FB Twitter

Royal Mile Mansion

Royal Mile Mansion

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Spacious 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment with great views of the Royal Mile. An enviable location for those wanting to be in the heart of the city where you can watch the street entertainers and admire the wonderful old building and step outside to be more involved.
Full details >>

Great Spot

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is absolutely perfect! And the decor is so cool. It’s very spacious and kitchen is well equipped. We loved this place except for the beds. Mine was so soft that when I laid down my feet felt elevated making sleeping less than comfortable. Also, we couldn’t get clothes dry in the washer/dryer. Could have been user error but no manual for it in the binder of info in the kitchen. While we got great communication and service around check-in, the need to meet someone at a specific time was a hassle (never had to do that before and when you’re traveling it’s hard to know how long things take to estimate arrival time. )



Beautiful, Comfortable & Perfectly Located

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved everything about the 2 bedroom apartment. Well furnished, with wonderful light and a dream kitchen, I found it hard to leave, but the location was so perfect I'd be drawn out to explore again and again.



Excellent Location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The open plan living/dining room was an impressive beautiful large space and great for hanging out in with my family at the end of each day of sight seeing. I was in Edinburgh for the for the International Festival and this flat was an excellent location to walk to all the shows that my family saw. The kitchen was well equipped and the entire flat was to a high standard of cleanliness. I rated Comfort as good only because the mattress was very soft. It was a good quality pocket sprung mattress but rental properties should use medium to cater for all. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.



Truly royal experience!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property has everything needed for the comfortable stay in Edinburgh and much more. The pictures do not do it a justice. The apartment is newly renovated with a great taste, but has all all charm and character of "old world." Located within an arm reach from all major attraction, yet facing a rather quiet street, so no problem with a traffic noise. Kitchen is well-equipped and beds are very comfortable.



Lovely and convenient

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment. One large and one small bedroom. Perfect location with great customer service. No washcloths so bring your own! Large living room and dining area with fabulous views of the hustle bustle of the street!



Review of mile mansion

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was excellent in upkeep and location. The only problem we had was the hot water was very complicated to access.



Great apartment & location

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location and condition of the apartment were both excellent! Couldn't ask for better. It was a little unsettling not to have anyone manning the desk downstairs for the whole time we were there. We did have a bit of an issue with the hot water heater, but we worked on it several different times and finally got it to work. It would have been very helpful to have someone there, but it was not essential and did not detract from our stay.



Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. There is no concierge service in the building for meeting guests as all the apartments are privately owned. The front desk is there historically as the building was at one time a large department store before be converted to homes. We do ask everyone for an arrival time so that we can be there to meet you when you arrive. For problems with the apartment you need to contact us at Greatbase and we will deal with them.

" beautiful and quite magical"

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I ( 4 of us in total) flew to Edinburgh to bring Thanksgiving to our middle daughter and the apartment was beyond our wildest dreams. The location, the expansive living room/dining room and the kitchen were just perfect. We were able to host 11 people comfortably at the lovely dining room table and except for needing to trim down our 2 turkeys a bit to fit in the oven, the equipment in the kitchen had everything we needed! We ended up eating some other dinners warm at home as we loved the food at Sainsbury's and found everything we needed there. Even the weather held out. And to be so close to both the old city (for sightseeing) and the new city (for shopping) and the train station to head up to St. Andrews and a whiskey tasting dinner in North Berwick was so convienant. And Katie from Greatbase was so accommodating and gracious! We cannot wait to come again, maybe with our next child.



royal mile

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was huge with comfortable furniture - especially the beds. It was certainly right in the middle of everything so could walk everywhere. Bit noise when the bars let out at 03:00 but otherwise great



Fabulous Flat

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is right in the center of the Royal Mile within walking distance to all the sites and attractions. The flat is beautiful, impressive, and very spacious. The mattresses were extremely comfortable. The only issue we had was that it was a little warm while we were there, but Katy was lovely in providing fans which remedied the issue . You may want to note that it can be a little noisy (street noise and some construction across the street), but unavoidable and a non-issue for us. We absolutely loved staying there.



Love this apartment!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of four and this was a perfect place to stay! The accommodations were comfortable and the apartment was so spacious. We truly grew to think of this as a home away from home. Thank you Kate for a marvelous stay!



A Return to the Royal Mile Mansion

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to the Royal Mile Mansion to attend our daughter's graduation from the University of Edinburgh. The apartment is ideally located at North Bridge and the Royal Mile. Convenient to restaurants, pubs, and shopping. The apartment is large and very comfortable. It comes with everything and more you would want for a week long stay. Also, it was a pleasure working with Greatbase to secure the reservation.



Great location for enjoying the Royal Mile

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at this large apartment right in the heart of the action in Edinburgh. Check in was smooth and everything in the apartment functioned well. Noise can be heard from the street below, but with the double-paned windows it was never a problem or issue. On that note about the windows: they are due for a good cleaning. It should also be noted that this is a large and vibrant city and that if you have a problem with possibly stepping over someone sleeping on the sidewalk in order to get in to apartment building then this might not be the place for you.



Beautiful apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was perfection. The apartment was beautifully furnished, very large and comfortable, spotlessly clean and ideally located in the heart of the busy, tourist-oriented Royal Mile. Bathrooms lovely with plenty of supplies. Easy walk to restos, pubs, ATMs, food shops, and attractions. All amenities in kitchen. Great Base was responsive and pleasant. A great find.



Incredible apartment/Even better service from Greatbase

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is located at the intersection of "The Bridges" and the Royal Mile. It does not get any better as one is close to everything, but not in the middle of the crunch of people populating the Royal Mile. It is a quick walk to Waverly Station; the Radisson Blu (24 hour taxi stand!) is across the street, exception restaurants are steps or a short cab ride away; the new Princess Street Tram is a very short walk (which will take you directly to the airport) and the apartment is triple glazed...unbelievably quiet. Even more important than the location is the size and condition of the apartment. The pictures on the website do not do the dimensions of the space or the quality of the furnishings and the finishes justice...the place is huge and the furnishings and finishes are better than photographed. Finally, Greatbase. We have rented service apartments more than a dozen times from a great variety of firms and individual owners. Greatbase is the absolute best we have ever dealt with. Timely communications, no hidden or unexpected charges, very cordial, and extremely competent. In short, perfect.



Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just finished staying eight nights at the Royal Mile Mansion with my wife and daughter. It was perfect for the three of us with two bedrooms and two baths. The apartment was very comfortable, large rooms, and had everything we needed. The location was perfect on the Royal Mile for walking to the pubs and restaurants, shopping, and the Starbucks right across the street. Conveniently located between the Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. Perfect place to experience a truly great city.



A 'Greatbase' for a Reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very good experience. - ideal for a reunion of old friends.

We have given feedback on the faulty dimmer switch in the 'master' bathroom and the stiff door knob in the'second' bathroom.

One more point - it would be worth 'warning' guests to be careful when dining at the window table. One of our party 'fell' off the platform when she moved her chair too close to the edge!

But these were minor points for a delightful stay - very well equipped kitchen (except we couldn't find a milk jug!)

BUT - thank you very much for a comfortable and relaxed stay

best wishes

Pam Smith