FB Twitter

Dracup's Cottage

Dracup's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Located in a beautiful market town of Bridgnorth, Shropshire, Dracup's Cottage is a real gem for art lovers, railway enthusiasts as well as Alice in Wonderland or The Hobbit fans.
Previously owned by Antony Dracup, an artist whose work within the house has been covered by the media, the cottage hides many surprises for you to discover in each room.

Magical place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the outside you would think this cottage was quaint and cute but maybe not think much more. It's location is great; it's on a lovely narrow and steep road with similar tiny cottages all the way up adorned with bunting and beautiful flowers. It's nice and close to the town centre where there is an abundance of tea rooms and pubs.

However, once you enter the cottage it goes from quaint to rather magical...the lounge is Alice in Wonderland themed and looks great: from the wonky grandfather clock to playing card light fittings the details are impressive and will have you noticing more and more as you try to take it all in. Further exploration brings further surprises with an impressive train station kitchen that's small but well equipped and the coffee machine is a lovely touch. The medieval cave is something else, I can't describe it, you'll have to see it for yourself. The Steam punk bathroom is genius, the dials and pipes and furnace!! Amazing. The bedroom is cozy and calm and the mural room feels like looking into the mind of the artist who left this house behind. Wonderful blend of what the artist left behind plus carefully thought out additions from the new owners. Not just a place to sleep; an experience.




Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 2 days ago
Thank you very much, Georgina! Creating an experience for our guests was our goal! We're happy that you enjoyed our little cottage!

Stress free escape

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well presented to a very high standard - as is the whole booking process with excellent communication from the owners, all of which make the stay totally stress free. The “unusual” interior of the cottage has been a great talking point when meeting friends back home :)



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 2 days ago
Thank you, David! Happy to know your holiday was a good experience from the start!

Simply wonderful and a National Treasure

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Behind this sweet terraced cottage lies the most amazing holiday ever. Dracups cottage sits happily on a steep hill close to the beautiful town of Bridgnorth. That alone is a good reason to visit as it is a gem of a town with so much to see, eat, drink and explore. But it's greatest prize is this cottage. Once inside you will be transported to another world of colour, art, craft work, hobbit rooms, an alice in wonderland room, a station master's house and a Knights Cavern worthy of the Alhambra Cathedral! As if all that wasn't enough, the present hosts have thought of absolutely everything any one could wish for. From a welcoming botlle of wine, a cream tea, and fresh bottle of milk to a full set of helpful notes. The shower room is a wonderful experience with Steampunk dials and knobs and oodles of hot water. The bed is supremely comfortable and very quiet. Quite simply this place is utterly stunning, comfortable, superbly equipped and a total wonder to stay in. Book soon as once word gets out about this treasure of a place then I think that you will have to queue for the privilege to stay in Dracups cottage.



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 46 days ago
Thank you so much for such detailed review of our cottage! We're always happy to know our guests appreciate its quirkiness. Hope you come back soon!

Unique Place

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully special and unique place to stay. Very good space for 2 and very well equipped with good communications and instructions. Very well located for going out in Bridgnorth and for the Severn Valley Railway. Excellent welcome too with drinks, food and snacks.



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 46 days ago
Thank you very much!

Dracup's Cottage, a unique stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from this delightful, quirky cottage. It is such fun to explore all the little details the owners have so carefully included.
The rooms are all so individual!! Also, Bridgnorth and the surrounding area is a beautiful and interesting part of the country. A fabulous stay!




Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 46 days ago
Thank you! Happy to know you enjoyed our cottage.

Wonderful Quirky Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed every minute at this quirky one of a kind cottage. Comfortable bed, amazing shower, brilliant art work and a surprise through every door! The welcome pack was a lovely touch. Ideal position for all amenities in Bridgnorth.



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 118 days ago
Thank you! We hope to host you again!

Very stylish and unusual cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dracup's Cottage was owned by Antony Dracup who was clearly a very talented artist, and has retained some of his artwork and I think, a lot of his style. I has now been modernised into a holiday cottage with all the facilities anybody could want, whilst keeping an off-beat vibe that complements the original features really well.
We hadn't visited Bridgnorth before, but liked it very much - full of interesting things, plus lots of pubs, restaurants and cafes. The cottage is a short if very steep walk from the High Street and the Castle Gardens, which are particularly attractive




Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 146 days ago
Thank you! This was our intention entirely :)

Quirky Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dracup’s Cottage is amazing. Every room has its own unique quirkiness to it , so much detail and effort has been put in to ensure you have a fantastic stay.
The cave is amazing, plenty of photos as you probably would not find another cottage like this again.
We scoured the whole house and took photos of all the quirky gadgets
Amazing weekend for hubbys surprise 50th birthday trip . 10/10




Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 154 days ago
Very happy that our house managed to add a little surprise element to your special weekend! Thank you!

A magical escape into an eccentric wonderland

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed two nights in Dracup's Cottage and had a wonderful experience. We spent our first hour exploring the house and its eccentricities, such as the steampunk bathroom, unusual room with the artwork walls, the beautiful bedroom and of course the medieval-style caves, and were in awe of the uniqueness of the property. It was exceptionally clean, warm and welcoming. The owner had even left us some lovely snacks and drinks which we enjoyed upon arrival. The coffee pods were a welcome surprise too. It was great that there was a photo book showing the development of the house, and lots of other nice touches that made our stay special. We were very popular in town when we told people where we were staying; everyone was intrigued to know more about the place. It's also in a great location, a stone's throw from town where we enjoyed shopping and going to some pubs, and also close to the cliff railway which was great. Also a great location for venturing out and doing some walking. All round a great stay and we wish we could have stayed longer!



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 154 days ago
Thank you so much for your detailed review! Keeping our fingers crossed you can come back soon to explore our cottage further!

Perfect hospitality, stunning cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Karolina provided a top notch self catering experience. Everything was very well thought out and provided for,
The cottage is in a great position for enjoying lovely Bridgnorth. But the true icing on the cake is the exciting experience of staying in a unique cottage. The decor is stunning, the piece de resistance is the cellar at the back of the cottage, excavated by the original owner, feeling like a medieval hall, providing the ultimate atmospheric dining experience!
A memorable and unmissable place to stay!




Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 159 days ago
Thank you! Happy to know we managed to surprise you and provide a comfortable space for your stay in Bridgnorth!

Exceeded all our hopes.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve been interested in the cottage since it’s sale was in the news a few years ago, so were delighted to see it’s now a holiday let and to find a couple of nights available. We live about 20 minutes drive away, so already know what an interesting place Bridgnorth is. The website suggested we were in for something special, but we were still blown away by the reality. It really is an amazing place, and we spent the first half hour exploring the cottage and giggling. I won’t spoil the surprises by saying more, just be reassured that it’s a really special place to stay.
Practical notes: it’s on a steep hill and you cannot park on the street except for long enough to unload, which could be an issue for the less able. There is reasonably priced parking about 5 minutes away at the Severn Valley Railway. Parking in the town is more expensive. There are lots of shops and takeaways for food supplies and opportunities to eat out within a short but steep walk of the cottage.
If you want to experience the Severn Valley Railway check the opening season before booking. We’re local so that wasn’t important to us, but no trains are running in February!
100% recommended for a truly special place.




Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 159 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your view of the cottage! Always happy to know we met your expectations and left you with wonderful memories!

Quirky, stunning cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house, with surprises round every corner. Attentive host who had really thought about what guests would need from a weekend break.



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 181 days ago
Thank you :)

Quirky cottage displaying fantastic creativity and craftsmanship

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The sofa in the living room was not very comfortable and there was a smell of damp after rain. Given the nature of the terrain this is, I suppose, inevitable. It is clear that a great deal of care and thought has gone into restoring and preserving the best of what this cottage has to offer.



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 183 days ago
Thank you Colin! Glad you appreciated the cottage's quirkiness :)

Wow wow wow

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The humble exterior belies the wonders that await you as you unlock the front door. There is quirky for the sake of being quirky, and then there is Dracup’s Cottage where quirkiness is a collection of inventive artwork where the very fabric of the building is part of the artist’s canvas. Very tastefully designed and full of inspirational additions that fit into a cornucopia of themes that when put together create a perfect holiday accommodation. Don’t hesitate to book this place to create instant memories. I earned mega brownie points for booking it as a surprise for my wife.



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 203 days ago
Thank you! Happy to hear that the surprise worked out well!

Quirky, fun and comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed staying here very much. Very interesting, fun place yet well equipped and comfortable. Lots of little extras which were unexpected but make a lot of difference eg access to Netflix. Possibly not suited to anyone very old or infirm as the stairs are steep and the bathroom downstairs but I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 203 days ago
Thank you, Caroline! Happy to know you had a great experience with us.

Amazing Christmas break in a charming cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic Xmas break in this cottage made extra special with Karolina’s extra little touches like a massive welcome hamper,bowl of nuts and chocolates on the tree.It was lovely to have Xmas dinner in the cave an amazing setting.We felt right at home all through our stay as it was such a cosy place to stay.Convenient for the Severn valley railway at the bottom of the street and the centre of such a nice town at the top of the street.Also good for local walks straight from the doorstep.I am sure we will return soon



Holiday Let Bridgnorth replied 216 days ago
You were the very first Christmas guests and we're happy to know you enjoyed this special time of the year in our cottage! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience!!!

Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had the most amazing time at Dracups cottage! You think wow! at the pictures but the real thing is even better. Two nights there and we were still discovering new things. We have stopped in some unique places and Dracups cottage is up there with the best!
It is in a prime position to discover all that Bridgnorth delivers.




Karolina replied 286 days ago
It's been a pleasure! Happy to know you had a great stay with us!

Dracup's Cottage - a lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time here. It was a surprise for my wife and she was delighted. Great communication with Karolina when needed. Worth the trip to Bridgnorth for the cottage alone but plenty of other reasons to go. We went on the steam railway and walked along the Severn during our short break. Recommended!



Karolina replied 292 days ago
Thank you! It's been a pleasure hosting you!