FB Twitter

High Borrans, Hazel

High Borrans, Hazel

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Hazel Lodge is located on High Borrans Farm only 10 minutes from the centre of Windermere & Bowness. This is a modern 1 bedroom self-catering lodge just for couples in a quiet rural location. Sorry no dogs accepted.

Lovely Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay here, Everything we needed was there and was immaculate. The lodge was set in the most relaxing setting and was very peaceful.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
On the bridal path



Rebecca from Welshpool stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in March 2019


Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent log cabin lovely views nice and quite place would book again owner was very nice had everythink you need there

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere boat hire



Craig from Liverpool stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in March 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 44 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Craig, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at High Borrans, Hazel. A beautiful lodge in a glorious location, perfect for a relaxing holiday! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Fantastic.

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful lodge in a fantastic settings. Could do with a couple of extra little signs as you get into the farm but other than that everything was perfect. The lodge had everything you could need including a dishwasher, oven, fridge and tea! I hope we’ll be back soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Orrest Head



Tara from Runcorn stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in March 2019


first holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay in hazel lodge, we loved it. It was really clean and cosy which was great. Perfect first holiday for us.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How cosy the lodge was

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruise



Keegan from Stanley stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in March 2019


Very nice cabin will be back again in future!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cabin we enjoyed our 3 nights here. Cabin is immaculate very well built, it’s lovely and cosy. It’s in a nice area only a couple minutes from town centre Windermere and if you are looking to go for some nice walks or just too relax I recommend this cabin very much. Will be back again in future at some point to try another cabin here. Thanks for everything

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How cosy it is and high standard of cabin it is

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks and bit of food and drink



Luke from South Shields stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in November 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 106 days ago
Thank you for the review, Luke and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at High Borrans, Hazel. A fabulous one-bedroom luxury lodge set in a beautiful location. A gorgeous place to stay for an unforgettable holiday in the Lake District – and a super cosy retreat. Thank you for recommending the lodge and we look forward to welcoming you to High Borrans again in the near future.

Spotlessly clean and cosy lodge in a peaceful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the lodge for a long weekend. The lodge itself was in a good location, close to Ambleside and Windermere. It was spotlessly clean and very cosy.
We walked up Gowbarrow and visited Aura Force during our stay, which was nice when you got away from the crowds.
We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing and peaceful setting, good amenities

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ambleside



Samantha from Didcot stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in September 2018


Our Hazel Lodge!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing stay at Hazel Lodge for 5 nights! We just loved it! We were supplied with a number of resources such as washing up liquid, toilet roll, tea towels all of what we had already brought with us as we didn’t think would be facilitated!
The lodge was so peaceful, relaxing, clean, modern and generally just wonderful! We’ve definitely spoken about making this a yearly relaxation break therefore we’ll most certainly be back! Thankyou for the perfect relaxation holiday, something we both very much needed! See you next year!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Cumbria Zoo!

Bethany from Dereham stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 5 nights in September 2018


Pleasant stay in the Lakes

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean and comfortable lodge. Peaceful location with easy access to the southern and eastern lakes. A well equipped kitchen with plenty of useful utensils. It was good to have a dishwasher. The lodge had good views, was nice and light with plenty of windows. A good supermarket (Booths) nearby in Windermere.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was clean and well equipped.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A walk from Grasmere to Rydal Mount and back over Loughrigg Fell.



Gaynor from Solihull stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 10 nights in September 2018


A little piece of tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabins are immaculate in every way. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Fantastically equipped kitchen with extended use of laundry and freezer in the out house. Lovely well kept grounds and friendly staff. Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything and my wife is not easy pleased!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grisedale zip wire experience.....awesome value for money



Robert from Torquay stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 7 nights in August 2018


Short break away

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, well equipped and emaculately clean lodge set in idyllic surroundings away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Very peaceful and relaxing - just what we were looking for. We just happened to be staying on the hottest weekend The Lakes has ever seen too, so perfect for sitting on the veranda in the evenings.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We loved all of it from start to finish!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We walked to Kentmere Hall - long walk but very quiet compared to other more well used walks.



Steve from Guisborough stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in July 2018


Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful time staying at Hazel Lodge.... it was in a beautiful location. I will go again :)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just the calm and peace of the location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
I loved the walk around Grizedale Forest.



Natalie from Willenhall stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 5 nights in July 2018


What more can I say - excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quick decision saw this brand new lodge booked for a short stay in the Lake District. The owners were very friendly and helpful! We didn't make the wrong decision, looking forward to booking again later in the year. Lots more to explore in the area but the heat this visit (30C everyday) prevented us doing too much. Took full advantage to have a compltely restful break.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and tranquility of the venue.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A combined trip on Lakeside and Haverthwaite railyway and a return boat trip to Ambleside followed by Lakeland Ice Cream outside the station cafe.



Phil from Lillehall stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 5 nights in June 2018


2 night stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful little Lodge, spent 2 nights here with my partner. Very cute, very quiet. Windemere is about 10 minutes away. It is a working farm and there is a dog that comes to say hello

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
accommodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
walking



Jack from Sheffield stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in November 2017


Autumn break

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our short autumn break at High Borrans. It is nice and quiet on the edge of the busy lakes but a short drive gets you right into heart of the Lake District

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quiet position of the site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking in the lakes



Brian from Alnwick stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 5 nights in October 2017


Great Short Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cabin for a couple, the bed frame was a little rocky but otherwise everything was great. Has WiFi radio built into the cabin and all essentials provided

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat rental, heverthewaite railway tour



Tre from London stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 4 nights in September 2017


short break

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to book,easy to find.a nice peaceful farm with 5 lodges and a shepherds hut.everything was immaculate and the owners have gone above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
plenty of good walks and some very good pubs nearby



Michael from Thornton-cleveleys stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 4 nights in September 2017


A Great Escape from the World

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay in a holiday lodge and we were uncertain what to expect.
In the end, we have come away with some wonderful memories and having TRULY escaped the stressful day-to-day of life. The lodges are beautiful, sitting snug just beyond the farm with views of the surrounding hills. Hazel Lodge certainly is beautifully kept, was spotless on arrival and was a lovely home for us during our time exploring the Lake District.
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending the lodge to anyone and our only regret was not staying longer!

We are already planning our return...

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Cosy comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ambleside Town - get yourself an Applepie Milkshake

Steven from Gateshead stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in August 2017


Fantastic week away

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at High Borrans for our honeymoon and It could have been more perfect. The accommodation was stunning, spotless throughout and beautifully furnished. The only fault I could find was that the bed was slightly uncomfortable due to the slats falling out of the plastic holders if you rolled over to quick. I would recommend this place to everyone as the location was quite and peaceful if you want some privacy but it's only a short drive to the nearest town which is full of shops and restaurants.
Thank you High Borrans for gorgeous location for our honeymoon and we will be back for our anniversary ;-)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
spending time with my new husband

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
the zoo (best one I have been too)

Hayley from Sturminster Newton stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 4 nights in July 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Hayley and letting us know you had a fantastic week away. Congratulations to you both on your recent wedding and we were so pleased to hear you chose to spend your honeymoon at Hazel, High Borrans. Where better to be? A picturesque location along with peace, tranquillity and beautiful accommodation - The perfect romantic retreat. We will pass on your comments about the bed to the owners and we are sure they will address this immediately. The owners take an enormous amount of pride in delivering a first class service to their guests – and no doubt will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future, perhaps for your first year anniversary.

Hazel - Borrans

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice quiet location, perfect for those looking for a bit of solitude. Lots of places to visit based upon lodge location, especially if a car is available. Lodge was in perfect condition upon arrival and was incredibly clean and tidy. 100% would stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quietness of the farm and lodge area, lodge was extremely clean upon arrival.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip to Keswick Puzzling Place



Guest from Chester stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in July 2017


Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have always wanted to stay in this type of property and we found the perfect one. We could not fault the lodge at all, it was immaculate inside and out. The quality of the furnishings and fixtures was very high and you could tell it was really looked after. The rolltop bath and sheepskin rugs at the side of the bed make it in a different league of holiday letting. The owner was really nice and helpful and made sure everything was ok when we arrived. It is easily accessible to Windermere and the pub at the bottom of the lane on the main road served excellent food. It was in the quietest place we have ever been and will be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location was so quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Head off into the moors from the bridle path for a lovely walk.

John from Colne stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in July 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at High Borrans, Hazel. The lodge is beautiful as you mention and with the location so peaceful it is a great place to return after a day out exploring the area. We look forward to arranging another stay in the future!

Stay in high borrans haZel

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very pleasant and peaceful stay. As soon as we got there we walked straight into our lodge - it was spotless and everything worked perfectly. We had problems with our tv and they came straight away to help us use it. Had an amazing stay- would definitely go again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How quiet and peaceful it was

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Drive to nearby Ambleside for a day out and walk around the area



Ellie from Manchester stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in June 2017


Lovely, relaxing place

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely tranquil setting, Kathy introduced herself just after my arrival, the cabin was immaculate, clean and very comfortable and luxurious, it had high quality fixtures and fittings, I would definitely stay here again... Fabulous

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lots of lovely walks and surroundings. Plenty to do and see



Lisa from Norwich stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in June 2017


Lovely honeymoon

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 nights after getting married in Gretna Green and it was lovely! Perfectly cosy for two and good location for exploring the Lakes!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How cosy and comfortable the lodge was.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aira Force!



Aiesha from Brierley Hill stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 4 nights in June 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments, Aiesha. We were delighted to hear you had a lovely honeymoon at High Borrans, Hazel. This immaculately presented and beautifully designed lodge lets guests relax in pure comfort, and the location is stunning - magnificent scenery. Perhaps we will welcome you again on one of your many anniversary's to come? We wish all the best for the future, congratulations to you both!

Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, surrounded by fields to walk around, very beautiful place, peaceful, relaxing and quiet. The cottage was extremely clean, tidy and it had everything you would need for your vacation.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quite, privacy

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk in the fields



Mariya from York stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in June 2017


A lovely quiet site.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at High Borrans. . Lovely quiet site. Lodge was clean, comfortable and we were well provided for. It was only a short drive into the heart of the lakes.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quiet position of the site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking in the lakes



Brian from Alnwick stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 5 nights in May 2017


A fantastic short stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can easily recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet place to spend several days both for the location itself and the lodge which is the perfect balance of modern day comforts and beautiful views out in the countryside.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location - specifically going from a working farm to a walking trail through the Lake District National Park

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walking trail through the Lake District National Park



Thomas from Hull stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in May 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review and for the great ratings, Thomas. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hazel, High Borrans. A beautifully designed lodge that is fully equipped with all home comforts for guests to enjoy a relaxing, peaceful and very comfortable stay. Amazing location in the heart of the Lake District countryside, just perfect for those looking for a secluded holiday retreat and indeed walking enthusiasts. Thank you for recommending this lodge and perhaps we will welcome you for another fantastic stay in the near future.

Can't wait to go back!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view from the lodge is incredible and it's so beautifully decorated. It's lovely and quiet and the owner is very warm and welcoming. We're already looking at coming back to stay very soon!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location, view, lodge in general

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visiting Windermere or Bowness



Joshua from Accrington stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in April 2017


Very good stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was spotless
So cosy for a little break
All the rooms are perfect
Would be coming back here very soon!!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything, I cannot fault one thing!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere village!



Callum from Wigan stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 2 nights in April 2017


Satisfied

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was satisfied with my stay, the area is very natural and away from the town and traffic. It's a quite place to enjoy if you're looking for a break from the hustle and bustle. In terms of pricing, I do believe it is slightly overpriced but overall was satisfied with my stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Self cater

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up to Orrest head



Guest from London stayed at High Borrans, Hazel for 3 nights in April 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and the good ratings. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay over the bank holiday Easter weekend. ‘Hazel’ is brand new to High Borrans and Wow what a lodge – Luxury accommodation that is purposely designed and equipped for guests to relax and enjoy, as well as having a very cosy feel with beautiful touches throughout. The lodge is competitively priced throughout the year to suit all budgets and the perfect choice for those looking for a romantic retreat. Priceless. Perhaps we will welcome you again for a return visit?