FB Twitter

Royal Mile Heart

Royal Mile Heart

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 74 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


This spacious and comfortable mansion apartment is steeped in history. Situated in the heart of the Old Town, Edinburgh’s renowned centre, it is a perfect location from which to explore all the city has to offer.
Full details >>

6 Nations Weekend.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for all that we needed for a rugby weekend in Edinburgh. Trains, trams, buses all within walking distance. Lots of good restaurants and bars nearby.



Annual Christmas trip to Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second family trip to this apartment (stayed the same weekend last year). This really is a gem, great location, very close to everything whilst lovely and peaceful. A home from home and we’ll hopefully be back for Christmas 2020, that says it all really. Fabulous.



Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This feels like a home from home (if only home was in such a wonderful location and so relaxing!) This has been our third stay in the Heart Apartment and our fifth time to book with Greatbase - we have stayed in two other locations in Edinburgh, and the apartments and service have been just superb. The Royal Mile Heart apartment is a little luxurious island of calm in the (very enticing) buzz of Edinburgh, and such an amazing home to retreat to at the end of the day.



Good

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keep an eye out, the gifted apple is broken.
The landlord is very nice, thank you for your help that day.




Beautiful apartment centrally located

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is huge, beautiful and easily accessible to the Royal Mile (about 1/2 way on the Mile). It was a fabulous place to stay while in Edinburgh. Katie met us right at 3pm when she said she would. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen easy to use and the living room was very comfortable. The directions and maps were easy to follow and the place had some lovely homey touches.



Wunderschöne Wohnung an der Royal Mile

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wunderschöne Wohnung mit grossen Räumen, es fehlte uns an nichts. Perfekte Lage zu allen wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Bahnhof. Problemlose Kommunikation mit Vermieter. Wir kommen wieder!



Nice and Cozy apt

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cozy apt located very near the heart of historic edinburgh. The host was very friendly and organized. I would recommend highly!



We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is simply fantastic! It is located basically on The Royal Mile which is where all of the major sights are located but yet set back so it is very quiet. It is very spacious, lots of light, beautifully decorated, and the kitchen is well-stocked. The bedrooms were very nice especially the master bedroom with ensuite bath. Katie was very responsive and easy to work with. It is also an 8 minute walk from the train station and the bus which runs from Edinburgh to the airport and back. We easily pulled our suitcases to get to the apartment from the train and also pulled our suitcases to the bus to get to the airport. No additional transportation needed! We all loved it and would stay there again!



Pre-Christmas shopping and entertainment break

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was very easy to find whilst set back from the Royal Mile just the right distance to be quiet but very convenient. What a little gem and only a five minute walk from Waverley Station. A very deceptively large apartment, good sized bedrooms and bathrooms, decent kitchen and a massive lounge set off by the double-aspect big windows. A true home from home whilst a very convenient base for shops, bars, restaurants and all the attractions of Edinburgh. A lovely apartment which we will most definitely use again.



Lost diamonf

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We lost a diamond out of my wife’s ring. The staff found it and mailed it back to us overseas. They went above expectations



very comfortable, spacious, very well located

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable. Katie was a very helpful host. The only issue: no internet in one of the bedrooms.



Big, comfortable apartment right on Royal Mile

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautifully, traditionally decorated, comfortable and large apartment right off the Royal Mile. The location and space were matched both by the immaculate cleanliness of the property and the fine service of the rental agency. After we left the cleaning lady found an address book a friend of mine left behind, and gave it to the rental agent, who mailed it to us. How honest and helpful!



Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for exploring this lovely city. It felt like we were right in the heart of the city everything was within walking distance of a short bus ride away. The apartment was quiet and hidden away from the business of the Royal Mile. I would recommend to friends and return there if we can.



Find another place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Upon entering the unit there was a bad smell that remained the entire stay. There is mismatched dirty carpeting throughout the unit. For a place advertising Georgian architecture, I was shocked there weren't hard wood floors and instead old smelly carpet. The next problem was the hot water -- or should I say the lack thereof. There were four adults and only one could take a quick two minute shower before all the hot water was gone. We contacted the host and were told to push the reset button which none of us could ever seem to locate. We pushed all the buttons we could find. They later on sent some one over while we were out to check the hot water, who seemed to say it was working just fine, but the next morning the same thing happened. It's ridiculous that there isn't a tank big enough to accommodate four adults who want to shower in the morning. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Although the host, Katie was nice, I feel that I overpaid to stay here without the benefit of a hot shower! Also, the bed was lumpy.



Katie replied more than 1 year ago
The review seems a bit harsh and it is disappointing that the apartment didn’t meet up to the expectations of Joy and her guests. They did get their train arrival time wrong which may have caused an upset to some in the party. The apartment doesn’t have a bad smell and the carpets aren’t dirty, old and smell or mismatched. It clearly shows on the photos of the property that there are carpets throughout, how it is furnished and what to expect. Carpets are traditional in old properties in Edinburgh to reduce the drafts and noise. There was hot water both times the engineer called in to the apartment but some of the boiler setting had been altered by the guests. There haven’t been any issues with hot water before or since their arrival and the heating worked well their entire stay which runs of the same hot water tank. The tank is large and is normally adequate for 5 guests to all have showers in the morning. Not sure about the lumpy bed but will check that and replace it if necessary.

75

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at 5 Chessels Court. It was very central for the things we wanted to do. The apartment. was comfortable and clean.



Great location and homey feel.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartment. Fresh flowers and a small bottle of milk in the refrigerator was a nice touch. We could walk everywhere and liked the location. Would definitely recommend to other visitors.



Everything as advertised and MORE!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very satisfied with this lovely, spacious, QUIET, flat right in the middle of the Royal Mile! Location couldn't be better: slightly uphill from the picturesque Tolbooth Tavern, in a court less than a one-minute walk to the Royal Mile. There are great pubs, shops, restaurants and bakeries nearby (Mimi's Bakehouse for scones and lattes!). The bedrooms and living room are large and lovely. A problem with the WiFi was addressed immediately and there was a knock on the door within the hour. A new router was installed and the problem was solved. The windows of the living room and one bedroom (not the master) are at the 2nd floor level and overlook beautiful gardens. The entry way is private and at street level. The large windows supply much natural light and our bedroom had thick drapes to keep it very dark at night (important when you are exhausted from travel and the sun stays out until 10:30 pm). We were able to relax totally when we weren't out and about. Highly recommend!



Lovely apartment to stay in.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic apartment, loads of space, lovely lounge. So comfortable. Shower in the main bedroom was fabulous after the marathon. Location is great for access to the city. Would recommend it. We will book it again for our next trip.



Wonderful location in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is fantastic: spacious, comfortable, strikingly beautiful, and perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Five of us stayed here, and were abundantly comfortable. Katie, who checked us in, we gracious, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the history of the area. I cannot recommend this apartment enough as a place to launch a visit to Edinburgh!



A perfecy stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a cosy apartment in Old Town. We had a really pleasent stay and we will probably come back. We can really recommend to rent this apartment.



A wonderful place to stay when visiting Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 3 nights in this apartment towards the end of last week. The property was lovely, it's location fabulous and my family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.



Beautiful apartment in excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Royal Mile Heart is a beautiful apartment in an excellent location in the Old Town, walking distance away from the castle and other sights and museums. The apartment is spacious and has a good atmosphere. The kitchen is equipped with everything necessary and we were greeted with fresh flowers and some local shortbread an apples. The living room is very spacious and natural light comes in beautifully. There is a selection of guidebooks on the city and Scotland and enough seating for 5 people to sit very comfortably. Wifi works well in the living room, kitchen and 2nd bedroom, the signal is quite weak in the master bedroom with the en suite. The en suite bathroom only has a saloon door that is not very convenient and does not offer a lot of privacy, so luckily there is a second bathroom as well. As the weather was quite cold the apartment got quite cool, the heating was on only twice a day for a few hours. We tried adjusting it but it would only stay on for a few hours at a time. Luckily we found some blankets that were put to good use, but it would be great to have he heating on around the clock during the cooler months. The apartment was clean and in good condition, the linen and towels were fresh. This is an excellent choice if you are looking for a place to stay that has a cozy feel!



Lovely apartment

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here, it worked well for our family of four. It’s an elegant space, large and bright with beautiful details. It’s in a gorgeous courtyard, set back from the royal mile, so quiet and peaceful. If you want to be near tourist attractions, it’s a perfect location.



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, Big, quiet and Beautiful appartment.
Well located in Edinburgh.

Wonderful customer.

Recomanded !!!




Christmas time in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good location. About everything to see in Edinburgh is 15 minutes walking. The town is beautiful.



Best place in town

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment has everything for a successful living in the central city
The apartment is fore 5-6 person.




Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This property is very convenient in the heart of Edinburgh. It is a lovely period apartment debouching onto the Royal Mile via a charming courtyard. It was quiet and had excellent amenities. The agent was welcoming and our stay was totally trouble free.
I would stay again and will be recommending it to our friends.




Best location. Right off Royal Mile.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home was so beautiful and comfortable. Our family of 5 felt right at home. We really were sad to check out of home. Home had everything we needed. But location was great. Apartment sits right off Royal Mile and you could walk to anything in the city center. Great customer service too. Quick to respond when we needed them. Gave us a very thorough check in as well. Highly recommend this apartment.



We really loved our stay at Royal Mile Heart

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is just perfect. It is located near the Royal Mile, only two minutes from Mimi's Bakehouse where we bought scones for breakfast. It was very quiet, we slept wonderful. Since the weather was fine, we spent some time in the courtyard (it is more a kind of a garden) in front of the apartment. We had more than enough space, and it was really convenient to have two bathrooms. And the living room is really, really beautiful and cozy. That wasn't our last stay there.



Edinburgh visit

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This property was the perfect location for us. We were visiting our daughter who is in grad school at University of Edinburgh and we were practically adjacent to her dorm. Everything was a close and easy walk. The unit itself was tucked into a quiet and charming area. Really wonderful.



Excellent apartment in a prime location

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's an excellent apartment with a prime location, a quiet surrounding, and excellent utilities. We would have loved to have a second set of towels and linens, tissues and toilet paper. Apart from that, we had a lovely time in this residence. We would recommend it and come back.



A magnificent apartment in an excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 4 nights in this apartment located in a quiet courtyard just off the Royal Mile. The location couldn’t be better for visiting Edinburgh on foot. The apartment is on the ground floor of a building dating from 1760. It corresponds perfectly to the description on the Greatbase web site. The furnishings and decorations are lovely; we have rented many flats over the years and have never stayed in one this beautiful and comfortable. Greatbase provided precise instructions for arrival and useful information on things in the area. We would certainly come back.



Perfect in almost every way

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location could not be any better. The flat is incredibly spacious. For a family of five you can really spread out. It feels historic (in a really good way) and the courtyard is wonderful. The apartment is better equipped than most. It's clearly a well run operation. It's lovely and warm which is good in Edinburgh and the showers are excellent. Curtains in the master bedroom would be nice. The blinds are. It great and the little picture window has no blinds or curtains so by 5.30 am it's light in the room. Other than that it really is very very good.



Great location,

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely apartment in a Perfect location close to all the restaurant and sights yet a lovely quiet area,



Great place to stay in the heart of Edinburgh

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 4 nights in March. The location was fantastic - on the Royal Mile but at the quiet end. It was walking distance to the castle, the palace, the museum, Arthur's seat and Calton Hill. We also went to Roslin Chapel which was easy to get to by catching the bus from nearby North bridge.

The apartment was great. A gorgeous close with an interesting history. The living spaces were very comfortable. The apartment was toasty warm and showers hot.

Katie met us there and was just lovely and very helpful.

Thanks for a great stay!




Excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely break in Edinburgh. The apartment was in an excellent location- easy walking distance to all of the main attractions. The lounge was charming and cosy although for more than three guests it does need an extra comfortable chair . The rocking chair and the chaise longue were not very practical or comfortable. The kitchen was very clean and contained everything we needed for our stay as were the bathrooms. The door on the ensuite was rather strange and impractical but otherwise the bedrooms were fine.



Comfortable well located apartment

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So much space for our family of five! We just had to ensure our two year old didn't run about too much! This is out of consideration for other residents! The apartment was well kitted out for a weeks stay so close to all the attractions Edinburgh has to offer! I would recommend this place.



A Haven in the Heart of Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to Royal Mile 3 and it did not disappoint. It's a beautifully laid out apartment, just off the Royal Mile and a haven of peace and quiet, close to all the hustle, bustle and excitement that Edinburgh has to offer. Lovely to come back here in the evenings after experiencing the Edinburgh Christmas festivities.



exceeding all expectations

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
actually the title is not quite fair.......we werent sure what to expect but trusted our guts and the few pictures we had to go on. it was a wonderful choice with absolutely no regrets. Jack - who met us at the apartment was most helpful and friendly - and the place was beautiful spacious and easy to live in. it was a wonderful respite from a day of visiting castles and museums and the locale was perfect for access to whatever was needed. Absolutely loved it all...and have major dreams about coming back. i would recommend it to anyone but dont want to for fear it wont be available if i want to come back! THANK YOU.




Great Time at Greatbase!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gorgeous home! When we walked in we could not believe it. And the location was perfect! And the washing machine…wow, it was more than welcomed. We cannot think of one need not met, one request not granted, one problem with ANYthing. Katie and her son Jack were wonderful. Felt I'd made a new friend! I cannot remember a time when we had better service. Of course with such superb accommodations what could we possibly have needed? It was hard to leave. Truly. Thanks again Katie wee lass! You're a treasure. Please have us again. And next time, I want to take you for tea! :))

PS - Katie, sorry for the delay in responding. We just got home Monday night as we went onto London then up to Cambridge. And I've been fighting a bronchial infection. In fact today I finally think I might live! You are a BLESSING. Deb




Great stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great support at the booking stage due to an error by me - very patient and understanding.

Charming and unobtrusive welcome which was much appreciated.
Well equipped - well positioned - comfortable and homely base for our week in Edinburgh




Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Royal Mile 3. The house is spacious and well appointed. It's right off the Royal Mile, but because it's in a courtyard, it was perfectly quiet at night. The beds and bedding were comfortable which is always nice after a long day out. We walked everywhere since the house is so centrally located.
We did a day trip that we would highly recommend- Rabbis van tour of lochs and castles. It was a great way to see the highlands without a car of our own.




Great location, beautiful apartment with lots of sunshine. Beautiful sitting room.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay and loved the apartment's location, decor and beautiful sitting room. Katie's service was excellent. The apartment was as pictured and was well decorated and equipped. Only complaint was the master bed was old and should be replaced.



Beautiful flat in fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom flat in heart of Old Town Edinburgh. Double beds in both bedrooms plus one of the bedrooms has an additional single bed. Bedrooms are in separate parts of flat with no adjoining walls, so perfect for two couples. Very clean with huge windows overlooking a common garden area. Close to main streets but quiet. Modern clothes washer. No dryer but ingenious pull-down rack permitting air drying. Kitchen well equipped, including gas cooktop. Very clean with nice linens. This flat delivers exactly what is promised.



Great location

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great location , comfortable ,warm and very spacious apartment in a really interesting building with a lovely garden in the Close, thank you Katie and Neil,



Three nights in the most charming apartment!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After visiting Paris and London, we hit the jackpot when we visited Edinburgh and stayed here! The apartment was perfectly spacious, emaculate, and conveniently located for us to enjoy all the Royal Mile has to offer. We had a wonderful time in this charming apartment and would stay here again!



Great location and comfort in lovely Court off the Mile

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property could use some modernisation, especially to kitchen, (no microwave,) but is certainly in a fabulous location, quiet and homely, and is very comfortable.



Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Marion Thank you for your review. There is a microwave in the kitchen above the built in oven. Sorry you didn't see it during your stay.

Spacious and well located

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Dec 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent the Christmas week here and had a wonderful stay. The living room easily accommodated our party of 13 on the day, though the dining table is only big enough for 10. It is a very comfortable room with good light from two sides. The main bedroom and ensuite bathroom are similarly spacious,mthough the bathroom fan makes a disturbing throbbing sound. The kitchen had a small table for 3 to eat at and is well equipped, though the fridge is small. The kitchen knives could use a sharpening. Being on the ground floor is very convenient, with no stairs other than the front steps to negotiate.



Family weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was a perfect base for a family weekend in Edinburgh with our kids aged 20 and 21. Lovely apartment (especially sitting room!), amazing location.



Really nice

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was very nice, and we felt us very welcome. It was an excellent location.
We got the information we needed, and there was no problem finding the apartment.




Fabulous Place

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 nights in this stunning apartment, the pictures really don't do it justice, it is huge, warm and comfy. The location is ideal, literally a minute from the Royal Mile. There is some building work going on behind the property but we did not find the noise to be intrusive. It really is a 'hidden gem' and I would not hesitate to stay there again.



a welcoming and convenient lication

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Riyal Mile apartment in excellent condition with lots of extras such as tea coffee and milk. In addition there were plenty of dishes glasses and cutlery.
The staff (Jack) welcomed us on arrival and was extremely helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
I would recommend the apartment without any reservation. We were pleased and delighted with every aspect of the apartment.




Perfect accommodation for our trip to the Fringe

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great apartment. We felt right at the heart of the Fringe, but at the same time tucked away from the noise and bustle. It was a delight to be surrounded by beautiful furniture and such comfort. Very well-equipped kitchen (and we were delighted to see you allow people to leave tea, coffee, salt, pepper etc - so many rented flats seem so 'clinical' as all this is cleared away).

Katie helpfully allowed us to check in early so that we could enjoy our first afternoon of show.
Thank you.




Royal Mile 3 Apartment

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I visited Edinburgh with our 2 teenage kids in August of 2015. This apartment was beautiful, very clean, comfortable, quiet, fully equipped kitchen and what a great location right off the Royal Mile. We were met at the apartment, shown how to operate/find everything and they even brought a welcome basket of fruit, biscuits and fresh milk for tea. Nothing but good to say about the apartment and Greatbase Apartments.



Very beautiful apartment !!!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment is very confortable and in a court near Royal Mile.
It's a perfect location in Edinburgh.It's near all the main attracions
and also far from the confusion of the festival.




Lovely Quiet Flat on the Royal Mile

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely flat located at the bottom of the Royal Mile (right past The World's End). You are close enough to the mile and Edinburgh Castle (3-6 minute walk) but the area is quite. The flat is located in an adorable courtyard. The interiors were clean and looked just like the photos. There were clean sheets, towels and even some extra teas and things in the kitchen. As you are on the mile, there are plenty of shops and restaurants. We will defiantly be staying in the future.



Great location and loads of room.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay for a week in this apartment. It is in a great location on the Royal Mile and close to Waverly Station - but not to close.

The rooms are large and the furnishing practical and comfortable. The provision of guide books and pamphlets very helpful and recommendation for the Rabbi tour excellent with a 10% discount.

Excellent value for money - so much more comfortable than an equivalent priced hotel.




Great location but needs comfortable seating

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jun 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for this apartment! The building has so much character and history so it looks beautiful. It was clean and kitchen was updated.

Due to the age of the couch and chairs there was no where to sit that was comfortable. The construction noise wasn't too much of a problem as we were up early and gone for most of the day. However; from your window you could make eye contact with the construction workers -- little privacy. Showering was bit chilly especially in the master bath as there isn't a door to the bathroom.

Again, the location to the Royal Mile couldn't be better!




Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved having a home-like place to stay while in town for a conference. The apartment is beautiful, clean, and well-appointed in a very convenient part of town. Construction in the area was quite noisy in the morning, but otherwise everything was perfect.



Great trip to Royal Mile 3

Review submitted on Sun, 17 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location! Katie was very accommodating......arranging transportation from and back from the airport. The apartment was well equipped. Privacy in one bedroom bathroom could be solved with a curtain in the doorway. The gardens surrounding the apartment were beautiful and we feel like we got a true Scottish experience.



Feel like royalty off the Royal Mile!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived at apartment on a Friday evening, was met by Jack from Greatbase who welcomed us, showed us around and explained how everything worked. Very useful and very unusual as normally just left with a booklet if lucky!. There is some building work going on behind the flat but this did not interfere with the stay at all, nothing over the weekend and just a little noise on the Monday but late enough. The apartment more than made up for this. Excellent location, especially for exploring the Old Town and Lawn Market, Grass Market and Castle. So much space and history, beautiful plasterwork and a great place to relax in of an evening after a busy day out. A hidden treasure. Will definitely use again.



Edinburgh Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house on Chessel Court was outstanding in every way---condition, location, comfort. We would come back and we will recommend to anyone travelling to Edinburgh



A big Thumbs-Up!

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Royal Mile 3 was one of the highlights of our Scotland trip. Spacious, though arranged in such a manner as to afford privacy within our party when desired, this flat is itself an attraction. At times I found myself wishing for a dreary day so that I might spend my day lounging and quietly reading. Considering the solitude offered it still seems hard to believe that we were only steps away from the action of the Royal Mile. A major construction project nearby was supposed to be a distraction but this proved not to be so during our stay. I only have praise for the preparation of the apartment...the neatness, thoughtful appointments and service provided by Katie and her partners are beyond compare.



Best location ever for the Fringe

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

2 things would have made this flat perfect - a dishwasher and privacy in the ensuite bathroom (a beaded curtain would do).
We are hoping to secure this flat for next year's Fringe. That says it all.




A great location

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Royal Mile 3 is a great location for Edinburgh activities. We saw a lot of Fringe shows, and it allowed us to go back and forth easily between shows, and meals.



A walk away

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Aug 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location to go to the 'Military Tattoo' at the castle, which is why we picked this apartment.
We would recommend more tea towels, a tablecloth or some placemats for the dining-room table, and not plastic so that we can warm-up the plates as we always do. A bigger pan for pasta, and kitchen towels would be appreciated.
We had a great stay and would certainly recommend the services of 'Greatbase', Katie that we have been dealing with for many years and Jack this time, can not do enough to help.
Camille and Brian Hill




Great location

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Pros: location, location, location. Large apartment. Nice courtyard.
Cons: cumbersome coordination for checking in needing to meet physically at the apartment first so timing was a challenge and we planned our day around it. After having rented many homes, this was the most inefficient method I've experienced thus far. Late check-in of 4:00 and the earliest checkout I've seen at 10:30.




We enjoyed this flat for 6 nights. Very spacious and perfect for a family of 4-5.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really liked this flat. The location is excellent, lots of good shops and restaurants close by. The Tesco was a short 5 minute walk away. The flat was very well appointed for cooking and very roomy for our family of 5.
We would recommend this flat to friends.




wonderful apartment,

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the apartment was wonderful ,very homey and comfortable. In the heart of the city, lots of shops and restaurants, lots to see. We had a great time.



Wonderful Location in the Old Town

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Royal Mile 3 very much. The location was great. Jack, who checked us in, was very helpful and kind. The furnishings, while comfortable, were a little worn around the edges. Our only complaint was that the towels were very rough--it would appear that they were washed in the apartment's washing machine and then line-dried. As a result, they were not soft at all--a minor irritation.

All in all--we would stay at RM3 again!

Thanks,






royal mile 3

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
the apartment is beautiful and well preserved. our stay was made comfortable and although the construction is still ongoing - we managed to have a fab stay. All attractions and ammeneties are within walking distance and the kitchen is well stocked with utensiles and the basics. It was nice to know that we would come back to such a great place after a tiring day sightseeing. would definately stay here again...Brgds Mel from UAE



Luxurious living in the heart of Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for my son's wedding in the City Chambers in February, and it was a brilliant choice. Just a lovely apartment, lovely location. Thanks!



Royal Mile 3

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all were very impressed with the standard of accommodation at Royal Mile 3, and would recommend booking through Greatbase to friends and family. We all had an amazing weekend, which was made all the more comfortable with the location of the property, the excellent staff curtesy upon arrival and departure, and the thoughtfulness of supplies and information made available to us throughout our stay. Thank you.



Love-hate relationship with Royal Mile 3 apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This apartment was everything we had hoped it would be in terms of location, atmosphere and comfort BUT (and this is a very big BUT) we would not recommend it because the apartment was literally in the middle of a construction zone that made the apartment extremely noisy between the hours of about 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM each weekday (and half days on Saturdays). Whether we wanted to or not, we were forced to be out much earlier each day than we wanted to be and return later than we wanted just to avoid the nerve wracking noise of piles being driven into the earth just outside our windows. I am a travel journalist and needed to do some writing on this trip but couldn't during the day. The timing couldn't have been worse for us. I would recommend the apartment for future renters - or for us on a future visit - but not while construction is in progress (and it looks as if it will continue for sometime).

What also bothered us a great deal was the fact that we had no idea of the construction in advance of our trip. I had checked a website two weeks before our rental dates (Sept. 27th to Oct.13th) and discovered to my horror that another renter had stayed in the apartment in August and had been very upset about the construction noise. The rental agency was not honest with us and had given us no clue whatsoever in advance about the situation. We were not given the choice of 1) changing apartments to another available through Great Base or 2) canceling and finding another apartment on our own (which I probably could have done even at the last minute). My editors advised me to "take the money loss" and find another apartment so that I could write positively about where I stayed but, unfortunately, we are not in a position to lose the $3000 we prepaid for the rental. All in all, we were not happy about being caught in the "trap" and having to "grin and bear it."




Katie replied more than 1 year ago
There are a few in accuracies in this review. The apartment is not in the middle of a construction site. There is a development going on behind the apartment which can be viewed from the living room and the second bedroom. The apartment is L-shaped and main bedroom is away from the construction site. The main bedroom and the kitchen have views onto the courtyard which has a lovely green in the middle and there is no development going on there. The guests did know in advance about the development work as we had several conversations about it before they arrived and, they were very concerned about and felt this would be a problem even before they arrived. We were as honest as we could be about the work being carried out and gave as much information as we could to them. We spoke to the site manager to get an idea of the work to be carried out during their stay so that they would be aware of it. The site manager was happy to show them round and to speak to them directly. Work starts at 8am and follows government guidelines and there is no activity on site in the evenings. There was no pile driving being carried out over the garden wall when these guests stayed as pile driving was done when the engineers first arrived on the site to retain the garden wall which was several weeks before the guests arrived. There was some further demolition of concrete blocks carried out during their stay which was noisy but the sound did not carry on all day and everyday as is implied. The guests did not inform us at any time during their stay that there was a problem. Although we could not have organised a change of apartment for their entire 16 nights stay, we could have organised alternative accommodation for some of the period. Having spoken to several of the permanent residents in the same block they do not feel that the noise stops them from being able to work at home and say that although it can be noise it is not normally for long periods at a time. We have had many other guests staying in the apartment before and since this review who have not found the construction to be a problem. Several guests have commented on the great views which have opened up as a result of the demolition. Sadly we have no control over what happens outside the property it is difficult for us to know what work will be carried out in advance of bookings. Updates are available regarding the development on http://www.balfourbeattycsuk.com/