitely recommend the Waterfall walk as well as a look around there town.



Jenny from Farnborough stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in March 2019


Amazing weekend will definitely be back again soon

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay in Hogh Borrans, quiet and relaxed in a great location with great facilities, had a perfect weekend in the Lake District

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location was perfect

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Local town of Windermere and Bowness



Aiden from Leeds stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 123 days ago
Thank you for the excellent review, Aiden. We are delighted to read your comments and to hear you had an amazing weekend staying in the beautiful Percy at High Borrans. This beautifully presented shepherds hut is purposely designed for guests to relax in luxury. A wonderful place to stay - and we are thrilled to hear you will be returning.

WALKING

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last year we stayed near Hawkshead and in the lodge there were details/maps of walks in the local vicinity. Can I suggest that details/maps of walks around/near the farm are included in the file in the shepherds hut?

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the hut

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk to Windermere via the view point. A long walk but worth it.



Julie from Stockton-on-tees stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 4 nights in October 2018


High Borrans Break.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great place to visit, Plenty of walks, Restaurants in Windermere and Bowness excellent. A trip to Beatrix Potter house is a must.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quietness.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Lakes.



Kevin from Welwyn stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in October 2018


Anniversary stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my wife decided to stay here for our wedding anniversary and as soon as we arrived we loved it. If you want peace and tranquility there really is nowhere better. The hut is amazing inside and out.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hill Top (Beatrix Potters house)



Jonathan from Nuneaton stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in October 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 246 days ago
Thank you for the great comments and perfect ratings, Jonathan. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. "Percy" is an amazing shepherds hut, immaculately presented and perfectly equipped. A very cosy and luxurious hut in a beautiful part of the world, where better to be? We are so pleased you chose here to celebrate your anniversary and we look forward to you returning for many more in the future.

Lovely little shepherds hut

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days staying in the shepherds hut while we explored the Lake District. This was our first time visiting the lakes and we couldn’t have picked a better place to stay. The location was so close to Windermere and Bowness but far enough away that it was ‘off the beaten track’ and so peaceful. The shepherds hut itself was clean, cosy and comfortable and the perfect size for just the two of us. We would definitely stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How quiet and peaceful it was.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Definitely a cruise on Lake Windermere.



Aimee from Sudbury stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in October 2018


Lake District Adventure

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first trip to the lake district,
High Borrans provides first class accommodation in a peaceful location from which one can explore the lake district.
Perfect for couples for a romantic get away.
Can't give it praise enough and look forward to our return next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The walks and peacefulness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Langdale valley walk



Claire from Dartford stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 7 nights in September 2018


The perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect place for our getaway, had a 3 night stay, which we really enjoyed, a lovely cosy hut, in spotless condition, and fully equipped, would certainly recommend, looking forward to our next visit.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking over the fells



Graham from Stockton-on-tees stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in September 2018


Wife’s birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was perfect, needed another night. Hut was like a tarsus had to go back outside to check where we were. The wife loved it in the country and a stones throw from Windermere. So much to do in so little time. We will be making a return but we will bring our bikes as we had little time to visit the area we were in. Thankyou

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The 24 hour lake cruise pass



Roger from Doncaster stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in July 2018


Beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepherds hut was beautifully finished, very cute and comfy. Perfect for a romantic getaway in a gorgeous location away from the busy town. Highly recommend!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Secluded location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Orrest Head viewpoint in Windermere



Alana from Aberdeen stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in July 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 343 days ago
Thank you for the great comments, Alana. This gorgeous shepherd's hut is a wonderful place to stay. Designed perfectly for guests to simply relax in comfort and style. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for your high recommendations.

Great five night Summer stay

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay. The bed was really comfy and a great size. Plenty of space under the bed to store belongings. The kitchen was good and we cooked meals every evening. The fridge was just the right size for the five nights and there is a supermarket about 20 minutes drive away. The bathroom was great and the shower was spacious considering that the hut itself is limited by its size.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being in the countryside

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk around the Lake at Tarn Hows.



Danielle from Canterbury stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 5 nights in June 2018


Shepherd hut

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay shepherd hut was delightful
Location was very lovely and nice to wake up to the sound of lambs
Beautiful surroundings with lovely walks

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lakes

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Buttermere lake



Simon from Chapel Allerton stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in May 2018


Len Dunce

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for that relaxing break away from it all .Great area for walking and some nice pubs nearby.
Will most certainly go back in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip to Keswick for the scenery



Leonard from Basingstoke stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 4 nights in May 2018


Short beak in Lakes

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable. Everything one could need on a holiday. A good base for exploring the Lakes. Good places to eat out close by.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort and visiting new places in the Lakes

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Catching the chain ferry from Boness and walking to Hill Farm. Art and craft house outside Boness.



Geoff from Bury stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in March 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such great comments, Geoff. We agree, 'Percy' is very comfortable, and beautifully designed to maximise the space perfectly. A fantastic place to stay.

A short retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I was going to use the Sheperds Hut as a base to do some walking around the lakes. Unfortunately by the time I got there I was unwell so I spent all my time in the hut and to say I really enjoyed it is an understatement. It’s the perfect little getaway if you need some solitude. I Netflix and chilled. Great small break and I’ll be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peacefulness and solitude

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The shops in Windermere



Roman from Stockport stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in November 2017


Quality 3 Nights

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the hut was perfect for a couple. I downloaded the Lakside Taxis app before I went, £7.50 into Windermere every night so that we could both drink. We will definitely be booking again!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quality of the hut

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Climbing Kirkstone Pass



Bradley from Doncaster stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in October 2017


A great getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing short break away, the Shepard’s hut we stayed in was cosy, well equipped, warm and so peaceful. We slept fantastic and woke up feeling refreshed. The surrounding area is great for walking and exploring but not really walking distance from the lakes. This wasn’t an issue as we were able to drive to the towns nearby. The only downfall was that the closest pub was a 45 minute walk away but if you like to walk like us then it’s not really a problem!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The Shepard’s hut was fantastic, so cosy and just what we needed! Felt so relaxed being in the countryside.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Going down to Lake Windermere and visiting the towns or going on some of the amazing walks on offer!



Joe from Bingham stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in October 2017


Perfect escape!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the Shepherd's hut! We found the clever use of space and modern luxuries and conveniences offered to be perfect for our needs. It really was the perfect escape from city life!

The location was peaceful and quiet and the hut was as advertised in the photos - immaculate and beautiful! We loved the little "sheepy" accessories!

We hope to return when its milder so we can also sit outside and enjoy the peaceful surroundings but also loved how cozy, warm and comfortable we were when it was cold, wet and windy outdoors!

The owners should be incredibly proud of what they have achieved with the Shephard's Hut!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Modern conveniences in a peaceful setting

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hire a row boat on Lake Windermere

Leanne from Sunderland stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in October 2017


Lovely weekend away.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely Shepard's hut and very modern. Never stayed in one before would stay again for two night just less luggage as wasn't much space to move about with our bags.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Driving to Buttermere, the drive is amazing and Buttermere is just beautiful



Guest from Tadley stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in October 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your weekend break to the lovely 'Percy'. A luxury designed shepherds hut, and although compact it is fully equipped with all home comforts as well as plenty of extra little touches for a really enjoyable experience. The king size bed has under bed storage although perhaps less luggage is best - depending on how much you brought? We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and are looking to return. We are very proud to have Percy in our portfolio and love hearing of our guests glamping experience.

Perfect, would recommend to anyone!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was fantastic, away from everywhere which is perfect for a getaway! Great walk into Windermere, lodge was fantastic and clean, all facilities worked perfectly and with no issues, plenty of storage and room. Will definitely be using the returning guest discount but at the same time it was an absolute steal for £80 a night, so would feel like I was ripping the lodge owners off! 10/10 for everything and will definitely return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location was very quiet and picturesque

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk from High Borrans to Windermere



Zachary from Colne stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in August 2017


High Borrans

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent 3 wonderfully days in this beautiful shepherds hut, to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
If you want peace and quiet, other than being visited by by the farms chickens then give it a go.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A meal at the cedar lodge hotel.



Andrew from Kingston Upton Hull stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in August 2017


Lake District holiday lodges

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect for a long weekend getaway, not far from Windermere centre, and the hut was very comfy! Great for a couple looking for a relaxing break away

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Orrest head



Abbey from Burton Upon Trent stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in July 2017


Relaxing/tranquil/

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Percy Warrener was an experience to be had .... tranquil... beautiful views... peaceful surroundings... everything for two people to relax and enjoy..... perfect..

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Everything is beautiful in the lakes ..



Paul from Newcastle stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 3 nights in June 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments and rating your stay so highly, Paul. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the ‘Percy’ experience. Indeed for those looking for a relaxing and tranquil stay with a touch of class, where better to be? Stunning views, beautiful location and wonderful accommodation. We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Perfect shepherds hut accommodation and picturesque surroundings.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunningly beautiful place for accommodation and surroundings. The perfect getaway. Heaven!!!. Bliss.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything. ??

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking in Ambleside.



Neil from Ripon stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in May 2017


The perfect birthday treat

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepards hut was absolutely ideal for our romantic weekend away just the two of us. Beautiful location for exploring the lakes and so peaceful.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Renting a boat



Harriet from Fulbrook stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in April 2017


Last minute weekend break away.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our break was lovely, the shepherds hut is really cozy and very romantic, it has all the appliances you need to have an easy stay. The area is breathtakingly beautiful and it's only short drive to Windermere which is an added bonus.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfiest bed ever!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A boat trip on the lake



Louise from MANCHESTER stayed at High Borrans, Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review and rating your stay so highly, Louise. Welcome to Percy! Our newest addition to the portfolio and the perfect romantic retreat. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend at this beautifully designed luxury shepherd’s hut. It has everything needed for a very comfortable and cosy break away - kitchen, shower room, living area complete with log effect fire and a very comfortable bed, just what is needed! And for those wanting to keep in touch with others Percy also comes with WiFi, although as commented High Borrans is just a short drive to Windermere. Thank you once more for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.