FB Twitter

Helm Crag Lodge

Helm Crag Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Helm Crag Lodge is located on Limefitt Park at Kirkstone 17. This is a modern, luxury 2 bedroom self-catering lodge. Sorry we are unable to accept dogs at Helm Crag.

Weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely modern lodge with all the comforts of home. Had much more space than we expected even though it's only a two bedroom lodge. Outside there was comfortable loungers to enjoy the sun. Would highly recommend Helm Crag for a fantastic, relaxing break.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walk up the hill behind the Haybarn is nice and not too strenuous



Joanne from Preston stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 2 nights in June 2019


Excellent stay at the lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed out stay here the lodge had everything in it that we needed very comfortable home from home. We will definitely come back location etc couldn’t have been better.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake trip



Beatrice from Renfrew stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Peaceful weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautifully presented log cabin. Very tastefully decorated and equipped with everything you should need. Immaculately clean, fresh and cosy. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break and highly recommend Helm Crag !

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was a peaceful location and high quality clean log cabin

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
My daughter and u enjoyed the world of beatrix potter



Hayley from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 2 nights in February 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 138 days ago
Thank you for the great comments, Hayley. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your weekend at Helm Crag. Cosy, modern and immaculately presented, this lodge is stunning. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Overall

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall I thought that our stay at crag helm was amazing it was a lovely lodge and we will definitely be coming back again to stay with youselves in the new year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk around the site



Callum from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 2 nights in November 2018


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing lodge will definitely be coming back next year - beautiful place to stay and very peacefull and calm

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Spending quality time together

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Derwent water walk



Susan from Manchester stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in August 2018


Fabulous Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent lodge, had everything you needed. Immaculate inside and outside. Gorgeous location. Could have stayed there for longer.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing and home from home

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Go down to the river on the park



Sally from Bishop Auckland stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in June 2018


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 325 days ago
We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at helm Crag, Sally. It is a lovely spacious lodge which is well looked after and enjoyed by all who stay there. we do hope you will be back for a return visit very soon (not forgetting our loyalty discount!).

Lodge holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful location, good facilities, lovely lodge and great area to visit. Lots of walks close by to access.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Size of accommodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk to Ambleside



Guest from Stourbridge stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Perfect first family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We welcomed our first child into the world back in March and wanted to find somewhere to stay that the three of us could enjoy. Helm Crag lodge and the experience we had with both Limefitt park and Lake District Holidays was amazing.
The lodge was clean and well furnished with some lovely home touches. The kitchen diner/living area was just perfect as open plan and meant our four month old could roll around and play safely whilst one of us cooked. The decking was nice for the cooler, later evenings, and though we didn't use it, the space for a BBQ was welcome.
The view that we did have was beautiful and we had such a relaxing time, that the TV only went on once, to watch 'Miss Potter' after a day at Hilltop, naturally!
It was well equipped and furnished with every possible item we might need. We both said how we wished we had booked for two weeks instead of just one!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How cosy it was

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Footfell

Rebecca from Battle stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


Quality accommodation but some cleanliness concerns with the linen

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was of a very high standard and was extremely well presented with quality fittings and furniture. It was very comfortable and in a lovely setting
The only downside was that the towels did not look totally clean as there were marks on some of them and they did not smell that fresh . We washed these immediately and they came up much better and cleaner
One of the single beds also had a crumpled bed sheet on the mattress and there were some sweet wrappers inside the bed - again we stripped this and washed it before we could use the bed. There were also sweet wrappers under one of the beds when we moved it out to wash the linen
Other than this we had no other issues and hope that this feedback will be useful as we wouldnt want this to become a bigger issue for you going forward

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location was excellent

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Queens head hotel in troutbeck where we had several lovely meals

Guest from Burton Leonard stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in March 2018


2nd trip to Limefitt over Halfterm

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic short break booked through Lake District Lodge Holidays, our 5th stay with them. Excellent service and we prefer to book Limefitt this way now rather than the park.

Lodge cleanliness and condition was great. Would fully recommend.Ideal for families looking to holiday in the Lakes.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quite peaceful site with good quality accommodation.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk around Grasmere and Rydal



Jonathan from Thorton stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 2 nights in February 2018


Best Christmas !

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We went away for Christmas this year , was the best yet so chilled and relaxed once there long drive but worth every mile. Lodge was amazing had everything could need , I actually came back with no washing which was nice as there was a machine there. The only negatives I have to say is the hoover was rubbish kept cutting out and didn’t pick up we’ll and wasn’t much effort made with the Christmas decorations considering we had booked with 2 young kids . Was lovely , warm and cosy in the lodge and we also had a lot of snow why we was there which was in itself amazing and the kids loved it .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The snow

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere town cafe

Chantelle from Barnstaple stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 7 nights in December 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Chantelle. We are delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay at Helm Crag. The lodge is beautifully designed and very cosy for a winter break in the Lakes and with snow as well, how much better can it get? Thank you for letting us know about the hoover and we will make sure it is addressed. We note your further comments regarding the Christmas decorations and can only apologise that they were not as expected, and will bear this is mind in future. We are so pleased to hear you had a really good Christmas at Helm Crag, in fact the best one yet! As you had such a good time perhaps we will welcome you again in the near future, or even next Christmas.

Delightful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a mon-fri stay at Helm Cragg on Limefitt Park. Really enjoyed it, the lodge is perfect, clean and comfortable. It's very spacious and easily accommodated 4 adults and a youngster, who slept on our own blow up bed. Perfectly located on the site, we could actually see the pub! Very quiet site, no entertainment for the chn, other than special events the pub puts on, like a movie night under the stars - which was lovely! Pub does great food and adventure play area is great too. Lodge had everything you would want, so would definitely recommend a stay here.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Combined steam train and lake cruise day out.

Rebecca from Bishop Burton stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in August 2017


August Bank Holiday Break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A short but relaxing break with the family. Lovely site and first rate, spacious lodge.Will gladly return in the future

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quiet location but while still close to main attraction

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to Fellfoot Park



Mel from Whitley Bay stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 3 nights in August 2017


Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean and well equipped lodge. Ideal base to explore the Lake District. Plenty of attractions locally and 2 lovely pubs within walking distance that serve excellent food.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lakeland motor museum



John from Bourne stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Helm Crag

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely base from which to explore the Lake District. We enjoyed walking from the lodge up through Troutbeck and up Wansfell Pike.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Just being in the Lake Districy is always a treat.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking from the lodge up through Troutbeck and up Wansfell Pike. Lunch at the Mortal Man on the way down.



Guest from Leamington Spa stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Family - two boys 5 and 1

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, very clean and perfect for us as a family. Ideally situated for a short drive to Lake Windermere and other places. Facilities were modern and ideal. Made the two boys feel at home, one commenting, "Can we move here?"
Would recommend to anyone. Thank you very much.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being out in nature

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizedale forest.



John from Wigan stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and perfect ratings, John. We were pleased to hear the whole family had an enjoyable stay. Helm Crag offers guests luxury accommodation that is very well equipped for a very comfortable stay, indeed a home from home. The location is ideal for children to enjoy and have fun with plenty of outside space, for those looking for the great outdoors where better to be? Thank you kindly for recommending this lodge and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Enjoyable

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge very clean lovely site ideally situated for Windermere Keswick and Grasmere and Ambleside visiting

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Visiting tourist places

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lakeland motor museum



Dorothy from Manchester stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Perfect spot, new cabin log, good service.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The only improvement suggestion / advise - please make the agent's comms more concise and succinct, putting key information in the top. Don't send so many emails. Don't make references to other emails inside yet another emails. Put the key safe code in bold letters at the top of the email rather than concealing in the middle of it inside a sentence. Make it as a clear summary in one single email what is the arrival and departure procedures, along with location address, key safe code, dates and times.
I know a thing or two in marketing comms and user experience so this was the one and only thing being rather not easy to navigate through during arrival and departure. Hope this helps.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge condition

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aira Force

Alex from Windsor stayed at Helm Crag Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, Alex and letting us know you enjoyed your stay at Helm Crag. Indeed it is a perfect spot and ideal for those looking to relax and soak up the tranquillity of the Lake District – beautiful views and scenery and an amazing lodge. With reference to your suggestions, thank you for these. We continually look for ways to improve our service and to provide accurate, concise and helpful information. Having said that very kind of you to comment that we provide a good service, thank you and delighted to hear you enjoyed staying at Helm Crag – New to our portfolio and a what a lodge! Luxury and spacious accommodation that is tastefully designed and very well equipped for a relaxing and comfortable stay. And with a newly extended decking area to enjoy on those glorious sunny days. Once more, thank you for your feedback comments and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future.