FB Twitter

Holyrood

Holyrood

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 70 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Top-floor apartment with private parking facilities and fantastic views across Arthur’s Seat and Holyrood Park.
More details >>

Business Rental

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful apartment, wonderful location, and excellent customer service from Katie.

It is relatively expensive compared to other rental possibilities, but not excessive.
Kitchen amenities were basic but very useable. Coffee Pot is not functional.
Both beds are not great, mattress springs are past due replacement.
In poor weather the front bedroom is *very* noisy due to building design structure and the wind-tunnel created by adjacent building.

Apartment has some maintenance issues as reported to Katie:
1. Front bedroom window lock is broken and this is problematic - it blew open in strong wind several times and even when looked at by Katie and her team it would whistle loudly in the wind and was clearly not sealed - needs to be addressed properly.
2. Fridge door does not close properly, or stay closed, and would constantly need to be rechecked to avoid contents spoiling.
3. Tap washers in the front bathroom need replacing.
4. Ground floor door lock is very sticky. Katie addressed this with wd40 and it improved but new tenants need to be advised of the unique "lift and turn" technique to handle the misaligned key barrel.
5. Gas cooker top starter pilot would occasional trigger without intervention. Turning power off and on at the wall would fix this temporarily but was quite unnerving when alone in the apartment and the cooker just starts clicking by itself.

Katie needs to put her contact details on her email signature.
New tenants needs to be advised the full rental address prior to arrival.

Katie was a wonderful support to us during our stay and we would recommend Katie, Greatbase, and this apartment to others subject to maintenance issues being resolved.

We very much appreciate Katie putting our luggage in storage while we lock down during the covid 19 outbreak.

We look forward to hopefully resuming once the covid19 issues have passed.

Kind regards,

MJP.




Excellent service

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with Greatbase a number of times and always received fantastic service. All properties are of an excellent standard.



Great location to see Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay, just a minute from the Royal Mile and Holyrood Palace. The secure car parking was an added bonus. Everything from booking to arival was stress free. The apartment was very comfortable, with all the usual amenities, and feels really cosy after a day out seeing the sights.
Would definitely book again!




Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, near grocery store, shopping, and Fringe venues. But not directly on the super busy streets.



Marathon stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic location for Edinburgh city and surrounding areas walked up Arthurs seat as well as up the mile etc



good location and nice appartment

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is very well located in Edinburgh. The view is really great on Arthur's seat and very central in the old town.
The apartment is well-equipped and very convenient for a family of 4 people. We have just notice one problem with the boiler(H/W) located in the kitchen which is very noisy beside our bedroom during the night !
Thank you Katie for your welcome !




Family Vacation

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at our Great Base Apartment. The location was excellent. Grocery store around the corner, two restaurants across the street, convenient bus stops and steps to Holyrood Palace! Perfect place for our family of four to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. The beds/mattresses were not the most comfortable but that is our only complaint. We would definitely recommend it and we would definitely stay there again!!!



Weekend city break

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived to meet Katie who was very friendly and a mine of information to help our weekend off to a good start.
That apartment is in a great location, being only 100 yds from Holryrood, it is very well laid out with everything you can need to make it a real home from home.




Everything was perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was in excellent conditions, very clean and comfortable. They were really nice and gentle every time, we appreciate it a lot. Very recommendable. Thak you for everything.



Great apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely well appointed apartment with great view out towards Arthur’s Seat. Easy walking distance to all attractions yet away from the crowds. Loved it



meeting of friends

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely weekend here. The flat was in good condition, comfortable and warm. The view was amazing and the flat was well located to visit the Old Town. There were lots of little home from home touches
Places to eat and a shop are quite close to the flat.
One thing to note is that Edinburgh has very steep hills and lots of steps so if walking is an issue this location at the bottom of the hill may be a problem.
The only little niggle was that the main bathroom does not have an over the bath shower, so may be a problem is you are sharing with people you are not well acquainted with!




Perfect location for families

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Large apartment, fully equipped. Top floor with a nice view. Large windows in the living room as well as one of the bed rooms.



Excellent Location

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location-- near everything but enough off the path to not be crazy.. Near restaurants, pubs, and grocery store.



Great location. Lovely views.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Came up for a week during the festival. Apartment is quiet, in a good location and has lovely views.



A nice break away from hotels

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family stay in many different places while traveling nd this was our first time with this company.
Words cannot express how pleased I was with the unit provided.
Excellent location, well furnished and supplied. Convenient to everything and just an all around good vibe.
I live by, “one only gets a single shot at a first impression”......great shot, knocked it out of the park.

Thank you again




Super service, e cellen location and supernice apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We will be back for another stay at this place next summer!
Supernice landlady, really Nice apartment with a Great view.
We recomend this place to everyone we know that is going to stay in the city.




Apartment and Katie as manager are gems and both better than expectedl

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apartment has great views and totally modern. Katie efficient, knowledgeable, genuinly friendly , and communicates well



Great location with a view

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice location within walking distance of old & new town a few hundred meeters from the path to Arthurs Seat. Perfect location for family of four. Will rent again if I'm staying in Edinburgh with my familiy. Lots of cafes and restaurants close by.



Ultra convenient apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met by a very helpful and knowledgeable representative who made sure we understood how everything worked. Parking space on site was wonderful and all in all it was a really great flat for what we were doing - attending a family wedding in central Edinburgh.



4days for six nation

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Appartement impeccable . Très bien placé pour visiter sortir profiter .Super week end . Très bon accueil très belle ville .



Great stay in a great city

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a little cold in the apartment but otherwise it was perfect. Could definately stay here again for longer.



excellent position

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic venue right in middle of area around Dynamic earth, Hollyrood palace and Houses of Parliament, the panoramic views of the Crags, Arthur's seat and are was lovely . Nice little coffee and cake shops and only 1 minute through the cut to the Royal Mile, An Excellent choice of accommodation



Brilliant location.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in the heart of the town. Nice view. Two minutes walk from The Royal Mile. We had a very nice stay in the apartment!
Suggest to change out the carpet in the living room. It will soon dissapear in the vaccum cleaner!




Great location and beautiful views

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is perfect: walking distance to royal mile, Edinburgh castle, restaurants and shops. The apartment is welcoming, has marvelous views, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and a very functional kitchen with gas stove, microwave plus all you need to cook. Definitely recommend and would love to go back!



Our stay in edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful location pictures when booking were a true reflection of the property. Wonderful views of Arthurs seat. Being from Wales we were keen to recycle our glass, tins and food etc but no information was provided to give us this choice. No clean towels, tea towels and bed wasn't made on arrival but this was rectified on the second day. Crockery was not a complete set and freezer required defrosting.
All in All a great stay




Ideal location, gorgeous views

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our 14 day stay in this apartment. It is spacious, airy and provides wonderful views of the Salisbury Crags in Holyrood Park. The location is ideal for visiting the historical center of Edinburgh. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and functional, and the kitchen is attractive and well equipped. A well stocked grocery store is located within minutes, just around the corner from the entry to the building. The booking process was convenient and straightforward. I would definitely stay here again.



Location & Views!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay in Edinburgh. Close to bus, taxi, parliament, Holyrood House, Dynamic Earth (a history of geology museum), and an easy walk to all of the shops and restaurants on the famous Royal Mile. Very clean and well-appointed apartment with truly amazing views of Arthur's Seat from all of the large windows in the apartment. Walking to the top of Arthur's Seat was one of my favorite parts of the visit to Edinburgh. Would stay here again.



Lovely view and apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved the view from windows and the style of furnishing . The apartment was very clean and the location was very central !



Edinburgh break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this apartment at the very last minute.The company Greatbase were excellent at communicating with us and met us at the appointed time to show us around the apartment.

The apartment could not be better located for central Edinburgh and the Royal Mile.One advantage is that for a few pounds extra it has excellent secure parking.

The apartment is on the sixth floor but does have a lift.The view from the apartment is incredible and wonderful for 'People watching'as well as the view over Holroyd Park.

The apartment is spacious and has everything you need.The bed were extremely comfortable and we all slept well.The flat was warm,clean and tidy.On arrival the company had provided tea,coffee ,milk and biscuits which was very welcoming.

Often on reviews people will find some little thing to complain at and I,d seen a review for this apartment that said the furniture was "tired".The furniture was good and up to standard,we felt we could relax in there.There is a large bathroom as well as one en suite which was excellent ,plenty of room and much larger than the pictures do credit for.

Value for money,central Edinburgh! Excellent..cannot fault.
Location..excellent
Greatbase company..excellent.
Would recommend and stay again.




Fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location and amazing views. Comfortable and well equipped flat. Some furnishings a little worn and shower needs addressing as thermostat control didn't seem to work properly. However, we had a very enjoyable stay.



Great place to stay in Edinburgh!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt in a very comfortable and secure place, great location with nearby transport and amenities!
Day trips around Scotland was easy to do and it was lovely to have the base in Edinburgh and come back to a cosy place, we just felt at home!




A fantastic apartment with a great view and location....but needs some TLC.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the apartment. The location is within walking distance to everywhere in Edinburgh and the view from the lounge window is something to see - Arthur's Seat in all it's glory. Apartment was very clean, big enough for the 3 of us and much, much better than a hotel room. It was somewhere to go back to, freshen up, eat, drink and relax in the evenings.

Katie and Jack provide superb customer service, with answers to our questions by e-mail answered in a very short time and we were lucky to get this as it was a cancellation. Jack met us at the apartment, showed us around the apartment and gave us a great idea of the location.

It's not without its little niggles though. The curtains in the lounge and front bedroom don't close properly and some of the hooks were not in place. The soft furnishings in the lounge are a little tired and lets this beautiful apartment down. On the plus side, there was a shower in the second bedroom, but unfortunately, it's completely unpredictable. We were only aware of this as a previous guest had left a review. There's no way you could let children shower on their own, as the water temperature fluctuates between scalding and freezing without touching the controls. An adult can cope with it, but it's something that needs addressing.

Having said this though, it certainly wouldn't stop us returning. However, we would book a time that's not quite so busy and costly - we didn't think about the Fringe - and just thought the cost was due to the summer holidays. Having looked at other periods, the price does go down to a more reasonable level. If you're a Fringe-goer, then this is an IDEAL apartment.

Thank you so much to Katie & Jack and when we come back to Scotland, we'll certainly look to stay with you again.




All good except poor shower b

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice flat in very convenient spot. Marvellous views across to Holyroot park. The shower was terrible. Poor flow and inconsistent temperature. It really let the flat down.



Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Geoff, my plumber has replaced the faulty part in the shower and it now works well. Many thanks for highlighting the problem. Katie

Great Location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was in a great location, particularly for Fringe venues. Incredible view. Spacious apartment. Comfortable beds. Toilets were a bit tricky, and a lesson in how to get the "complete" flush would have been helpful.



Beautiful condo with wonderful views

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend this beautiful, well appointed condo! Spectacular views and good location at bottom of Royal Mile. Katie was very good to work with and provided all the "little things" needed to make for a great short stay.



Soggiorno meraviglioso

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appartamento perfetto per quattro persone per un lungo soggiorno. Pulitissimo e dotato di tutti i comfort (lavatrice lavastoviglie forno elettrico e a microonde...) e di un suo parcheggio interno, assolutamente indispensabile considerando che siamo a due passi dal centro (royal mile e Holyrood Palace). Il nostro appartamento al sesto piano era tutto a vetrate sia nelle camere che nella sala, particolare davvero affascinante!
Gentilissima anche Katie che ci ha fatto trovare la moka ed il caffé sapendo che siamo italiani !




Some good points, some less so

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First the good points. The apartment is exactly as shown in the photos and is well equipped and immaculately clean. It has large windows in every room, with excellent European quality double glazing so no traffic noise if windows are closed. Plenty of radiators so it'll be cosy in winter as well. Soft furnishings in the lounge are worn, but not excessively. Wifi signal strong and reliable. The apartment block is smart and quite modern and the lift works well. Two modern well-fitted bathrooms, one en-suite. Arrangements to meet the agent at the apartment and pick up keys worked smoothly.

Less good, the two bedrooms are very small and the mattresses seemed thin and too firm for me. There was just enough room to walk around the bed, and my 6'3" husband's feet were touching the windowsill when he lay down! No top sheet under the duvet, and one of the duvet covers had a raised embroidered pattern uncomfortable to sleep under. My major problem however was the noise from the gas boiler in the kitchen which unfortunately is located immediately behind the bed head in one of the bedrooms, so only noticeable when you lie in bed. The boiler makes a constant low-pitched humming/vibrating noise which I found impossible to sleep through, and others have commented about this in the guest book in the apartment. It must be the pilot light making the noise as the central heating was switched off. I saw no mention of this noise in on-line reviews, otherwise I would have stayed somewhere else. There were only two of us staying so we coped by moving to the other bedroom. The temperature of the water in the en-suite shower also fluctuated between very hot and stone cold, even when no-one else in the apartment was using water. For some people these issues would be hardly noticeable, but it's better to know about them in advance.




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just around the corner from the business of the Royal mile, it was quite and very relaxing with a lovely view of Arthur's Seat and surrounding hills. Within walking distance to everything.



Great stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at many places over our 2 weeks in Ireland/Scotland and this was on of the best! Great location, great service from Katie, and we were able to walk to everything we needed. The place was roomy and had excellent views. Would definitely recommend staying here if visiting Edinburgh.



Great views Poorly maintained

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2016
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful views from apartment, however, the poor maintenance and shoddy housekeepng made for a negative experience. Fluctuating hot water in the shower was a major issue.



Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jayanti I am sorry to read your review and that on this occasion our cleaners did not meet our expected high standards. If you had let me know there were maintenance issues as soon as you became aware of them I would have sorted them so that your whole stay was not affected. The plumber has been contacted to investigate the shower issue you have mentioned; if there were other problems could you please inform me of them so they too can be fixed? Kind regards Katie

Beautiful base

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed an apartment we could comfortably work and live in for a few days. It is a beautiful space and close to amenities. Great views too Thank you



great apartment in a great location

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 2nd time we have booked this apartment and will carry on, it is a lovely apartment that is a good size for 2 couples and has a really good location with a supermarket really close as is a few restaurants, the apartment is only 2 minutes walk from the royal mile where there are many bars and restaurants. The apartments overlooks Arthurs Seat which we keep promising ourselves that we will walk to but we never seem to find the time.



Christmas with family

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Holyrood apartment over the Christmas period to enable us to see our daughter who was not able to make it home because she was working. Jack and Katie were the perfect hosts and couldn't do enough to help. The apartment had everything you could need, and stunning views, it also came with with a hot drink starter pack to begin your stay, and secure parking just to add to your peace of mind. Would definitely stay again.



Holyrood

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our 3rd stay. Excellent location and facilities. Parking is an absolute bonus. No complaints and would recommend (although would rather keep this to ourselves)!



Feedback

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful apartment that we have been coming to for 5 years.
Some maintenance required on this visit including the shower and the kitchen floor.
We would recommended it to anyone.




Position

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
cig butts under lounge cushion hot water boiler noisy at night no shower above bath no hooks for towels in bath room could not sleep in as curtains let too much light in early morning good location close to every thing.



enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The apartment was cozy and comfortable ideal location for walking around the old really old central core full of history terrific resultant and cafes nearby



Beautiful view of Arthur's seat

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apt was beautiful with a view of Arthur's seat. It was conveniently located close to the Royal Mile. Very clean with all the amenities. We did have a brief problem with the hot water and heat, but Katie was very kind and got things taken care as quickly as she could. We would definitely recommend Greatbase. We communicated via emails and Katie was always prompt and helpful with any information needed.




Great view and location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little appartment close to the city centre with a beautiful view. Living room and kitchen are well equipped and comfortable. Bedrooms are well furnished but small, as is the ensuite. Welcome and service were excellent.



A great flat with stunning views.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful four days stay in Edinburgh.
The flat was comfortable with stunning views of the Crags and Arthurs Seat.
It is well located very near Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament Building and therefore easily accessible to the Royal Mile and Princes Street.
We felt very much at home there.




Excellent property, warm host.

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved every bit of this property on our 4 day trip to Edinburg. It has an ideal location, beautiful views and was ideal for our family of four! ❤️Ed it.



Nice place

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very nice place to stay during the vacation in Edinburgh. Beautiful view over Arthur´s seat and walkingdistance to both the old town and new town. Great with two bathrooms and bedrooms.



perfect flat to stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very nice flat - great views - perfect location - secured parking
just perfect for a visit in Edinburgh especially when you're traveling with a car.
Thankx again, Katie




Best stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed twice at Holyrood. In a similar business in Australia. This has got to be best located and best value apartment for an Edinburgh holiday stay. It is really well equipped. Just book this one. You won't do better.



Best stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed twice at Holyrood. In a similar business in Australia. This has got to be best located and best value apartment for an Edinburgh holiday stay. It is really well equipped. Just book this one. You won't do better.



Many visits so far at this apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is still great, however we think that there could now definitely be improvements with a few things:
Since our last stay, they changed the shabby carpet in the living-room which is an enormous improvement.
The windows could do with a good clean outside and inside, as with the sun reflection during the day, it is difficult to see out.
There should be more dinnerware (plates, bowls, glasses) so that if 4 people are staying, it is possible at least do a full day, without having to wash. Also adding little bowls or ramequins for serving dessert would be useful.
An electric coffee maker for 8-10 cups would make life easier.
In the living-room the furniture is well stained and should be professionally cleaned, and the curtains need attention on the hangings and cleanliness.
Thanks for looking into it.
Camille and Brian Hill




Crags view

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Mar 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved looking out on the crags, we walked up them as soon as we arrived. Location is convenient to stroll to everywhere in central Edinburgh, or get on a bus. The apartment is well appointed. It is good for a short stay. There is just enough room to walk round the double beds in the bedrooms. Only disappointment was that on arrival, 2 out of 4 bedside lamps did not work, I was surprised they had not been checked. One had no bulb in it, we found a new bulb in store cupboard and got it working. However the other lamp must have been faulty and did not work at all.



A Lovely Edinburgh Break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked a 5 day break at the Penthouse Holyrood Apartments and we were both delighted at the location and the high quality of the accommodation. We were hoping for some views of Arthur's Seat and we were truly not disappointed. The apartment is very well equipped, warm and most important to us, was really quiet once the evening arrived. This is a good area for folk who do not sleep so well with lots of traffic noise.

In saying that, a short (less than 10 minutes) walk up the Royal Mile brings you to the hustle and bustle of the busy city. There are also numerous buses stopping outside the Holyrood locality as well.

Greatbase staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much bother and they are really lovely and efficient people to deal with. Our entire break was superb and we both look forward to returning again next year with Greatbase of course!




EDI

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jan 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I don't have time to write a reviewbut it says I have to submit at least 150 characters so here:
Ahdudokehduenbsoqurbfnaljdbcyrkdkabdbd
Sjqndhuqowkdbfhhdiqpsjdhgdjkabdhfiaojahd.




A Room with a View..

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I doubt there is much to compete on the value for money front here..

Edinburgh is pretty much 90% walls facing walls from hotel windows but not here - the whole event was 100% spot on.




Great location, great value, great stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is up there with the best apartments I have ever stayed in. Not only did Katie go through the hassle of meeting us at 3am and show us around the apartment, she left all the basics that you'd need (including milk!)

It's located in the perfect spot to walk to all the major attractions, 10 mins from the castle and 5 mins from the palace. The near floor to ceiling windows give you a great view of Arthur's seat and the beach in the distance.

All in all a perfect stay. I can't wait to visit again!




Lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent views, within easy reach of fringe festival. Really comfortable, and plenty of room. Tesco just around the corner that has good selection of produce.




Beware of the shower!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and view. My only complaint was the shower. It was very difficult to control the temperature, it would suddenly go from warm to very cold or very hot. We were with another couple and often using the 2 bathrooms at the same time so if it's due to the system being only to able to handle one at a time a notice to that effect would be a good idea.

We did have a wonderful stay and would reccomend the apratment.











Excellent apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Katie was wonderful and met us even in the pouring rain - and we were late arriving. The apartment is located with an outstanding view of Holyrood park and with a view of Arthur's seat from the bedroom. All the restaurants in the immediate area were wonderful as well. Great place!



Holyrood Apartment.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
"A very nice and convenient apartment on the top level. Spectacular views of Arthur's Seat. Easy walk to center but also a very good places in the same block to eat and have a pint. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Katie from Greatbase went our of her way to make sure that we are taken care of and comfortable.

DanBeaudoin;
Jackym Rudolf.
Canada.




Excellent Apartment in Holyrood

Review submitted on Fri, 09 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found the apartment well located for several of the key 'to do' tourist attractions of Edinburgh e.g. Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament.

Didn't feel as though you were in the City centre as there were great views of the Salisbury Crags and Holyrood Park from the lounge window!.

Transport around the city was easy as bus stops and taxi ranks are located just outside the apartment block.

The accommodation was exceptionally clean and overall well maintained.

Several restaurants and shops were literally on the doorstep.






Family short break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property and great location. Well worth while and a very enjoyable stay. Would stay again and an ideal base for all of the cities attractions.



Winter visit to Edinburgh (wet, sleety, and tremendously fun)

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay in the apartment. Convenient location with easy walking to sights of Edinburgh. A bit cozy for 2 couples that had not traveled together before - especially since there was only 1 shower. A drying room would be handy for winter visitors. Edinburgh is such a wonderful city - we're looking forward to our next visit and stay at the Holyrood.



Perfect location for this trip

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pity all the curtains that are there didn't cover the windows completely and block out office views and the bright lighting at night. Sleeping in the second bedroom was a mistake, the boiler's constant noise of stoping & starting in the AM woke me up was annoying enough to forced me from the bed.



Ideal flat for any duration of Edinburgh visit

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The rooms were very clean, and Katy met us at the front door exactly on time. The view from the living room is a beautiful panorama of Arthur's Seat, and the location is perfect for Edinburgh: not so close to the Royal Mile that you get all the tourist & pedestrian traffic but closer than a 10 minute walk.