FB Twitter

Enfield House Knowstone

Enfield House Knowstone

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


This newly renovated luxury holiday cottage is set in an amazing location with views over rolling hills and Exmoor. The renowned Mason Arms Michelin starred Pub & Restaurant is just 5 doors down. Explore Exmoor or visit the stunning North Devon beaches such as Saunton Sands and Woolacombe.

Beautiful Thatched Cottage in North Devon

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing time staying at Enfield House. It is a beautifully well appointed thatched cottage in a very peaceful village yet easily accessible from the main road. It has a huge luxurious bathroom. The views from the back garden are stunning. It was amazing to have a fantastic pub so close. We have already booked our next stay. We would highly recommend staying at Enfield House.

Julia from West Totton stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in July 2022


An absolute gem

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had an idyllic stay at Enfield House - it truly is a little haven away from it all. Beautifully appointed throughout, the comfort and relaxation it provided for us was superb. The hosts were excellent in their communication with us - from the initial enquiry, through to booking and then during the stay. Lots of information is to hand in the cottage itself, with excellent recommendations for activities and food. The village itself is quaint and although quite remote is easily accessible from the main road.
The beds were sumptuous and incredibly comfortable. The bathroom is absolutely stunning and beautifully appointed. The kitchen and dining area is fully equipped. The enclosed garden for our dog was a real advantage and to be able to sit and have breakfast on the patio was a real boon. Even out of season, I would not hesitate to come back to Enfield House.


Linda from Sleaford stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in July 2022


Fab-u-lous!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Enfield House, it’s beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and had an amazing kitchen/diner and bathroom! The location was perfect for us, so peaceful, nice seating areas to enjoy the lovely views and only a few doors down from The Masons Arms where we had some fantastic meals. Really friendly next door neighbour too, with Lester the dog, who had lots of birds visiting the feeders in his pretty garden which were lovely to watch.
We cannot fault Enfield House or the service provided by Sarah and David which was excellent and we hope to return again in the future.


Victoria from Cheam stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in June 2022


Idyllic North Devon Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House is a gorgeous cottage set in the quintessential village of Knowstone which is so beautiful and peaceful, just birdsong and sheep being the only noise. You couldn't be more rural with lovely walks from the property, very pretty church and the fantastic Mason's Arms just a stones throw away where you will be assured a very warm welcome from the staff and
locals alike with exceptional food.
The cottage has a lovely garden from which to enjoy uninterrupted rural views. Enfield House is furnished to a high standard and is very spacious with large master bedroom and large bathroom with modern facilities throughout.
Ideally situated to visit the coastline including Croyde Bay, Woolacombe and Instow/Appledore to name but a few of the lovely beaches. Also, close to Knightshayes NT house and gardens, the small towns of Bampton and Dulverton and Tarr Steps. Within reach of some excellent pubs for dining out, such as The Swan at Bampton and the London Inn at Molland.
Enfield House is the perfect spot for a relaxing get away.


John from Chippenham stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in June 2022


Home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for a getaway, lovely views and only a short drive to many local attractions. Would highly recommend.

Jodie from Hereford stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in May 2022


Great place in North Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to spend time in North Devon:
- Very cosy cottage
- Great beaches not far away
- Nice village with friendly neighbors and dogs
-Dogs on quads come frequently along (new for us…)
- Restaurant with classic menu near cottage
- Nice shopping in South Molton and Dulverton
We really enjoyed our stay!


Marie from Heidenau stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 10 nights in May 2022


Short break

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage full of character in a great location. Handy enclosed garden for the dog. May want to make reference to their being the steep stairs in the cottage description


Graham from Broadway stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in May 2022


Love, love, love

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful midweek stay.

The cottage was just perfect for us to escape to and we loved everything about it!

Thank you David & Sarah :-)


Peter from Walton On Thames stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in April 2022


April 2022 Stay at Enfield House

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are just back from our stay at Enfield House. This is a beautifully modernised 13th Centry thatched cottage situated in a quiet North Devon village.

The property has been renovated to a very high standard with beautiful furnishings, furniture and decorative items. It is a suprisingly spacious property with the kitchen and dinning area offering a briliant space to cook and be together as a family whilst the lounge is cosy for an evening in front of the wood burner or a film. There are a few low door ways and wonky floors which only adds to the charm of this stunning property.

Upstarirs is equally lovely and comfortable with a huge beautifully decorated bathroom.

Dogs are really well catered for at the property and even get their own treat jar! There is small well fenced garden for them to use and plenty of field walking nearby. The stunning beaches of the North Devon Coast are easy to reach and take around 40-60 minutes to get to.

The property is a few doors down from the Mason Arms where the service is warm and welcoming and the food and local beer are excellent. What a treat to have that right on your doorstep!

Everyone in the village was so friendly and we met lots of very interesting people. We also have the pleasure of meeting David and Sarah (and Prudence!) too and they were so lovely and have a real passion for what they do. We highly recommend a stay at Endfield!


Samantha from Reigate stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in April 2022


Peaceful stay in beautiful Exmoor village

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend Enfield house and the lovely village of Knowstone. The cottage is beautiful, renovated to a very high standard and contains all the home from home luxuries that ensure you can pack light! It was lovely to arrive to a cake and tea/coffee/milk provided and lots of hot water for a hot bath. The bathroom is stunning - so you will want to spend time in there and bathrobes are provided. .

The village is very peaceful but also central enough that you can travel out to landmarks or walk on Exmoor. One note, the Mason's Arms is literally a few doors down. If you want a table there BOOK EARLY. We tried to book 8 weeks in advance and they were already full.

Will return :)


Shelley from Woking stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in March 2022


100

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every way…. We would both recommend and return to stay again at Enfield House. We have much more of Exmoor to explore!

Peter from Totnes stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in January 2022


We will definitely be back!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House is beautiful, the decor and little details make it so homely. We would highly recommend to friends and family!

Holly from Bordon stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in December 2021


Christmas in Knowstone

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute you arrive there is a feeling of luxury and calm.
Beautiful decor, comfy furniture and soft lighting all add to this experience.
Nothing was missing to ensure you can create the perfect Xmas supper.
The local Mason Arms is well worth a visit.
Walking is local but in mid winter was very muddy and at times blocked due to local landowners choices.
However, lots to explore and coming home to Enfield House with its cosy atmosphere just made it a delightful stay



Sarah from Taunton stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in December 2021


Great little cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Nov 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful little cottage in a great location to explore the area. The bathroom is wonderful and definitely inspired us! It was nice to be able to take our dog but just a warning that there is no outside tap or anywhere to clean the dog off if you have a muddy walk so I’d recommend taking a mud daddy type thing and lots of old towels. Beds are relatively soft which meant the kids slept well but less so for the adults. Two small points though for an immaculate cottage that we throughly enjoyed staying in. Thank you!

Jenny from Sherbourne, Warwick stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in October 2021


Stunning original thatched cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield house was a beautiful restored thatched cottage, both inside and outside.
The large log burning fireplace made the evening very cosy, whilst the furniture was comfortable and stylish.
The kitchen / dining room was fabulous and the small garden behind had stunning views for miles…
The bedrooms where perfectly made up ready for use.
The bathroom was the centrepiece of the house with the stunning stand alone large bath.
We had a very peaceful week here, literally ‘checked in and dropped out’
If you’re looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful quintessential English village - Enfield house is the place for you.


Eamonn Kavanagh from Warrington stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in October 2021


Happy stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, but a light above the shaving/ make up mirror would be helpful.
Beautiful house, but a light above the shaving/ make up mirror would be helpful
Lovely church service on Sunday. Mike was the vicar.


Derek from Selsey stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in September 2021


Endfield house staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful thatched cottage in a stunning area. Really enjoyed our stay. The cottage had everything you could want and was very clean.

Guest from Bournemouth stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in September 2021


A week in N Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited North Devon before but this was the first break of any sort, apart from family, since the autumn of 2019. The cottage is ideally placed, part of a small but attractive village, and within reach (say an hour) of many interesting locations, e.g., Porlock, Woolacomb, Killerton, Bude, Dulverton, Bampton. We had a busy week. We also enjoyed the hospitality of the excellent Masons Arms in the village.

The cottage served us well in terms of comfort and facility and has been thoughtfully furnished. It is a very good place to relax after a day out visiting.


Paul from Haslemere stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in September 2021


Well equipped stylish character cottage, with stunning bathroom

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Picturesque peaceful location in a well presented thatched cottage. Perfect location to explore Exmoor

Sue from Stourbridge stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in September 2021


Stunning cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield house is an absolutely beautiful cottage and would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be returning. It was homely and well Equipped with lots of lovely little touches that made us as a family of four with our dog feel welcomed. We took up the recommendations of things to do in the local area and places to eat and enjoyed every part of our stay. Hosts where very attentive making sure our stay was everything we needed. 10/10 on every level!

Lauren from South Woodham Ferrers stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in August 2021


Beautiful sunsets from a wonderful place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield house is a gem of a property, we really loved our stay and felt very at home and welcomed. The views from the garden of the fields are stunning and we watched a few gorgeous sunsets.

The village is very quiet and we had a peaceful stay, just the sound of sheep and horses going out for a morning ride and passing our windows.

We loved how the cottage had been lovingly restored and enjoyed the comfy beds, sofas and very well equipped kitchen. A perfect place to stay and explore North Devon, we would love to come back again.


Sarah from Penarth stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in July 2021


The perfect cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at Enfield House. The cottage is just perfect!
The neighbours are really friendly and the cottage is very comfortable. Enfield House is immaculately styled and highly luxurious with fabulous views over the surrounding countryside.
We thoroughly recommend this cottage!


Guest from Burgess Hill stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in July 2021


Who needs to get on a plane?

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb week in this beautiful cottage with every amenity you could possibly need.
From the fluffy duvets and comfortable beds to the enormous tub my children loved to ‘swim’ in every evening after days at the beach, everything was just perfect.
We were lucky to have an entire week of sunshine with days spent exploring the stunning Devon coast and countryside.
The Masons Arms just a short wander along the road was exquisite and there are plenty of other lovely places to eat at nearby, the information book provided is spot on.
Our dog loved the treats and felt instantly at home.
Thank you David and Sarah for making a much needed holiday for a rather frazzled GP and family so wonderful.


Katie from West Hanney stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in July 2021


A beautiful retreat off the beaten track in Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Difficult to find anything wrong with Enfield House, the cottage is finished to a very high standard with everything you could want for a luxury stay away from it all. Lovely kitchen and dining area, comfortable lounge, very cosy bedrooms, and the bathroom is a work of art. Although we chose the week when the weather turned it was still pleasant to sit in the garden watching the sheep wander over the rolling hills. Parking can be an issue - we found the best option was the space outside the Masons Arms, the lane is so narrow that anywhere else will find someone in neighboring properties to obstruct, they're all friendly people though. Nice to have the sheep squeezing past the front door at 7am too! My only niggle, and this may not bother others, is that there could be a light above the sinks. The only light comes from behind which made shaving difficult - but that's a minor thing. Would recommend Enfield Ho which is easily reached via the A361 off the M5 and is centrally located for access to north and south Devon coasts.

Peter from Sidcup stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in June 2021


Devon Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the idyllic rural setting of Enfield with views of rolling hills and farmlands. The cottage itself was the perfect retreat, ideal for rest and relaxation with the lovely log fire and luxury showpiece bathroom. We also liked that the house retains many period features as well as all modern amenities such as Smart TV, coffee maker etc.

Grant from Paisley stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in July 2021


Family break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Generally excellent
Loved the cake on arrival
Clearly excellent hosts
Generally condition of property is good but windows/casings need attention and outdoor furniture could be updated at this price point.
Beware Very low ceilings in places due to nature of property
Roughly 45 mins to an hour from coast.
Excellent local walks available too
Local shops not too far away


Daniel from Nottingham stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in June 2021


Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality accommodation in every way with excellent attention to detail. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to couples, families with or without a dog

Clare from Lnby stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in June 2021


Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful comfortable, well equipped and homely cottage and so tastefully decorated for such a great stay.
The location was fantastic for exploring the stunning countryside and beaches.
So peaceful and quiet, perfect for unwinding.
Sadly the weather was not great on our stay, lots of rain but to have the cozy cottage to go back to at the end of the day made it all worth it. Will definitely go back.


Katie from Westbury stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in May 2021


Countryside Recharge

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we walked in the door we were able to relax; the cottage is homely and comfy and equiped with everything you might need and we felt at home.
The bed in the master bedroom was extermely comfortable and we had plenty of space. The shower in the very luxurious bathroom was very powerful and great after a day's walking. It was lovely to have breakfast and sundowners in the garden where the views were limitless, we really felt as though we had escaped our working lives.
The location was quiet and peaceful yet provided excellent access to the beautiful North Devon beaches and was conveniently placed between Exmoor and Dartmoor and there is speedy access from the M5.


Ellie from stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in April 2021


A perfect cottage in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Like so many people this was our first break since 2019. We'd had to postpone our previous booking, due to lockdown, but this was worth the wait.
Enfield House had everything we needed and more. It's been beautifully renovated and tastefully furnished with a mix of antique and modern. The location is fairly remote which is great for a relaxed, quiet getaway. Unfortunately the Masons Arms was still closed at the time of our visit, as were any other local pubs, but the kitchen had everything we needed to cater well for ourselves.
The honesty bar is a lovely touch but not knowing it was there meant we bought our own drinks anyway.
Cozy fires, a beautiful setting and stunning views over open countryside, we're booking a 2nd stay later this year.
Thank you David and Sarah for everything.


Amanda from Poole stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in April 2021


Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage, beautiful views and the owners couldn’t do enough to ensure we had everything we needed.

Sara from Fernhill Heath stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in April 2021


Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High standards all round. Perfect country getaway. Highly recommend. Pub next door well worth visiting but book in advance. Cannot fault this accommodation!!

Guest from Bristol stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in December 2020


A gorgeous cottage in idyllic location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything you need for a great holiday. Someone has a good sense of interior design . The furnishing, pictures and ornaments are amazing. It poured with rain most of the time we were there but lovely to come back to the cottage after long and wet dog walks. We spent a few afternoons on Saunton beach. Great place for humans and dogs to enjoy (and it wasn't raining there!) We had a superb meal at the Masons Arms - highly recommended.

Lyn from Northampton stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in October 2020


Lovely autumn break in North Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House is a beautifully appointed cottage in a lovely peaceful village setting with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. Everything you could wish for is provided. The hosts, Sarah and Dave have created a stunning and very comfortable, cosy environment with many lovely touches that make all the difference! The welcome hamper of local goodies, well stocked honesty bar, logs ready chopped for the wood burner and fluffy bathrobes to name but a few, make a stay at Enfield special.
The hosts were easily contactable for any advice during our stay and their knowledge of the local area was invaluable.
Enfield House is a gem in a great location surrounded by beautiful scenery, with interesting places to visit and excellent dining pubs and restaurants within easy reach.



Margaret from Camberley stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in September 2020


The cottage is an absolute gem. So much character but very modern with a wonderful log burner.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage. Nice welcoming touch also provided with scones, jam & cream as well as the essential items which was appreciated.
So much character with a great log burner & everything inside was given great thought which made it very homely. Fantastic bathroom with a lovely big soaking bath.
Just remember to duck your heads as the doors are low !
Beautiful views from the garden too !


David from Farnborough stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in September 2020


A lovely home away from home

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Enfield House during a wet week during the summer of lockdown. The cottage was very comfortably sized for 4 people with a big kitchen/dining area which we loved hanging out in. The kitchen was well equipped (we cooked several times), as was the house itself. The living area was a cosy retreat from the rain outside and we made good use of the fire. The bathroom was fabulous - whilst it is just one bathroom for four, it is large and well designed and felt luxurious (strong, hot shower and big tub for soaking). What we really enjoyed was how unique and tasteful the decoration of the cottage is - not cookie cutter in the slightest, it felt like the decor was chosen in a very thoughtful way and we enjoyed the humorous touches that were dotted around.

Importantly, the house felt clean with plenty of cleaning products around for those wanting to do extra Covid cleaning after being out and about. David was a great host - prompt and helpful responses.

Location wise, Knowstone is a tiny village with a special secret power - a Michelin starred pub a few houses down. Our greatest regret was not booking a table there as the food looks locally sourced and excellent. We will save that for next time. As we had a teenager with us, we went out and about a bit more - we ended up choosing to do a bit of driving to get out to the coast, Exmoor and Dartmoor. All quite relaxing driving and our preferred choice as it was peak summer so we didn't want to stay with the crowds on the coast. I'd probably quite like to go back and stay more locally next time and do some of the walks on the local moors. Definitely a keeper!


P from London stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in August 2020


Amazing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Enfield for a long weekend and couldn’t recommend it enough. The cottage is immaculate and in such a beautiful location. Very peaceful with great views. We have already spoke about coming back for longer next time and absolutely loved our stay. Every detail in the cottage has been thoroughly thought out and the owners are very accommodating to dogs as well which was a bonus. David was very helpful with recommendations especially to the Mason Arms which was also great to visit. We will definitely be coming back to visit Enfield house!

Genevieve from Camberley stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in August 2020


A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding on all fronts, a little bit of luxurious comfort in the quite picturesque village of Knowstone

Carrie from Bury stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 7 nights in July 2020


Perfect location from which to explore Exmoor and enjoy Michelin Star cuisine at the Masons Arms

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House was booked at short notice after a long planned break in Rome was cancelled. Looking at the Masons Arms website, having decided after many years of wanting to eat there to take the opportunity to have a mid week break in the area, we saw the link to the Enfield House website. The newly refurbished thatched cottage with all mod cons and views over the open meadow past grazing sheep to the Exmoor hills is a haven of tranquillity. Comprehensively equipped and comfortable. Hard to believe it's just a couple of miles from the main A361, a perfect base from which to tour North Devon and Exmoor and no more than a hundred yards from the front door of a real country inn serving dishes that wouldn't be out of place in the best restaurants in the world. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, the food sublime. Enfield House and the Masons Arms compliment each other perfectly and we look forward to returning to Knowstone soon.

Paul from Bovey Tracey stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 4 nights in March 2020


A get away for two.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The village of Knowstone is quiet and quaint, with beautiful thatched cottages and many routes for out-door exploring, exactly what we wanted for our long weekend away. Enfield house was spotless, the heating was already on and we had a lovely box of chocolates waiting for us on arrival. Shortly after we arrived we went for a walk over Exmoor (and got completely drenched!) but with the amazing bath and log burner that didn't really matter. Everything about the cottage was beautifully presented and it made the whole weekend feel very special.

On Saturday evening we went for a meal at the Mason Arms which was in the recommendation book at Enfield house and only 5 doors down! The staff were amazing, really attentive and the food was the best that we had had in ages. All the locals in there made us feel very welcome which was lovely.

I cannot recommend this cottage enough, we went as a two but I would love to book again and take friends!


Katherine from Dorking stayed at Enfield House Knowstone for 3 nights in February 2020