FB Twitter

Corner Retreat

Corner Retreat

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Corner Retreat Lodge is located on White Cross Bay at Lakeside 2. This is a modern, comfortable and spacious 3-bedroom self-catering lodge with a large deck and hot tub. The lodge offers a very contemporary feel, two double beds, open plan lounge and dining area, television in the master bedroom, micro Hi-Fi system and iPod docking station, dishwasher and Jack and Jill bathroom shared with the master bedroom. The lodge offers glimpses of the lake itself and the lake and marina are very close by. Sorry, no dogs accepted.

Great short stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge in a great location. Value for money. Fab hot-tub. Kitchen well equipped. Comfortable and clean.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Just get out and explore the beauty of The Lakes



Karen from Co Durham stayed at Corner Retreat for 2 nights in March 2020


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 58 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Karen. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Corner Retreat. This popular three bedroom lodge is a great place to enjoy a short break. A super location for exploring the Lakes relax and a comfortable holiday lodge for relaxing, perfect! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Xmas/ New Year

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge and booking was excellent but entertainment organised by Parkdean Holidays was a sham by asking people to queue for 1 1/2 hours in the rain to buy tickets at 6pm at night. Once ticket was bought you were not allowed to leave the building and come back in so if you didn’t manage to get a seat you would have to stand all night. Also although a lot of people did pay to get in, there were also people entering and leaving without paying !!!! No one monitoring the situation !!! Not good enough !!!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tarn House

Viv from Scarborough stayed at Corner Retreat for 4 nights in December 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 121 days ago
Thank you for your review and leaving such good ratings, Viv. As your comments are mainly related to the park and not the lodge, we can only say sorry although we shall certainly pass on all you have said to the park management for their reference. Given your account of what happened on New Years Eve, we would like to think they will look into this further and make sure something similar is not repeated next year. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We do hope that despite your experience with the park, you had a great stay and enjoyed this delightful three bedroom holiday lodge.

First time in White Cross Bay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Returning to the Lake District for the 4th year running. However first tome at White Cross Bay.
First impressions were good - just a long wait to check in, as I think we arrived at the same time as everyone else checking in on a busy Friday.
Park is much bigger than myself and friends and family are used to. By this, I mean the lodges are much closer together.
Unfortunately the lodge was freezing cold upon entering, and took a while to work out how to use the heating and fireplace.
It became rather apparent that the lodge hadn’t been cleaner, or given a very quick - once over.
Later on I’m the holiday this because apparent as we stayed for a week and as other lodges came to their switch over days, they were cleaned within 15 minutes of new lodge guests arriving - which somewhat explained the lack of cleanliness.
Very nice location on the setting of Windermere, with pub and bar on site which catered to families.
For myself and my group, this just personally wasn’t for us, as we much prefer a quieter setting - this in our opinion is nothing we can “Mark” the park down on, and more our own lack of research.
Lovely week away, and look forward to another stay in the lakes next year, but for us - most likely a stay at Limefitt park, which is set around a mile away, and is much quieter.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Ease of location for walks

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Coffin walk, from Ambleside through Rydal to gramsmere.

Matt from Didcot stayed at Corner Retreat for 7 nights in November 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 164 days ago
Thank you for your review, Matt. We are sorry to hear your stay at Corner Retreat fell short to previous stays in the Lake District. We can only apologise. The lodge is privately owned and has an independent cleaner so we shall of course, raise these issues with them directly. We cannot comment on the cleaners who attend other lodges on the Park although we will pass on your concerns to the park management and advise they look into all you have said. Whilst noting White Cross Bay is not for you, it is a popular park with great facilities for families or friends to enjoy and a stunning location on the shores of Lake Windermere. Despite your concerns, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your week away - thank you.

Great stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at white cross bay and this is the best lodge we’ve stayed at. Everything was perfect with the lodge, it was spacious enough for 6 adults and had everything we needed for the stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
cleanliness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking into Windermere



Demi from Liverpool stayed at Corner Retreat for 3 nights in November 2019


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My Husband and I just returned from our 'Minimoon' at the corner retreat. The lodge is lovely and spacious, it's in a really good spot on the park and is really easy to find. Parking space right next to the decking which was ideal. The place was mostly really clean, apart from a few bugs that had been squashed into the bathroom blinds, small detail but could do with being sorted.
Beds were really comfy and lodge was lovely and warm.
The hot tub was great, although it was only set to 26deg when we got there so make sure you crank it up on arrival. Lovely tub though, clean and well functioning.
The owners were very kind and left us a voucher for the river cruise from Ambleside, we used that and crossed over to Bowness which we thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you!

All in all we would definitely book again!

Note, bring your own salt, pepper, sauces etc as there aren't any supplied.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Loughrigg fell

Rebecca from Southampton stayed at Corner Retreat for 4 nights in September 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 212 days ago
Thank you for your review of Corner Retreat, Rebecca. We are so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and ‘minimoon’. Noting your further comments, we will follow up on these and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We shall also pass on all you have said to the lodge owners for their reference. Thank you. We look forward to you returning for another stay soon.

Short girls break

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was very clean and comfortable. Excellent view of the lake and just a 5 minute taxi ride to windermere itself

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
View of the lake is amazing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip into windermere



Maria from Cockermouth stayed at Corner Retreat for 3 nights in October 2019


Nice park and lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall had a nice break in this lodge. Corner retreat is a nicely decorated comfy lodge. Only a couple of issues, the kitchen light did not work and the second bedroom light fitting kept falling out of the roof. Other than this everything was perfect.
The park is lovely and the hot tub was very comfy and clean.
Overall happy and would return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
South lakes safari zoo



Mellissa from Cupar stayed at Corner Retreat for 7 nights in September 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 140 days ago
Thank you for your review Mellissa, we are pleased to hear you found Corner Retreat to be a comfortable lodge. We have since checked the maintenance issues you reported and these have been resolved. Thank you for making us aware and please accept our apologise for any inconvenience caused. This is a beautifully decorated three-bedroom lodge which is very popular amongst our guests. Spacious, modern and with a hot tub, it is easy to see why guests return! We are delighted to hear you would like to return, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Brilliant weekend away.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge kitchen was great for cooking in everything that you needed was there, great sitting area and table was big enough for everyone to get round, comfy beds bedding and towels provided but need extra towels for the hot tub. You need to take your own toilet rolls hand wash ect. Small Shop on site if you forget anything. Would definitely book this lodge again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge in a great area, great hot tub great for chilling enjoy a great weekend away.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole great day out for everyone and its within walking distance.



Guest from Cockermouth stayed at Corner Retreat for 3 nights in September 2019


Very nice lodge in a good location

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Corner Retreat Lodge was in a good location within the park, not far from the shop, reception and bar etc. and close to the lake. The hot tub was situated at the back of the lodge so was not on the roadside unlike a lot of others. The lodge its self was well equipped and decorated to a good standard. The park was just a short drive or bus ride from Windermere and Bowness.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Good location of lodge and park.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Waterfall walk in Ambleside



Graham from Hertford stayed at Corner Retreat for 7 nights in August 2019


A fantastic base

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Corner Retreat had everything that our family needed. The location on the holiday park was excellent and the location for all the attractions the Lake has to offer also. The park had all the amenities needed for a family with children and grandparents, we ate there most evenings when we didn’t bbq or cook at the lodge. It was lovely to find a lodge that didn’t smell of dogs!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness on Windermere



Jo from Witney stayed at Corner Retreat for 7 nights in August 2019


Corner Retreat - White Cross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall we had an excellent stay at White Cross Bay.

Although we loved the lodge and the hot tub I would like to provide some feedback based on our experience.

Negative:
1) The Lodge from the outside could do with a paint.
2) The door leading into the Main lounge area from the bedroom areas sticks. When you have 2 children under 4 this causes an issue.
3) One of the down lights in one of the bedrooms had fallen out of the ceiling
4) The seal on the bath shower screen was in need of repair
5) I think the shower thermostat was broken, the shower wasn't very hot and the dial could only be adjusted to make it cooler.

Positive
1) Excellent location
2) Hot tub maintained to a high standard
3) Overall cleanliness of the lodge was to a high standard
4) The lodge had everything we need on a daily basis
5) It was good that the lodge was located within walking distance to the Lake district visitors centre, the kids loved it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The scenery and location was excellent

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Go to the Lake district visitors centre

Edward from Benfleet stayed at Corner Retreat for 7 nights in June 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 314 days ago
Many thanks for the review, Edward. We take on board all you have said and apologise for the issues experienced whilst staying at Corner Retreat. We will of course follow up on your feedback and make sure any maintenance issues are addressed – we shall also advise the lodge owners of your comments and suggestions. With that said we are delighted to hear you had an excellent stay and loved the lodge – and hot tub! Corner Retreat is a great place to stay in the heart of the Lakes and we'd be thrilled to welcome you again.

Lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay at white cross bay holiday park, lodge was modern and clean and had plenty of space for 6 adults. Could see the lake from the veranda and a short drive to local towns

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat ride on lake windemere



Adam from North Shields stayed at Corner Retreat for 3 nights in July 2019


Easter break away

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a few problems when arrived but rang help line and was advised what to do. Lodge was in very good location, could see lake from decking. Weather was very good throughout our stay so we had mornings out and spent most of afternoons on decking with hot tub.
Lodge was comfortable and had most things you needed for our stay.
We love this area of the Lake District and this is the third time we’ve stayed here(different lodges). Our stay was made extra special as the very kind owner agreed we could take our dog as we had no one to care for him while we were away. Thank you to Lake District lodges for your excellent customer service.
I would definitely be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Spending quality time with my family in a beautiful part of the country.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness-on-Windermere is very nice only short drive away.

Lindsay from Gainsborough stayed at Corner Retreat for 3 nights in April 2019


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review Lindsay and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Corner Retreat. We were pleased to help with the minor maintenance issue when you arrived. The lodge is very popular, comfortable lodge close to the lake with a lovely outside deck and hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Our March Lakes holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice lodge on a nice park in a great location. Very easy to get to and the use of the Choices Leisure Club was a great bonus.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The walking in the Lakes

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Helvellyn via Striding Edge



David from Sheffield stayed at Corner Retreat for 4 nights in March 2019


New Year Break at Corner Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the lodge on the afternoon of 28th December 2018, and were greeted with a real Christmas tree, twinkly lights on the decking, a bottle of fizz and box of biscuits from the owner, and Christmas cards from the owner and all the staff at Lake District Lodge Holidays!

The lodge is lovely - very tasteful decor, comfortable, really well equipped (especially the kitchen), and is in a great location on the park. The lake is less than 100m away and the childrebs play area/club house etc are no more than 5 minutes walk away.

The hot tub is amazing - it has fancy lights and mini fountains! I would definitely book this lodge again and would highly recommend it.,

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A walk up Stock Ghyll Force near Ambleside - beautiful

Samantha from Sunderland stayed at Corner Retreat for 5 nights in December 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the excellent review, Samantha. We are delighted to read your comments and to hear you enjoyed your stay at Corner Retreat. This comfortable three-bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub is beautifully presented to simply relax and unwind. A wonderful place to stay at any time of the year.

Beautiful lodge - short winter get away

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I visited in November from Monday to Friday, Corner Retreat was a wonderful lodge. Modern throughout and very spacious. You can just see the lake from the living room window and it is only a short walk from the lodge itself. The lodge was very cosy and the electric fireplace (with colour changing surround!) adds a lovely touch for those cold evenings. Everything you need for a self catering holiday is provided and the welcome pack includes some little treats. The hot tub was amazing! Just what we needed for our chilled break. Lovely surroundings and we will definitely be returning to Corner Retreat, we highly recommend this lodge. An additional bit of info for anyone staying here...the light switch for the kitchen is under the microwave...took us ages to find!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The quality of the lodge and the hot tub!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere boat tours.

Jamie from Swindon stayed at Corner Retreat for 4 nights in November 2018