FB Twitter

Alan Stevenson House

Alan Stevenson House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Part of the Category A listed lighthouse establishment built for the construction and servicing of Skerryvore lighthouse, Alan Stevenson House is a substantial 8 bedroom, stone-built detached property at the head of Hynish pier. Comfortably furnished throughout with a sitting room featuring a solid fuel stove and an activity room suitable for a range of uses, including table tennis. Well behaved dogs welcome. Catering options available.

A perfect weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Fiona and Christelle for all your help. The house was perfect for what we needed and we loved every second of our stay in Tiree.



Windsurfing group in its 13th year

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the 13th year that I've been running courses at Alan Stevenson house and it's just got better and better. It has never pretended to be a five star hotel and is all the better for that. The home-cooked food provided by Fiona and her staff was just what was needed after a hard day on the water and there was plenty of it. The big warm comfortable living room provided the perfect atmosphere for good old-fashioned after-dinner discussions about the day's events.
There's plenty of hot water for the showers, a drying room and in fact everything you need for an outdoor activities holiday. A group cannot help but bond in a place like this.
And as for the location right on the shore, it's otherworldly.




Carers retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 4 nights and 5 days on Tiree staying at Alan Stevenson House. Wonderful accommodation and catering. Thanks again for a great trip for our carers from North Argyll.



School Trip to Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were warmly welcomed by Fiona, Crystal and the team and this warmth was felt for the entirety of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble, any queries or questions were always answered as best was possible and Fiona was really helpful when it looked like we may have had trouble leaving Tiree due to ferry issues. This is an ideal venue for a school trip and not only would we recommend but we hope to return next year. Thank you for help in creating lifelong memories for these children!



Lovely Wee Place

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing location, great history to the buildings and the accomodation was comfortable. Fantastic meals provided throughout our stay.



Outstanding week!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our young people (and us!) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alan Stevenson House, Fiona & Christel were extremely welcoming and friendly, the accommodation was very comfortable for our needs and we had everything we needed to provide a respite break for a group of young carers aged 12-16 years. Our young people are asking to come back next year - they had a great time! Thank you so much to everyone at The Hebridean Trust :-)



Great stay in great location with wonderful care

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Alan Stevenson Centre was the perfect base for our youth pilgrimage to Tiree. The rooms and facilities were just right for us and most importantly and significantly Fiona and her great team gave a wonderful welcome and made us feel at home from the start and right through our stay. We were very well fed with heart breakfasts, all that we needed to make our packed lunches and a tasty and filling dinner in the evening.

Whilst located at one end of Tiree, The Alan Stevenson Centre is not very far from any other location on the isle, yet is quiet and peaceful and has a truly away from it all feel. I have stayed before with a group a few years ago, chose to go again with a group of young people this year, and if I took another group of young people to Tiree, would chose the Centre without hesitation.




At the end of the earth

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magical rustic historic, basic but comfortable, very helpful managers. Highly recommended.
Book early to ensure you get a place for your car on the ferry.




Plumbing

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been coming for a few years now. It’s a fantastic location and perfect for the pupils to stay at however the same problems are still there. The shower in the disabled room does not work properly, it never has since we have been going. The shower up stairs that is linked to the four bed bedroom leaks terribly and floods the downstairs dining room floor. A few of the toilets don’t work, not ideal when there are limited toilets and showered when there are 18 of us staying. The leak through to the dining room ceiling is bad and looks as though it may eventually fall through.



The Hebridean Trust replied more than 1 year ago
We apologize for any inconvenience you suffered and we hope it didn’t spoil your visit. We are aware of the plumbing issues and have a plumber booked in this week.

Winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely couple of days on Tiree as part of this year's Book Week Scotland. Thanks to all the staff at Hynish for looking after us.



Peter Hart Annual Windsurfing Masterclass

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's 10 years since I've been using the Alan Stevenson House for my annual windsurfing camp on the island and it continues to be ideal for our needs. You can only make a first impression once and as people arrive they marvel at the beauty of the location.
Bunk rooms are not everyone's cup of tea but it takes people back to more youthful times and they are clean and warm. After a a day on the sometimes very chilly Atlantic, the centre is warm and welcoming with an essential drying room and an even more essential, larger inviting sitting room where we can sit back and relive the day's events in voluminous settees and in total comfort.
The food, hot and wholesome.




Beautiful Tiree

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at Alan Stevenson house. Fiona and the staff cannot do enough for you. The food is excellent and pound for pound you will not get better value anywhere. Will definitely be back if visiting Tiree. Thanks



The Juncton Foundation group visit

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed at Alan Stevenson House with a group of 12 young people age 13 -16 during August 2018. The location of the property is excellent with spectacular views and outdoor space, calm and peaceful.

Unfortunately there were some maintence issues with the property including light bulbs out, pay phone out of order, TV not working and a slight lack of general housekeeping, i.e bins not being emptied, tea and coffee facilities not being maintaned during our stay.

In one of the bedrooms the door handle was broken which ment that if the door closed the person inside the room could not get out, there was also a fault with the fire alarm which meant it went off at random times, unfortunately for us this happened every night during our stay and 3 times during our last night.

We understand that island life can be different and sometimes things cannot be fixed as quickly as maybe they should be. As a youth organisation there are certain minimum standards we have to adhere to, one of which is a risk form to show that where we are staying is of a certain standard and adheres to health & safety requirements. This form should be completed by providers prior to our visit. Unfortunatley there seemed to be a communication issue with the form, we emailed it over prior to our visit, but the form was not completed and sent back to us.

This is our 5th visit to Tiree and we have always stayed at Alan Stevenson House. We have always had a fantastic visit and been looked after well. The young people love the island and always want to go back. The water sports with Wild Diamond are excellent and Will from Tiree Fitness is also supportive of the group, especially with the hire of mountain bikes.

We are extremely grateful to the Hebridean Trust for giving us these opportunities as it really is a great provision and experiance. Despite raising the above issues it would not prevent us from staying at Alan Stevenson House again, should the opportunity arise. Most of the issues raised are small and easily sorted and would enhance the provison for any guest staying at the house.




An ideal location for larger groups on Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The perfect base for a large group wanting to explore the beautiful island of Tiree - ample space to not be on top of each other and a great spot to enjoy the peace and tranquility



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alan Stevenson House has been to location for our family holiday for the past 5 years. It is just perfect for a big boisterous family. There is plenty of space, everything on Tiree is accessible and the location on the pier is so beautiful with fabulous views and a small sheltered beach. Highly recommended!



lovely lazy island week

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you from all of us, dear Fiona, Christel, and others behind the scene......it was again pure vacation, thanks to your presence, your food,your good humour......
The 'homegrown' salad was much appreciated, but so were the sweet deliciousnesses, and all the soul food....
We will come again next year to this your unique corner of the world...... that would be our 15th time....or is it more?

Suggestions.....? Well only some little things as mentioned last year : Those doors that still slam if you're not careful (and quite a job to open, e.g. for Ailsa)....
Some hooks would be helpful in the hallway... And the roll'curtains' (blinds) of the velox windows that could be darker,
to keep the early daylight out more sufficiently.....but all not serious problems really

For Ailsa,Ryan, Will,Gemma, Timothy, Raymond, Amos, Lena, Nadine,Sophie,

Christopher




Cardiff School of Art & Design visits the TIREE Tech-Wave

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent visit to the island, and for many of us a return visit staying at the Alan Stevenson House. The location of the house is perfect for our use of the Rural Centre, being only 15-20 minutes away, this is where the TIREE Tech-Wave is based for 5 days in October and March each year. This year we had 18 people from Cardiff School of Art & Design staying, 5 staff and 11 MSc Product Design students, and 2 MA Design Futures students, the accommodation and mix of single and multi-bed rooms made living arrangements easy. The space in the house is generous, with a fully equipped professional catering kitchen, big enough for several budding chefs to get creative at meal times.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return to the Alan Stevenson House in March......Many Thanks for your hospitality !

Richard Morris, Group Leader.




Peter Hart windsurfing Mastercass

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
That I've been running my Masterclass windsurfing out of the Hynish for 10 years, says it all.
It offers the perfect level of comfort for outdoor types who come in exhausted and cold and need hot showers, wholesome food and a comfortable area to lounge about and discuss the day's events.
And you can never tire of the most beautiful location imaginable right on the shore, with seals playing in the waves and perfect peace.




Fantastic week in Alan Stevenson House

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first visit to Tiree and we were impressed with the beauty of the island, its beaches and wildlife and with our accommodation in Hynish in Alan Stevenson House, a quiet location overlooking the harbour. We saw seals and otters and many birds. The food was delicious, generous helpings and varied, including excellent vegetarian options. The house was warm and comfortable. Fiona and Crystal could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They also shared their knowledge of the island which was good for us as we had never been before. One of us was older, one of us had a disability and we had a dog too. We all had a wonderful relaxing stay and didn't want to leave at the end of the week. The centre also has a wonderful museum about the history of the location and the Skerryvore Lighthouse. There is currently a fascinating exhibition about the Treshnish Islands.



Fabulous spot

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Alan Stevenson House is right on the pier at Hynish, the south end of the island. It is a really beautiful spot with a sheltered beach, rock pools and wonderful views. A great base for cycling, walking and just enjoying the island.
We have stayed here as a family for four years now and it works really well for big numbers of people.




Lovely.....but some suggestions.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we come regularly sice over 10 years. very friendly staff. location excellent for a week
away from it all, into nature. We will come again.

Suggestions:
==Meals basic. Made with love, but could do with some salad and sometimes
fruit instead of dessert.
==I wished there was a place to wash cups etc. for tea in between meals.
==Laundry area is very multi-purpose and filled up. Needs shelves urgently.
==Entrance hall and rooms need (more) hooks for clothing, jackets, etc.
==Many doors close with a bang, and some doors hard to open. Need readjusting
==Blinds on velox windows block the light insufficiently, in evening/morning, during
long summer days






The Hebridean Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your constructive feedback. Repairing and maintaining our historic buildings is a full time and costly task, but you'll be pleased to hear that many of your points have already been addressed. We hope next time you visit us you'll feel free to speak to our warden about any issues - she's there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

Accommodation set in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location for this accommodation is brilliant, you get to see history and the sea on the doorstep and from some windows. The room I had was bright and airy with a comfortable bed and a bathroom next door. The window was a joy to open each morning seeing crashing sea ,birds, and seals easily some days. The shower and hot water were good, and everything in the rooms was clean. A minor downside of the room was there were only drawers and two hooks to put clothes in/on, but that did not bother me. the lounge downstairs was a large, comfortable and well equipped room, and the dining room worked well for small groups.

The biggest fault in the building, as in many old properties, is put one foot out of bed, and everything creaks. So when I was trying to creep out at 6 to go seal watching I felt that every move I made was waking up all the other visitors.




Carers break.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely relaxing break away from it all, with Tiree's fabulous weather. Love to hear the sound of the sea from my bed :)



Training camp venue - winter 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th year with the Hebridean Trust at Hynish and the feedback from the group is always excellent - great hospitality, great location and definitely a place to come back to. Fiona and her team looked after the group and kept them well fed after a tough day running and cycling round the island. Would whole heartedly recommend.



Tiree Photo Project

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We brought a group of 6 carers to Tiree to work on a photo project. We had wonderful weather throughout our stay, and visited all parts of the island. We hope to be able to display the Photo Exhibition at Hynish in Spring 2017. As always, we were really well looked after by the staff, and enjoyed fabulous food. Another great visit for North Argyll Carers. Thank you.



Peter Hart Annual Windsurfing MAsterclass

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's now the 10th year that I have been leading a group of advanced windsurfers to Tiree and the Hynish centre. It is absolutely perfect for our needs. It's warm, spacious, clean and with proper home cooking for very hungry men and women after a hard day outside.
The spacious living room is also perfect for out video debriefs at the end of the day.




Time out on Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of Carers and clients of Oban Hospice Community Service from North Argyll travelled to Tiree for a respite break.
As always the staff at Hynish were fabulous, and the food was excellent. Fiona is so helpful, and goes to lots of effort to accommodate peoples dietary requirements. The accommodation is comfortable and warm, and in a wonderful location.
Everyone benefited from a break away from it all in Tiree.




Time out on Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect retreat on a beautiful island. So many lovely places to visit. Great accommodation. Wonderful staff who served us brilliant food.Thanks to all. We'll be back soon.



The Junction 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found that Fiona was very helpful and accomodating, especially around the food and ensuring that the young people had food they would eat.
Fiona has also offered to help out with arranging contacts and activities for a future visit, as well as delivering a cooking session.
The other staff were also helpful and accomodating.
In previous visits we have left with a packed lunch, this didn't happen this year, however it didn't seem to bother the young people as they had money with them and bought their own food on the return journey.
There were a couple of areas that needed fixing, the shower and light over the sink did not work in one of the bathrooms, but I also understand that getting parts to fix things is not that simple on the island.

Overall it is a great place to stay, the facilities are good, the staff are very helpful and the location is beautiful





Disabled children supported holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and 7 staff have just returned from a week staying at Alan Stevenson House, where we supported a group of Disabled young people between the ages of 9 - 17 years. All of the young people we took were learning disabled, and for some it was their first time away from family.
Alan Stevenson House was a perfect location for our group. The accommodation was spacious, and well laid out with plenty of bath/shower rooms, and various options within the bedrooms. The well equipped laundry was well used by us, as sadly the weather was nowhere near as welcoming and accommodating as Fiona and her team made us feel.
We were lucky enough to have all our meals provided for us - the staff were fantastic at accommodating the essential dietary requirements of 2 of our young people, and nothing was too much trouble.
The beach directly next to Alan Stevenson House was small and safe, (we did need to watch the young people as the house is directly on a peer) but a 5-10 minute drive and you were at huge sandy beaches.
Whilst on the Island we accessed water sports both at a loch and on the beach, enjoyed a days boat ride around all the islands and did plenty of walking. A day on the beach with beach games also went down well.
We were lucky enough to have access to a hire car for the week which for the group we had taken was essential, however for people who are all physically able, a bike or good walking boots would be all you need to see the beautiful island.
Would we go again? - Definitely





Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took a group of young carers aged 11-14 for five days of respite and adventure, which was absolutely brilliant. The staff made us feel extremely welcome and looked after us very well. It is a wonderful place for our young carers to relax and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere.



Great place for a school visit

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took 12 boys from the West Midlands with Social, Emotional and Mental Health difficulties to the Alan Stevenson House, the set-up, location and most importantly the staff could not have been better.

We'd love to visit again in the future and would highly recommend both Tiree and the Alan Stevenson House to others with groups of young people.




Family holiday 2016.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly fantastic place for a large family holiday. We can't wait to go back.. We love tiree.great memories .i would definitely recommend this place.nothing was too much bothet



Family Holiday at Alan Stevenson House ... Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just finished a wonderful family holiday at Alan Stevenson House (ASH|). There were three families; 6 adults and 6 children ages 7-11 that all go to the same school. The weather was fabulous and I don't believe we saw a single cloud all week. Lots of outdoor activities including canoeing, wind surfing, rounders on the beach, kite flying, cycling, etc. We were even surrounded by wild seals one day whilst canoeing in the sea. We went to one or two different beaches each day basking ourselves in all the sunshine. We had a bonfire on the beach outside the house one evening, singing campfire songs and taking in all the stars. And despite going to different beaches, most days we were the only families on a beach. Maybe twice we saw another family, otherwise we had the beach to ourselves.

The house is perfect for multiple families as there is so much space that people can escape a little bit and you never felt crowded. The children could play in the lounge or play table tennis whilst the adults were in the kitchen and dinning area preparing meals. We made use of the wood burning stove one night as it got a little cool, which the children loved. There is a separate washing machine and clothes dryer in the wet room making it easy to keep up with the dirty clothes. There are also racks for hanging up wet suits so that they will dry overnight.

There were plenty of bedrooms upstairs but the children slept in two different groups in two bedrooms. There were plenty of bathrooms so never any queue's in the busy mornings or evenings.

ASH is located on the southern tip so rarely any traffic. It was very quiet and the views of the sea are spectacular. It is never more than a 20 minute drive to any place on the island.

Booking the house was very easy. When we arrived, Fiona was at the house and gave us the tour showing how everything worked, when to set out the rubbish bins, etc. She provides you with her mobile in case you need anything, but we had no need to contact her.

Whilst this is by no means a complaint, there are two things that would make ASH better. One would be an outdoor grill. We had brought several disposable grills as we grilled out three nights, but having a large BBQ grill would have been much better. The second would be faster internet. Whilst the house has WiFi, it was quite slow. This might be a limitation on the island. Basic web surfing wasn't too bad but streaming videos was not really possible.

The children had the best time and cannot stop talking about our trip. I highly recommend ASH.




our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we really enjoyed it,
the staff went out of their way and were friendly and accomodating
the food was in big portions and good partic breakfasts
the staff were very kind with the children who accompanied us
we would come again and recommend it to others




Short break in Tiree

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived at ASH to be welcomed and shown around by the Warden, Fiona. Genuinely friendly and helpful.

ASH is a great place away from everything where door and car locks are not required as remote as you need to be but only 20minutes from the CoOp and ferry port. The facilities in the building are excellent. It is warm and cosy with plenty of space and seating. The kitchen is absolutely brilliant and everything is there. Cups plates coffee percolator and cafetieres pots pans baking trays. You need nothing else other than food and drink and family.

Location is great with fishing from the harbour, a little private beach, plenty of grassy areas and a couple of good walks on your doorstep.
We had dogs with us and they had a great time on the beach.

Time came to go home and CalMac decided to cancel our ferry and reschedule our departure. Which is a problem of the islands but you do have to expect this. Fiona got in touch and told us not to worry and stay at ASH until we needed to go. What a great additional service.

All in all 110% we loved it.

Just as a footnote. If you are expect to have the option of local restaurants and cosy pubs. Tiree is not the place for you. It is a place to get away from the rest of the world and enjoy the company of your friends and family. This is helped further by complete lack of mobile signal once you are away from the ferry port.

Would we go again......
Hell yes.




5 day residential camp at the Hynish Centre

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The feedback from our customers who stayed at the Hynish Centre was excellent; great food, warm hospitality, and a very comfortable place to come back to after being outside all day. Fiona and Claire were fantastic, they're a great team and they made the stay really enjoyable for all our guests.



Great cosy venue in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend this location and venue for a holiday, although we only hired the lounge as an informal venue for a meeting. There was plenty of seating in the lounge for 14 of us around the fire and would highly recommend as a venue for a small gathering or family occasion.



Peter Hart's windsurfiing Masterclass at the Hynish

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've been using the Hynish Centre for my windsurfing coaching weeks since 2006. It offers us the perfect blend of no frills comfort and just the sort of wholesome food we need after 8 hours on the water, along with a living area perfect for after dinner chit chat.
The location is absolutely mind blowing especially this year when we were treated to a show of the northern lights.