FB Twitter

Badgers Rest Lodge

Badgers Rest Lodge

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 74 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.1
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


Badgers Rest Lodge is located on Limefitt Park at Kirkstone 13. This is a spacious 3-bedroom self-catering lodge with a washing machine/dryer at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. Lovely floor to ceiling views up the valley. Dog friendly - up to 2 small/medium dogs accepted.

Great weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just before lockdown spent long weekend , weather the usual appalling however the accommodation made up for it , really spacious and comfortable in the perfect position

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful , loads of walks and a great pub the Queens head up the lane

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk into Ambleside for coffee then walk back for wine superb



Stephen from Whitley Bay stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in October 2020


Amazing stay at limefitt as usual but needed a clean

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stay at limefitt most years and as usual we had a wonderful time.

Lodge was home from home, very comfy, amazing views and nice and close to the onsite pub , park and dog field.

Our heating broke quite late at night, somebody came out within 15 minutes to fix it and she was very safe, friendly and sorted the issue quickly- great customer service.

Sadly the lodge wasn't very clean, given the current covid world we live in this did shock me. Ive been on other breaks this year and places have been sparkling. There were alot of dead flies laying around, hair on the floor and very dusty. This is the first experience we've had of lack of cleanliness and hopefully a one off.

Still an amazing stay and will certainly be coming back but will probably stay in a different lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Fell foot park

Katie from Wolverhampton stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in September 2020


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 205 days ago
Thank you for the review, Katie. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay although noting there was a cleaning issue, we are sorry. Having spoken with the cleaners to make them aware, we are sure that no further issues will arise. We shall also be closely monitoring the lodge to ensure something similar is not repeated. Thank you for letting us know and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Noting you had a problem with the heating, we were pleased this was quickly resolved for you. On a better note, Limefitt Park really is a beautiful spot and a great place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge was lovely and comfortable and well equipped for our stay. Very quiet and peaceful location.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Trip to ullswater via the Kirkstone pass gave some great views



Angela from Middlesbrough stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in September 2020


Great time , fantastic location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Badgers Lodge. The location was fantastic overlooking greenery . We enjoyed watching the rabbits in the field in the evening.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hriing an electric mountain bike to explore the lake district



Alexandra from Chandler Ford stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in August 2020


Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay. The lodge is in a beautiful spot in the park too. Would definitely return when hopefully next time it doesn’t rain every day.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge, lovely and spacious

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Great location for dog walking



Sharon from Cleckheaton stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in March 2020


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the excellent review and ratings, Sharon. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay at Badgers Rest, despite the rain! This modern and cosy lodge is a great place to stay and the location certainly is ideal for dog walking. A great lodge and super location. We look forward to you returning for another stay soon.

Badgers Rest Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
1st stay at Badgers Rest Lodge very comfortable and clean . The lodge has a lovely view over the playing field which was lovely and peaceful. Would happily return back to the lodge . The Hay barn pub on site is fabulous, lovely food served and made to feel welcome by the lovely staff highly recommend .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view from the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Apple Pie shop Ambleside



Susan from Stoke On Trent stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in October 2019


Fantastic Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badgers Rest Lodge was fantastic . It had everything needed for a perfect stay . New Patio Furniture was delivered on our 2nd day & as we had beautiful weather was used every day / night . Limefitt park is a lovely park very quiet & peaceful & the stream was lovely our grandchildren ( who were in a lodge next door ) & dogs loved it to cool off with the hot weather & the they even caught some little fish . We reccomend The Mortal Man Pub for food had a beautiful sunday lunch there & is a nice walk . We have stayed at other parks but I loved this one & every morning we saw a deer , rabbits and lots of birds . Late at night we saw the badgers. We had a fantastic stay & would definitely recommend a stay at this beautiful lodge .

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful Family time

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Mortal Man Pub for food , boat rides on the lake & a fair on field opposite the lake . The waterfalls was beautiful.

Jacqueline from Jarrow stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


4 day break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After reading reviews about this lodge I thought I would give it a try. All I can say it was an ok lodge, its desperately in need of some TLC and a deep clean. I have stayed in many lodges on Limefitt Park but I dont think this is one I will be returning to unless it gets a massive update on the property. I chose this lodge due to the good reviews left by previous guests. If you book a lodge based on reviews only be mindful of that everybody has different standards hence why this lodge was not to mine.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the weather

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
brockhole visitor centre

Margaret from Sunderland stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Badgers Rest. You are absolutely right that all guests have different standards and expectations. We are sorry that the lodge therefore didn't meet yours although your comments and rating for cleanliness of 2/5 are most disappointing and not justified. The owners are planning a number of improvements over the next few months including new outside patio furniture, external repaint, new mattresses and bedding. The lodge however is still a great place to stay, is very popular with guests and offers great value spacious accommodation with lovely views.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean and had everything you need. Loved the spa shower in the en-suite for the double room.
Absolutely no complaints. Would definitely recommend and would definitely return! Thanks for a great stay

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tarn Howe



Tamar from Scarborough stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in July 2019


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Tamar and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Badgers Rest. It is certainly a very popular, spacious lodge with fantastic views. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Short Break

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely positioned lodge on the park but unfortunately we found the lodge wasn’t cleaned very well and in our opinion was due and update. Actual Badgers lodge sign hanging on by one screw on arrival, old washed out bedding clean but well used, yellow marks from a radiator leak on the bathroom floor, wall paper peeling on places and the chairs at the dining table were all peeling there leather/pvc layer off. With an update and a guarantee that the cleaning was upped would definitely stay again due to the perfect position of the lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views from the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beautiful scenery and good walks

Lyndsey from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Badgers Rest, Lyndsey. We apologise a few things were not quite to the standard expected. We have raised all your concerns with the lodge owners, and they are now addressing the issues over the coming weeks. Noting the lodge was not cleaned to your satisfaction we can only say sorry although we have spoken with the housekeepers to remind them of their responsibilities - we shall also be monitoring the lodge more closely in future. Thank you for letting us know of your concerns. On a better note we are so pleased you enjoyed the location and would consider returning in the future. We’d be delighted to welcome you again and are sure you will have a great stay at Badgers Rest.

Not What We Expected

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This lodge was very tired and is in need of some TLC it wasn’t what we were expecting going by the photos on the website, which possibly were taken some time ago.
The location was fantastic tho and the position on the park itself the views were amazing from the lounge area.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view and the local walks

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to lake Windermere



Claire from Saltburn stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in June 2019


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Claire and we were sorry to hear the lodge wasn't as you expected it to be. The website pictures are an accurate representation of the lodge and the things you have kindly pointed out have been passed on to the owners and we know they will now be addressed. Thank you for these. As you mentioned the lodge is in a lovely position and enjoys far reaching views. It is also very popular with guests and is great place to stay.

June 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is in a lovely location with beautiful views. Great place for young kids to run about. Great week had by us and my parents.

Lodge is spacious and has everything you need including lots of games and books.

Had an issue on arrival that lodge hadn't been cleaned yet but was quickly rectified and staff very apologetic.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The open space and beautiful views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We enjoyed a walk round Ambleside. Some lovely shops. Also a great playpark for the kids at rayrigg meadow as you head into Bowness on windemere. We also enjoyed a day out on the steam train and then the Aquarium.



Sharon from Cumbernauld stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, Sharon, for your lovely review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. May we once again send our apologies for the missed clean, we never like to disappoint our guests and we are sorry the lodge was not ready for your arrival. We are pleased the issue was rectified quickly and you went on to enjoy your stay. We have noted your further comments and have passed these to the lodge owners for their consideration, thank you for these. Badgers Rest is perfect for a large family getaway, ideally placed with great views to enjoy from the spacious decking. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay.

Lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge is in a lovely location overlooking a green area, frequented at night by deer, rabbits, badgers. Lovely to watch.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
I was part of the Shih Tzu convention, so the highlight would have been the meet at Rothay Park.



Joy from Co Durham stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in June 2019


Badgers rest lodge was beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Badgers rest was beautiful, the lodge its self was perfectly equipped for what we needed as family, space for a bbq as well and lovely our door furniture. The location of the lodge was lovely, beautiful views, we saw deer and rabbits which was lovely. The steps up to the lodge were abit difficult for one of the family whose mobility isn't 100% but it would by no means stop us booking up again. We loved it and the pooches loved sunbathing on the decking area..

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge its self was ideal and limefitt park is lovely for walking with stunning views all round.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking and very close to bowness for days on the lake



Katie from Jarrow stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Staying in Badgers Rest at Limefitt Park was a very positive experience

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Badgers Rest located in Limefitt Park was a very positive experience. The siting of the lodge was perfect for the views and for easy access to the amenities available such as dog walking, playground and general recreation. The setting of the park is very discreet in such a lovely location and provides an excellent base for both local exploration and for going further afield to other areas. The accommodation offered by the lodge is to a very high standard.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of Badgers Rest and its siting within Limefitt that provided such a wonderful outlook

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Leaving the car and exploring the Troutbeck Valley on foot using the network of pretty lanes and footpaths



Chris from Henfield stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


Great weekend break!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at this lodge a few years running now, perfect break away just before Christmas will be returning again next year!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing Weekend

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere Christmas Markets



Alex from Liverpool stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in December 2018


Welcome winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Badgers Rest several times with our family and always found it to be comfortable and well equipped. The lodge has a lovely quiet location on the park overlooking a field which makes it a great viewing point for local wildlife. Close enough to Windermere and Ambleside for a drive out to shops and restaurants and far enough to enjoy time away from normal busy work life. We will return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Good break from work

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Quiet location to enjoy walks with the dog



Adele from Liverpool stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in November 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to leave a review, Adele and it is very pleasing to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Badgers Rest. This beautifully presented three-bedroom lodge is an ideal place to relax and unwind. A modern and cosy lodge with magnificent views. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Already booked for next stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time in the Lake District and the lodge looked like a good base to be able to get out and travel around. Being allowed to take 2 dogs was the main reason for choosing Badgers Rest and it didn't disappoint! It was clean and tidy and felt very homely and comfortable. The kitchen had everything you could need and having a washing machine really helped.
The view from the lodge was fantastic and the big windows in the lounge were great to deer and bird watch.
Loved our stay and have already booked in for the next one.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It felt homely and comfortable

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bird of Prey show at Muncaster Castle

Lisa from Southampton stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 10 nights in November 2018


Fabulous Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our third visit and we love it. It is spacious, warm and well stocked in the kitchen and their are games and dvds for the evenings. Is it 5 mins drive from the main road to Ambleside and Windermere so the location is fantastic. Wonderful views with a bird feeder which attracts lots of visitors every day and it’s very peaceful. There is a river which you can paddle in and a playground for primary age kids.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet in a great location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole visitors centre



Catherine from Leeds stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Great lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge had everything we needed for our weeks stay. The site was very quiet which is what we wanted. The kitchen and crockery were well equipped. The lodge itself roomy and considering it was October very warm. The lodge position is great and not overlooked. The site was perfectly located and dog friendly. We will be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location of lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Cathedral caves



Steve from Stockton-on-tees stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Badgers Rest Review

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Badgers Rest was excellent. Very easy to book with friendly staff and good communication before and after the visit.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location was excellent and lodge was lovely. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Had a lovely day out at Bowness and nice walk from the Park into Windermere



Janette from Middlesbrough stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in August 2018


Fab location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really great location. Beautiful lodge, well equipped even to having travel cot and high chair. We love limefitt park. The hay barn has fantastic views and good food. Will definitely return.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location was great

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter is great for young children



Catherine from Carlisle stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


Great lodge, great views, but outdoor seating needs a clean.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badgers Rest is a lovely lodge. Very comfortable, spacious, very well equipped, and with a lovely view over the playing field and woodland. We saw deer, rabbits, a fox and many different birds. It’s in a very peaceful setting.
The outside decking is large and wraps around the lodge. The only problem we had was the cast iron outdoor furniture was so full of bird poop that we didn’t like to sit on it. There is a large tree overhanging it, so some bird droppings are inevitable. But it hadn’t been washed in months. Or at least that’s how it looked. Could the owners not arrange for a jet wash between guests?
There is another table at the other end of the decking, but this is very small and has only two chairs. So it wasn’t suitable as there were six of us.
This is the only reason we would not stay at this lodge again. Limefitt itself is lovely so we will be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views. Scenery. Peace and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Mortal Man pub. Lovely beer garden and views.

Anthony from Bolton stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Lovely experience

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Badgers rest was perfect. The lodge was very spacious for 6 people & 2 dogs, was in a beautiful area and plenty to do! It was very clean and modern couldn't fault anything, would definetaly recommend it to others.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Day out at lake Windermere



Claire from Workington stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in March 2018


A wonderful break at Badgers Rest Limefitt Park

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My partner and I wanted a quiet relaxed break where we could take our dog. Badgers Rest at Limefitt Park was perfect for us. The lodge was very comfortable and very well equipped, it was like home from home. The views from the lodge were beautiful and being self catering we could eat in or out depending how we felt. The parks amenities were good with a pub The Haybarn from which we had a couple of meals that we took away to eat in the lodge. There was a reception with small shop that was very handy. The park had a lot of open areas to walk the dog. A lovely holiday which we would highly recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Getting away for a quiet, comfortable, relaxed break.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wandering around Bowness, Ambleside and Windemere.

Pam from Derby stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and leaving such great comments, Pam. It is very pleasing to hear you had a wonderful break at Badgers Rest, it certainly is in a peaceful location for a relaxing break in the Lakes and very dog friendly. The views are beautiful and the lodge, cosy and well equipped for a comfortable stay. Thank you for highly recommending this lodge and we shall be delighted should you choose to return in the near future.

Very enjoyable stay we return every each sometimes more than once

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge with great facilities. The views are amazing we never grow tired of them. Lake District Lodge Holidays are very easy to deal with, there are very professional and always reply to any query within a timely manner.

The only downside to the lodge is it is starting to look a little tired and has a little mould in the en-suite. Apart from this no issues.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge and location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grizedale Foirest



Andrea from Nottingham stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Needs some tlc

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely peaceful location. Lodge itself needs some tlc. Wallpaper in bigger twin room was torn, mould in ensuite, headboard not even attached and coming to bits as poor quality in bigger twin. Bed linen needs changing as looks old and very well used. Sill on window is off too. General decor could do with a revamp but maybe that's the owners taste but doesn't justify the star rating, neither does the park for that matter. The steps onto the decking (only access route) were just being replaced as we arrived (3pm) reception weren't aware, we found out on arrival to lodge. The guy was lovely but this made it difficult to unpack car as no steps to get in so we had to pass heavy bags etc up to each other. I used to be a 5 star holiday cottage ower myself for 3 years and held a high standard hence these comments. I would have been embarrassed to charge just shy of £600 for this quality of lodge. Im afraid hiking tbe prices up because it's near Windermere shouldn't be allowed without the lodge justifying it. We would return if you put some money into the lodge and clean it up. P.s tbe used bbq and lip balm in drawer must have been an added feature. I also left something which I know is in the lodge but apparently cleaners didn't find it so hopefully your next guests did

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The queens head in troutbeck

Lydia from Ebchester stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in July 2017


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Lydia. We were sorry to hear some things weren't quite right for your stay. As we indicated following comments in your after stay feedback sheet, all the things you have mentioned in your review had already been noted and passed on to the owners. They have either been addressed immediately or will be at the end of the busy summer season. We apologise that some maintenance work was being completed as you arrived. The owners asked us that morning to replace the steps which were damaged over the weekend. The lodge itself does not have an official star rating but an average 'review score rating' based on guest feedback. We find this a more accurate way of guests knowing what standard of accommodation they are staying in (when read in conjunction with the description and viewing the pictures). Limefitt Park has been awarded a Visit Britain 5 star rating and we are surprised you feel that it is not merited. Badgers Rest is a very popular spacious lodge offering excellent value accommodation for families with the benefit of a fabulous view too.

Rest at Badges Rest

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fromstart to finish, we were very happy with all of it . The lodge was lovely and comfortable. Every thing that we needed was there,and the surroundings were impressive.
I was fortunate to see the deer and hear the cuckoo.
We are hoping to book again for next year

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peacefulness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The gardens down the road from the site and the mountain goat day out



Ann from Pitsford stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review and super ratings, Ann. It is a pleasure to hear you had an enjoyable stay from the moment you arrived. Badgers Rest is a super place to rest, a very peaceful location combined with marvellous uninterrupted views - perfect for spotting the local wildlife. The accommodation is beautifully designed and equipped for a very relaxing and comfortable stay and we were delighted you thought so too. Lovely to hear you are looking to book again for next year (complete with your loyalty discount!).

Badgers rest lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badgers rest is a lovely lodge in a wonderful location, very spacious and adequately equipped.

Does however need a little TLC. Could be a lot better. Plenty of room for a large family and dogs and very calming when inside.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tarn Hows



Gaynor from Leeds stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


Badgers rest break.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at badgers rest was amazing. The views was wonderful, could see deers in field at night. Thank you for everything will stay again soon.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views from the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Aire force



Jane from Blackburn stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


A great place for a relaxing break.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location. Excellent accomodation with fantastic unspoilt views. Great place to stay with or without a dog. Would highly recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit to Bowness and Ambleside.



Donna from Featherstone stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in April 2017


Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was clean and spacious. Very well equipped and a nice out look over the playing fields. We had everything we needed for our family of six adults. Good selection of DVDs and books. Would recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lovely walks.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Via ferreta at Honiston slate mine.



Sue from Nottingham stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review, Sue. We were delighted to hear the whole family had an enjoyable stay at Badgers Rest. A beautiful lodge that caters very comfortably for up to six guest and equipped with all home comforts for a very relaxing stay – and of course the views are amazing! Very kind of you to recommend this lodge to others, thank you. Perhaps we will welcome you again in the near future?

Superb location, perfect for kids of all ages

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A three night stay at Badgers Rest was fantastic. Excellent spot on the edge of the park, really comfortable lodge boasting breath-taking views of the valley. My son aged 13 loved the space and goals nearby for playing football and my friend's 4 year old loved the zip wire and swings at the park. We enjoyed a beautiful walk which started from behind the pub and led up to give us stunning views of Lake Windermere. The pub on site is really friendly and well staffed - our meal there was very good.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge with beautiful views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up from behind the pub

Alison from Brighton stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in April 2017


We loved Limefitt park.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge felt very luxurious and the space for our family was very good. It was cosy and warm an the kitchen was modern and fully equipped. I enjoy having time to cook lovely meals for the family.
The views down the valley were stunning and in the mornings we sat and watched the deer playing.
Hardly used the car as we walked the paths and bridle paths from the park. An excellent stay, thank you.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Watching the deer and enjoying the views xx

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk to Troutbeck Tongue and pub stop on way back



Michelle from Fleetwood stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in March 2017


Badgers Rest

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent location decking very slippery for the dog a bit dangerous would definitely use that site again for the location but maybe one with a hot tub. Also check in time means you lose a day really should be able to check in a bit earlier arrived there at 2 pm but was not allowed to check in till 3 never had that before up the Lake District overall ok.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Loation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Coniston the fells and waterfalls after a lot of rain



Terry from Runcorn stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, Terry and although you give no mention to the lodge we assume that you had an enjoyable stay at Badgers Rest, indeed it is an excellent location - Beautiful countryside with the advantage of magnificent uninterrupted views towards Troutbeck Valley. We were sorry to hear that your dog found the decking a little slippy, although it is safe it can suffer when wet or icy and we are looking at additional ways to minimise guests, including our four legged friends from slipping if they choose to use the outside space in the winter months. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. With reference to an early check-in we would love to allow our guests to have more time in their lodge. We only have a limited amount of time for the lodge to be cleaned, prepared, checked and any maintenance issues addressed and we don’t want guests to arrive and find things are not ready for them. Many of our guests enjoy a relaxing bite to eat before checking in refreshed and relaxed, a lovely way to start a holiday. We trust you went on to have a relaxing stay at Badgers Rest. A very popular choice for those looking for modern and well equipped accommodation in the heart of the Lakes.

A lovely Christmas break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badger's Rest has beautiful views over the playing field (which was abondoned i. december) and distant mountains. The lodge was clean, warm and welcoming upon arrival. The open living space is ideal for entertaining. A lovely Christmas break, thank you.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Wildlife watching with my 2 year old

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter Attraction was lovely.



Joni from Chester stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in December 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, Joni. We were so pleased to hear you had a lovely Christmas break at Badgers Rest. The lodge is an excellent choice for those looking for modern accommodation in the heart of the countryside, and fully equipped to cater comfortably for 6 people. Not forgetting the beautiful views. Thank you for recommending The World of Beatrix Potter and so lovely to hear your child had an enjoyable time at the attraction. We would be delighted to welcome you again to Badgers Rest in the near future.

Winter break away

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place to stay in. The family loved staying here, so easy to get to the larger towns and surrounding areas made our holiday perfect. The lodge was brilliant, spacious enough for the 5 of us to be in but not under each others feet. It really is a home away from home. Only slight issue we had was there wasn't enough forks or plates to accommodate the 5 of us, however this was easily remedied. The location is beautiful, the highlight for the kids was looking out the window on our last day there with the snow falling and watching the deer coming down to the adjacent field to find shelter, my daughters were awestruck!!! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will hopefully be back next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location. This was a huge selling point for us.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix potter world, aira force, windermere, Ambleside. There's so much to do very close to the lodge.

Philip from Isle Of Arran stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in November 2016


Room with a view

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to "Badgers Rest". The views are beautiful as ever, the lodge however is beginning to feel a little tired. The cooker still hasn't been repaired. The"Haybarn" is still performing below par. We will be visiting Limefit next May but it won't be at "Badgers Rest"

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
As always the beautiful scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Blackwell arts.and crafts house



Drury from Featherstone stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in September 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, Drury. As a repeat guest to Badgers Rest it was disappointing to hear that on this occasion your stay was not quite up to the standard of previous visits. Your feedback comments matter to us, although we can confirm that the oven is in full working order – Each time a guest comments on the oven we have it checked and each time it works fine. Because it is a gas oven it is necessary to hold down the ignite button for ten seconds before releasing, and for those not used to this type it can sometimes be a bit fiddly. A full user guide is in the lodge for guests to refer to. Our apologies for any inconvenience and frustration caused due to this. Further to your other comments they have been duly noted and also passed on to the lodge owners for their consideration. Thank you for these. The Haybarn pub is outside of our control although we have informed the park management for their own reference – a good alternative is The Mortal Man and only a short walk from the park with a beautiful beer garden (weather permitting!) acclaimed to be one of the best in the country. Worth a visit? Badgers Rest is very popular as it is a bright and airy lodge that sleeps up to 6 and comes fully equipped with all modern conveniences to make for a very relaxing holiday. We would be delighted should you choose to return to Badgers rest next year in a lodge that is a home from home.

Stay at Badger's Rest Lodge.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice lodge in an excellent location on the park. We really enjoyed our 3 night stay and have every intention of returning for a longer visit. The oven, which previous occupants had commented on, had still not been repaired (will not ignite) but this did not detract from our enjoyment. The lodge is well positioned for access and views. The Hay-barn pub/restaurant was really good and the staff courteous, providing good service. Unable to recommend the Chicken Tikka Masala (two of our party had it) which was very poor, but the other meals we had were very good. The site reception staff were also very helpful and courteous. The Hay-Barn is very dog friendly, as is the site. Indeed it was obvious our dog loved her trip to Limefitt Park too!

All in all highly recommended and we made the right decision in choosing this holiday instead of a short trip to Tenerife and placing our little dog in kennels.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The weather and time in the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on Windermere.

Jack from Doncaster stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay, Jack. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Badgers Rest, and your little dog too! The oven has been checked and is in full working order – because it is a gas oven it can sometimes be a little fiddly as the ignite button needs to be held down for ten seconds before being released. A full user guide is also in the lodge for the convenience of guests. Thank you for letting us know and our apologies for any inconvenience caused. A bright and airy lodge with super accommodation for families or couples sharing, with magnificent views of the fells and surrounded by the open countryside. The Mortal Man Inn is a good alternative to the Haybarn for a bite to eat or drink and is a very pleasant walk from the Park - well worth a visit. Thank you for recommending Badgers Rest and we look forward to your returning visit.

Great lodge in a fantastic location.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying at Badgers Rest and once again it provided a great base for a holiday in the Lakes. The lodge itself was very clean and well equipped, however as the week went on we did notice a very slight smell of damp.

We've stayed at several lodges on Limefitt and stand by this being in one of the best locations in the park. My two children (8 and 3) were able to play on the large adjacent field in complete safety. And being able to see wild badgers every night was absolutely brilliant.

The Haybarn Inn standards have noticeably dropped since our stay last year, it generally looks a bit unkempt and is in need of redecorating. I know this is largely out of the lodge owners hands but it is worth being aware of.

All in all a great lodge in a brilliant location, don't be put off by my slight negatives. This really was a fantastic holiday.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location of lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Ulleswater steamers (much less hectic than Windemere)

Phillip from Ormskirk stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Philip and for your feedback comments which are very much appreciated. We were very pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday, and it is indeed in a brilliant location. Thank you for making us aware of the slight damp issue which we discovered in the ensuite - the issue has now been addressed. We have also passed on your comments about the Haybarn to the park management for their reference. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused, although it was a pleasure to hear that your stay at Badgers Rest was just as enjoyable as the last. The lodge provides excellent self-catering accommodation and has the advantage of beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, and a visit to the Mortal Man in nearby Troutbeck is an excellent alternative for a relaxing drink or bite to eat. We look forward to welcoming you again for another family holiday in the near future.

Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
2.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Entering property
Smells damp closer inspection.
mould in all bathrooms paper coming of.
Black slime in shower.
Main bathroom mouldy.
Sofa back breaking no support in any chars or sofa

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Pub ok slow service could have better food preporation

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermete



Edwina from STOCKTON-ON-TEES stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your comments about the lodge and apologise that it wasn't as you expected. It is disappointing that you didn't say anything on our feedback sheet left in the lodge nor responded to our after stay email but then wrote a review which is simply a list of negatives. The damp issues you mention have already been addressed following previous feedback. When you say the best thing about your stay is that the 'Pub was ok but the service slow and food could have been better prepared' and add further that there was 'nothing to do' we wonder what you expected when staying in a lodge in the Lake District. It would appear that this sort of holiday probably isn't for your family in the future. Badgers Rest is certainly a lovely popular, spacious lodge with stunning views. It is ideal for a relaxing break and the many attractions of the area are within easy reach.

Badgers rest

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badgers rest was a stunning,clean lodge with everything you would need for a self catering holiday. Amazing location with stunning scenery all around. The only negative was the onsite pub, dreadful service so avoid.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Scenery

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up to the top of Wansfeld pike



Mark from Coalville stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review, Mark. It is always nice when guests rate their stay as a perfect 5 out of 5. We will pass on your comments about the onsite pub to the park management. Regrettably we have no control over this. We are glad that didn't detract from your experience of staying at Badgers Rest. It is a very popular lodge and enjoys fabulous views of the Troutbeck Valley.

Lovely Lodge In Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the Badgers Rest. Fully equipped with everything you could ever need. It's in a beautiful setting and ideal for dog lovers.
The interior is lovely but the only downside is the damp patches in both bathrooms.
Will definitely be returning.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It's very peaceful and relaxing

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Keswick market is worth a visit. Beautiful scenery all the way there



Melanie from Wirral stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Melanie. We were so pleased to hear you had a really enjoyable stay at Badgers Rest and that the issues reported on your feedback comments did not impact on your stay. We appreciate that you let us know and the issues have now been addressed– thank you. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. The lodge is in a perfect setting in beautiful countryside to escape everyday life - very peaceful and the views from the lodge, just spectacular. A lovely modern lodge, fully equipped to keep everyone happy and even installed with Sky freesat for extra entertainment. We are delighted to hear you will be returning in the near future (complete with your loyalty discount!)

Peace & tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You cannot fault the location of Badgers Rest the views are outstanding. The lodge is very comfortable as we have always found on our previous stays.The Haybarn which on our previous visits we had found to be very good (both the service and the food) has deteriated; let's hope It was a one off. Looking forward to returning next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and the unexpected good weather.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A visit to Blackwell arts & crafts house



Drury from Featherstone stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in June 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, Drury. We are very pleased to hear you found the lodge to your satisfaction once again, and we are delighted you chose to stay through us. Your comments about the Haybarn have been noted, although it is something outside of our control we have passed them on to the park management for their consideration – thank you for letting us know and please accept our apologies. Badgers Rest is in a magnificent spot on the park, the views as you say are outstanding and definitely worth a return visit. With the location of the park close to all the tourist villages and attractions it makes an ideal base to explore the area – Blackwell Arts is a great day out and in a stunning setting overlooking lake windermere. A very good choice. Delighted to hear you are returning next year - we look forward to welcoming you for another stay of peace and tranquillity.

Badgers rest

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge in the most amazing setting. Very quiet. Lodge was fantastic very well equipped and clean. Dog friendly lodge and park. Good pub on the hill with beautiful views.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The whole Lake District area



Tina from Rothwell stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in May 2016


Fantastic mini break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge in a stunning location. Comfortable, modern, spacious lodge. Peaceful and relaxing. Friendly staff. Brilliant place for dog lovers, we loved every minute and will definitely be back!! Thank you Badgers Rest xxx

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Fantastic location close to Windermere

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere Cruises are a must, plus they are dog friendly : )



Stacey from Barnsley stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in May 2016


Badgers watch

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely park, with good facilities, the children loved the playground. The only let down was the last of staff and service at the park pub. The food was standard pub food but service very slow.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The view, especially the 3 deers!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Wary castle, the children loved the Peter rabbit rooms



Susan from Devizes stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in April 2016


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you kindly for your review, Susan. We are pleased you loved the park and playground! We were sorry to hear about the service you received at the pub on site. Although this is something out of our control, your comments have been noted and passed on to the park management for their immediate attention. We will monitor future comments and reviews to make sure the issue has been resolved. We like all our guests to have a super experience from start to finish and on this occasion you were let down. Please accept our apologies. Delighted you enjoyed admiring the view from the lodge, it really is breath taking. The stunning outlook towards the fells is what makes the Lake District so special, and Badgers Rest so memorable!

Fab weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location within park log cabin was very high standard and will be coming back again soon and our two small dogs had lots of fun and long walks

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
a day out in Bo ness



Elaine from Port Glasgow stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in October 2015


weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The lodge was comfortable and the location was fantastic but the welcome was very poor especially as we had had a bad journey there. I would recommend the lodges to friends.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
day out



Freda from Chester stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in October 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a very brief review of your stay at Badgers Rest, Freda. We were disappointed to hear that you had a poor welcome from the park reception staff and we will pass on your comments to the management. This is most unusual from our experience (and as mentioned on the previous review). That said we were glad that you liked the lodge and its location and are happy to recommend to friends. Badgers Rest does enjoy one of the best positions at Limefitt with superb views of the Troutbeck Valley and the mountains beyond.

Lovely property and location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly reception staff who dealt with us quickly upon arrival. The lodge is very comfortable and very well-equipped with stunning views. The books, children's games, colouring books and crayons were a nice touch and kept our eldest entertained.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The views and short distance to Windermere.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Allan Bank is a must, and is child friendly. The Beatrix Potter attraction nearby is excellent. South Lakes Safari park is excellent, as is Lakeland Motor Museum.



Helen from Liverpool stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Badgers Rest, Helen. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. The lodge enjoys arguably one of the best views on the whole of Limefitt Park with the beautiful Troutbeck Valley and mountains visible from the living room.

Fantastic stay at Badgers Rest

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time that my family and I have stayed in Limefitt park and I have to say that the Badgers Rest lodge is in the best location so far. Very quiet, with lovely views and great wildlife, my eldest daughter had a brilliant time feeding the Badgers that visited every night.

The lodge itself is spacious, clean, well furnished and proved to be plenty big enough for four adults and two young children. The only slight negative is that the sofas are not the most comfortable but this is really just nitpicking.

The decking area is medium sized and provides fantastic views over the playing field and fells, we were worried that there would be a lot of noise from the park but this proved not to be the case. There is no BBQ provided but the lodge owners do allow the use of portable/disposable BBQs. Again as a slight negative, the decking would benefit from a lick of paint and some new furniture. Again I'm being picky on this point though.

Limefitt Park itself is an excellent site, immaculately clean and ideal for young families and is perfectly located for exploring the South Lakes and surrounding areas. I will point out that its nothing like a busy Center Parcs setup with activities, pools and vast entertainment so if that's the type of holiday you're after then Limefitt may not be the site for you. However if you want to stay in beautiful location, with fantastic walks and local wildlife then I couldn't recommend Limefitt highly enough.

So all-in-all I would highly recommend this lodge if you have a family and are looking for a fantastic location. We'll certainly be going back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Lodge location, fantastic views and wildlife

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip to the 'Tree Top Trek' at Brockhole is a good day out for the kids but gets very busy in the summer months

Guest from Ormskirk stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Badgers Rest.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Badgers Rest in july 2014 we re booked again for 2015,what a difference a yr makes.Superb location but desperately needs a makeover..

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Beautiful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bo'ness on windermere on a sunny day,absolutely beautiful.



Guest from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay at Badgers Rest. We were sorry that some things weren't quite right for you this time round. You informed us of some minor maintenance issues separately after your stay which have been fixed. We will pass on your other comments to the lodge owners for their consideration. Badgers Rest is a very popular, spacious lodge and enjoys one of the best views on Limefitt Park.

great quality

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
GREAT HOLIDAY GRANDSON WHO IS AUTISTIC FOUND IT RELAXING HE HAS ASBERGERS SENERY AND WILDLIFE VERY GOOD HE WAS ALWAYS FEEDING THE BIRDS LOG CABIN GREAT

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
THE RELAXATION

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
THE HAYBARN



Guest from Dalkeith stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Peace&tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable four days. Lodge very comfortable and well situated to enjoy the lovely views. The wildlife was very absorbing especially to Angel (our dog). I must recommend the "Haybarn " good food and hospitality. Looking forward to our sixth visit to Limefitt In September.
Dru & Chris Arandle

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being able to relax



Drury from Featherstone stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in June 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for your latest stay, Dru & Chris. As one of our regular guests we know you love Limefitt Park and Badger's rest with it's lovely location and views. Thanks for booking to return in September.

superb peaceful location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt like home, from moment of arrival,
Superbly designed and fitted out!, We used hay barn inn on both nights super friendly staff, Sharon and Sue, great food, reasonably priced, all in all great break!
Will be back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
transport museum



Steve from Stranraer stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 2 nights in June 2015


A lodge in a fantastic location, but need to take care of the little things

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Carpet next to the kitchen area at both ends had grubby 20mm diameter dark spots on it which should have been removed before our stay as it gave a rather downmarket feel to the Lodge.

On the last day of our 5 day stay I turned my bed cover right back and saw that underneath was a label stuck to the sheet that had the words..." BAD N/A "......written on it in marker pen, which didn't inspire me with confidence that the bedding was without fault.

I am sorry to have to report the above because this Lodge is a good place to stay

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Touring

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Countryside

Guest from East Yorks stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in May 2015


Badgers Rest

Review submitted on Fri, 15 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Badgers Rest and found the lodge with no problems, the staff were helpful and friendly.
On entering the lodge it was found to be presentable and smartly decorated and furnished beautifully. Although I wish I had taken my slippers as the carpets weren't very clean and there seemed to be dog hairs all over the lounge carpet, why on earth you would allow pets in a lodge with light coloured carpets I would never know.
One of the single beds in the back room seemed to have been slept in and the bedding not changed, although on inspection the rest of the beds were ok and clean.
Cooking facilities were good and the kitchen was well equipped for family dining. I did however have to wash some to the crockery as it was greasy and some plastic beakers had been put in the cupboard having had orange juice in them.
I'm sure these hygiene issues should be addressed asap.
Overall our stay was lovely and we will return to Badgers Rest in the future.
The small house keeping issues did not spoil our stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere

Guest from Saltburn stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 2 nights in May 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Badgers Rest. We were sorry to hear your comments about the cleanliness of the lodge and these have been passed on to the housekeepers to address. Based on recent reviews they are not in keeping with other reviews and feedback. The lodge is dog friendly lodge and does indeed have light carpets which are cleaned at least twice a year. Thank you for bringing these things to our attention and apologies for any inconvenience caused. That said it was pleasing to note that these issues did not spoil your stay at the very popular Badgers Rest with it's lovely views.

Anniversary Get Away

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful! Perfect location, Log Cabin was out of this world, well looked after & well equipt. Our dogs loved every second, as did we. Will definitely be booking again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lake Windermere... WKD



Anthony from Widnes stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in April 2015


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love it here. It's our third visit. The lodge is spacious even for 3 adults and 2 kids and the views and the playground, paddling, and field make it!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Wonderful big field for children and river paddling

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hole Hird gardens just down the road.



Guest from Leeds stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in April 2015


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your latest stay at Badgers Rest and delighted to hear you had another wonderful stay there. Guest love the superb views from lodge the lounge and how spacious the lodge is. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

A lovely Christmas break

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jan 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Badgers Rest. The location is peaceful and very pretty. The lodge is very well stocked with everything we needed for a great Christmas break. There is a great pub within a few minutes walking distance called the Haybarn. We found the staff to be friendly and the prices of food and drinks were reasonable. They have a pool table, dart board, giant Jenga, giant Connect 4 game, arcade games and large tv screens. We were very impressed. The pub opens for a couple of hours at lunchtime then closes and reopens at 4.30pm. It's closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. The lodge is very comfortable. Unfortunately the oven took a very long time to cook food which is difficult when cooking meals for 6 people but we managed. There is also cream carpets in the living room which can be difficult with dogs and when it's raining. We were given lots of information leading up to our stay and there is also information in the lodge too which is really helpful. Thank you for a lovely stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Beautiful views

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beautiful walks

Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in December 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay over Christmas at Badgers Rest. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the whole experience of a stay there. We appreciate your feedback on a couple of points and will pass these back to the owners for their consideration. The lodge is extremely popular and everyone who visits love the fantastic views from the living room.

Situation of the lodge is perfect but....

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Dec 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The position of Badgers Rest is excellent and, in part, was the main reason for returning for a second visit.
This is in no way a negative review because the lodge is a spacious and well positioned holiday destination to which I would consider returning and recommending to others if the points I am about to mention are addressed:
- The en suite shower room plumbing requires attention as the smell pervading the bedroom was reminiscent of stale vegetation and was very unpleasant.
- The lounge fire was not working on our first visit and we were alerted to this fact by an explanatory note. The fire was still not working on our second visit. Although I accept the lodge has a good central heating system; if there is a fire in situ, it should be in working order.
- The oven only has one shelf which can prove problematic.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
This is a well positioned and spacious lodge that welcomes our four legged friends.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The Mortal Man pub in Troutbeck is a must for doggy people as they welcome our four legged friends.

Guest from Great Atyon stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 2 nights in December 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay and in particular pointing out a couple of things you were not happy with. We visited the lodge immediately after your stay as you reported the 'smell' to the park reception on departure. We could not find any evidence of this or anything untoward and no other guests have reported anything similar. However, we have noted this and will continue to check on a regular basis just in case. As advised prior to your return stay the owners are planning to install a new fire at the end of the season. That said we appreciate you bringing these points to our attention and glad they didn't detract from your enjoyment of staying. Badgers Rest is regularly used by the owners themselves who take great pride in it's appearance. It is a popular lodge and enjoys a superb position with lovely uninterrupted views from the living room.

Fabulous lodge in a great location!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having just returned from a week at Badgers Rest I write to thank you for the fabulous time we had. The lodge is beautiful and really spacious. We choose it for the position and the fact that the twin rooms had full size twin beds. Sadly as it was winter and dark nights we did not see any badgers...perhaps next time! Just minor knit pick...the fire was not working and the bathroom lock is dodgy......got stuck inside until I could manipulate the lock to open - didn't lock after that. I would highly recommend this lodge for a superb relaxing holiday.
The booking process is easy and Mark is always there if needed.....but not on this holiday.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The comfort of the lodge as the weather was not very good sadly.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We always pay a visit to Yew Tree Barn which has Harry's Bar. Large reclamation yard with gift shop displaying local crafts and the cafe has home cooked food to die for!

Guest from Stockton-on-tees stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in November 2014


Great stay at Badgers Rest

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay for the weekend, perfect location, cosy lodge and excellent service. Would definitely return again! Only problem was the oven only had 1 shelf so difficult to cook for 6 people but I spoke to the company and they were very helpful and are going to sort another shelf!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks around windermere



Kristie from Bolton stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 2 nights in October 2014


Family Walking Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badgers Rest provided an excellent base for our family walking holiday - including dogs!

Would recommend lodge - great location and very well equipped.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking



Guest from BURY stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in October 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We were really pleased to hear you enjoyed your family walking holidays staying at Badgers Rest. Thank you so much for taking time to write a review especially when you go top ratings of 5 out of 5 for all aspects of your stay. Limefitt Park is a truly wonderful place to base yourself when 'walking the area.'

Badgers Rest Lodge a good vacation

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very restful stay at Badgers Rest. Lodge was superb, everything there you could possibly need. All facilities up to date.
TV reception excellent and bonus got Sky. The location is really good and places of interest easy to get to.
Limefitt Park is brilliant. Clean and tidy. Dog field so good for allowing your pet to be of the lead and have a run around. Mark and his team so helpful and can deal with your queries should you have any. Cannot wait till we return again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Everything we could possibly want was there. Lodge very comfortable.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Everywhere within easy access to get to.



Guest from Stoke On Trent stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in September 2014


Mark - Lake District lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted that you rated all aspects of your latest stay with us as 5 out of 5. Thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We agree that the lodge is 'superb' with it's lovely views.

lovely location. great views.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badgers rest was in a lovely situation being on the edge of the site over looking the field and trees. The site itself was beautifully kept. The shop was well stocked and the pub nice and welcoming. The food was better than expected. Positives regarding the lodge itself were it was cosy, fully equipt with everything anyone could want and was very clean. Negatives were it was begiinning to look alittle tired. There was quite a lot of paint off the bathroom door. There were holes in the wallpaper in one of the twin bedrooms and the terrace furniture really needed painting,
These points can easily be sorted and might just be because its towards the end of the summer season.We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would love to come back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
location. riding on site was very good.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
On site riding. a walk up wansfell pike. quad biking at rookin house activity centre.

Guest from Stockton on Tees stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Badgers Rest. The lodge has been exceptionally busy throughout the season and the things you point out are due to be addressed in the quieter period over the winter months. Please you enjoyed the lovely views from the lodge and we will be delighted for you to return in the future (complete with your returning guests discount of course!)

a lovely cabin in the best spot

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cabin was lovely and in the best location as it looked on to some amazing views. You weren't overlooked. Lots of walks all around the site. Would definitely go again.

Karen from Chorley stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in August 2014


Short Break at Badgers Rest

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stayed at Fellwalker last year and although the location of Badgers Rest is wonderful the cleanliness of the lodge let it down! The kitchen draws all need a good clean, I wiped all the cupboard handles down as all sticky and marked still leaving the cupboard doors dirty. The fridge had crumbs etc in the rubber rim although the fridge was clean. The windows in the living room had grubby hand marks on them. and the ceiling had a lot of spiders and cobwebs on as did the master bedroom which we removed on arrival. The skirting boards in all room are filthy especially the en-suite bathroom, there is really no need not to clean them once in a while. Lets just say my bottle of domestos came in handy! For the simple reason of cleanliness we will not return to Badgers Rest!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location of the site

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walks and Segways fantastic! The Haybarn was excellent for food.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in August 2014


Stayed 9th to 16th May 2014

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this week long break last year for myself my husband my mother in law and son daughter and son in law. We travel on a regular basis to the lakes staying in either a caravan Lodge or cottage and even stayed once in a tent at Limefitt Park where Badgers Rest is now located. We chose this particular Lodge as it suited all of our needs especially my Mother in law and on viewing it on the internet we hoped it would not let us down. Sadly 2 weeks before our departure my Mother in Law passed away and we almost did not bother going but I am so glad that we did. It has been the most perfect week ever in any of our stays over the past 40 years going to the Lakes. The location of Badgers Rest and the the view from the living room windows were fantastic. There were Deer in the fields and the hills and the other wildlife were beautiful. Also the Lodge itself was home form home. The beds and furniture were so comfortable and immaculate and the owners had thought of everything. The weather like anytime in the Lakes was wet then sunny from hour to hour but we managed to sit out on the decking on several occasions and also get out for hill walking and visiting all of the places the lakes has to offer.The reviews and the previous pictures do not do this lodge the justice it deserves and I will go back as soon as I am over our recent loss.The Haybarn pub on site is also good value for money.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The standard and quality and comfort of furnishing and the the views from the windows.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
1 hours walk there and back up Brent Fell Windermere the views are breath taking.

Guest from Jarrow stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for completing a review for us. We were really pleased you enjoyed your week at Badgers Rest at was a particularly difficult time for your family. The location of Badgers Rest makes it a very popular and sought after lodge with lovely views up the valley from your sofa. We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge in the future.

Stay at Badgers Rest

Review submitted on Thu, 01 May 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all enjoyed our stay at Badgers Rest, we all found it very relaxing. The lodge was well equipped but dated some things needed replacing or were not working. As for cleanliness it was clean but not clean clean, we had to clean some utensils or pieces of equipment before use and certain items had not been removed from prior occupant. Apart from this we enjoyed our stay and would all return probably to another lodge.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Being with friends in pleasant surroundings

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Using Low wood pool



Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in April 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Badgers Rest. We were disappointed to hear some things weren't quite right for your stay and we have now addressed these. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. Pleased you enjoyed your stay as it is certainly a lovely location.

An Easter break at Badgers Rest.

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Apr 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a good break,the only comment we have is that the lodge needed a bit of TLC mainly painting and decorating.The position of the lodge is excellent,but we thought it may be noisy in summer with it being near to the children's playground.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The position of the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking



Guest from Shipley stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 3 nights in April 2014


Badgers rest

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were delighted with the lodge and the surrounding facilities. The lodge had everything you could possibly need and was spacious, clean and comfortable.There was a pre planned electricity power cut but we had lots of notice and a complimentary lunch was provided at the pub.We just planned around this so it did not spoil our holiday. We definately recommend this to others and will be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Seeing wild deer and the lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip



Guest from Leeds stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in April 2014


badgers rest limefitt park

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Apr 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful park lodge has fabulous views but unfortunately the cleanliness of lodge is poor and also needs updating slightly ie maybe wooden floors as carpet looks dirty and is more practical for dogs and keeping clean. We would love to go again but spend a little less time cleaning lodge first !

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
fabulous views and peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
white moss walks grasmere



Guest from Lytham stayed at Badgers Rest Lodge for 4 nights in March 2014


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. We were disappointed to hear there were a few cleaning issues which we spoke about at the time and understood to be minor. However, we have taken these on board and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We have also noted your comments to pass on to the owners. The views from the lodge are fantastic as you point out.