FB Twitter

High Riggs

High Riggs

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


This bright 4th-floor apartment has lift access and an adjoining private car park. It has two bedrooms, one an en suite, as well as a separate bathroom, and is situated near the Grassmarket and Princes Street.
Full details >>

Perfect location clean and comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five of us stayed at Katie's flat in High Riggs for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. The location couldn't have been better-quiet but in walking distance of all main fringe venues. The flat was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The fifth person slept on sofa bed which was adequate but not a comfy bed! Lovely flat and would say here again no question .



Great stay. TV controls a bit annoying but all fine eventually.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Thanks. A lot. Greatly appreciated. Too long. Annoying having to write so much. Twenty more characters




Great location near the center of the old city.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The flat was in an excellent location. It is a great value for the money. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen had all the necessities.



Una buena experiencia para disfrutar de Edimburgo

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Un apartamento que está muy bien situado a 15 m del castillo de Edimburgo y de las principales calles que visitar, da mucho juego. Tienes justo detrás un supermercado (Sainsbury’s) donde poder realizar las compras de alimentos para cocinar en el apartamento. No echamos en falta nada que no utilizáramos en nuestra casa para cocinar. Os recomiendo un té a eso de las 17:00 frente a las ventanas viendo llover en el salón y con música relajante.La atención, por wasap, fue muy buena.En definitiva un apartamento a recomendar si quieres visitar Edimburgo.



Fantastic two bedroom in the heart of Edinburgh!

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We do Airbnb's in Edinburgh about twice a year because of family there, and depending on how many of our kids and other relatives join us for each visit, we have done many different sizes and locations. You cannot beat this apartment for a two bedroom in the heart of the city! It has a prime location with groceries, great restaurants and all the top tourist sites within walking distance, and it is very clean, quiet and fully equipped. Everything is very modern, and the parking space is a real bonus. Katie, the host, met us on arrival, and she took the time to explain everything and make lots of great recommendations for little-known wonderful restaurants near by and the like. We will definitely plan to book here again whenever we need just two bedrooms in Edinburgh!



A very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at High Riggs apartment. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Great location - easy walk to all the main attractions and restaurants close by.



spacious and clean

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The home had plenty of room, and two bathrooms were wonderful and this place has parking.
The size of the unit meant we were comfortable in the unit
The location was only okay a number of strip clubs within a block wasn't great but we weren't bothered by any noise or anything like that.
The host was warm and friendly, met us upon arrival and made sure we were settled in.




Great location, quiet area, perfect for our group of 5 adults.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at this apartment. It worked very well for us, and was less expensive than renting two hotel rooms near the city center. It was very convenient to have a working kitchen, where we could have a quick breakfast before heading out to tour the city. One drawback: the pull out couch was not comfortable and I had to improvise to get a decent night's sleep (which I was able to do).



Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
flat was very well equipped. lovely glasses to drink your whiskey. Nice to have some necessities there when we arrived, tea , coffee. Was perfect for the Edinburgh Festival. Few minute walk to all events and lovely and quiet to sleep at night.



Great experience in Edimburgh

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, spotless apartment, kind hosts, very good services, great comfort and superb communication. Plenty of space for four people. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. What else you can ask for...??? Thank you very much.



Great location in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Katie’s flat is a perfect location for visiting Edinburgh. Within walking distance of many Edinburgh attractions. Also, plenty of great places to eat in the area with a wide variety of style and price ranges. The flat is very clean and comfortable with plenty of space to unwind. Her kitchen is well supplied and there are grocery stores within a block or two, so if you would like to cook for yourself that is a great option also. The flat also comes with a great place to park your car during your stay. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.



Apartment for 4 in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect launchpad for exploring Edinburgh with access to plenty of restaurants, shops and bustops nearby. We liked the lift to get to the third floor flat and also how quiet it was. Would stay here again.



Always be prepared for European life!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had excellent service with accommodating my aging folks from the airport to rental. Katie was very responsive and attentive. We were very close to downtown, so walking was easy. My only issue was having to deal with what is common to UK which is regulatory water consumption...for toilet use too. My parents would use the restroom and couldn’t get it to flush easily. So, every day we were there it was an obsticale to overcome. But such is life when you decide to live as a SCOTSMAN would live.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good location, walking distance to most places in the city we planned to visit.
Very clean and quiet. The hostess was very accommodating and helpful. We felt like home.




Enjoyable return visit

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had stayed at this apartment before and knew it to be clean, comfortable, well equipped and conveniently situated. We liked the fact that we could walk from it to almost anywhere we wanted to go in the centre of Edinburgh. Because we didn't use the car most days, secure parking was important to us. We appreciated the existence of a lift when coping with luggage. We also appreciated the friendly, efficient management of the rental.



High riggs Edinburgh short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All as expected with great customer care. Thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasnks



A pleasant stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with our accommodation at High Riggs. The location is great and the apartment is comfortable.



Nice and quiet Place near the old Town of Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
High Riggs is a nice and quiet Place to stay, it's near the old and new Town of Edinburgh. On foot it takes 15-20 Min. to Princess Street and the Royal Mile. Near by are a few good Restaurants and Pubs.



excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I am a Chinese who studies in UK,this apartment is great,it makes you feel like a Edinburgher,I have been in UK for almost a year and never live in such a great house



Great

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and centrally located for our conference. Beds were comfortable. Very happy with the property.




A charming, spacious and comfortable place to stay in Edinburgh with a secure parking spot!

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Riggs is truly a lovely apartment in a great location and worked for us beautifully during our week in Edinburgh. Katie met us when we arrived, guided us to our secure parking spot inside the inner courtyard, and oriented us to the apartment as well as the area and nearby restaurants. The apartment was roomy, with lovely French doors looking out over the city. Having 2 bathrooms was fabulous and the bed was really comfortable. [The second bedroom worked beautiful for unpacking and dressing.] The apartment was quiet, with lots of comfortable places to sit, the washer-dryer was convenient and the kitchen was very well equipped. We will definitely book High Riggs again when we come back to Edinburgh.

One little suggestion: Post a reminder to bring the laminated parking permit up from the car BEFORE you leave the keys and exit the apartment on departure.




Ideal for our purposes.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted an apartment which was centrally situated, provided secure parking, had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, one with a bath, and had a lift. High Riggs seemed perfect when I found its details online. It was even nicer in reality. We were courteously welcomed and provided with all the information we needed. A delightful, comfortable place to spend a week, the apartment is well-equipped and well-maintained. No problems whatsoever.

My only negative comment is unconnected with the apartment itself. When I received the confirmation of full payment for our stay, I also received recommendations for certain websites, including one 'to order in dinner'. The named company seemed to offer exactly what we needed for one evening. I tried to telephone four days before we left home. No reply. I emailed. No reply. I called several times more before leaving, and left voicemail messages. No reply. I tried again en route for Edinburgh, and was held in a queue for about twenty minutes, all the while being assured that a member of staff was about to answer my call. Eventually I left another voicemail message. No reply. In Edinburgh, I made one more failed attempt to contact them, and finally searched for online reviews. I found a damning review, strongly urging against using the company. I do not think you should continue to recommend them to your clients.




Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Julia Thank you for your lovely review and also for you note about the catering company. I am really disappointed that they reply to your calls or emails as the owner was so good initially. I have also tried to contact him for an explanation but also haven't heard back and have now removed the link from our site as and will look for another company to provide a much better service. Kind regards Katie

Perfect for a weekend mini break!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very comfortable and great communication from the company when picking up keys etc! It was perfect for 4 people, great time had all round!



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was what we had hoped for. Just a couple of housekeeping items, ensuite wc seat was only connected on one side and standard lamp in sitting room had a dodgy connection. If the flat is available before the 4.00pm schedule it would be appreciated if it helps staggering the meet & greet timing to get in a little earlier even if it is just to park.



A cosy, central flat.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked High Riggs as we wanted a central base during our short stay in Edinburgh. Booking was easy. We were met at the flat and informed how to make the best of our stay. The flat was clean and very comfortable and also very quiet. This enabled two old insomniacs to sleep really well. The location was ideal for public transport enabling us to travel easily to meet old friends. At the end of our stay, the bus to the airport even went along the end of the road. Many thanks to Greatbase Apartments for making our stay so pleasant.



Edinburgh Festival Trip

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at High Riggs during the festival because we love it.
Great location, comfortable, well equipped and fantastic customer service from Greatbase.
We definitely be trying to book again next year!




It was a very good acomonation for us.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was very well, very good location, clean and the customer service was nice. The parking was perfect for our car. The only problem we had was to dry the clothes.



Short but great weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great weekend, owner very helpful. Super location.weather could have been better but the flat was really warm. The flat was in the 3rd floor but Lift is available. Car parking available and free.



Great trip, great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 5 nights during the Edinburgh Fringe festival and absolutely loved this apartment. It was in a great location, close to shops and the centre but always quiet at night. It was super comfortable and we felt very relaxed staying there. And the customer service before, during and after was great. Would absolutely love to stay there again one day!



Well-located, secure and very comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have booked with Greatbase previously and find every possible need of guests to be anticipated and provided for. The flat is bright, even on a cloudy day, due to its higher position in the building. It is furnished perfectly -- the beds, chairs and sofa are very comfortable. It is close to all of Edinburgh's essential destinations by foot or by bus, yet on a rather quiet street, even during Festival month. We particularly liked the secure entrance to the building and access to the flat by lift. Customer service by Greatbase is exemplary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend a stay at High Riggs.