FB Twitter

Slate Cottage

Slate Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.8


Designed for celebrating families. The vintage styling throughout makes it fun. The sitting room is huge, a massive dining room table and separate kitchen - perfect for big family meals. Great play park v close, marinas, beaches, forest all a very short drive away. Dogs welcome.

Fabulous Cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous cottage within easy distance of coast, forest and Lymington. We loved the layout, especially the upstairs sitting room and outdoor space. having the claves in the field made it even more special. Plenty of parking space too.



Susan replied 9 days ago
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased your enjoyed stay at Slate Cottage and hope you can stay again soon. Very best wishes, Susan & the NFE team

Slate Cottage WE break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay at slate cottage. We were 2 families with 2 young kids and it was very easy to organise ourselves with 2 rooms on each floor.
The cottage is very well located, has a lot of charm inside and outside and the playroom is out of this world - the kids loved it. Only drawback is that the outdoor dining space is quite far away from the kitchen. I think the cottage would benefit having a proper outdoor kitchen area so that you limit the number of trips to the kitchen during a BBQ
The New Forest team was also a pleasure to deal with, very professional, knowledgeable on the area and always happy to help. Will definitely book again with them




Susan replied 9 days ago
Thanks Damien for leaving a review of your stay at Slate Cottage. Feedback is always welcome and we'll be sure to pass your suggestion onto the owners. We're happy you enjoyed your break, please do visit again soon. Best wishes Susan & the NFE team

Wonderful family experience

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 generations of our family had a very enjoyable stay at Slate cottage. The rooms and outside areas were spacious, clean and comfortable. Our granddaughter enjoyed the playrooms and garden. It was lovely to watch cows in the adjoining field.
Have 2 recommendations: It would have been useful to have had a microwave, particularly with our little one.It would have been more comfortable if the mattress in the upstairs bedroom (with the ensuite) was softer.
The staff were always helpful and attentive to our questions and followed up some queries promptly. A special thank you to Harri!




An excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Slate Cottage is very stylish and beautifully fitted. It is spacious, warm and comfortable. The property manager and New Forest Escapes couldn’t have been more helpful. Thoroughly recommended.



50th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite C19 trying to disrupt our celebration, we had a wonderful time at this warm & stylish cottage.



Excellent stay and lovely house...

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent stay and lovely house. Thank you for thinking of everything we might need. We had a wonderful week and hope to be back!



Fabulous family home

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at the beautiful slate cottage, with all the family celebrating my mother’s 80th Birthday ! The toy room was enjoyed by all especially our 2 year old grandson. We could not of asked for a more welcoming cottage for all the family to gather. A perfect long weekend.



Great for a Family Break but don't pack too many clothes!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Slate Cottage is a great place to stay but with just a bit of extra attention it could be fantastic! The main negative is the use of the play room sofa bed as a bedroom. Whilst there are curtains to the patio doors there is no privacy to the main hall area and the huge velux over the bed has no blind so if you need dark to sleep it's a no go. There was no real hanging space for clothes with the main wardrobe sealed up with a sign saying it was for the private use of the family. With only enough drawer space for a few socks and T-shirts we did end up living out of suitcases which was a shame. Considering there is an additional charge if the BBQ is left dirty I think we're owed as it was covered in old fat when we went to use it (the rest of the house I hasten to add was spotless). It didn't bother us but if I had a younger family a microwave would be useful.