FB Twitter

Avocet

Avocet

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


In the sleepiest part of a tiny coastal hamlet, bordered by fields, this chic cottage is a 4 minute walk to the quay. The coastal path goes left and right. Boat trips to Hurst are there too. Foodie places in Milford are great. Beaches, wild swim, paddleboard, boat, picnic... Dogs welcome.

Amazing family holiday home....

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect......clean, great welcome pack, great location and lovely people to deal with. We had a fantastic time.



Susan replied 15 days ago
Thanks William for your awesome review, we are so happy you enjoyed our gorgeous Avocet! Don't leave it too long until your next visit, you're welcome back any time from all at New Forest Escapes

Family staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was exactly as described and wonderfully clean and tidy. We were able to settle straight in and feel instantly at home. There was even a lovely welcome pack with butter, milk, bread, bacon and a wonderful cake. This was a lovely touch to arrive to and just what we needed. There was sufficient space for us all and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed and in immaculate condition, we were a party of 6 and could have done with a larger fridge.

It is a quiet location which is what we were looking for but still easy to access the next village for food. It was an ideal location for a stroll to the water for a spot of paddling and crabbing and easy to walk to either Hurst Castle or Milford. The local village pub was excellent and highly recommended for both adults and kids, although only open Wednesday to Sunday which was the same for a number of restaurants in Milford, the wine bar and the Lighthouse were open all the time and had great service.

The kids enjoyed making use of the garden. Great place for cycling, bird watching and walking

All in all I would highly recommend the property and location and we will definitely look to return.




Susan replied 51 days ago
Thank you Sally for leaving a review of your recent stay at our lovely Avocet and are so happy to hear you enjoyed this special place and the beauty of the area, we love Keyhaven! You were lovely guests and we hope you can return and stay again one day. Until then, warm wishes from all at New Forest Escapes :)

A great relaxing holiday at Avocet

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was exactly as described and wonderfully clean and tidy making the arrival process lovely and smooth. We were able to settle straight in and feel instantly at home. There was even a lovely welcome pack with butter, milk, bread, bacon and a wonderful cake. This was a lovely touch to arrive to and just what we needed. There was sufficient space for us all and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed and in immaculate condition.

It is a quiet location which is what we were looking for but still easy to access the next village for food. It was an ideal location for a stroll to the water for a spot of paddling and easy to walk to either Hurst Castle or Milford. The local village pub was excellent and highly recommended for both adults and kids.

The kids enjoyed making use of the garden and there was a box of toys which made our son very happy, plus a perfectly sized twin bedroom which was great for the kids. The only slight issue we had was the lack of blackout blinds in the bedrooms. Due to the glorious weather we had during our stay it did mean the kids struggled a little with getting to sleep and waking early as they are very thin fabric blinds.

All in all I would highly recommend the property and location and we will definitely look to return.




Susan replied 55 days ago
Thank you for sending your review of your recent family holiday to Avocet. We're so happy your enjoyed this gorgeous property and it's wonderful location. You were lovely guests and we'd love you to come stay again. Until then, warm wishes from all at New Forest Escapes.

Fabulous home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Avocet is a beautiful cottage. The property was immaculate and had everything you could wish for. The location was amazing.
I would happily rebook. The attention to detail in furnishing this house was second to none. Thank you for a great week.




Our stay at Avocet

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Avocet is a lovely house set in a quiet, private location. To have the sea and a great pub, Gun Inn, a stone’s throw away was a real bonus. After some research, we found some outstanding restaurants in surrounding locations and a fab wine/ tapas bar in Milton. House is well equipped and the garden is a real sun trap! Our dogs loved it and ample swimming was partaken! Highly recommend!



Susan replied 78 days ago
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Avocet and made the most of the beautiful location. We'd love to hear more about your tapas bar discovery - sounds perfect! Do think of us for your next holiday to the New Forest, we'd love to have you stay again. Best wishes from all at New Forest Escapes.

Lovely week in Avocet

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to have fantastic weather during our stay which made it even better. The house is comfortable and very nice indeed inside. Great for 4 adults. The garden is nice and private and you can walk to the pebble beach in 20 minutes and a 15 minute walk to Milford on Sea. Keyhaven has a nice feel to it and the Gunn Inn serves good food as is only a five minute walk away. Would happily stay here again



Susan replied 78 days ago
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Avocet, thank you for taking time to send a review. We'd love for you to stay again, do think of us for your next break to the New Forest. Warm wishes from all of us here at New Forest Escapes

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Avocet is one of the nicest holiday lets I've ever been in - comfortable, open-plan living with all the details thought about in advance. There was a delicious coffee and walnut cake waiting for us on our arrival and a thoughtful supply of eggs, butter and bread (sourdough at that!). I would recommend it without reservation.



Susan replied 104 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review for our lovely Avocet, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay here. You were wonderful guests and we hope you can come back and visit again soon. Warm wishes, Susan & the NFE team.

A wet week in Keyhaven.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Avocet in Keyhaven is a well located and well presented property.
On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised with all the amenities and cleaning items supplied.
The kitchen has quality appliances and everything needed for the avid cook.
The bedrooms are spacious and well presented. My only suggestion would be to improve the quality of the sheets, pillows, and duvet, or bring your own. It may be that we are a little fussy, but bedding that keeps you cool rather than making you hot is definitely our preference.
The beds themselves are very comfortable and obviously good quality.
The bathrooms are excellent, with a lovely walk in shower downstairs and a large standalone bathtub upstairs.
The back garden looked lovely but we couldn’t enjoy the fire pit and seating or the comfy garden sofa due to the weather.
Hopefully a trip back in the summer will give us an opportunity.
The house was warm, homely and really well located for trips out to Hurst Castle or morning walks along the sea front.
Thanks so much.




Autumn trip to Avocet

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for five nights at Avocet. It was a stunning property, decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Lovely touches - welcome basket, toys for the kids (throughly cleaned and marked so in these covid times) etc.. a really comfortable property and just a short walk to the key side. It was a great location to explore the beaches and forest. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely hope to return soon. Thank you all



A fantastic house for a great week in the New Forest

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In short, the house is fantastic. The condition of the house is immaculate, and everything was brand new. The kitchen and main living space is perfect for friends or families as it is such a lovely social space. The rooms are all good sizes and the beds nice and comfy.

Location is really good. At Keyhaven you have the sea right on your doorstep with lots of nice walks if that's what you are after. It's about a 15 min walk into Milford on Sea where there are lots of nice pubs, and restaurants and it's only a short drive to the New Forest where there are loads of walks and cycles.