FB Twitter

Grandpa's Lodge

Grandpa's Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 52 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Grandpa's Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Bowness 72. This is a modern and comfortable 2-bedroom self-catering lodge with charming features close to the lake. The lodge offers a spacious deck, Sky Sports and Sky Entertainment channels, surround sound system for the television and Blue-ray DVD player, ipod docking station, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, televisions in both bedrooms, door leading from the master bedroom to the deck and Tassimo Coffee machine. Sorry no dogs accepted.

Please note: Please bring your own pods for the coffee machine.

Perfect lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect homely lodge just the right size for a small family.
Well equipped lodge with the added benefit of a washer/dryer and the bonus of a coffee machine!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable lodge, well placed on the site.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visiting surrounding towns in Lake District



Guest from St. Helens stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 2 nights in November 2019


Really enjoyed our late summer break with the grandchildren at Grandpa's Lodge. So appropriate!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in Grandpa's Lodge. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The kitchen provided for all our needs and matched our own gas hob and electric oven combination. The beds were comfortable. The central heating was efficient enabling us to dry out our swimming things overnight. The lake is just at the far end of the site. We were blessed with several sightings of wild deer close to the lodges. We made good use of the swimming pool and sauna - all well worth the £15.00 charge per stay.
We did not actually use the cafeteria/bar but the menu looked good. The kids enjoyed the on site playgrounds.
Brockhole Adventure playground is just a few hundred yards walk away and we spent the best part of a day there on the tree top nets and playground and exploring the rest of the site. This is definitely on the list for a future visit with the grandchildren as we did not book early enough for the "Go Ape" style climb and amazing zip wire finale.
We also visited Ambleside and walked up to Stockghill Force waterfall. This is best accessed from the town centre car park and is initially not well sign posted.
I often think the acid test of a holiday is "Would we come again?" The answer is a definite Yes!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location was perfect and within walking distance of Brockhole Adventure Park

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Undoubtedly Brockhole Adventure Park. This is the best playground the grandkids have ever seen and plenty for a repeat visit.

Howard from Cheltenham stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in August 2019


Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very spacious lodge in a lovely location. Fantastic sunny decking area and well equipped. We used the pool on site great for a rainy day, although I would not go as far as to day Spa. The lodge is only a 10 minute walk or 5 min on bike to the brilliant Brockhole visitor.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Good location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole visitor centre



James from Stockport stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in August 2019


2nd Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Grandpas lodge. We felt it was excellent last year and it remains excellent this year.
The lodge has everything you could need and more, they also supply some bits to help keep things clean, dishwasher tabs, kitchen towel etc etc. Doesn’t sound much but makes all the difference. Great outdoor decked area and space to park directly outside. Easy to book just wish you could book the weather!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Not the rain.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Great North Swim



Andrew from Manchester stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in June 2019


Weekend at grandpa's lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge in a great spot on the park - close to the lake and the facilities. The lodge is well equipped and the decking area has nice views of the lake. We will definitely book again!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The full sky tv package was a bonus!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip into bowness



Samantha from Sunderland stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 2 nights in May 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 146 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Samantha, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Grandpa’s is a very comfortable two-bedroom lodge in an ideal location to enjoy the views across Lake Windermere. Fully equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay; it is clear to see why Grandpa’s Lodge is very popular amongst our guests. We are so pleased to hear you would like to stay again; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a very enjoyable stay at this lodge. We were very lucky with the weather which made the private sunny deck even more enjoyable.
Perfectly positioned on the site and everything you could want was included.
Would definitely return here.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Sunny deck outside

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Guest from Bolton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in April 2019


Lovely break at Windermere

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed with wife and two young boys and we loved it. Ideal location on the park, close to the amenities but still quiet enough and very close to the lake and excellent views, especially the sunset! Lodge itself was spacious, well furnished and equipped to a high standard

Would definitely return

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The nearby Lakes District Visitor Centre which is a 5 min walk but is also a calling point for Windermere Cruises



David from Liverpool stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in April 2019


Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Grandpa's lodge and another fabulous stay. Beautifully presented, immaculate with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Lovely location and ideal for visiting the neighbouring towns and villages and walks. Would recommend without any hesitation and look forward to returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfortable lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



David from Chester Le Street stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in March 2019


Enjoyable stay at grandpas

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely comfortable stay at Grandpas lodge.The location was perfect, the views were stunning. The lodge was cleaned to a high standard. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here. We will definitely be returning. Hats off to the owners, everything has been well thought out. Also, there are hair driers in the lodge so you do not need to take one. We actually touched lucky as the weather was good for the whole time we were there.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing break in clean and comfortable surroundings.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Consisting lake walk was easy and enjoyable.



Pat from Liverpool stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in March 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 220 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Pat. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at this lovely lodge and thank you for recommending Grandpa’s Lodge. It is indeed a very well equipped lodge with everything you need. With glimpses of the lake from the very spacious decking, it is perfect to sit and relax whilst enjoying the view. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Another Enjoyabl break with Lake District Lodge Holidays

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth break with Lake District Lodge Holidays. As usual the standard of their lodges was great. The lodge was clean and had all facilities to make it "home from home".

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being in the lakes again despite the weather

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Too many to list, read the plentiful supply of leaflets provided in the lodge



Joseph from Macclesfield stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in November 2018


Very Relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


It’ was my first time to the Lake District & couldn’t have picked a better place! The lodge was everything we could have wished for, equipped with everything you need and superb high quality.
A gorgeous base for a relaxing well needed break.


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Spend a day on Windermere



Rachel from Rotherham stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Short Break Away

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was used for a stay away with Pals. It was excellent value for money the lodge was clean tidy and well maintained. Look forward to our next break away.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxation peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit Hayes Garden Centre



Malcolm from Manchester stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in September 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments, Malcolm and it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed staying at Grandpa's Lodge. A very comfortable two bedroom holiday lodge close to the shores of Lake Windermere. A perfect place to relax and unwind with friends. We look forward to you returning for another stay in the near future.

Short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed as soon as we walked in the lodge was clean and welcoming. The park and location was excellent the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking to Brockhole and taking the boat on Windomere.



Erno from Luton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in September 2018


Grandpa's Lodge Whitecross Bay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here for a week in August and found it very comfortable and clean and excellent location, near Brockhole, Ambleside, Windermere and a short walk from the lake. A great holiday for parents and kids alike!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Cosy clean place to stay

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole, 10 min walk away



Guest from London stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Family stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge position was great, it was extremely clean and well laid out, I would definately stay again. The only down to our stay was the pool arrangements, I had two lodges so £15 each, I tried to book but could only get a slot for the Thursday one day, the water I thought was cold, particularly for youngsters. I spent £30 for one half hour swim, not good value.
I know this is Park Deans problem but it will probably have an effect on future bookings.

Well done great holiday

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location and site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
take the boat to Wray Castle



Peter from Liverpool stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in August 2018


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review, Peter. We were sorry your experience of using the onsite swimming pool wasn't that good. it is for those reasons that all guests who book through us have free use of the excellent local health club (Choices) just 2 minutes drive from White Cross Bay. This offers much more flexibility with long opening hours. That aside we were delighted to hear you liked the lodge and rated your stay as 5 out of 5. Grandpa's Lodge is certainly very popular with guests offering spacious, clean accommodation just a short distance from the lake.

Good location on site.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt some of the pillows could be replaced & some chipped china- otherwise a fantastic lodge - we’ll be back

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
A great location, not far from local amenities

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Robert from Ryton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


Mr Edward Popplewell

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely well maintained site.The lodge was well positioned with a good veranda area,pure enjoyment.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Alovely restful time with plenty of walks and places to visit nearby.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit Grasmere village.



Edward from Dobcross stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Grandpa's Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
.
We have been coming to white cross bay now for the last eight years, this was our first time in a lodge.
We chose Grandpa's lodge because of the location and price.
The lodge is just fantastic with plenty of room and great facilities it's just like a home from home. It's nice to have sky TV (even though you don't go away to watch TV.)
There is plenty of room on the decking shame it rained at night. Having a washing machine and dryer is a great touch.
The lodge was very clean and we could not fault it. I would highly recommend a stay here.
It's a shame that the park has gone a bit downhill since being taken over by Park Dean resorts and they had parked some lodges that were being moved in front of our view of the lake so we never had a view as also the hedge was rather high.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Walking the fells we love them and this was a great base to stay.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Have a meal at the Queens head Hawkshead the food is to die for.

Kevin from Northampton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Windermere spring break

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed in the lakes on several occasions, but this was certainly, by far the best accommodation we have experienced. The lodge was 5star in every aspect in a very good location.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Definitely the lodge and it's location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The 77 bus tour around Buttermere from Keswick.



Colin from Bristol stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in May 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments and superb ratings, Colin. Grandpa's Lodge is beautifully presented for guests to simply relax and unwind in comfort. A spacious and modern two-bedroom lodge in the heart of the Lakes, the perfect holiday retreat. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will be very pleased to welcome you for another in the near future.

Restful

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
very nice homely feeling as we walked into the lodge. the size was perfect for the two of us, though I wouldn't like to share with two more adults, two smaller children would be fine.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
My daughter and her family had another log cabin on site and we walked to hers every night for family games night. Most enjoyable.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Plenty to do for children.



Valerie from Barrow In Furness stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in April 2018


A lovely experience.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we observed the excellent location and tidiness of the lodge.
On entering the lodge we were not disappointed, like the outside it was well looked after clean and with a good range of fixtures and fittings.
A very nice spot for our short vacation, and a nice comfortable lodge to come back to at the end of the day.
The site is also in an enviable position near the lake and hosts good facilities.
Thanks for a lovely four days spent with two of or grandchildren.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing even with two young grandchildren, we spent time swimming, walking and lots of board games.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Chocolate workshop in Hawkshead.



Alan from Rochdale stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in February 2018


Our Stay at Grandpas Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve been to White Cross Bay many times it’s in an ideal location and caters for all our needs. Grandpas Lodge is by far the best lodge we have stayed in and we would definitely like to go back this year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It has everything you need

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks



Karen from Buckley stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in December 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Karen and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Grandpa's Lodge is well equipped and beautifully presented for a relaxing break in the Lakes. Thank you for praising the lodge so highly and we are delighted you are looking to return later on in the year.

An excellent lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent Lodge in a key location. Clean, modern, well equipped and a real treat. Perfect for a short break.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing in comfortable clean, cosy lodge accommodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ambleside - walks and mini golf. Plus free air show from RAF



Ian from Clitheroe stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in October 2017


Fabulous Week in the Lakes

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous holiday in the Lake District. Stayed at White Cross Bay several times before but previously in a caravan. Pushed the boat out for a lodge this time and so glad we did. Read reviews who recommended getting a private hire lodge so booked with Lake District Lodge holidays. Again very glad we did. Easy to book, very accurate and detailed descriptions meant we knew exactly what we were going to get and it did not disappoint. Customer service while we were there was also very good. Would certainly book again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quality of the lodge and the location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Loughrigg Fell. Great walk with youngish children.

David from Motherwell stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in October 2017


Family friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed here with my 81 year old mother and my sister and we found Grandpas lodge perfect

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location and comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lakeland Motor Museum



Guest from Belfast stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 11 nights in September 2017


Lovely Lakes

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Grandpa's Lodge in Whitecross Bay. From booking all the way through to checking out all communication via Lake District Lodge Holidays was clear and very well organised.

We stayed at Whitecross Bay before so know the site. The lodge was in a great position close to the waterside and has a lovely private deck. Pool facilities are great and bar/restaurant has been revamped since our previous visit.

Lovely staff onsite and thoroughly recommend Lake District Lodge Holidays. We would definitely use them again.


What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location, great site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brocouple is 10 mins walk away and has lots of activities. Chocolate making workshops at The Cocoa Bean cafe in Hawkshead are great for children. Pedro's on the main road do great good, great, fun service too.

Stephanie from Widnes stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Grandpa's lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Grandpa's lodge for 3 nights in August for a relaxing break with family. Grandpas lodge was very clean and had all the home comforts you could wish for, very much a home from home ideally located in a lovely setting. We had a wonderful break and if was lovely to come back to Grandpa's lodge on an evening. We will definitely look to return next year

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness on Windermere, Beatrix Potter experience, trip on boat on windermere



Claire from Tyne And Wear stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in August 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Claire and it is such a pleasure to read your kind comments. We were so pleased to hear you had a relaxing break and enjoyed the comfort the the lodge. A superb choice for a family holiday; spacious and modern accommodation in the perfect location for visiting the Lake District and the many wonderful attractions. Lovely to hear you are looking to return next year, we look forward to welcoming you once again.

perfecf lodge and location

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stayed here for just under a week , the lodge is perfect, has everything you need and in an ideal location

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location of the lodge was perfect

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trips across the lake



Stephanie from Alnwock stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in August 2017


A fantastic lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent lodge in a great location. Very clean and well equipped with everything you need, home from home! We loved being able to sit out in the lovely decking area and our young children could safely play there. Would definitely recommend this lodge and we would definitely stay here again. It was also important to us that pets were not allowed in the lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort of lodge and location.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Activities in around Bowness on Windermere



Alan from Falkirk stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in July 2017


a 5 star lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in
Grandpas lodge .it was well equipped in a lovely location . We would recommend .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
A five star accomodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
the Brockhole Visitor Centre. Within walking distance & plenty to entertain families for a whole day.



Robert from Ryton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in July 2017


Grandpars lodge.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean lodge with plenty of space and everything you need to feel at home. We stayed for 7 nights in July and loved it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Having all the luxuries of being at home

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A good walk around Buttermere water. Or hit a few fells if you know what your doing.



David from Basingstoke stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Simply The Best

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is the last thing in luxury you could wish for, every little detail thought of, and we would most definitely use it again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The friendly atmosphere of the place

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The closeness of the lake



Thomas from Glasgow stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in July 2017


Grandpa's Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was modern and clean, it had everything you needed even washing up licquid which is unusual. You can see the lake from the balcony, unfortunately it was raining most of the time we were there. There is only one negative comment I can make, and that is the mattress which gave me a bad back. Overall we had a lovely time.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It is a lovely walk into Windemere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walk from Grassmere to Easedale Tarn then onto Codale Tarn (little bit of a climb to the second Tarn)



Elaine from Longlands stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in June 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Elaine and letting us know you had a lovely time. The lodge offers spacious and tastefully designed modern accommodation, perfect for families or couples – And the ideal location for those who love walking, the scenery is just magnificent. We were sorry to hear the mattress was not quite to your liking. We do find that comfort is a matter of personal preference, having said that we will check for any sign of damage and also pass on your comments to the lodge owners for their reference. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Grandpa’s lodge is a super option when visiting the Lakes and as you rightly point out has a lake view, whether it be rain or shine, beautiful! Perhaps we will welcome you again when the sun is shining?

Fantastic Lodge, great suntrap!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed on White Cross Bay a few times now and this lodge is my favourite of the ones Ive stayed in. Well equipped, clean and great position in the park. The large outdoor area was a great suntrap, getting the sun late into the evening! Will happily return to this lodge in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The outdoor space

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Vinegar Jones Chippy in Bowness



Chris from Ashton Under Lyne stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


Grandpas lodge- Windermere

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, warm and well equipped lodge with everything required for a comfortable stay in the lakes. Great location within short distance of many of the villages / towns and a has a bar / restaurant / small shop / children's play park and swimming pool on site.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge and the close proximity to many of the towns / villages.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to Keswick on market day,



Stephen from Londonderry stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


A very comfortable, pleasant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This lodge is extremely well equipped with everything you need to give you a home from home feeling.. Very comfortable ☺

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ferry trip to Ambleside and Bowness



Glynis from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Glynis. We were pleased to hear you had a very comfortable stay at Grandpa’s Lodge. It is indeed very well designed and equipped for guests to relax, unwind and enjoy – and includes a delightful outside decking area for those glorious sunny days and Sky sports for a rainy day! A boat trip to Ambleside and Bowness is an excellent suggestion and perfect for soaking up the amazing scenery. Perhaps we will welcome you again in the near future for another stay at Grandpa's Lodge.

A lovely break in a lovely lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is perfect for couples or a family of four. It has everything you need for a relaxing break and is situated in an ideal location (in between Bowness and Ambleside). The lodge was really home from home and very clean and well presented. We'd have no hesitation in stopping there again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The Lake District is just beautiful - we loved it all,

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter museum is good for the little ones. There are some great individual shops in Ambleside and the chocolate cafe in Bowness is really yummy!



Vanessa from Stoke-on-trent stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


perfect birthday weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge on a well kept park ..................................................................................................................................................................

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
peace and quiet, views location of lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
due to accident on arrival didnt manage any walks!!!



Amanda from Giggleswick stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Grandpas lodge is a lovely and comfortable lodge it had everything to make our stay perfect although to make it perfect it would benefit from a hot tub.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was home from home.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
It was an ideal location and was an easy walk into Windermere.



Sharon from Preston stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 2 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, Sharon and letting us know you enjoyed your stay at Grandpas lodge. We have passed on your suggestion for a hot tub to the lodge owners for their consideration, thank you. Having said that we were pleased to hear the lodge met all your needs for a very comfortable stay, it is beautifully designed accommodation and very well equipped for guests to enjoy a relaxing and peaceful break in the Lake District. It is indeed, a home from home.

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grandpa's Lodge was fantastic! It was spotlessly clean throughout, everything supplied to ensure a comfortable stay. Beautiful location close to lake Windermere. Will definitely consider returning in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfort within the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake cruises



David from Chester Le Street stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Short stay at Grandpa's Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had four days at the lodge and enjoyed our stay the lodge has everything you need and more.
We hope to return again the whole park is very well kept and staff excellent.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The convenience of having the facility on site to eat out .

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A visit to Grasmere is very worthwhile also further a trip to Cockermouth.



Michael from Oldham stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Perfect lake side retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Grandpas lodge last minute for a pre Christmas get away. We were not disappointed it far exceeded our expectaions it was a real home from home, warm, cosy and well equipped for all your requirements. There was a lovely view from the bedroom of the lake and the autumn colours were amazing, snow capped mountains added to the pre christmas experience. Too cold unfortunately to take advantage of the large and well equipped decking area. The lodge is not far from anywhere with Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside on the door step and a visit to the bakery and chocolate shop in Grange over a must. All in all this was a perfect retreat with excellent facilities. We will be making a return visit.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip up the lake which was amazing with the autumn colours and snow capped mountains.

Stuart from Walsall stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in November 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very informative and kind review, Stuart. It is always pleasure to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable time and we are delighted you did. Grandpa’s Lodge has become a very popular choice for those looking for comfortable and well-appointed accommodation in a superb location – just a couple of minutes walk to the lake front and indeed the lodge has beautiful views of the fells! Even more of an amazing view with the snow on the hills. We look forward to welcoming you again to this perfect holiday retreat.

PMC-DB1i excellent standmount loudspeakers

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation exceeded our expectations. Well presented, clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
comfortable living area

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Our trip to Ullswater - stunning views!



Robert from Northampton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


grandpa's lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had yet another fantastic stay at grandpa's lodge it's our 3rd time there so I think that in its self speaks volumes. Definitely would recommend. We took our 13 year old son and his friend they both thoroughly enjoyed it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
perfect place to be .lodge , location and lake .

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
the tree walk at brock hole



Helen from Shipley stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


12 - 19th August The Mann Family

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super stay in one of the best lodges we've stayed at at White Cross Bay. All the extra comforts made our holiday so much easier. We would love to stay again. Thank you

Ps the emails received about our lodge / stay were also really helpful thank you

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Super site and a super lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
For the children - tree top nets at Brockhole and for the adults Aira Force at Ullswater



Suzannah from Market Drayton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and for awarding us top marks on all aspects of your stay, Suzannah. We were delighted to hear that you all had an enjoyable holiday and so pleased you found the lodge to be the best you’ve stay in! Brockhole is a super day out for all the family and Tree Top Nets just brilliant fun. After a fulfilled day out where better to return than Grandpa’s lodge, it has super accommodation for all the family with all the home comforts and set in the beautiful Lake District. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Fantastic Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This Lodge is top notch, perfect location and of high quality, we had everything we needed for our stay plus more. The site was clean and well looked after. Plenty to do in the area and great restaurants/ coffee shops nearby

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quality and cleanliness of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Beatrix Potter live show



Rachel from York stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in August 2016


A lovely home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and tidy throughout. Very comfortable, with puzzles games, books and dvd/blueray to use !!!!
It was in a peaceful part of the park and just a short stroll to the lakeside.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
it was a home from home with extras. i.e sky tv surround sound two toilets and peace and quite.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
the fantastic scenery and lakeland motor museum.



Neil from Taunton stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


Fabulous bank holiday weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grandpa's lodge was beautiful, There were all necessary things in the kitchen, nice decor and good size of bedrooms. There is a lovely patio with rattan furniture, which feels private and not overlooked from the other lodges. Very close to the lake.
We enjoyed our stay very much and our friends who booked their own lodges said that Grandpa's lodge was the of them all.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The weather, lovely accommodation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We enjoyed walks around Windermere and went on our friend's boat



Olga from Simonstone stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in May 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing Grandpa’s lodge and for taking the time to write a review, Olga. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the beautiful weather. How delightful to spend a day out on the lake – sunny weather, beautiful scenery and magnificent views. How much better could it get? And a lovely modern and spacious lodge to return to after a day out exploring. Set in a lovely location on White Cross Bay with lots of extra little touches to make it feel home from home. New to our portfolio this year and it is fast becoming a popular lodge with our guests. It would be a pleasure to have you return again in the near future and great to hear your friends found Grandpa’s lodge one of the best.

Relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent lodge very comfortable and relaxing. We have been before and definitely go back again. Even the weather was great can't ask for more than that

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge and nice strolls down to the lake

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
To enjoy the lodge. And white cross bay and the lovely Lake District



Jeffrey from Keighley stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in May 2016


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely inside and out. The location was a perfect base for the activities we did. Lake windermere was a stones throw away.
We didn't need to use customer service apart from letting them know we had arrived. A secure site which was peaceful and we were lucky the weather was lovely too. We would definately return to stay at Grandpa's (lovely) Lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location was great

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We loved our time on Lake windermere. Hiring a boat for a couple of hours was easy to do and great fun



David from Colne stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 3 nights in April 2016


A lovely short Easter break.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely lodge in a quiet but convenient part of the complex ( a short stroll to the lake side). The lodge is very clean and tastefully decorated, with a lot of thought put into extras which you might need. Unfortunately we couldn't utilise the lovely decking as it rained. We would recommend Grandpa's lodge to our friends and family.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being in a central part of the Lake District .

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tree top activities at Brochole activity centre, just round the corner.



Ruth from Huddersfield stayed at Grandpa's Lodge for 4 nights in April 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, Ruth, for your review. We are delighted you found everything to your satisfaction and had an enjoyable stay. New to our portfolio this year and with some lovely little touches - Sky Sports and Entertainment Channels! Perfect to keep all the family happy on a wet evening. And on a summers evening the decking area is glorious to take in the views. A good excuse to return! Very kind of you to recommend us to your friends and family, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to Grandpa’s lodge.