FB Twitter

Royal Mile Mansion

Royal Mile Mansion

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


A spacious, sumptuous and atmospheric apartment - the perfect base for exploring Edinburgh's Old Town.

More details >>

Elegant accomodation in a convenient location

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My party of four adults stayed for three days at the conclusion of a driving tour of Scotland, and we used Royal Mile Mansion #14 as our base for exploring Edinburgh's old town on foot. The location is nearly perfect for this purpose; about halfway along the Royal mile, in the middle of innumerable restaurants, pubs, and shops, and very near all public transit options. The accomodation itself was well appointed, comfortable, spacious, quiet, and possessed of an updated, old world charm. Of particular note were the city views and the extremely comfortable beds. All members of my party commented on the excellent sleep they had. Interactions with GreatBase staff were first rate. I would definitely recommend this accomodation to others and would stay here again myself should the opportunity arise.



Stunning Accommodation. You will not be disappointed.

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Positive: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The accommodation was stunning and had everything we needed. Location was perfect and very close to everything. Would suggest booking into the Signet Legal Library for afternoon tea. We stayed in at night and cooked our own dinner as the atmosphere in the dining room was better than eating out and the kitchen was great. We Would definitely stay here again.

Negative: The booking process was fine but a suggestion to reception staff would be to have a name and company badge when you organise to meet guests. My daughter was waiting on time and asked a lady who was waiting in the foyer if she was the reception person meeting guests. She said no she wasn't and dismissed her (my daughter is 26). I turned up 20 minutes later and waited at the front door with my daughter. I asked my daughter if this was the lady we needed to talk to waiting in the foyer but my daughter said no as she had already asked her. A few minutes later the same lady came out and said my surname and was quite annoyed that I was 'late'. I explained that my daughter had approached her earlier but she didn't apologise and we felt her annoyance the whole time she was giving us instructions about the accommodation. Not a good start to our dream holiday but once we were left alone the magic began.




Apt 14 - Extraordinary highs and a few lows

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
On the positive side the apartment was extraordinary. Spacious with high ceilings, filled with grand yet comfortable furnishings, and equipped with a full modern kitchen with a full range of appliances including a clothes washer and (sort of) dryer, it was almost the perfect apartment for us. Plus the location can't be beat as the building sits on the corner of the Royal Mile and the North Bridge (a short walk from the train station and midway between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood).

There were however a few downsides. The first was the aforementioned ventless dryer. We've dealt with them before so we knew the limitations - basically you need to 'half bake' the clothes then leave them out overnight to dry. The second was that we could only get one window to open - in the worst heatwave ever to hit Scotland. Third were the beds which were by far the softest ones we've ever encountered - you sleep with head and feet far above your middle. Lastly, the check-in process is rather bizarre as someone you've never met nor communicated with leads you to and around your apartment.

All that said, I would definitely stay here again for a shorter 1-3 night visit to Edinburgh. The apartment is just so beautiful and convenient that the shortcomings can be overlooked.




Graduation Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent apartment for central Edinburgh. Plenty of space for a family of 4. Had an issue with the hot water, but this was resolved. Kitchen well stocked and very clean. Only item missing was kitchen roll - always usful to have some. Air con would have been nice, but it is a very old property. Used the fan in the room. Highly recommended though.



Great Spot

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is absolutely perfect! And the decor is so cool. It’s very spacious and kitchen is well equipped. We loved this place except for the beds. Mine was so soft that when I laid down my feet felt elevated making sleeping less than comfortable. Also, we couldn’t get clothes dry in the washer/dryer. Could have been user error but no manual for it in the binder of info in the kitchen. While we got great communication and service around check-in, the need to meet someone at a specific time was a hassle (never had to do that before and when you’re traveling it’s hard to know how long things take to estimate arrival time. )



Beautiful, Comfortable & Perfectly Located

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved everything about the 2 bedroom apartment. Well furnished, with wonderful light and a dream kitchen, I found it hard to leave, but the location was so perfect I'd be drawn out to explore again and again.



Excellent Location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The open plan living/dining room was an impressive beautiful large space and great for hanging out in with my family at the end of each day of sight seeing. I was in Edinburgh for the for the International Festival and this flat was an excellent location to walk to all the shows that my family saw. The kitchen was well equipped and the entire flat was to a high standard of cleanliness. I rated Comfort as good only because the mattress was very soft. It was a good quality pocket sprung mattress but rental properties should use medium to cater for all. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.



Truly royal experience!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property has everything needed for the comfortable stay in Edinburgh and much more. The pictures do not do it a justice. The apartment is newly renovated with a great taste, but has all all charm and character of "old world." Located within an arm reach from all major attraction, yet facing a rather quiet street, so no problem with a traffic noise. Kitchen is well-equipped and beds are very comfortable.



Lovely and convenient

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment. One large and one small bedroom. Perfect location with great customer service. No washcloths so bring your own! Large living room and dining area with fabulous views of the hustle bustle of the street!



Review of mile mansion

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was excellent in upkeep and location. The only problem we had was the hot water was very complicated to access.



Great apartment & location

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location and condition of the apartment were both excellent! Couldn't ask for better. It was a little unsettling not to have anyone manning the desk downstairs for the whole time we were there. We did have a bit of an issue with the hot water heater, but we worked on it several different times and finally got it to work. It would have been very helpful to have someone there, but it was not essential and did not detract from our stay.



Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. There is no concierge service in the building for meeting guests as all the apartments are privately owned. The front desk is there historically as the building was at one time a large department store before be converted to homes. We do ask everyone for an arrival time so that we can be there to meet you when you arrive. For problems with the apartment you need to contact us at Greatbase and we will deal with them.

" beautiful and quite magical"

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I ( 4 of us in total) flew to Edinburgh to bring Thanksgiving to our middle daughter and the apartment was beyond our wildest dreams. The location, the expansive living room/dining room and the kitchen were just perfect. We were able to host 11 people comfortably at the lovely dining room table and except for needing to trim down our 2 turkeys a bit to fit in the oven, the equipment in the kitchen had everything we needed! We ended up eating some other dinners warm at home as we loved the food at Sainsbury's and found everything we needed there. Even the weather held out. And to be so close to both the old city (for sightseeing) and the new city (for shopping) and the train station to head up to St. Andrews and a whiskey tasting dinner in North Berwick was so convienant. And Katie from Greatbase was so accommodating and gracious! We cannot wait to come again, maybe with our next child.



royal mile

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was huge with comfortable furniture - especially the beds. It was certainly right in the middle of everything so could walk everywhere. Bit noise when the bars let out at 03:00 but otherwise great



Fabulous Flat

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is right in the center of the Royal Mile within walking distance to all the sites and attractions. The flat is beautiful, impressive, and very spacious. The mattresses were extremely comfortable. The only issue we had was that it was a little warm while we were there, but Katy was lovely in providing fans which remedied the issue . You may want to note that it can be a little noisy (street noise and some construction across the street), but unavoidable and a non-issue for us. We absolutely loved staying there.



Love this apartment!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of four and this was a perfect place to stay! The accommodations were comfortable and the apartment was so spacious. We truly grew to think of this as a home away from home. Thank you Kate for a marvelous stay!



A Return to the Royal Mile Mansion

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to the Royal Mile Mansion to attend our daughter's graduation from the University of Edinburgh. The apartment is ideally located at North Bridge and the Royal Mile. Convenient to restaurants, pubs, and shopping. The apartment is large and very comfortable. It comes with everything and more you would want for a week long stay. Also, it was a pleasure working with Greatbase to secure the reservation.



Great location for enjoying the Royal Mile

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at this large apartment right in the heart of the action in Edinburgh. Check in was smooth and everything in the apartment functioned well. Noise can be heard from the street below, but with the double-paned windows it was never a problem or issue. On that note about the windows: they are due for a good cleaning. It should also be noted that this is a large and vibrant city and that if you have a problem with possibly stepping over someone sleeping on the sidewalk in order to get in to apartment building then this might not be the place for you.



Beautiful apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was perfection. The apartment was beautifully furnished, very large and comfortable, spotlessly clean and ideally located in the heart of the busy, tourist-oriented Royal Mile. Bathrooms lovely with plenty of supplies. Easy walk to restos, pubs, ATMs, food shops, and attractions. All amenities in kitchen. Great Base was responsive and pleasant. A great find.



Incredible apartment/Even better service from Greatbase

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is located at the intersection of "The Bridges" and the Royal Mile. It does not get any better as one is close to everything, but not in the middle of the crunch of people populating the Royal Mile. It is a quick walk to Waverly Station; the Radisson Blu (24 hour taxi stand!) is across the street, exception restaurants are steps or a short cab ride away; the new Princess Street Tram is a very short walk (which will take you directly to the airport) and the apartment is triple glazed...unbelievably quiet. Even more important than the location is the size and condition of the apartment. The pictures on the website do not do the dimensions of the space or the quality of the furnishings and the finishes justice...the place is huge and the furnishings and finishes are better than photographed. Finally, Greatbase. We have rented service apartments more than a dozen times from a great variety of firms and individual owners. Greatbase is the absolute best we have ever dealt with. Timely communications, no hidden or unexpected charges, very cordial, and extremely competent. In short, perfect.



Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just finished staying eight nights at the Royal Mile Mansion with my wife and daughter. It was perfect for the three of us with two bedrooms and two baths. The apartment was very comfortable, large rooms, and had everything we needed. The location was perfect on the Royal Mile for walking to the pubs and restaurants, shopping, and the Starbucks right across the street. Conveniently located between the Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. Perfect place to experience a truly great city.



A 'Greatbase' for a Reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very good experience. - ideal for a reunion of old friends.

We have given feedback on the faulty dimmer switch in the 'master' bathroom and the stiff door knob in the'second' bathroom.

One more point - it would be worth 'warning' guests to be careful when dining at the window table. One of our party 'fell' off the platform when she moved her chair too close to the edge!

But these were minor points for a delightful stay - very well equipped kitchen (except we couldn't find a milk jug!)

BUT - thank you very much for a comfortable and relaxed stay

best wishes

Pam Smith