FB Twitter

Herdwick Lodge

Herdwick Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 79 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Herdwick Lodge is located on Limefitt Park at Kirkstone 26. This is a modern, luxury 2 bedroom self-catering lodge with lovely open views of the Troutbeck Valley. Dog Friendly - 1 well behaved dog welcome.

Clean and comfortable lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Herdwick lodge was clean and comfortable with all the things you need for a home from home stay. The weather was very mixed for a short break but it did not stop us getting out and about. Limefit Park is a bit more rural than Whitecross Bay and a car was definitely needed to get down to Windermere or Ambleside. We ate one evening at the onsite tavern and the food was fine and staff very friendly. The dog field where you can let your dog roam free is quite small and can get very busy so we took our little pooch early morning and late evening.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Reasonably priced for the 2 bedroom accommodation with all the facilities you need

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Sizergh Castle (NT) and Grasmere

Tina from Bolton stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in June 2019


Weekend for sons birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge that had everything you needed for great stay the views from lodge were stunning. had a delicious breakfast and an evening meal at hay barn .Found a fantastic walk. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There had been a lot of thought put into lodge to make your stay perfect.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing in the jucuzzi bath in lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk behind the hay barn beautiful views



Rosemary from Trimdon Station stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in May 2019


Herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time I have stayed at this lodge I cannot be more pleased
Everything you need is here and possible the best view on this park

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks from the park



David from Nottingham stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 43 days ago
Thank you for the excellent review and ratings, David. Herdwick is a fabulous two bedroom lodge with fantastic views. A wonderful place to stay - and we are so pleased you thought so too. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Relaxing stay at Herdwick Lodge.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our 4 night stay in this lovely lodge. It is modern but the views were lovely and the private balcony was a pleasure to sit on in the evening with a glass of wine. Plus the lodge had everything for a comfortable stay. Hope to return soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The mountain view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to the nearby church and historic house.



Cathy from Liverpool stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Another great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every time I go to Limefitt Park I don’t think it can get any better, but it does. This lodge was fantastic. A great location, very peaceful and open views over the fields to the hills beyond. I can’t think of any downside, everything was perfect. Very clean and everything I needed. My dog loved it too, near to the fields and dog park for early morning duties, and a nice decking where we could sit and relax. We got some good walks in directly from the site, so I didn’t need my car all weekend. Walk one was up behind the pub to the top of Sour Howes and then Sallows, where we got some great views, and hardly saw anybody all day. Walk two was up over Wansfell to Ambleside and back round the lower route, then home to the lodge for a nice spa bath! Loved it, thank you.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable and peaceful

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk over Wansfell to Ambleside

Diane from Warrington stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in March 2019


Herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second visit to Herdwick lodge in 3 years. Stunning location, And great lodge, Such a shame we won't be able to visit this particular lodge again as our little one will be over 2 years old, But we highly recommend Herdwick to anyone, Definitely a home from home.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location, comfy well stocked lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lunch at the mortal man



Diane from Sheffield stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in February 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Herdwick lodge was perfect place to stay.
Inside had everything you could think of and the decking had the most amazing views you could wish for.
I will be booking this lodge again


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking



David from Nottingham stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in November 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 126 days ago
Thank you for the great comments and perfect ratings, David. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Herdwick Lodge. A beautifully presented two bedroom lodge with magnificent views. Herdwick lodge is a wonderful place to stay and we are so pleased you thought so too. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Mams 50th

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked 2 nights for my mams birthday and my mam and dad loved their weekend away, I will be booking another weekend for them soon!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking around the area



John Paul from Workington stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in September 2018


Lovely lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is situated in a quiet location with lovely views. It is very well equipped, comfortable and clean. This is one of the best lodges we have stayed in. It is very dog friendly - we brought our labradoodle with us and there was plenty of room for the 3 of us, we’d certainly stay here again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How dog friendly everything was

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Windermere



Jane from Bury stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in September 2018


Beautiful lodge in a stunning location!

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Herdwick lodge is one of the best lodges we've stayed in! It was very well equipped, lovely and clean, very comfortable and in a fabulous location on the wonderful Limefitt park. Overlooking the playing field, you have beautiful views from the decking of the surrounding hills and meant it was just a short walk to the splash pool and dog walking field. The lodge is also just a short stroll from the Haybarn Pub where you can get a lovely meal. We all enjoyed our family holiday including Ted the dog and would definitely re-book Herdwick. Superb!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location of the lodge was wonderful.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
There are so many! Walking from White Moss to Rydal Caves and down to Grasmere.

Julie from Doncaster stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was lovely had everything you could need. Really clean and comfortable would have lived to stay this Xmas but all booked up but would definitely stay again. Great position and views.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely dog friendly lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere cruise and steam train trip dogs go for free!



Guest from Prestatyn stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in July 2018


Hardwick Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we had a lovely stay in Hardwick Lodge it was just like being at home, it was very clean and tidy had everything what you would need while staying there hoping to be back later next year

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the views around the Lodge are beautiful

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
a walk up the hills to see the view of Lake windamere



Avril from Leics stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in June 2018


The lodge was very clean and tidy with many extras we did not expect. Would recommend to friends

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very pleasant stay, the lodge was very clean and homely, the park was very well kept. Very dog friendly, the staff as the pub were very friendly and most welcoming

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge and park which was very well kept

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking



Guest from Stockton On Tees stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in June 2018


lovely stay at Hardwick lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was very well equipped, clean and comfortable. It had good open views over the playing fields and the nearby fells from the decking.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
we had super weather

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
brockhole visitor centre is great for kids and adults



Ruth from Sheffield stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in May 2018


Lovely time had by all

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good lodge one of the cleanest i have stayed in will love to go back sometime the lodge is in a very good spot and very peaceful the views were beautiful all it was missing was a hot tub to go with the views. But the bath was very nice

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just love the lakes

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Elterwater



Yvonne from Wigan stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in March 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Yvonne. We note your kind comments and are delighted to hear that the lodge was the cleanest you have stayed in. We note your further comment suggesting a hot tub and we will pass this on to the lodge owners for their consideration. With that said Herdwick Lodge is immaculately presented and well equipped for a relaxing holiday in the Lakes, and of course in a beautiful location.

Peace& tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Herdwick Lodge and the standards improve with every visit. The owners have the ultimate care in providing the best for their customers. I’m sure they love the lodge as we do. We’re looking forward to our next visit in May.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lake District scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Blackwell arts and craft house



Drury from Featherstone stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in March 2018


Fantastic stay at Herdwick Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Myself, my partner and our German shorhaired pointer stayed in Herdwick Lodge, it was a fantastic lodge fully equipped with everything you need (despite us packing everything just in case). Lodge was in a perfect spot looking across the fields at the mountains, it was clean and very comfortable. We have already recommended it to friends and family and hope to come back again!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We walked to the mortal man Inn one evening I'd highly recommend people do that, it's a safe and short walk even in the dark. Dogs are welcome. Lots of ciders to try!



Karl from St Helens stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in November 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Karl. We were delighted to read your comments and to hear you had a fantastic stay. Herdwick Lodge is the perfect holiday retreat. The location is simply magnificent, the views are stunning and the accommodation is modern, cosy and well equipped. Indeed a very comfortable lodge. Thank you for recommending Herdwick to others - and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

A revisit to Herdwick Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited Herdwick Lodge in May here we are again in September, which can only mean one thing - we love it. what more can we say. We returned with friends and they were of the same opinion. We look forward to our next visit in 2018.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The vista from the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A return visit to Holker hall and gardens



Drury from Featherstone stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


Amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was fantastic, as was the location and customer service. We had a small issue with the shower and we had someone out to inspect it within 15 mins. Would certainly use this company and lodge again. Can't wait to return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Relax in the surroundings



Guest from Gateshead stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Excellent!!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay. The lodge was very clean and comfortable. Beautiful location, a great base to explore the Lake District.
Highly recommended!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the nature, the villages

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
visiting the lakes and the many walks



Willy from Lede stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Idyllic location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, idyllic setting and Limefitt Park is well maintained and ideally situated for Windermere, Ambleside, Bowness and Kendall.

Herdwick Lodge is in the perfect setting on the park overlooking the play field. It's peaceful surroundings and comfortable furnishings allow for a relaxing stay.

The cleanliness could be improved would be my only criticism.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful surroindings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip on the boat on Windermere Lake



Guest from Retford stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear a couple of things weren't quite right for your stay and appreciate you telling us about these separately. It is most unusual for guests to tell us the cleanliness wasn't as is should have been although we have made the housekeepers aware of the issues reported. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We agree that Herdwick Lodge is in an idyllic location and enjoys a fabulous position at Limefitt Park with uninterrupted views of the Troutbeck valley and the mountains beyond.

Herdwick stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Due to unfortunate circumstances we only stayed 1 night but we loved it, the lodge was fantastic, very well equipped and the site was lovely. We would def recommend and hope to go back again some time in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and view from lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to Wray castle



Clare from Barrow In Furness stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in July 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, John and we were pleased to hear you enjoyed your short stay at Herdwick Lodge. We were sorry to hear you had to cut your stay short although glad it was only a short journey home for you. We will be delighted to welcome you back and don't forget there is a 10% returning guests discount available when you visit Herdwick lodge again. The lodge is very popular thanks to being well looked after by the owners and having a superb location within Limefitt park

Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the furnishing and fittings. Lovely spacious interior. Loved all the little home comforts from the ornamental knick knacks to the amount of books, DVDs, games etc available.
Spotlessly clean throughout. En suite +family bathroom very useful.
Lovely big deck area overlooking the fields and the hills. Probably the best located lodge on the park. Excellent for our large labradoodle. Liked the dog run area. The the play park and small football goals would be ideal if we return with the grandchildren
Would definitely come back again - providing the weather improves - it poured down all week, but can't really blame that on the Lodge!



What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The amenities, comfort and location of the Lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Had a nice meal at the Mortal Man Inn, which although probably within walking distance, would mean walking along a narrow road with no footpath.

Anthony from Woking stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Lovely stay at Limfitt

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The beautiful surroundings and peace and quiet were lovely and The Herwick Lodge was lovely and very enjoyable. We were so near to Windermere but out of the hustle bustle a perfect location. We had our dog with us and loved the dog friendly pub and the dog field. We will definetly return to Limfitt again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The beautiful surroundings and peace and quiet. The Lodge was lovely and very enjoyable

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We were so near to Windermere but out of the hustle bustle a perfect location. Perfect location if you have a dog



Karen from Long Buckby Village stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


Peace and Quiet.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Herdwick lodge was wonderful, The views from the lodge was beautifully breathtaking and we had great weather for it, waking up early to hear all the different sounds of nature was enjoyable and it was a delight to also see the deer. The lodge was immaculate and had everything we needed. The spar bath was great after a long walk! The site was very clean and quiet, and we had a great time with the family and our grandsons who loved the big playing field, park and the stream although we were disappointed we couldn't get into the river pool due to a wasps nest near the entrance. The food in the pub was lovely but we thought a little overpriced, it was very accommodating for children though. We will be booking another holiday at Herdwick very soon :)

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views and peace.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Elterwater walk.

Daniel from St Helens stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Daniel and we are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Herdwick Lodge and spotted some of the local wildlife. We have passed on your comments to the park owners about the wasps nest near the river pool although we hope you or other guests reported this to them whilst here. Similarly your feedback on the service and food in the Haybarn Pub. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Herdwick lodge in the future. It is certainly a fabulous comfortable lodge, with lovely views and is hugely popular with our guests.

Peace and relaxation

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Herdwick lodge is the nicest lodge that we have stayed in for a number of reasons. The location affords possibly the best scenic outlook. The lodge has been fitted out with high quality items i.e. All Boch equipment in the kitchen and Samsung t'v's however it is the attention to detail that the owners have made to the lodge that makes it special.We look forward to returning in September.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views from the decking

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Blackwell arts and crafts house



Drury from Featherstone stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Beautiful lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Herdwick is easily the best situated lodge at the park with a lovely backdrop and not being overlooked.
Having 2 bathrooms is great, the facilities inside were well thought out and it has a comfortable bed and sofa.
The park and pub staff were very friendly and food in pub was good value.
My only negative comment would be the late check in and early check out times meant it really felt more of a 3 day holiday rather than the 5 paid for. Would definitely go back though, very relaxing and lovely to be able to watch the deer every day so close to lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quiet, relaxing, lovely views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Take your own boat out on Windermere and try Queens Head for a meal.

Victoria from North Yorkshire stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and kind comments, Victoria. It is always a pleasure to hear when guests have had an enjoyable stay – and indeed Herdwick Lodge is a beautiful lodge. Luxury accommodation in a fantastic location looking out across the open fields and fells beyond, the views are stunning. We have noted your comments about an early check in/late departure and we would love to allow our guests to have more time in their lodge. We only have a limited amount of time for the lodge to be cleaned, prepared, checked and any maintenance issues addressed and we don’t want guests to arrive and find things are not ready for them. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused although we were pleased to hear you are looking to return in the future. A holiday retreat that is perfect for relaxing and unwinding.

Perfect Lakeland getaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was absolutely immaculately presented and was truly home from home. The views and the location are stunning! We had the most relaxing time and hope to return soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views and the home from home of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Flying Pig pub in Windermere



Rebecca from Worsley stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Rebecca and letting us know you enjoyed a very relaxing break at Herdwick Lodge. Indeed the views are just stunning – and delightful to wake up to. For those looking to relax and unwind in luxury accommodation and surrounded by beautiful countryside then Herdwick is the perfect choice – and the ideal location for spotting the local ‘herdwick sheep’. We are delighted to hear you would like to return and look forward to welcoming you once again.

Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great holiday even the rain didn't spoil the stay. A great place to relax and unwind in an amazing lodge

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything and the deer walking past the lodge just finished it off

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Any walking is great



Stephen from Bradford stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful comfortable lodge in a stunning location on an excellent site that balances ameneties with relaxation. Whats not to like?

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Mountain bike riding in the area



Glynn from Sheffield stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


A week in lakes

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The second time we have stayed fantastic property and great
service from staff on site and booking agents were great to deal with would recommend it for staying in lakes

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Heat base home from home

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk from wrath castle to hawks head great day



David from Ripon stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments, David. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed another fantastic stay at Herdwick Lodge. A week in the Lakes staying in luxury accommodation, how much better can it get? The chance to relax and soak up the amazing scenery from the comfort of the lodge or from the many walks the Lake District has to offer. A relaxing stay in a home from home and in a stunning location. Perhaps we will see you again for a third visit in the near future?

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both enjoy our stay lovely lodge in excellent position on limefitt first visit to this lodge would revisit

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Home from home excellent weekend break

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ambleside Christmas lantern parade



Susan from Widnes stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Susan. We were very pleased to hear you both enjoyed a lovely weekend here, an excellent choice for a relaxing break. And the Ambleside Christmas Parade is a superb day out that gets better and better every year. We love Herdwick Lodge and delighted you do too – Luxury accommodation with magnificent views of the fells and Troutbeck Valley. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

November in Limefit Park

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable stay again. Lovely and warm after a day out in the cold.
Everything was provided to allow a pleasant stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view up the valley with snow on the tops.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit Grassmere



Michael from Birstall stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in November 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Michael. We were delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Herdwick Lodge. It provides guests with very comfortable and cosy accommodation, and of course stunning views of the beautiful countryside and the Lakeland fells. November is a lovely time of year to come as the scenery is magnificent – especially with snow on the tops. We are always delighted when guests have had a good time and return for another stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.

herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic lodge very clean tidy and comfortable ,veiws were amazing ,everything we needed like home from home.would certainly stay again. jacuzzi bath was great after along day ,wanted to take it home with us thanks for a lovley relaxing holiday

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
grizedale forest.great walks.



Neil from Lancs stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


Great short break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very impressive lodge in a lovely area clean comfortable and warm.would have liked to stay longer. Great base for the lake district area.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Family time

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizdale Forrest



Alison from Goring By Sea stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in October 2016


Great lodge for a family

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
3rd stay at Limefitt but 1st at Herdwick Lodge. The lodge was modern, spacious and well equiped, perfect for a family of 4 and in a good quiet location.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely lodge and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole park for families



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in October 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and letting us know that you enjoyed your time here. A superb spot for a relaxing family break yet close to many local attractions for great days out – Brockhole is brilliant for outdoor activities, and such fun. We were delighted to hear you chose Herdwick Lodge this time, one of our luxury options and fully equipped for families or couples with the advantage of spectacular views. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous lodge second time we have stayed, very well equipped, good location and very cosy. Will hopefully be returning next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A day out to Tarn Hows lovely walk.



Tracey from Lytham stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in October 2016


Very enjoyable week at Herdwick Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Herdwick Lodge Ticks all the boxes it was clean comfortable well fitted out and superb position views unsurpassed
I spent a week their with my cocker Spaniel Poppy weather was super all week a big plus for Lakes and Limefitt Park is a very special place to me I have been visiting as owner and renter for 35 years. This was my third stay at Herdwick Lodge this year and I will be re booking in the future. I highly recommend Herdwick Lodge

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The Lodge position and comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking around Troutbeck from Lodge



Maureen from Barnsley stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


Lovely Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday at Herdwick Lodge, the accommodation was excellent, the only thing was we found the bed to be uncomfortable, but other than that the lodge was well presented and clean with everything you needed. There is sunloungers and a good wicker patio dining set for sitting out and enjoying the wonderful view from the lodge. This is a beautiful lodge with the added bonus of taking a dog.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Coming back to the Lodge for an evening drink on the decking overlooking the beautiful view.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walk up to the Mortal Man for Sunday Lunch is well worth it. Sunday Lunch excellent and wonderful views.



Philip from Swindon stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Philip. We were delighted to hear that you had a lovely holiday and the accommodation excellent. Our apologies that you found the bed a little uncomfortable. We do find comfort to be one of personal preference although we have passed your comments back to the lodge owners. We are pleased to say that they have decided to purchase a new mattress as guest comfort is very important to them. We were delighted it did not impact too much on your otherwise very enjoyable stay. The lodge is in a super location for walking and the Mortal man is a wonderful pub in the heart of the countryside – ideal for a spot of lunch and a beautiful beer garden for summer days (acclaimed to be one of the best in the country). Herdwick is one of our luxury lodges and set in a peaceful location, it provides a home from home with a touch of class and stunning views of the fells. Where better to be?

Home from home!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Herdwick Lodge. It was really comfortable, clean and provided everything we needed. Excellent location with fantastic views from the decking area. My daughter didn't want to go home!

The park itself was also lovely with a great pub and park on site. We would definitely return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet all around!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
South Lakes safari zoo



Michelle from Gateshead stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


herdwick

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd time staying in the herdwick and we were a bit concerned it would live up to the standard of last year......but we need not have worried it was wonderful we loved every minute of our stay....thankyou

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
lodge and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
troutbeck tongue walj



Jill from Wallsend stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


our stay in herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First impression of Herdwick lodge was really good log cabin in an excellent position, maybe the best position on the park.
2nd bedroom was too small for adults, maybe could do with a TV and definately a mirror. The cabin was excellent in the kitchen area and very well equipped.uncomfortable seating in the lounge for 4 adults, but very clean and furnishings good. The balcony was excellent and the best furnished and well kept that we have had so far, excellent flowers and lovely seating outside. Being wildlife enthusiasts, excellent position to see the badgers and roe deer as we did nearly every morning and evening. would recommend to friends and family and would return again in the future

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
excellent position to see the wildlife

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wray Castle,Tarn Hows and the garden centre,Hayes

Gaynor from Leeds stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, John. We were very pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay, although we were a little surprised you found the 2nd bedroom too small for adults. The bedroom comes with two full size single beds to ensure a comfortable nights sleep and fitted wardrobes with drawers to optimise the space available. We do however take on board all your constructive comments and have passed them on to the lodge owners for their consideration as we are always looking for ways to ensure a comfortable stay throughout. The lodge is situated in a marvellous location looking out towards Troutbeck valley and the surrounding fells, and the inside is very tastefully designed to offer luxury accommodation. A beautiful holiday retreat in a quiet and peaceful location. Thank you for recommending this lodge to others and we are delighted to hear that you will be returning in the near future.

Fantastic lodge and beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to Limefitt Park which is in a fantastic location. Park is beautiful with lovely walks and views and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Haybarn pub serves great food and have a great beer garden. Very dog friendly with secure dog park and loads of the shops cafes and pubs allow dogs in which is a bonus. First time in Herdwick Lodge and it was perfect, everything you needed and it was in the ideal spot with a fantastic view just couldn't fault it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge and the views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness which has loads to do and see.



Paul from Thornton-cleveleys stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in June 2016


Herdwick Lodge with all the convenices of home

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely lodge in a beautiful location overlooking the large well maintained recreation field with the hills in the not too far distance . The outdoor furniture was quite adequate and comfortable for breakfast and an outside evening drink. The lodge had very adequate facilities and lovely personal touches. A very short walk to the dog field and beck (essential).

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge was very comfortable and very well equipped the views were amazing. Loved watching the Roe Deer come out in the evening. The bed was very comfortable after a long day on the fells.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Try the walk up Robin Lane by the cafe onto Wansfell - fantastic views over Windermere. The walk down the valley behind Limfitt is also lovely a nice round trip



Diane from Swinton stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in May 2016


First visit to the Lake District

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this lodge was superb! Everything we wanted was in the lodge and the location close to the Kirkstone Pass was brilliant. The back up from maintenance when we had a little problem with the cooker was prompt and very efficient. And who needs a 'hot tub' when you've got a 'spa bath' as good as Herdwick Lodge. We liked the concrete/slate sheep on the terrace so much we bought 3 at the garden centre... We've called them 'Herdwick', 'Amble' and 'Kirk'!! Highly recommended lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and tranquility. And Dereck the deer!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wast Water (our favourite lake) it's quite a way out and the two passes are a bit 'hair raising' but take care and it's worth the visit.



Dave from Basingstoke stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in May 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, Dave. We are so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and delighted you found the location of the lodge just what you were after. Very close to Kirkstone Pass and having delightful views, in fact stunning. We are glad we could resolve the issue promptly for you, the hob has a safety feature of a gas cut off switch that can get mistaken for being a ‘sparker’ and that the hob automatically sparks when you turn a gas ring on. We are pleased you brought it to our attention and we can now amend the instructions for the ease of future guests. Herdwick is one of our luxury lodges being very well equipped with all the comforts from home, and more, as you found out with the ‘spa bath. Delighted you enjoyed our ‘friend’ on the terrace and hope you get as much delight out of Herdwick, Amble and Kirk! Very kind of you to recommend this lodge, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

short break in May

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge in an excellent position, the site has superb facilities and the staff can't do enough for you. Pub on site friendly with great food. Will definitely be back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Beautiful views and very friendly well maintained site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up to Heron Pike



Colin from Widnes stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in May 2016


Me and my cocker spaniel Poppy's stay in Herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An enjoyable stay in Herdwick lodge apart from the snow ,hale rain and wind but it was across country not just Lakes

The lodge itself was special home from home and comfortable and clean the position is superb overlooking the fields and fells
I had daily visits from the deer and the Badgers and the weather did not bother them.
Did manage to walk Wansfel and enjoyed the views across Troutbeck and Ambleside from top
Limefitt is in my opinion the best place to stay in lakes.away from the hustle and bustle and lots of walks without the worry of parking

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The whole package

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wansfel

Maureen from Barnsley stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments and awarding us top marks on all aspects of your stay, Maureen. We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time at Limefitt, even with the ever changing weather. Although the fells and countryside look beautiful covered in snow, quite magical and no better place to enjoy those views than at Herdwick Lodge. Such a stunning outlook up towards Troutbeck valley. And the views from Wansfell must have been amazing (weather permitting!) After a day out walking the lodge is the perfect retreat. Cosy, warm and with all the comforts of home. We will be delighted to welcome you back for another stay (complete with your loyalty discount as a returning guest).

Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent place will go back had a great week visited loads of great places love the lakes it's good because the walks are great if you like walking or if not the towns are good to visit we took the dog so walked a lot but enjoyed the places we visited as well came home chilled out very nice

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Drunken duck great food



David from Ripon stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in March 2016


AMAZING

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WHAT CAN I SAY! AMAZING PLACE, AMAZING STAFF, SECOND YEAR TO LAKES FIRST YEAR WAS AT WHITE CROSS BAY N THIS YEAR WAS AT LIMEFITT HAVE TO SAY LIMEFITT PARK IS AMAZING PLACE TO STAY, ALSO SOMETHING MASSIVE TO ME BUT TO OTHERS WILL BE A SMALL THING IS THAT IVE JUST HAD OPEN HEART SURGERY JUST OVER A YEAR AGO AND TO SEE A DEFIBRILLATOR ON SITE N RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE SHOP IS AMAZING AS I AM A WORKING WITH A VERY CLOSE CHARITY TO MY HEART THAT IS KNOW AS SADSUK THAT HELPS N SUPPORTS SCHOOLS AND WORK PLACE N PLACES LIKE PARKS N HOLIDAY PARKS TO GET FUNDING FOR THESE MACHINES GREAT WORK.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
EVERYTHING EVEN THE RAINING DAYS OUT DIDN'T STOP US

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
GARDEN CENTRE UP THE ROAD AMAZING

Christine from Widnes stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in October 2015


Comfortable stay in a lovely lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Probably one of the best located lodges at Limefitt Park. The view over the play aera up the valley is beautyful. Every thing we needed was provided and we lacked for nothing. Hope to return next year for peaceful and comfortable break.


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tarn Hows



Michael from Birstall stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in November 2015


The Lakes

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent Lodge that is extremely well equipped and to my mind has one of the best positions on the site with a lovely view of the mountains from the lounge.
All the staff on site very friendly including in the pub, our only complaint would be the food in the pub took an awful long time to get served even when it wasn't very busy but staff were lovely.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Walking amongst breathtKing scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Go on a steamer on Ullswater.



Liesel from Hull stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in October 2015


Relaxing holiday at Herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thought the lodge was really clean and best location overlooking the playing field.. The Haybarn pub on site serving lovely meals . We have already booked again for 2016 .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Herdwick lodge overlooking the playing field

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking Keswick around the lake



Susan from Stoke-on-trent stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in October 2015


herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed here before i knew it would be warm, comfortable, clean and wanting for nothing and this time even the weather was great. A lovely lodge to stay in with a good view of fields and trees.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
hayes garden world in ambleside



Andrea from Blackburn stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in September 2015


Wow

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying in a Lodge on Limefitt Park but certainly wont be the last. Lodge was fantastic, exceptionally clean considering it is a pet friendly lodge and didn't smell of dog! Everything we needed for a comfortable stay was provided. The view was amazing. A definite home from home. Thank you.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Enjoyed everything about our stay, the lodge, the site and the amazing view.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Loved Bowness on Windermere



Alison from Leeds stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in September 2015


Lovely cabin in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in the luxury cabin with an amazing outlook, the park is very dog friendly, people without one, must feel left out. The on-site pub is very good, again with wonderful views from the beer garden.

Highly recommended, we will be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Windermere boat trip to Ambleside



Matthew from Nottingham stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in September 2015


Lovely lodge on a nice quiet park

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic stay at herdwick lodge. Could not fault a single thing. I don't think we've ever stayed anywhere that was so well equipped. The park is great for little ones as it's nice and quiet, big field for playing games (right outside herdwick lodge & we saw deer early in the morning from the living room window) and the children's play area is great. We would definitely stay here again!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lovely peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Fell foot park on a nice sunny day



Philip from Cottingham stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in August 2015


Home from home.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful lodge with stunning views. Everything you might need or want is readily available. A stunning location from which to be as active or relaxed as you like.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Relaxing on the terrace.



Guest from Blackpool stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in August 2015


happy family

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay a limefitt ,we love it there is nothing better. This was our first stay at the Herdwick and it was amazing, we couldn't of ask for anything more (well we could better WiFi network on the site ),but the lodge was perfection down to comfort and cleanliness, would love to stay again ,but its a little pricier than others so was a treat for us ,hope to be able to afford to stay there again as we now have been spoilt, some others could take some tips from this lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
comfort of lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
easdale tarn,its a trek but worth it.



Jill from Wallsend stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in August 2015


Very enjoyable holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Herdwick lodge for 3 nites during the summer. It was a great experience, very comfortable, excellently equipped, nice view, convenient location. The only thing to complain of is that we don't have more time to stay longer .... Missing it already, will definitely come back later !!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just relax in the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Pony ride



Guest from Quarry Bay stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in July 2015


Fantastic lodge. Great location. Best view.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great stay at herdwick lodge. In our opinion it is the best lodge on site, boasting the best views from the sitting room and balcony. The standards of cleanliness and the effort gone in to make the lodge up to the best hotel standards was fantastic. We didn't get the weather but it didn't spoil our fun. The only downside was the fact we needed to use the travel cot for our 10 month old which left little room in the bedroom and was hard to stay quiet and not wake them. To be expected with light sleeping babies though :-) !

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Motor boat hire, windermer. But get more than 1hour.

Paul from Southport stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


A home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning, well equipped home from home that our family loved. Beautiful views in a breathtaking area. Very close to amenities & lots of activities to do with the whole family. Onsite staff extremely helpful & polite. Would highly recommend Herdwick lodge to everyone & would love to come back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tree top trek is a great day out for the whole family. 10 minutes away



Gus from Erskine stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in July 2015


Lakes holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday accommodation.the one thing that has annoyed us intensely is having to fill in every question and then be asked for a story. ........

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The convenience to so many attractions in the area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole we really enjoyed it.



Guest from Melton Mowbray stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for completing a brief review of your stay at the very lovely Herdwick Lodge. Delighted to hear you rated all aspects of your stay as a perfect 5 out of 5.

A Nice Break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Easy to get to.
Great surroundings.
Weather not too good but I couldn't do anything about that!
Loads of lovely walks.
The Pub was good.
Good facilities.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Pub



Guest from Ashington stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in June 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted to hear you had a nice break at Herdwick Lodge and thank you for completing a review for us. It enjoys a lovely location within Limefitt Park and is a great base for exploring the wonderful surroundings and going out on the many walks which start quite literally from your front door!

Herdwick Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super time at this lodge - very comfortable, very well equipped and an amazing view from the deck! Our 3 year old didn't want to leave, especially as it was so close to the field and play area. She also was delighted to find a Frozen DVD ready to watch! Many thanks to the lodge owners.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
View

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lunch at the Apple Pie cafe - our 3 year old LOVES everything on the menu (adult and children's!)



Guest from Warrington stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in May 2015


Already planning our next visit

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge more than lived up to our expectations. The standard of the lodge throughout was excellent and the personal touches, from lovely paintings, books, and interesting knick knacks, made it seem more homely than most lodges.
It felt like a home from home, not just for comfort but everything was supplied for every need.
The peace and quiet was lovely, sitting outside watching the mountain scenery change with the light throughout the day, and watching the deers come out to feed. We even saw birds we'd never seen before and they were so tame.
We will most certainly stay at Herdwick Lodge again as we visit the Lakes at least once a year and it's a good base for many walks and excursions.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
One of the enjoyable experiences was daily visits from a tiny female Goldcrest who flew back and to to harvest fibres from the coir matting for the nest she was building in a conifer tree a few feet away. She didn't mind how close we were and even stopped to study us at times.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Orrest Head is always worth a visit, if you arrive too early for your lodge, park at the railway station, cross the main road and follow the signs for Orrest Head. It's not a difficult climb and the views are wonderful, we could even see Morecambe Bay in the distance. Take a picnic lunch to enjoy before making your way back down,.

Guest from Crewe stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in June 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for completing a review of your stay at Herdwick lodge. We were delighted to hear you rated all aspects of your stay as 5 out of 5 at this beautiful lodge. The views are simply stunning and when you add in the comfort of a homely, cosy lodge then you have the prefect place to enjoy a stay when visiting the Lake District. We look forward to welcoming you back to Herdwick Lodge very soon.

A lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful few days and felt thoroughly relaxed at the end of our stay in this lovely lodge and park. We will definitely be returning in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quiet and tranquility

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit the mortal man for lunch



Guest from Trispen stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in May 2015


An excellent stay at Herdwick Lodge.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Herdwick Lodge is a beautifully decorated lodge that is very comfortable and exceptionally clean. It is also located in the perfect position as we spent our days either skipping rocks at Ullswater, visiting Ambleside or walking around Windermere, all of which are only a short drive away. Myself and my party thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Herdwick Lodge and will definitely be staying again. (For anyone planning to stay here I would definitely recommend sitting on the decking to the back of the lodge, that looks over the playing field, early in the morning to see young deer grazing and playing together).

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Waking up at around 6am and enjoying a coffee on the decking overlooking the playing field where there were young deer every morning.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ullswater, Windermere and Ambleside were lovely to visit.

Guest from Harrogate stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in April 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Herdwick Lodge. We were delighted to see that you awarded a perfect 5 out of 5 rating for all aspects of your stay. The lodge enjoys stunning uninterrupted views from the deck when you can spot the wildlife which abounds at Limefitt Park. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay very soon (complete with your returning guests discount too!)

herdwick lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a beautiful lodge with nothing to want for and comfortable beds, the views are lovely from the front and the site very quiet and relaxing. a good base to go sight seeing from.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
relaxing place to stay

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
visit keswick on market day



Guest from Blackburn stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in March 2015


Weekend break just what the doctor ordered!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge with plenty of space and very comfortable. Tranquil surroundings and a feeling of getting away from it all. Have stayed at the park before and feel it is well located for good walks with the dog and traveling to neighbouring towns. Grassmere for the gingerbread!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Tranquil setting

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Easy to follow walking guides



Keith from Heywood stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in March 2015


Perfect weekend!!

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic lodge. Very modern with a lovely view overlooking the recreation field and hills. It was a perfect location for our dog. We will definitely be booking again the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Eating in the hay burn onsite



Christine from Chorley stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in January 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted to hear you had the 'perfect weekend' at Herdwick Lodge, Christine. Thank you so much for writing another review which rated all aspects of your stay as a maximum score of 5 out of 5. We will be pleased to welcome you back so you can enjoy more of the lovely views straight out of the lodge window.

Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Log cabin was beautiful, spotlessly clean, really warm and cosy. Cannot fault anything was just perfect! Lovely views. Will definitely go back this year we loved it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and log cabin

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks locally



Claire from Manchester stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in December 2014


Hard wick lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful weekend, the lodge was like home from home. The views are breathtaking friendly staff the Restarant and bar was very nice food was excellent all in all excerlant all round

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walking



Guest from Todmorden stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in November 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for adding to the list of lovely reviews we have received for Herdwick Lodge. It is really appreciated and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed staying there and seeing the beautiful view from the lodge.

EXCELLENT

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge we stayed in was fabulous! Coulnd't fault it in any way. The food at the Haybarn was reasonably priced and good.
The whole site was well looked after.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lovely lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
!!!



Guest from Lytham stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 2 nights in November 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
What more can we add than to say "Thank You" for taking time to tell us that you rated all aspects of your stay as 5 out of 5.

Monday to Friday break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fantastic time at herdwick lodge. The weather wasn't the best but that didn't stop us from having a great break. The lodge is in a beautiful location overlooking the playing fields. It is very well equipped and furnished to a high standard. Two adults and two teenage kids plus a king Charles cavalier dog were really happy with all about limefitt park again. We would stay in the herdwick lodge again. Trevor, Anne, Emily, Joe and Charlie the king Charles.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the veiw

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
the haybarn pub and restaurant



Anne from Wigan stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 4 nights in October 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We were really plaesed to hear you enjoyed your stay at Herdwick Lodge, Anne. Thank you for completing a review for us. It is quickly becoming a favourite with our guests because of the lovely view.

Pleasure

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a pleasure to stay at Herdwick Lodge, the view was fantastic. The walks fab,cabin fab site fab we will be back soon.
Staff on the site very nice & helpful.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The log cabin

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The perfect view



Guest from Wirral stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in October 2014


Mark - Lake District lodeg Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and rating all aspects of your stay at Herdwick lodge as 5 out of 5. We agree that the view from the lodge is quite fantastic - in fact one of the best on Limefitt Park!

Great Lodge!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Herdwick Lodge in September 2014. It is a lovely well equipped lodge, with everything you could need supplied..we walked in, unpacked, and felt right at home! The bed was really comfy, and we enjoyed many an evening sitting out on the deck, which had a beautiful view.
All in all we had a brilliant stay, and would recommend this lodge highly.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We enjoyed sitting out on the deck enjoying the lovely view

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grasmere is a must visit...beautiful place!



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the very kind review of your stay at Herdwick Lodge. Delighted you rated all aspects of your stay as 5 out of 5. The views are amongst the best on Limefitt Park and Herdwick Lodge is fast becoming a favourite with our guests.

A wonderful break in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall,we had a fantastic stay at Herdwick lodge. The lodge was spotlessly clean, luxurious, had everything we needed, with the views to die for!

The only reason I have marked down the service to good is because we didn't really have cause to use the reception etc so cant really rate it higher than good. However the pub was lovely, food, service and facilities great.

The only negative comment I have and this is not coming from me (!) is regarding the signal and internet strength, I can survive without it for a week but others in the party struggled, however I appreciate there's not a lot you can do about that!


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the location on the park, the luxury of the lodge and been in such an amazing beautiful part of the UK!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Just to get out and experience all the above, i.e. walk,watersports, restaurants etc

Guest from Dronfield stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Herdwick Lodge. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay there (especially the fabulous views from the lodge itself). Unfortunately due to the park's location and the terrain the wi-fi can be a bit patchy and we ensure people are aware of that prior to their visit just in case it is important to them despite being on holiday.

All four of our party thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location, lovely lodge, one slight problem, rectified immediately by Craig i.e. we could not operate the oven as safety lock on with which we were not familiar.

Guest from Higham stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 3 nights in August 2014


August Bank Holiday week at Herdwick Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our weeks' stay at Herdwick Lodge, we didn't want to leave! The lodge is modern but with a homely feel and very well equipped. There are lovely views and is very family and pet friendly. Limefitt Park is such a relaxing place, always seeming quiet even though fully booked as expected in the August Bank Holiday week.

Our daughters enjoyed the Pony Trekking and the adventure playground. There is a good sized dog exercising area and plenty of lovely walks on the doorstep. We will be returning next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing environment

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Treetop Trek at Brockhole

Guest from York stayed at Herdwick Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Herdwick lodge. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back (complete, of course, with your returning guests discount!)