FB Twitter

Ballealy Cottage

Ballealy Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.4
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


Ballealy Cottage makes a good base from which to explore the beautiful county of Antrim. The cottage has a romantic fairytale appearance and a must stay for wildlife enthusiasts. Situated in a secluded spot at the end of a long farm lane, guests will have a real sense of being far removed from the hustle and bustle of normal everyday life. The large wild garden area offers an opportunity for children to burn off excess energy and spot local wildlife. With zero light pollution Ballealy Cottage is perfect for star gazing and watching the resident bat colony returning to roost in the evenings.

  • Sleeps 5 people. 1 Double Room, 1 Twin Room (downstairs), 1 Single Room (downstairs)
  • Welcomes 1 pet.

Perfect for our stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always welcoming, perfect spot.This was our second stay at a similar time of year. Our hosts were great.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 34 days ago
Thank you so very much for letting Irish Landmark Trust know you had such a lovely stay at Ballealy Cottage. Your support is very much appreciated.

Ballealy Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very beautiful place. I enjoyed the peace and quiet. No mobile phone signal which is a shame. If there was an emergency we could not be contacted. Shame there was no television.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 81 days ago
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed Ballealy Cottage. Irish Landmark Trust properties can be located in very isolated and hard to reach locations, a big reason many of our guests do book them as they cannot be contacted. We offer a real get away from it all opportunity for our guests and we feel that modern day electronic devices such as televisions, distract people from really stopping and taking the time to relax and reconnect with friends and family.

A peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing 2 night stay. The house and surrounding garden and lane have wonderful character and charm. Our son was in his element collecting conkers on the lane. The housekeeper was very friendly and helpful. A lot of thought and effort has gone into preserving the character and history of the house.

Only downside is that the surrounding countryside, especially given the proximity to the lough, is inaccessible by foot, but I imagjne not much can be done about that.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 188 days ago
Lovely to hear that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay at Ballealy Cottage. It really is a true wilderness location and wonderful for little adventurers. I am afraid the surrounding lands are not accessible as they are not in our care. Thank you for your kind words about the property itself.

Magical - like stepping back in time

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Peaceful and tranquil cottage, felt more remote than it actually was. Like living in a bygone age but with enough modern conveniences to be comfortable.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 201 days ago
It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed you time at Ballealy Cottage. It is such a beautiful and remote property, perfect for those who wish to reconnect with nature.

Short stay for wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage and surroundings were beautiful. The cottage was well maintained and stocked. Comfortable beds and the cottage itself was warm. The only downside was the smell upstairs. Great getaway and very peaceful. I would recommend this place and would return.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 216 days ago
Thank you so very kindly for leaving your review for a recent stay at Ballealy Cottage. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your time there. In July and August the maternal bat roost can get very active and this may sometimes mean guests are more aware of them. Thank you for recommending Irish Landmark Trust.

Charming cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ballealy Cottage is really special, such a lovely building with beautiful original features. It is like stepping back in time staying here. Judith was so welcoming and we had everything we needed. Be prepared for bats though,! We had a fantastic time watching them swoop in and out of the rafters at dusk. We would love to return.



Irish Landmark Trust replied 216 days ago
We love to hear that you found Ballealy Cottage to be so very special. It is just such a special property and when guests enjoy their time there and really as you say embrace "stepping back in time".

Perfect stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice stay. A lovely cottage! We made scones in the range, nice garden. The furniture was very nice!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 216 days ago
Thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Ballealy Cottage.

Step back in time...

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here ...firstly the lane is tricky to find but the instructions were correct.. the drive down the lane takes around 6 minutes cause we timed it! Very stoney and narrow etc so don’t bring your pride and joy! Greeted by housekeeper and she went through all we needed to know for the stay. Cottage was very warm and cosy and bed comfortable. It was great not having a TV or internet there if that’s what u want then go stay in a hotel.. Intermittently got phone reception. So we didn’t see any deer in the garden or much else .. the only birds I did see was a blackbird and a glimpse of a Jay.. because I left some suet on the picnic table. But! The bats were incredible!,,,,,,,,, they started to come out anytime after 9 pm peaking at 11ish and there are hundreds.. you can hear then chattering in the eaves early evening from the outside. If you don’t like bats then this is not the cottage for you. If you stay in the upstairs bedroom you can hear then in the roof space and they are loud! There is a slight odour from the poop but it didn’t annoy us. Loved the layout of the cottage and especially the courtyard. Also there is spiders and webs around but they won’t bother you if you don’t bother them..it added to the character of the cottage for me even though I don’t like spiders! Overall I would definitely come back because of the bats... really enjoyed the stay very peaceful and relaxing.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 216 days ago
It is so wonderful to hear you really embraced the wilderness and enjoyed your time at Ballealy Cottage. Thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

X

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the beautifully refurbished and maintained cottage and loved the Heaney Home Place which is nearby and is wonderful.
Randalstown wood is right beside the cottage and is great for a walk
The open fire is a delight in the sitting room and the house was cosy and warm




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your great review. We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope you return to an Irish Landmark Trust property again soon.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we needed. Hostess was lovely,great spot. Warm,cosy,clean. Would come again and recommend to friends.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the historic self-catering properties in our care. We are delighted you had such a lovely time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future sometime.

Know the shortfalls here

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Knowing the age of the cottage, there are upgrades that are needed for safety and comfort. This property needs to be re-evaluated by the Irish Landmark Trust so that it can be thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated by guests.



What a great property

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved the house especially the location. It was really comfortable and relaxing. It was very well equipped.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for getting in touch and letting Irish Landmark Trust know how your recent stay at Ballealy Cottage went. It is great to hear that you had a chance to relax and enjoy your time there. We do hope to perhaps welcome you back to one of our other properties located around the country.

Nice house and location both let down by some simple things to fix.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was much as we expected,charming and quirky. We saw all the advertised wildlife. Kathy was a welcoming host. However, the house was not clean; overrun with cobwebs, dust and bat droppings on external door handles. The shower tray wouldn't drain and there were other irritations like an unhygienic badly split wooden chopping board and watered down hand wash and no washing up liquid. This isn't what we expect in an ILT property.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. Your points have been passed on to the Standards Officer and House Manager directly to investigate further.

Bad smell of bats

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It’s a lovely isolated house way down an overgrown country lane. However, it was spoilt by a couple of things. Firstly, the overwhelming smell upstairs from the resident bats. Also all the windows ledges outside were covered in Bat dropping. This was slightly better after a heavy downpour one night. Then inside the house was covered in Cobwebs. Very disappointing as the cleaner had been there that day. It just gave us a poor impression



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. We are currently investigating some of the points you have raised in your review.

Rural Idyll

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in an extremely quiet location down a gravel track and through a gate. The house is large and comfortable with one bedroom upstairs and two down, with 2 bathrooms. House very cosy with heating from the stove through radiators. House is surrounded by trees. We enjoyed trips to Randallstown and to Clotworthy House with a walk down to the lake. You certainly get away from it all, with not even a mobile phone signal to distract you.



Bookings Officer from Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Irish Landmark Trust know how your recent stay at Ballealy Cottage was. It is wonderful to hear that you had a nice time and found the forest setting of the property pleasant. We do hope to welcome you back again perhaps to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Tranquility in a gentle landscape

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A soothing idyll away with friends, open fire and gentle surroundings: a lovely spot. It's a great house if you just want to get away from it all. Our eight year old was enchanted by the woods and stream on the grounds (as indeed we all were).



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted everyone enjoyed the idyllic setting of Ballealy Cottage. It's a real nature lovers paradise where you can see wild deer, bats and plenty of birds! Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Ballealy

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again, we were very happy with our accommodation booked thru the Landmark Trust. Corin was fantastic and was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and courteous. A beautiful property. Can only imagine who nice during the late spring and summer nights.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the good review. We're always delighted to see guests return and explore more Irish Landmark Trust properties. Ballealy Cottage is a beautiful property and in such a great location. Perfect for nature lovers! Corin is a wonderful House Manager so I'm sure you were well looked after on arrival. Hopefully we'll welcome you back with us soon.

Lovely destination

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to enjoy a relaxing short break.
So peaceful and relaxing with excellent facilities.
Away from any hustle and bustle but within a short distance of shops etc.
Really hidden gem with elegant furnishings and lots of wildlife in the garden.
Well worth a return visit.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Fantastic you had such a lovely time at the charming Ballealy Cottage. The location of this property really does give guests the chance to get away from it all and just stop to enjoy the moment. It is great to hear that you will perhaps return here or indeed another of the properties in the care of Irish Landmark Trust.

Peaceful and comfortable!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week here enjoying the Northern Irish January weather!! The dogs thoroughly enjoyed exploring the garden and sniffing all the local wildlife...while we stayed indoors jigsawing, reading, eating and gin tasting!
The house is very comfortable and warm in the Aga room. We struggled to get some of the other rooms to stay warm, but I think the timer on the boiler was having some troubles.
Unfortunately we didn't see any deer, but I think that they were passing through earlier than usual so as to avoid meeting our dogs!
Such a lovely history to this place and fantastic to be part of it.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Ballealy Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay and had lots of fun at the property. It's isolated location really is great for people with pets and to enjoy watching the wildlife. Sorry the local deer did not make an appearance, you have to be up early to catch them at this time of the year. I have checked with the Local House Manager about the heating issue and she has informed me that you did not contact her during your stay about the matter. The House Manager would have addressed the issue if you had of informed her so please do make sure to contact the Local House Manager if there are issues if you stay with Irish Landmark again in the future. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Ballealy Cottage. Randalstown beats Euro Disney

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to Ballealy which made if feel even more homely. Tranquil location with deer regularly seen. The luxury of just stepping out the door and being able to take the dog for an exciting walk or just relaxing and reading in beautiful surroundings (both cottage and scenery). Friendly, welcoming housekeeper Corin and great local town for shopping. We all had a great time, even 16 year old son who could wander up the lane to the stream to get mobile phone signal enjoyed his stay. Wish was still there and hope to go back again.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
What a wonderful review, thank you! We're delighted you had such a great experience in Ballealy Cottage. Yes, the deer are quite regular visitors which gives the property such a tranquil and isolated feeling while never being too far from civilisation. You're more than welcome back for more exciting walks and relaxed reading in the future.

Pleasant weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our house manager was terrific and had the house well set with fire ready and milk in fridge. The location is maximum 10mins drive from the small heritage town of Randalstown which is apt for basic supplies of food and fuel. The locals are generally very nice and helpful.
The house itself has a good sizes rooms and was warm all over, the open fire gave plenty of charm and comfort during otherwise damp dreary days. Location is good for visiting the surrounding countryside and coast line. Altogether a very pleasant stay in a comfortable heritage house.
Visitors should be made aware that the narrow long laneway is very muddy and you need to open / close a gateway along the lane, so be prepared and bring some wellies or old shoes!
If you intend visiting the town for a meal, the cottage has information, cards and phone numbers on a local cab service to Randalstown, however the company are not aware of Ballealy Cottage and were reluctant to try and locate.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Ballealy Cottage. Delighted to hear that you had a nice time. Ballealy Cottage is in a very isolated location with a long drive to it down a country road but once guests reach the location and it's stunning setting the journey is soon forgotten. We will certainly forward on your note about the local taxis to the House Manager so she can look into that matter further.

Summer stay - and those bats!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage itself is very characterful, spacious, well presented, in a lovely secluded spot. Cosi (caretaker) was excellent throughout our stay.
The address (on the website and paperwork) was given as Shane's Castle Estate; this is naughtily deceptive as it is NOT within the current estate, even if it formerly was. Therefore you will not be wandering around the estate's grounds, down to the shores of the Lough, etc.
The main oven was pretty useless but otherwise the kitchen and other facilities worked well.
Then there are the bats. There are many of them, as we were advised/ warned. Sure they make a little bit of sound moving around/ entering/ leaving the loft but that was not disturbing. What we were not warned about was the smell within the house, even though the bats are not getting into the interior. Despite Cosi's provision of plug-in and spray air fresheners, the smell in the main bathroom was too strong for 3 out of 4 of our party to use that room. The smell was less strong in the master bedroom but we still came away with it on our clothes. A shame this 'tainted' our week in a lovely cottage carefully and thoughtfully restored and furnished.




Health hazard

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is charming however bat droppings are toxic!! To be exposed to that level is dangerous. My husband has an autoimmune disease affecting his lungs & my son recently had open heart surgery with compromised lungs. Histoplasmosis is a true threat to them



Beautiful location. Perfect for get away experience.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay in Ballealy Cottage. It was a really relaxing, get away from everything holiday. The cottage was beautiful with a real home away from home feel to it. Our small boy loved exploring the garden and finding hideouts in all greenery around the cottage. Seeing all the wild life was great too, waking up to the birds singing and seeing pheasants in the garden and watching our for deer was a great experience. We even had a surprise visit from a bat! Our house keeper was very helpful and the people in the village were very friendly.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the feedback, come back again soon.

Beautifully restored cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ballealy cottage is beautiful and very spacious. Ample room for a family of 5. Furnishings very comfortable and in keeping with period of cottage. Housekeepers very helpful.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Escape to the Country - Gorgeous Cottage Hideaway!!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great long weekend here in the Ballealy Cottage near Randalstown. Just regret we couldn't spend more time at the cottage and exploring the surrounding countryside and area. Lovely friendly welcome and tour of the houseboy Cosi the cottage manager. Everything you need is there, basic not luxurious but comfortable and perfect for escaping our busy, materialistic, on-line lives!!

We'll be back again hopefully. Thank you.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Ballealy Cottage. We are delighted you had a lovely time there and that you got a chance to break away from the busy modern world and truly relax. We hope to welcome you back to Irish Landmark Trust in the future. We have plenty of properties to suit everyone.

very favourable get away

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a short 2 day stay at Ballealy Cottage with 3 kids in this fantastic idyll which has loads of space for a slightly larger part than ourselves. Communications were excellent between the Cottage's Manager and ourselves.
We met in the nearby town and followed her out to the place. Couldn't have been better

Ballealy Cotttage is situated at the end of a long winding country lane, surrounded by fields and trees, loo out for the streams and Ha-Ha if you have tots meandering about outside! We counted at least 8 sets of wide eyes reflecting back in the car headlights one night returning back to the cottage -- deer, derr --deer! Bats in the barn apparently. Bring wellies for sure as it's good trudging ground.

There are loads of nooks and crannies to explore and a wealth of old functional detail to the house...enough to keep adults and kids alike interested. We got a great sense of the spirit of the place and it's grand.

This house has been fantastically restored in vernacular style and the furnishings follow suit.
Forget television, WiFi and phone signals for the most part...this place is a get-away retreat
at the end of a long, rough hewn country lane which seems endless on your first arrival.

Randalstown and Antrim Village are only a short drive up the road...both have nice cafes, good barber/hairdressers.
Junction One is near at hand for those in need of a bit more retail therapy, with Belfast also being quite close time wise.

Would highly recommend the house to get away from it all and just relax. Set a nice roaring fire in the drawing room, pour a glass of decent wine, grab a page turner and you're all set.
The place is warm, clean and dry and the furniture is very comfortable. Please leave it this way as we would like to stay there again. Beds are old school and extremely comfortable...good sleeps await.

General House Rules on keeping things tidy and recycling are common sense and not overbearing.

The only thing I missed really was WiFi in terms of researching the local area and for quick communications.
Didn't miss the telly/dvd player/satellite/netflix at all which was sort of the whole point of staying here.

Would heartily recommend a stay here, the kids loved it, people we met in town were friendly, convivial...generally a pleasant short break. Go for it!





Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ballealy Cottage. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and really got to grips with what a stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property is all about. Cutting off from the loud and busy modern world to relax and reconnect with friends and family. We are so happy to hear that you really got a chance to see how wonderful Ballealy Cottage is and the local wildlife welcomed you too. It really is a chance to get away from everything. We do hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property. If you need any recommendations or to have a chat about other properties please do let the Bookings Office know.

Peaceful environnement to visit North of Irlande

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoy our stay in the cottage and we plan to come back !
peaceful and well placed : 40min from Belfast, 20min from the airport




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear such good feedback, come back again soon :)

Quiet stay in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ballealy Cottage is relatively isolated, which suited our needs perfectly, and is still within 30-60 minutes of many attractions such as Belfast, Giant's Causeway... The scenery is beautiful and the cottage itself is comfortable and spacious if a family or 4-5 people wish to stay in it, though it is slightly cold and damp in the winter months so stocking up on fire supplies is a good idea. Randalstown is only 5 minutes away and offers a good selection of shops & cafés. The property manager Corin was incredibly friendly and helpful which we greatly appreciated!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the future :)

Secluded country property

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property,very secluded and a great chance to stay somewhere unique rather than a hotel. Open fire was a bonus




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

?

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great stay .A little tricky finding it but once found a very comfortable and quiet spot .Great base for touring the area



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Loved the cottage, but....

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was spacious, comfortable and charming. We loved it!
However, the odor from the bat guano was overpowering, enough to to make the bathroom on the second level unusable. There were several commercial products left in that room (to "mask" the odor?), but the smell of those was worse than the smell of the guano.
Corin was an excellent host, and made sure that we were well taken care of, but the "bat-task" is beyond the scope of one person.




Secluded quaint cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is a very secluded quaint cottage furnished and decorated in a period manor. If you are looking for all mod cons telly and wifi then it's not for you. However if you do want peace tranquility seclusion and nature then this is the place. There are a couple of things to note. One the cottage is at the end of a mile or so long unpaved single track with hawthorn hedges so not the best drive for your shiny new porche. Two there is a colony of bats roosting in the eaves which are fascinating to watch of an evening but which sometimes can create a little odour and some droppings. If you are a squeamish townie that thinks the countryside would be fine except for the animals and smell then go stay in a town. I loved it.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely and very accurate description of the wonderful Ballealy Cottage. I am delighted you decided to go stay and that the current residents were good company for you. Happy to report that the little odour is nearly resolved (it appears that there was a blocked vent which due to the sensitive nature of bat conservation has be carried out extremely delicately) so everything will soon be back in order. I highly recommend Ballealy Cottage also around late February time. Bats are not active I am afraid but there are wonderful carpets of snowdrops down the laneway and some guests have even reported deer in the garden! Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Disappointing first trip to Ireland

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in an idillic location, the cottage is located in open grounds.
Unfortunately due to this it is inhabited with a protected breed of bats who have set up residence in the roof of the property.
Due to the overwhelming smell of bat droppings in the upstairs of the cottage we couldn't even stay one evening.
Connie who welcomed us was more than understanding. She went over and above to find us alternative accommodation for the week. Due to her amazing customer care I would rebook with the trust.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
We are very sorry that you could not get the chance to enjoy Ballealy Cottage on this occasion but glad to hear that you were able to find some alternative accommodation. Corin is indeed a wonderful lady and so passionate about Ballealy Cottage and Irish Landmark. The guests that were due after your reservation decided to stay and I am happy to say that they were not disturbed by the activity. Specialists have now been to the property and are working alongside a bat conversationalist to ensure that the odor issue is resolved. This has decreased dramatically I am please to report and they feel that along with the extremely warm weather immediately prior to your stay and a small vent that was not working properly was the major contribution.

Fantastic Weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend staying at Ballealy Cottage. We had a wonderful time using it as our base over the bank holiday weekend.

The cottage has a lovely history and one afternoon we got to see an entire herd of deer with a mature stag and a very young stag with several other beautiful does.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Already want to go back!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After travelling down the long winding lane we arrived and we were met by Corin who gave us a quick tour of the house and got the fire lit. We spent 3 nights in the cottage. The majority of the time either cooking on the fantastic range or lying up infront of the fire! The grounds around the house were fantastic for our 2 dogs and the snow on the ground made it even more magical. I would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a proper holiday away from the Internet and busy work life! It really was a holiday like no other and we can't thank Corin and the Irish Landmark trust enough for the wonderful time we had.



Stay at Ballealy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in Ballealy cottage - great comfortable rooms. Great for us as we were three generations - two little ones..
Corin made us feel very welcome - lovely friendly welcome with fire ready to go .. Thanks Corin..
Helen Fegan




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

Cosy on a chilly autumn weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In spite of almost constant rain and grey skies we enjoyed a very relaxing and cosy weekend in Ballealy Cottage. Coming in and kicking off the wellies before flopping by the fire, finding huge mushrooms in the garden and a recommendation for a great local butcher made the Sunday roast by the range some of the highlights. Returned to the working week feeling really refreshed.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Hallowe'en in Ballealy House

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely, quiet, secluded property, gardens teeming with wildlife and a long leafy lane full of hips, haws and blackberries. We love this house and would recommend it!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write this review, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon :)

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay here and would definitely like to come back! Communication was great and we had everything we needed and more! It is excellently equipped and very beautiful. We loved it!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for talking the time to write this review, so delighted you enjoyed your stay , it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

Ballealy Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful stay at Ballealy Cottage. It was what we wanted ...'a get away from it all' holiday. The utter silence and the wildlife made it perfection for us.
The manager was helpful and courteous.
We would stay again whenever we need a break from the bustle of life.
Nearby Randalstown was attractive and clean and further afield is the Giants Causeway...not to be missed.
We had Mediterranean weather but even in the rain there's always the real fires to light and sit round.
Idyllic....10/10




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the positive feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Please offer more cleanliness

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Unfortunately there was no real service as regards the cleanliness of the entrance (faeces of swallows) and the other windows (feaces of bats). Moreover some bats made their way into the hallway and into the bathroom's cupboard. . Furthermore the landlady came too late and needed to do cleaning work as we arrived (e.g. remove spiders, fill the sugar glass etc.). So all in all we are very disappointed and feel pranked because we can't believe that the bats just live there since one month through a big cluster of bat feaces under the bathroom window. We would have appreciated it if you would have informed us about this problem before we've booked. The bats weren't the problem but their excrements which weren't removed. The driveway to the property wasn't trimmed and caused little scratches on our car. Due to all these circumstances a pleasant stay wasn't really provided. Nevertheless the house was very pretty and had a great interior and we really enjoyed the evening in front of the open fire and the location which allowed us to see deer and pheasants. Additionally the stove and the heating worked very well. We can only recommend this site for lovers of nature.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ballealy Cottage. I wanted to address a few points. Firstly I do sincerely apologise about the animal droppings at the property. Whilst every effort is made to tidy this often Ballealy is set within a woodland and one of the delightful attractions at the property has always been the display at dusk of pipistrelle bats flying around the property. The activity, and as a result the droppings, has increased at the site due to a maternal roost of bats. Due to wildlife conservation and protection of bats in Ireland it is not permitted that we disturb or move the bats until the activity of the maternal roost has died down. The increase in activity was discovered the week before your arrival but I immediately contacted all guests to inform them of this (I can forward on a copy of this email sent to you if you require). As you booked at the beginning of the year there was no way that the maternity roost could have been foreseen. I have been in contact with the House Manager and have been informed me that your group arrived at the property earlier than your arranged arrival time but that she did not want to keep you waiting outside. When a property has been vacant for a few days the House Manager always does a final check before new guests arrive and complete some final little jobs. I would like to assure you that since the swallows have now vacated the nests a clean-up of the property has begun and we will continue to monitor the activity with regard to the bats and clean up as often as possible.

Wonderful weekend in Ballealy

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After an unpromising start to our weekend where another self-catering place had let us down badly, the ILT really saved the day and a four-year-old's tears when it came to the rescue by kindly arranging a late booking at Ballealy Cottage.
We have stayed in a number of ILT properties but this was not one I had ever considered. I am so glad we went and we would would definitely go back.
Idyllic, peaceful, woodland setting with a little stream running to the side. Gorgeous grassy area and woodland for plenty of running, playing and exploring by our little boy and our dog. They both enjoyed it so much. We weren't even plagued by insects as you can be in a woodland setting as I think the numerous bats kept them at bay and they were fascinating to see at dusk.
There are a lot of lovely walks and things to do and see in the area from forest walks and Shane's Castle estate to Lough Neagh and local village. The house manager was exceptional, changing her plans to give us access to the late booking and welcoming us with such kindness and sympathy after the disappointment in our plans. We will definitely book a return visit - dog and four-year-old would not forgive us if we didn't. Really handy distance from Dublin too.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad we could help, thank you for the lovely feedback , it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a delightful cottage. Good for a couple or for a large family. Very comfortable, affording a relaxing time. Well equipped with plenty of kitchen utensils. Lovely to watch bats in the evening and early morning.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Idyllic break in rural retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Ballealy Cottage for a short family break to visit relatives near to the house. It was everything we could have hoped for, a beautiful retreat completely isolated. Not everyone would love the lack of WIFI, phone signal and TV, but personally we loved it and it was the perfect way to switch off completely. The location was very close to Belfast, yet felt a million miles away from anything. Grace (the backup house manager) was very welcoming and accommodating and was the perfect start to a wonderful weekend. Im sure we'll be back! Thank you.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the positive feedback ,really delighted you enjoyed your stay , hope you do come back and stay with us.

A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balealy Cottage is the most idyllic place I have stayed in a long time. The cottage is beautiful, cosy, spotless clean and totally peaceful. The housekeeper went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and the local people in Randalstown could not have been friendlier. Very dog friendly too!! We will definitely be back!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be back :)

Heaven, carpeted with snowdrops

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most wonderful weekend at Ballealy Cottage. I can not recommend this property highly enough.
We were sent the directions well in advance and these were exceptionally clear and precise. I have never been to this part of the country before but was able to follow the directions very well and Corin was brillant at explaining where the turn was off the road for the laneway to the cottage when I called her a few days before we were due to stay. The GPS co-ordinates given are spot on so if you are in any doubt at all about where you are heading to I would highly recommend using these as they will bring you literally right to the door. After a easy paced drive up the wonderful wandering old country lane (we kept stopping to watch the pheasants and other wildlife in the surrounding fields) we approached the property and immediately our breath was taken away. You arrive to the rear of the property but that does not take anything away from it as the setting is just stunning. We had arranged to meet Corin at the property at a set time and although we were early she was there ready to greet us with the warmest of welcomes. A quick chat outside and a tour of the outside of the property we were lead inside to what I can only desribe as an honestly humbling atmosphere. You can feel the history in this place. The incredible work Landmark Trust have done to conserve this building and indeed that Corin does to maintain and upkeep the property. The wee courtyard in the middle of the property is perfect for kicking off those mucky boots after a long walk and for letting the dog (or kids) clean up a bit before heading into the kitchen where the fabulous range humms in the background - this gives out great heat by the way. Although there is a fire in the drawing room where we spent the evening playing scrabble I have to say we spent most of our time in the cosy warmth of the kitchen at the table chatting, listening to music (there is a radio but we had our own dock and music which was nice) and eating our fill after a full day our walking. On one of our walks we stumbled across a carpet of Snowdrops .... it was honestly one of the most wonderous sights to behold and rendered me speechless (not easy to do!!!). Up early in the morning to try and catch a sighting of the deer roaming through the garden. Trying to stay that quiet and motionless was easy that early in the morning but sadly no deer. Maybe next time as I will definately be returning. Huge garden for the kids or dog to run around in and so close to Lough Neagh. Thank you Corin for the wonderful stay. It was just incredible and I can not wait to return.




Customer service was dreadful - no manager to meet.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jan 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
1.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
House is fine with the usual facilities you would expect in an ILT property BUT part of the ILT experience is that you are met by the house manager and introduced to the house, heating, facilities etc.

I arrived at the appointed time set by the house manager at 4.30pm on 28.12.14 just as it was getting dark. Already I was quite anxious as the "lane" approach to the house was a horrible driving experience. It was iced over, a dirt track really and went on for a really long time. If the directions had given any indication of this it would not have caused such anxiety. Also there was no indication that the lane was the correct one as house sign supposed to be there wasn't so there was the horrible thought that if it was wrong one might have to reverse up the lane. There was no reply when I knocked (I know now because she wasn't there) so I waited. If you've ever been it is not the most relaxed place to wait in the dark in freezing temperatures. I was getting quite upset by that point so I decided to try again before leaving - at that stage I would have gone home as all the good feeling about having a few days relaxing away from home had gone. I found an entrance passageway at the side of the house and a key in the door so I was able to get into the house. The house manager had left me a note telling me that she had been at the house earlier as had her husband to bleed radiators but wouldn't be back as they were busy with Christmas visitors at their own house. The note ended with a message to contact her if there was any problem but this was in circumstances where she knew there was no phone signal at the house. I have to say it completely spoiled the visit. It might not seem like much but where finding the place was not pleasant and caused some anxiety it would have been nice to be calmed by someone who knew the house.

A fire had been set which was nice and it lit really easily. Unfortunately it caused the room to fill with smoke which took ages to clear. Following day's fire did not cause smoke.

Whatever way the heating was set was completely inadequate for the time of year and temperature. Temperatures were sub zero so the following morning the house was freezing and took a very long time to heat up. The second night I left the heat on all night which obviously helped.

The second day friends were joining me for the second night and they found the "lane" journey equally harrowing. If the directions indicated the distance and that it was a dirt track it would help. It also may help people decide whether to book there - if I knew how the house was accessed and just how isolated it was I would not have booked it.

When they were leaving on day 3 I decided to leave with them a day earlier than planned (and paid for). I did not want to run the risk that if the manager did not show up for the handover that I would be left to drive the lane on my own again. It turns out that the manager had sent a text (not received as there is no signal which she knew as we had discussed it when arranging the first meet) telling me how terrified she was driving on her own lane but yet she seemed surprised that I worried she wouldn't show up again.

I left the house in perfect condition so it will be interesting to see if my deposit is returned having left my complaint in the visitors book. I have not been contacted by ILT since my return which I think is a pity. I will be forwarding this review to them.

On the positive the house itself is lovely. We were 4 adults so there was a bed each for us. Once the house warmed up it was very comfortable. Bed linen was lovely and clean and beds were very comfortable. The furniture in the sitting room is however the most uncomfortable furniture I ever sat on, really caused problems for my back. I think the balance between having period appropriate furniture and comfort has erred on the wrong side. Bath was gorgeous - really big and plenty of hot water for a decent bath. Was glad there were sufficient teabags as I would not have been willing to venture out that lane again if there hadn't.

Not a positive experience however which was all the worse as my stay there was a gift so I feel that my friend wasted her money.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
I appreciate that you have taken the time to review your stay at Ballealy Cottage and bringing some items to my attention, which I will ensure to follow up on. I wanted to make a note quickly regarding the directions and information sent to guests when they book a stay. The local directions we send to guests for Ballealy Cottage clearly say that the approach to the property is a long lane, passing through several gates, and is located approximately 2 miles from Randalstown. Taking your comments on board I will emphasis this on the directions.

A Fantastic Property In An Excellent Location!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had looked at Irish Landmark Trust rental properties for a real get away from it all break and we wanted to support them in preserving these properties. There was so much choice but we finally decided on Ballealy Cottage it looked great and the description was just what we wanted. Arranging our arrival with Corin was so painless and everything was as we expected for getting access to the cottage.
The location was really off the beaten track but not so far off that we couldn't nip out to town for the provisions or entertainment.

The trip down the lane just before dark was enchanting we couldn't wait to arrive at the cottage. And on arrival we were not disappointed, it felt like we were miles from anywhere. The cottage is beautiful, real old stone building with these fantastic chimneys that rise out of it like church spires! On entering the cottage it felt like we were stepping back in time, it has been restored with real heart and great attention to detail.

We spent three wonderful days and cosy nights with nothing but the radio for outside company. The setting and the cottage encouraged conversation, game playing, story telling and real enjoyment of close friends company and appreciation for the environment around us! My words will do no justice to spending some nights in this cottage with only the company of bats, as other creatures, to entertain us.

The location close to Lough Neagh left us with an abundance of options of things to do during the day. We did a half day boat hire with the Lough Neagh Boat Hire team which was excellent and then a walk through Randalstown forest right next door and a visit to the Owl Sanctuary, which we are still talking about, ensured we had lots to talk about not just during our evenings in the cottage but memories we have brought home with us to share with friends. Well done Irish Landmark Trust for looking after this precious building and to Corin for making it so easy to get there....
Thanks!






Bookings officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Ballealy and for giving us such a fantastic review. Reading through it I can see that you could see exactly what our aim is at Irish Landmark and it is so lovely to hear. All we want to do is to protect and maintain these wonderful buildings and open them for other people to experience them as well. Really hope to welcome you back to another property in the future.

Enjoyable stay in great area

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Aug 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable stay in house full of character. Great sitting room with lovely fire. and house was nice and warm. Kitchen was well stocked too with pots etc, if a bit awkward in shape. KIds had great time in house with loads of space for all to come together or get their own space. Well away from everywhere but only 30 mins from Belfast and 1 hour from Antrim coast makes it an ideal base.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had a nice holiday at Ballealy Cottage. Thank you for leaving a review. Hope to have a chance to welcome you to another of the Landmark Properties.

short break in the country

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage setting, grounds, surroundings are very rural. It is therefore not surprising that with the cottage come critturs. We found it unnerving to be sharing a house with a roof full of bats. We encountered two in the house. It was enough to put us off. Everything else was wonderful - it was like living in the Hansel and Gretel story.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Ballealy Cottage. As bats are protected I am afraid we can not remove them until the nursery roost is finished. I am sorry that they were of nuisance to you but that aside from them you enjoyed Ballealy.

Secluded locale

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Jul 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall our stay at the cottage was okay. I think it would be a much better value for a larger group instead of just two of us. You do need to realize that you are a bit far from several places and the driveway/lane is quite long. If that's what you're looking for though the cottage is perfect. It had loads of charm and could easily sleep 6-8 people. My one issue was the bats and their guano and trouble with flying ants. I suspect it was likely the time of year but it did make our stay somewhat less pleasant.



Bookings Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments about Ballealy Cottage on the Shane's Castle Estate in Antrim. Just a quick note that the maximum number of people who can stay at Ballealy Cottage is 5. Unfortunately there is very little we can do about the flying ants as they are out and about this time of year but we have been made are aware of the bats.. As it is a maternal roost we are unable to move them at the moment but plans are in place for when they leave the roost.

Great place to get away from it all!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed 3 nights at Balleally. It's a great place to relax and get away from it all. The kids loved the huge garden and we really enjoyed the character of the place. Highly recommended!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you and the entire family had a fun stay, thank you for this review,come back soon :)

Party of Longbow Archers

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was not easy to find but over the phone directions from the very helpful and accommodating house keeper saw us there. The cottage was clean well maintained and full of period features and character. Facilities were good and in keeping with the property and the Kitchen table in front of the large range cooker was plenty large enough. There was a smaller cooker in the pantry area and enough place settings and utensils for our party of six. Beds were large, comfortable, clean and enough towels for our party.
On the downside the garden picnic bench looked slightly unsafe one side and the quantity and quality of other seating for use in the garden could have been better.
Mobile phone signal was intermittent at best and you normally needed to be outside at the corner of the house, there was an O2 adaptor to link a laptop to a mobile signal but Wifi would have been better.
The cottage was very isolated and secluded at the end of a very long, narrow rough track. This was OK for our 4x4 but not the best access for the other family saloon. The hedging on either side was encroaching into the narrow lane and could do to be cut back more often to avoid scratched paintwork.
However all said and done the cottage provided us with the peace, quiet, seclusion and privacy we were looking for and we would come back again.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Ballealy Cottage and appreciated the effort made by the Irish Landmark Trust maintain the feeling of seclusion and the character of this building. Thank you also for your kind comments in relation to the House Manager. We have taken note of the concerns about the garden furniture and details have been passed on regarding the road and the hedging. It would be lovely to welcome you to one of our other properties at some stage in the future.

Worth the trip down the lane.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Irish Landmark Trust has done a great service in bringing this property back. The history of its recovery is documented in the house book and is really worth a read. Ballealy Cottage is a lovely rural vacation experience, but situated well enough to make day trips out to Belfast and Londonderry, and to other great sights. Spending time in a comfortable and beautiful old house is also a treat. The stone floors running in from the tiny courtyard, the staircase, the working fireplace and many other details were really authentic and appealing.
A small constructive criticism would be to arrange for more frequent window cleaning. The bats (the culprits of the windows) were, however, a great show at night, and the songbirds, wonderful both morning and evening. Deer, neighbouring cows, local ruins and a little brook running by the lane made the site a picture.
A suggestion: a dishwasher, if it were possible to add one, would make sure kitchenware were sparkling for the next guest.
All-in-all, Ballealy Cottage was a true highlight for us during our six day stay.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback and suggestion, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties. Would love to see you back in the near future.

Easter in the Deerkeeper's House on Shane's Castle Estate

Review submitted on Sat, 03 May 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very enjoyable stay, our second in this property. All rooms and outside area clean, tidy and ready for our stay. House is warm and comfortable and although down a long and bumpy lane, it is convenient for city and coastal sightseeing. Some dogs on the lane-way made a long walk a nervous ordeal but the countryside is pretty and on the shores of Lough Neagh Local charity World of Owls worth a visit. Nice local restaurant The Back Shed in Antrim was family friendly and had tasty food. Truffles in Randlestown also well worth a look.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for this review. Would love to see you back in the near future.

Excellent property. Well done to all.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had booked to stay for 3 nights but due to work commitments could only stay for one. We would love to return . A hidden treasure.
Finding it was a bit tricky but well worth persevering!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review,pity you did not get to stay as long as you intended. Look forward to your return :)

Journey into the past

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had almost given up when we arrived at the end of the progressively rougher country lane, late at night. The house's isolation and vintage gave it a spooky air. We gingerly circled it on foot, looking for the back door, eventually finding it via a small courtyard which had seemed like an outhouse at first glance. Once we gained access, we managed to persuade the kids to leave the car and they had great fun being semi-terrified wandering around the old rooms on guard for ghosts at every turn. The house was lovely and warm and comfortable, and we soon made ourselves at home. I'd advise bringing basic provisions as it's not easy to pop out to the shop. The kitchen has all the basics, although we didn't do any cooking. The shower is reasonable and the main bathroom has an antique bath. We slept upstairs and the kids downstairs. They were a little apprehensive, but actually everyone slept well partly because it's so quiet. Next morning they had a good run around the garden, after which we headed out to Antrim town. Although a little neglected looking, the main street has a fantastic home bakery and we piled in and had a tasty breakfast of treacle fruit scones and chocolate orange pancakes. There seemed to be lovely gardens and places to wander, in the vicinity of the town itself, but the rest of the family were intent on going into Belfast so I had to give them a miss:(. That evening we relaxed in the cottage. There was a lovely open fire, which we didn't bother to light as the house was so warm already. The kids played games in the sitting room and we read, enjoying the peace and quiet and absence of screens! The next day we checked out the World of Owls, which is near the cottage and beside a large deer park. We got to see lots of different owls from around the world, some other birds of prey and an inquisitive turkey who was wandering freely. There is also an interesting collection of reptiles and insects and we got to watch them being fed by a friendly warden.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I'd definitely recommend it and consider returning. The garden would be a great place for an Easter egg hunt!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback,delighted you and the children enjoyed your stay. Would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Nice place

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Apr 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location nice and remote for a family get together the flys are a down side but that's the time of year . Bit on the pricey side for 2 days for 1 couple .



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, hope yo enjoyed your stay :)

Peaceful and de-stressing!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely propergy in a secluded spot. The house manager was very warm and welcoming. The local area is beautiful and has lovely walks and historical interest. The people of the area are very friendly. All in all a great stay in a beautiful place!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback,hope to see you back soon :)

ballealy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful cottage,lovely people, lovely garden and views though would suggest that maybe access to a tv should be provided or games/cards provided instead and lane leading up to cottage was in v poor condition.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback, most people enjoy the fact there is no Tv. Games are provided in Ballealy and normally are there,we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of this issue and will work towards improving it. Hope to see you back soon perhaps in another one of our properties :)

Ballealy Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent new Years with friends here and had a wonderful time. Its warm, comfortable, plenty of space for everyone. Altogether a charming house. We travelled up in the evening and found it difficult to see the sign post for the house so this did cause us a little bit of delay in finding the house. The walk way in Winter was very muddy indeed and Id recommend wellies for anyone staying here.



Nadine Cregan replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your new years, I hope you didn't get too muddy :) Cant wait to see you again.

Ballealy is beautiful.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Ballealy. What a beautiful, elegant, cosy country house. It felt like home as soon as we stepped inside or should I say we wished it was our home! The property is beautifully looked after by house manager Corin who gave us a warm welcome. The house had a lovely atmosphere. It is perfect for dogs with an enclosed yard and a warm stone floored kitchen for them to sleep in. We really enjoyed the area especially Randalstown Forest with walks leading down to the Lough Neagh shore and Randalstown itself is a busy interesting little town. We intend to return to Ballealy next autumn and are looking forward to it already!
Penny.




Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Penny; thank for this great feedback from your stay and especially the lovely photograph! Glad you enjoyed Ballealy so much, I'm sure Corin will be only delighted to have you back in Autumn. Take care.

Comfort and Solitude

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ballealy Cottage is probably the most comfortable stay we have had with the Trust; especially as far as heat is concerned. A very spacious property; somewhat remote (not a problem for us); close enough for a trip to Belfast for a meal. The lake is nearby and although we did not spend much time exploring it, the nearby lakeside walk is apparently the way to make the most of it. The restaurant in Randalstown is good value and convenient. The Outlet outside Antrim town is a good oasis for "shopping therapy" and great for coffee on Sunday, (Costa fans). Corin extremely helpful (as is usual with Trust Caretakers). Most enjoyable stay.



Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad that you had such a great time at Ballealy and that you enjoyed the area as well. See you again soon we hope!