FB Twitter

Chapter House

Chapter House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Click here to view full property details

'CHAPTER HOUSE' - THE CHAPTER HOUSE - 2 BEDROOMS


PROPERTY FEATURES:WiFi - SKY - STUNNING ARCHITECTURE - SPACIOUS - GARDEN - DINING SEATS 10
GROUP RESERVATIONS: COMBINE WITH THE SACRISTY - CALADH - SCRIPTORIUM 2

Modern luxury within historic settings- well worth the money!

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Arriving at the gates our jaws dropped. "Is this really where we are staying?" When we were shown around the historic stone work and large walk ways it was all too much to take in. Then we entered our apartment in the Chapter House and it too was breathtaking.

The bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and lounge areas were modern and had everything that you need. It was a perfect base for exploring the surrounding rugged but beautiful countryside. In the evening you sit by the Loch with a glass of wine, sharing yourself with the midgies.

A place to definitely recommend and return to on a future Scottish foray.




Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied 110 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Chapter House. A beautifully written review which is both informative and offers future guests a real sense of what to expect. Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Chapter House, everything you could need. The kids loved all the facilities within the Highland lodge, such a beautiful setting.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 138 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Chapter House. We are pleased you had a wonderful stay and that the apartment provided all that you needed. Also thank you for pointing out that it's a great location for all the family, this property in particular is wonderful for families as it offers plenty of space and a beautiful, large dining table for family meals. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Wow, what a place!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 5 was stunned by the beauty and history of this place. The views from the other side of the lock to the property are absolutely breathtaking. The Chapter House was perfect for our 3 children and the kitchen was perfect for our dinners that we prepared 2 nights while there. The architectural details of the entire monastery are amazing and our apartment was ideal for a 3 night stay exploring the entire area. The town of Ft Augustus was quaint and fun. We did the speed boat ride around the Loch and loved it. And then spent 2 days driving around the Loch on different roads. An awesome stay!



Joanne Nicholson replied 157 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Chapter House. It's difficult to describe the beauty of this location, your lovely description will help prospective guests form an accurate vision. As you mentioned the speed boat ride on Loch Ness is exhilarating and can be boarded next to The Highland Club. The Chapter House is an ideal choice for those who enjoy family meals together as there is a large table which seats up 10 people situated on the beautiful mezzanine. We hope you will stay on another occasion. Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Our Stay on Loch Ness in the Chapter House

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in a former Benedictine Monastery on the shores of Loch Ness! We were overwhelmed by how beautiful the Monastery and the surrounding grounds were, not to mention our apartment! The Chapter House was incredible, with a ceiling that has to be seen to be believed. It was clean and brightens very spacious. We were greeted when we arrived and given a tour of the building and apartment. All the appliances are up to date. We stayed for six days and never ate dinner out, we ate in at the huge dining room table under that great ceiling and marvelling at the view out the window! The location is great, it is a nice central location in Fort Augustus. Easy to explore Inverness, Fort William, the Cairngorms, Loch Ness, with loads of walking trails and castles to check out. We would definitely stay there again!



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 171 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday. The Chapter House is an exceptional property, the ornate vaulted ceiling as you mentioned is breathtaking. It's worth also mentioning that The Chapter House is one of a handful of properties with private outside space. Thank you also for mentioning the cleanliness of the property as the cleaning team take great pride in making sure each property is presented to a high standard. We hope you will return soon. Best wishes Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Highland Club - Chapter House

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chapter House captures modern living with all the period features of the former monastery. Ideally located on the banks of Loch Ness, it was a great base for exploring the highlands and local tourist attractions. The accommodation could do with an additional shower over bath in the main bathroom, as 4 of us had to use the only shower in the en-suite when getting ready. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Highland Club/Chapter House to friends and family, as I'm sure our friends visiting from England will also.



Joanne Nicholson replied 210 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Chapter House. As you mentioned this is a very special property with such an abundance of period features and a wonderful private garden. All properties are privately owned, I am certain the owner will consider carefully your comments regarding the shower however, we are pleased that this did not detract from the enjoyment of your holiday.

Great Historic Accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Chapter House was a great place to stay and Fort Augustus was a great location to base oneself for everything the highlands has to offer. The apartment was comfortable and the building had lovely historic features that set it apart from other accommodation and was very spacious. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to book a unique and special place in the highlands.

Only problems were the cleanliness of the the cups, plates and cutlery, which had obviously been put back into cupboards dirty before we got there, so we had to wash everything before using it. I also thought that some of the furniture such as the lounge and beds could do with some updating, as it was looking a bit worn and uncomfortable. We also received no complementary toiletries as was stated we would in the apartment description when we booked. Those were only little things that wouldn't stop me from booking again however. Overall great stay.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 234 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Chapter House. We are grateful that you have pointed out there was an issue with the cleanliness of some crockery and cutlery, rest assured we are addressing this today with the cleaning staff. This is probably an oversight as normally we receive good comments regarding the cleanliness of all our properties. The property manager for The Chapter House is extremely forward leaning and so will make sure all is in order and standards are maintained. The property managers are also on hand at all times to address any of these kind of issues during your stay and I am certain they would have sorted this out had they been asked, however, I appreciate that all should have been in order for your arrival. Reviews are placed directly onto our website, the owners of each property also receive a copy of the review and I will liaise with the owner to ensure any appropriate corrective actions are carried out. As you reiterated this property is extremely special, offering an abundance of architectural features.

What a gem!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delighted to have come across this beautiful and luxurious accommodation in such a perfect location. Marvellous views of the loch!
Kids loved the table tennis, games room and grounds.
Such a special place!




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 238 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you had a wonderful holiday and that your kids took full advantage of all the on site activities. The Chapter House is our largest 2 bedroom property with plenty of space for families with the added bonus of a private garden. Best wishes Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Fantastic stay in a gorgeous setting

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 3 nights staying in the Chapter House with our twin 8 year old daughters. The setting is absolutely stunning, driving up to the old Monastery is a big wow and the scenery looking over the Loch is just amazing. The apartment itself had everything we needed for some home cooking of breakfasts and dinners, unfortunately one of our daughters had tonsilitis whilst we were there so we were inside alot more than planned, but having such a big comfortable apartment made that alot easier on us all.
Having the games room and table tennis table was also a bonus for the children and they loved exploring the grounds, feeding the ducks and spotting rabbits from the swings in the park.
The location is excellent with good access to many sights and attractions. We finally got out to explore and drove to Ben Nevis where the girls got a chance to sledge on the mountain (we left the sledge in the apartment for future guests!). The drive up to Fort William was just stunning with some gorgeous views, I'd definitelty recommend it. We ate at both The Bothy and The Lock Inn, which were walking distance and good food, the Londis is well stocked for essentials and I can even say the local GP and pharmacy were fantastic and very helpful when my daughter needed antibiotics!
We took a boat trip with the local company based on the lock, a quick hour with some informative and amusing presentations from the crew!
Overall a fantastic stay and the kids are already asking when we can go back!




A gorgeous setting

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chapter House is beautiful and has everything you need. It is set within breathtaking surroundings which appear to change everyday. I would definately stay there again.