FB Twitter

Clipstone Cottage

Clipstone Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Light and cosy stone built cottage renovated with conscientious detail in the heart of Masham. Stylish and contemporary yet retaining character. Walk to Hackfall Woods plus many other walks from the doorstep. Enjoy exploring nearby Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal, the Himalayan Gardens, Marfield Wetlands. Visit Ripon, Thirsk, Northallerton

My Week in Clipstone Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clipstone Cottage had been recently re-decorated and furnished. I fail to think how the decor can be improved. It was even better than last year. Shirley, the owner, was her usual friendly and efficient self. The only issue that prevents solid 5-star reviews for everything is that the convenient location on a main road results in high traffic noise. This is problematic for the people sleeping in the front room as the noise starts early morning. Despite this I have no hesitation in recommending staying there.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 14 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Clipstone Cottage in Masham. Great to hear you found the cottage even better then last year and good to know you would have no hesitation in recommending the cottage even though there was some traffic noise. Nadine

A lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in Clipstone Cottage. It had all we needed, and the space at the back was glorious to sit in and enjoy the sun. Masham itself is a lovely village, and conveniently has a couple of breweries if you enjoy an ale or two.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 19 days ago
Really great to hear you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Clipstone Cottage and enjoyed Masham also. Thank you so much for leaving your review and we'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great cottage, great location

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clipstone is situated in the centre of Masham. While there is no dedicated parking, but we had no problems for the week we were there, doing day trips and returning to find spaces available outside the cottage. The cottage is well equipped and the courtyard at the back is a nice addition to sit out in after a days walking. There were just two of us, but the cottage will comfortably take four with one of the rooms having an en-suite shower room. All and all a great little place to stay and great value for money.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 62 days ago
Thank you so much for writing a review. Sounds like you had a lovely week exploring. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to revisit the area. Joanne

Clipstone Excellence on all counts.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfort and all needs catered for.
Could not ask for more.
Booking and my booking problems so well catered for.
Location very good.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 116 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. Really the pleased the cottage catered for all your needs and glad we could help you with your booking. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely well equipped cottage. Good central location. On street parking outside the cottage usually available.
Everything you could possibly need except a dishwasher.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 120 days ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for Clipstone Cottage, so pleased to hear there was everything you needed for your holiday, apart from a dishwasher of course. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clipstone Cottage is ideally situated for anyone wanting to explore the dales. We stayed there with friends and after a day out in the cold it was a welcome retreat on our return. The cottage itself was well equipped, extremely clean, cosy and warm, ideally situated and we will consider going again and recommend it to friends.
Shirley the owner popped in to say hello and make sure everything was ok which was a lovely touch. Many thanks!




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 121 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review for Clipstone Cottage, we'd love to welcome you and your friends back and look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return and explore the dales again. Joanne

Excellent Base For This Area Of The Dales

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed Cottage with everything you would need for a break in the Eastern Dales. Having both a shower and a bath was a bonus for us. Parking was not a problem and we managed to get parked outside the cottage on most occasions, although still not a problem as other parking is close by.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 154 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review for Clipstone Cottage in Masham, very much appreciated. Good to hear the cottage had everything you needed for your stay. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely well appointed prprerty

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clipstone Cottage was very well appointed with everything you could want for a lovely relaxing break. Would not hesitate to recommend. Could not find any fault with the place. Lovely decor, very spacious. We were two adults and two children. The additional shower room was a definite bonus.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 174 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Joanne

Cosy cottage perfectly located

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully kept cottage with all that you need for a short stay or longer holiday. Just 2 minutes walk into the picturesque main square of Masham. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils so we could easily prepare our meals, although with such a great choice of local good quality eateries it was only breakfasts that we managed ourselves. A good selection of books and ideas for walks, most of these starting in the village.
Bedding and linen were both excellent quality.
Definitely on our list for a return visit.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 257 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review for Clipstone Cottage and Masham. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and sounds like you did some exploring too! We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Clipstone Cottage - beautiful village in Masham

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm comfy cottage, spotlessly clean and containing everything needed to enable us to have another special stay in Masham! Lots of amenities, places to eat and welcoming pubs it's an excellent base for travelling around to other villages with stunning walks and views. The local people are friendly and we had the most relaxing stay, so peaceful and calm which is what we both needed! Thank you Shirley.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 292 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely, positive review for Clipstone Cottage, so pleased you enjoyed your stay there. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in a prime location in Masham. Everything you could possibly need is provided. The cottage is kept spotlessly clean. The owners are nearby if there are any issues and they are lovely. Booking with country hideaways was very easy and efficient. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 310 days ago
Thank you for your very positive review about Clipstone Cottage in Masham and that you would recommend the cottage to others. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A later holiday in Masham - Clipstone Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in Clipstone Cottage. It's quality was as high this time as it was a few years back. The cottage has a 'Tardis' feel about it, having a narrow frontage which opens into a two-bedroom house with comfortably-sized living room and kitchen. The twin bedroom has the bonus of an en-suite shower room. Everything was spotlessly clean and of good quality. The property is a two-minute walk from the town square and although situated on a main road was reasonably quiet, especially in the evenings. Shirley, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful. All-in-all, we had a very nice week in Masham, with Clipstone offering everything we needed.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 319 days ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your return visit to Clipstone Cottage and you had a very nice week. Thank you for leaving such a positive review. We'll look forward to welcoming you when you're ready to return once more! Nadine

Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only had a last minute weekend available to us and managed to book Clipstone cottage.
The property was extremely clean, fully equipped and very well situated in the center of Masham.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 330 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review, so glad we could help you last minute and hope to hear from you again :)

Our second visit to what is becoming our favourite part of Yorkshire

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Masham, staying both times in a cottage owned by the same local owners. Excellent cottage, everything you need and lots of extra personal touches. We were blessed with great weather so completed many long local walks. We enjoyed the black sheep brewery tour and the kings arms became our local. Meal at the white bear was spot on. We also managed to visit Ripon which was great.



A very comfortable stay in the centre of Masham

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a very comfortable stay in Clipstone Cottage. Shirley was wonderful at keeping in touch prior to our arrival and was on hand during our stay too. She provided an amazing welcome pack with milk in the fridge, tea and biscuits as well as the more decadent touches of chocolates and local beers! Thank you! There was plenty of information provided about local walks and attractions. The cottage is centrally located making it a great base to explore Masham and the surrounding areas. We’ve had a wonderful week. Thank you



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 361 days ago
So pleased to hear you had a wonderful week at Clipstone Cottage and thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you ready to return! Nadine

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely comfortable well equipped cottage in a great location. Very clean with a nice courtyard garden.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Clipstone Cottage, we hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return to this beautiful part of Yorkshire. Joanne

Ideal cottage for exploring Nidderdale

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good cottage with everything provided for guests' needs and thoughtful touches of toiletries, chocolates etc. Great to have two bathrooms and accommodation very comfortable overall.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review and so pleased to hear the cottage met all your needs. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great place to getaway to

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clipstone cottage is a lovely, roomy place to stay with everything you need for a break in the country. The courtyard is a suntrap and ideal for enjoying breakfast while the swifts dart over head. There is a good size kitchen with everything you might need and the en-suite shower is very good. Masham is a friendly market town with good pubs and a shop on the square that sells yummy ice-cream and delicious chocolates. The community office has useful local info and handy walking maps if you want to explore and we enjoyed walks along the river and around Hackfall woods. The property owner was friendly and very helpful.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review about Clipstone Cottage and Masham. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay and exploring Masham too! We'll very much look forward to welcoming you back when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely cottage close to village centre

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, very well furnished and equipped. Lovely outside courtyard. Lots of little touches such as welcoming bottles of local beer and chocolate. Great location close to market square. Has everything you need for a relaxing stay.



Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Clipstone Cottage and enjoyed the owners welcome gifts. We hope to welcome you again. Joanne