FB Twitter

Royal Mile 1

Royal Mile 1

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 72 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Situated in a quiet historic courtyard just off the Royal Mile in the heart of the Old Town this modern spacious first floor flat is ideally located to take advantage of Edinburgh's main tourist sites, including the Castle, Palace and Scottish Parliament. Close to Waverley Station and the airport express bus route make it an easy and convenient place to stay in the city without the need of a car.

Full details >>

Weekend stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked an apartment to stay with friends for 2 nights. Ideal location on the Royal Mile. Great location, very comfortable rooms. Ideal for a short break and have already recommended Greatbase to friends.



Lion King Treat

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family weekend of three generations, the size an location of the appartment was perfect. Really comfortable beds and bedding. Thank you.



Great spot

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great, homely spot. Very central. Lovely outlook into pretty courtyard. Had a lovely stay, would stay again.



a pleasant stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment is pleasant, spacious and above all quiet. It is located in the city center, just few minutes by walk from the waverley bridge from where you take the Airlink bus to the airport



Edinburgh - again and again

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time in Edinburgh, the location war perfect for us three, just in the center; had everything we needed.



Perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with my husband and son on our first trip to Edinburgh. The location was perfect! We walked to everything. Comfortable and clean. We totally enjoyed our stay.



A Perfect Experience

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just loved our 12 night stay at Royal Mile 1. It really allowed us to feel like we lived in Edinburgh, during the time we were there. The location is ideal-20 steps and you're on the Royal Mile - yet inside Chessels Courtyard it is so tranquil and serene. The views from our windows were fantastic. The customer service provided by GreatBase was excellent. We cooked many of our own meals and the kitchen was well stocked for that. There is a bus stop right outside the entrance to Chessel's court and other stops just a 5 minute walk away. The beds were very comfortable and the heater worked well to keep us warm. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our time at Royal Mile 1 and the way it helped to make our trip to Edinburgh just perfect!



Another Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are repeat renters of the Royal mile properties. This should say it all. We always feel like family staying at this centrally located flat. Everything worked properly and the beds were comfy. We cannot wait to stay again. Keep up the good work.



Great location, suitable for families, friendly staff

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed five nights. The apartment had everything we needed. The location was great. Friendly staff greeted us and gave us the keys as we arrived. We give this apartment and Greatbase our best recommendations.



Really good apartment in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Delighted with my stay with three friends at this apartment. Everything went smoothly from booking to key collection, stay and checkout. Would definitely return on next visit to Edinburgh



A super place

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, great location, spacious, excellent amenities I would definitely recommend this apartment for a small family who want to be in the centre of Edinburgh



Scotland - 5 Sisters Trip

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is located on the Royal Mile, an excellent choice when planning to sightsee on the mile. If is also within walking distance of the train station, the office for buying tickets for the Hop-on Hop-off buses,, and many points of interest. There is an abundance of restaurants, cafes, and bakeries near-by. The property manager provided appropriate and useful information on sights and food in Edinburg, as well as DVDs for tired sightseers needing to sit and relax during the late hours of the day. Help was also provided for securing transport to the airport. Though there was no lift, the number of stairs was minimal. The wifi worked well. There was a clothes washer (which was greatly appreciated since as we neared our end to a 15-day trip to GB.
Great stay!




Fabulous vacation spot and great customer service!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful apt in great location. Wish we could have stayed longer. When we met Kristen to check in, she made us feel very welcome.



Lovely and peaceful oasis

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely apartment in a great location. Very comfortable and clean and Katie was very friendly and obliging when we were delayed in arriving there. Pleasantly surprised at how peaceful it was considering we were there during the fringe festival and the area was very busy. A real oasis in the hustle and bustle. Plenty of places to eat nearby.



Great central location

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well laid out apartment right in the centre of Edinburgh.
Close to shops so you can get things if self catering, and plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby.
Location meant everywhere was in walking distance to make a good day trip each day and see different attractions and places.
Apartment is a good size and had good sized bedrooms. Kitchen had everything for a self catering holiday.
Towels, hair dryer and some toiletries were provided so you don't need to pack extra stuff or go and buy extras straight away.




Good location great management

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was excellent on the Royal mile. The management was excellent and gave us great service. We had an amazing time. I would stay again.



Fantastic apartment centrally located in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great place to stay for being centrally located in Edinburgh. The whole place was within easy walking distance, the apartment was comfortable and spacious enough for all four of us and the planning and responsiveness by the manager was unparalleled. We would definitely stay here again!



Property on Royal Mile

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is on the royal mile which is the place to be in Old Town Edinburgh. The location was perfect. It was clean and spacious enough to accommodate us. ( three women).
We love Edinburgh!




Amazing location!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay here. Very close to so many sites but quiet and comfortable. Katie was great host.



excellent location,facility

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the host was so nice, conversations on our phone was satisfactory. the house itself was also great! location and utilities were so great



Amazing Hogmany Holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time out of the country for our sons (8,10,12) and a memory I know they'll treasure. The apartment was absolutely perfect! The location couldn't be better - everything is an easy walk and torchlight parade passed by steps away. The amenities were excellent: everything we needed was right there and we were able to do laundry and fix meals with ease. The beds were super comfortable and everyone was grateful to have their own space. The service was excellent as well - Katie helped us set up our transfers to and from the airport and greeted us warmly upon our arrival and responded to our questions quickly (even on New Years Eve!). What a wonderful experience!



Cosy place, great location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed with my family for my graduation. The apartment was great, nice and clean. Loved that we had the small electrical fireplace in the living room, which helped warm up the apartment more. Definitely the best thing about the apartment is its location, right off the Royal Mile with all the main attractions walking distance.



3 nite stay,perfect location,good service,would book it again.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
3 nite stay,perfect location,good service,would book it again.
Great people,good food and lots to see.




Everything was in sparkling clean and good condition.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Apartment is in a perfect spot for all attractions. the apt itself is in clean and well appointed condition. The bed are so comfortable and the kitchen has all untensiles needed. Katie was prompt and very helpful. The gardens in the court were lovely.



As always the Apartment was in the perfect location.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was lovely to be back at the Apartment and everything was in order.
The beds are very comfortable and the area is very quiet




Very convenient, comfortable base

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a perfect base to enjoy the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, the central location made it easy to walk to events. The flat is very comfortable. Even the pull out bed in the living room was comfortable. Although right on the Royal Mile the courtyard was quite peaceful for a city.



Comfortable apartment in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is lovely. Clean, comfortable, well equipped, well furnished. It's in a quiet courtyard just of the Royal Mile, so you get the best of both worlds. Good Wi-Fi and beds that are as comfy as five star hotel.



very good location in old town

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location was very well situated, very close to the castle, the Holyrood Park, and all kind of shops.
We were well received by Greatbase Apartments Ltd, and the advice were very wise. Moreover there was a lot of documentation in the appartement regarding all the touristic attractions. We have a great stay at Royal Mile 1 and Edinburgh is really a great city to discover.




Flat on Royal Mile

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely flat & great position.
Plumbing needs some attention - not a problem during our stay though!






Need I Say More?

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've visited Scotland six times in the last ten years. I've stayed at the Royal Mile apartment seven times.. That's because I was in Edingurgh at two different times on one trip. This apartment is my home when I'm in Edinburgh.



estancia inolvidable en Edimburgo

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
apartamento acogedor y muy mono cerca del centro con todo tipo de detalles, los caseros muy correctos y las camas de buena calidad para conseguir un descanso perfecto después de las largas caminatas para conocer la ciudad tanto de día como de noche , Fantástico os lo recomienodo



Back again

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've been to Edinburgh six times. I've stayed at Royal Mile six times. Need I say more? I wouldn't stay anywhere else.



Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location to visit the city.
The flat is very clean, cosy and well equipped with everything you need for you stay.
Katie and Jack (who gave us the keys) are very helpful and kind.




Good location but lack cleanliness

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The apartment is in good location and the service is reasonably well. The carpet however seems old and dirty. In addition there are many unused appliances in the apartment



2nd stay. Will be back

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
2nd stay renting 2 apartments for 6 of us who did the Scotland Moonwalk. Fantastic location. Ideal for Edinburgh exploring. Great city. Well worth a visit. Would recommend staying here



Lovely flat, beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really lovely flat in a fabulous location and has everything we needed for two weeks holiday. The flat has a nice sitting room with comfortable seating and a big dining table, a separate kitchen, two great bedrooms with very comfortable beds, and a nice sized bathroom. It is in Chessel's Court which is a lovely garden with beautiful flowers and trees, unbelievably just off the Royal Mile right in the centre of Edinburgh - we actually saw a number of groups on "Hidden gardens of the Royal Mile tours" looking round it and I reckon it and Dunbar's Close Garden (a few yards away down the Canongate, are the top "hidden gardens of the Royal Mile"; you will be wakened by birdsong. Very enjoyable.



Great Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the apartment. It is spacious and clean. Jack was really kind and welcoming. Location is also great in the main street of the old town.



Perfect place !

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were cheerfully welcomed and all our questions were patiently answered.
The place is very well located in the old town right between the castle and Holyrood, slightly off the street, over a quiet and green courtyard.
Everything was clean and in perfect condition and accommodated without any problem for the 5 of us.
We really enjoyed our stay.
I should however mention two minors problems : the neighbours' TV played very loud, even in the middle of the night, which was quite annoying ; the toilets' flush was not very efficient.

Nevertheless we strongly recommend this apartment !




Good apt. Great location

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice apartment in an excellent location. Could do with a few more amenities being provided upon arrival - toilet paper, kitchen roll



Lovely flat in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at this property. The flat is in a fabulous central location and provided everything we needed. Particularly appreciated the little extras - fresh flowers, milk, tea, coffee etc. I would use this property again.



Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, first floor flat so few stairs. Jack was very helpful, friendly and nothing was a problem when he met us. Lovely small touches fresh flowers, milk in fridge very thoughtful and appreciated.
Lovely flat, location was perfect, 2minutes walk to Royal mile, 10minutes walk to Princess Street. Abundance of cafes, restaurants, shops and pubs on doorstep so you would never go thirsty or hungry.




Great Location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great Location . The city is easily walkable. Having a washing machine in the apartment was convenient.



Wonderful flat, best location.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apt was clean. Nice equipped kitchen. Nice bath towels. Comfy beds. We especially liked having access to the boiler so we could have heat and hot water when we needed it- easy to use. Best location... we walked everywhere!! Katie replied to text msgs very quickly.



Perfect location in Old Town Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just steps from the Royal Mile in a perfectly quiet close, this flat served as a great base camp from which to launch. Holyrood park is just down the hill and Edinburgh Castle is just a few blocks up the hill. Waverly station is an easy walk, and if you're in for a long walk, Stockbridge and the Royal Botanic Gardens are easily accessible. The flat is comfortable, we'll equipped, and check-in/out was effortless.



Review

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great. .




a real great base

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an excellect time in Edinburg. We could do everything on ffot even with 3 kids. The apprtement is spacious and in a quiete part of the Royal Mile which is nice after a long day in the city. Pur kids liked the litte garden an could play there by themselves - we could view them through our window. The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well.




Perfect stay in a perfect location!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed five nights with three children (5, 5 and 10) and found it perfect! The flat itself had everything you needed, beds were comfotable with cosy bedlinnen and the children loved the sofabed. The kitchen was more than enough for us, since we only had breakfast but even if we wanted to cook I can not think of anything missing.
But the location! It was really in the center of everything and still a very calm and quiet place. We loved the view from the bedroom and the little gardens below the windows.
All in all it was a perfect week!




Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay! The apartment was at an excellent location, close to everything. It was comfortable and warm. Apart from the plumbing in the bathroom which needs improvement and the rug in the livingroom which spoils the general clean look of the premises, we would recommend it to our friends and choose it again the next time.



tea, coffee and shortbread

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment filled with light and well stocked for cooking at home. Kate was a very attentive hostess and provided tea, coffee and delicious shortbread cookies....much appreciated!



perfect base for our short break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 4 days in Edinburgh as we were completing the Edinburgh Moonwalk Marathon. Found Greatbase via Google search. Easy website to navigate through. Pictures of all properties available and great communication form the owners. Apartment was very well appointed in the centre of Edinburgh. 4 of us were staying. Clean, comfortable and practical. Definately will book through Greatbase again. Already made contact about next year.



A perfect location from which to explore

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Royal Mile 1 was the perfect location from which to explore Edinburgh. Tucked away on a quiet historic courtyard just steps from the action on the Royal Mile. The beds were comfortable, the apartment was very well equipped, and the welcome organized by Katie upon arrival was helpful and informative. We would definitely stay here again, and will recommend Greatbase Apartments whenever possible.



Perfect Location for fun in Edinburgh!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently visited Edinburgh for the 1st time with my husband and parents and this apartment was PERFECT! We walked everywhere to all of the major sites and had a ton of options for bars and restaurants. The apartment was clean and tidy and looked just like the photos posted. And the beds were fantastic - perfect after a long day of exploring! Katie was super helpful and friendly which is an added bonus!!



Would stay here again!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was great! As attractive as advertised and more convenient and bigger than we had hoped. Katie and Jack were incredibly accommodating, even when we arrived late, thanks to sheep on the tracks. Felt right at home and could use this excellent home base to explore Edinburgh to our heart's content.



Great apartment and great service

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Edinburgh for the Easter weekend. The location is great as you are right in the centre of the city, only 5 minutes away from pubs, shops, etc. The people who received us were very kind and helpful. I would recommend this place to stay. The price was excellent too. All my party were happy



Place that feels like home on Royal Mile

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was nothing but pleasant and Katie was wonderfully accommodating. She made us feel welcome by meeting us for a late check in and offering any advice she could on places to eat and things to do during our visit. The apartment was warm, comforting and clean. The location was perfect and quiet. It has everything you need, so thank you again Katie!



Great location - a true Great Base!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't beat this location. 5 minute walk to train station, 5-10 minute walk to castle and other tourist destinations in Old Town. Easy walk to Christmas markets and New Town. Even though it's on the Royal Mile, it's in a courtyard off a quiet end of the road so we heard nothing from the street. Host was very accessible and helpful - including when I locked myself out!! Comfy beds, clean space, definitely recommend.



Clean, central and comfortable, though noisy building works immediately behind the flat.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was very clean, very central and had everything you could need including clean towels, maps for the city centre, local areas etc. On arrival there was milk in the fridge and fresh flowers on the table, which was really appreciated and a lovely touch.

Unfortunately there are building works going on at this time right behind the flat which start at 8am (including Saturdays) and continue until 5.30pm. These are very loud and disruptive - metal grinders etc

We were a little disappointed that Great Base didn't inform us of these works when we made the booking, neither via email nor in conversation, in advance of our stay. When we raised the issue of the noise at the beginning of the week we were offered alternative accommodation much further away and were told it would potentially be noisy as well. We were not offered any further solutions.

We also had a mouse in one of the bedrooms on one evening, something we also raised at the end of the week on departure however never received a reply. This lack of communication seemed a litte out of sync with the lovely facilities that had been provided and the care that had clearly been taken to make the flat welcoming and a home from home.

All in all it's a great flat, with good amenities but our stay was tainted by the building works and we were slightly disappointed by the lack of customer service on the part of Great Base.




Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Lucy I am sorry that you feel we didn't look after you well enough during your stay. It does clearly state on the website that there is building work going on over the garden wall. It hasn't been an issue for the vast majority of the guests staying as there has been relatively little noise from the site and it is very quiet at night. The work is due to be completed in the summer of this year. The other property we suggested as an alternative was closer to where you wanted to be for work. We did offer for your view it so that you could assess the noise levels to see if you thought it might be a problem. Thank you for highlighting the mouse issue -I was unable to do anything about it while you were staying because you reported after you left, but we have now set traps so that there should be a problem for future guests.

Central, quiet, charming apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 of us stayed here on our trip to Edinburgh. The location is perfect -- right in the middle of everything without being on the busy road. The apartment was quiet at night and very comfortable. Couldn't ask for anything more. I don't think we once used public transportation (other than from airport) as the apartment is so centrally located. Only about a 7 minute walk from the train station, 10-12 minutes to Scot Monument, 1 minute to Royal Mile, 10 minutes to castle. Would absolutely stay here again on my next visit.



Good location, needs work to suitable for kids

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of this apartment is great, a short walk to into the old town with plenty of local cafes and bistros.

Both bedrooms are good sized and the kitchen is well equipped.

I have 2 concerns though, I don't think the bathmat was lifted when the apartment was last cleaned. We used the bath for the children instead of the standing shower and some 'stuff' came out. Also, and actually more importantly, the windows open completely outwards which is very dangerous for small children. I would suggest that window catches be installed to improve child safety.




Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Flat was very well located off Royal Mile. Clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Store cupboard particularly good. Milk, tea and coffee (all good quality) were also provided and very welcome. Would definitely stay again.



Great location and confy apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Splendid location very close to all transports. We had a really cosy stay in The apartment supplied for any kind of needs.
We enjoyed our holidays very much. Hope to come back soon.




thank you

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
thank you, its great to stay soo close to work Festival Theatre...................................................................................................



A great location in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We much enjoyed our stay in this 2 bed apartment in Edinburgh. It was ideally located on the royal mile but setback in a courtyard away from the traffic noise. It was well fitted out, comfy, and warm. The only small issue was a difficult front door key. Even free parking was arranged about a fifteen minute walk away.



Nice apartment in a great location

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Oct 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had A great stay at Royal Mile 1. Great location tucked away behind Royal Mile. Some excellent cafes and pubs nearby and walking distance to all lovely Edinburgh had to offer. Katie and Jack were prompt and helpful in all communications ahead of our stay. A couple of small grumbles - the place could do with a spring clean especially the bath where a bath mat was covering all manor of organic growth! The nedrooms are just above a ground floor outdoor table where groups of people sat and smoked and talked loudly until 4 and 5am. It was impossible to shut out their noise. If you are a light sleeper this may not be the place. Also the outside security door lock is tricky and needs attention. People were leaving it open. Outside of that all fine. Well equipped and homely. Loved the glimpses of Arthurs Seat too!



Perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during the first week of Aug this year during the festival and it was perfect. I was being told by Edinburgh friends before my trip that I might be inconvenienced by the noise but happy to report this is just far enough down the mile that you aren't right in the middle of the madness but a quick 5 min walk up the hill to craziness. The apartment was well appointed and very clean. The pull out sofa was not the most comfortable thing to sleep on for the week but was manageable. We had one issue and someone was literally at the apartment to address it in less than 10 mins when called. I would recommend to anyone who is visiting Edinburgh.



perfect for family

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location and is very safe for family with children with a supermarket nearby. The apartment is clean and in good condition. It was most convenient for our stay here.



Totally suitable

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We.booked the Royal Mile 1 as we stayed there in August 2012 and found the facilities most suitable and location excellent, close to Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, train line and car hire. Thank you



Great place to stay on the Royal Mile

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for access to everything on the Royal Mile but also tucked away so that it is quiet at night - perfect combination. Katie and Staff are always very helpful. Flat was clean and just as presented on the website. Very comfortable -we were very happy to have this flat after our long trip from the USA - thank you.



Brilliant

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is light and airy and has everything you need. Comfy beds, a cosy lounge, a well equipped kitchen. The location is perfect, in the middle of the old town, near all the sights and restaurants. A brilliant place to stay!



great location

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Feb 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great apartment just like a home from home. Central location. Clean apartment very comfortable. If I had to find a fault itd be that the main hallway lights didnt work so rather dark getting down the stairway. I will definatly use this company again :-)



Our stay at Chessels Court

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a well-appointed apartment, and it was very comfortable for the family. It's also in a wonderful spot - we walked everywhere. We appreciated our warm welcome and the Christmas decorations, Two issues for us: the shower really needs a fixed screen, as it was very difficult to have a shower without flooding the bathroom. The bigger problem is that the smoke alarms are hyperactive: as the extractor fan in the kitchen is not effective, cooking of any kind (or even making the toast) would set them off. And they are deafening. This caused us a lot of stress whenever we were preparing a meal. In the end we propped the kitchen window open, which was bracing but effective. The beds are exceptionally comfortable.



Great stay at Royal Mile 1

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the pleasure of staying at Royal Mile 1 in Edinburgh for a week in September 2013. The location is extremely convenient. The apartment is spacious, the kitchen is well equipped, the bathroom is modern and clean, the living room is large and comfortable. The heat and hot water worked flawlessly. The apartment is set back from the street and is quiet. There is ongoing construction nearby, but all work is limited to business hours. Great view of Arthur's Seat from the apartment. We would not hesitate to stay there again.