FB Twitter

Grassmarket 4

Grassmarket 4

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


This is a great haven in the Old Town within walking distance of many of the main attractions. It consists 1 double bedroom, open-plan living room/kitchen and a shower room. The property is on the 1st floor and has double glazing throughout so that a good nights sleep can be had.
Full details >>

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice apartment. Very good location. Much better than a hotel room for a week. Beautiful view of the Edinburgh castle.



Pefect Location

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of the appartment is perfect. Visit Edinbrugh by foot and a lot of restaurants and a supermarket near the appartment.



Great stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm cozy haven to come back to and dry out after each day of rain. Very convenient location, close to attractions, restaurants and grocery store. Laundry facilities available, washing machine only. Would stay there again.



Great location and warm

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carpets needed a clean and the storage spaces were very cluttered
Also the shower could do with an overhaul
A bread knife would have come in handy
But it’s still a cozy little flat and the location is excellent and Katie the landlady is personable and helpful




Great place in a terrific location

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is in a top notch location. It is well appointed with the comforts of home including a washing machine. Groceries and transit are within a block and all of the eateries in Grassmarket are very close.



Grassmarket 4 for Work

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here whilst working for a client in Edinburgh. The apartment is ideally situated, it was sparkling clean and Katie was the perfect host. I found the bed really comfortable and i used the Wifi to carry on working after hours.
It was really quiet, which was great, my only bad experience was the builders one morning at 5 am banging about, but I dropped off back to sleep fairly quickly.
The grassmarket is literally round the corner so for a social life there are plenty of pubs and places to eat within that area, although i thoroughly recommend Mussel and Steak , which was a recomendation of Katie the host. The 1kg of mussels was absolutely gorgeous.
This apartment was literally perfect, there was milk in the fridge, everything i needed to get on with my weeks business , a TV ( which i only had time to watch once), a washing machine, cooker , towels in the shower, everything you could need. I thoroughly recommend this apartment, there is nothing i didnt like. If I get the opportunity I would stay again without hesitation




A great base to explore Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has been my 5th year staying at Flat 4 for the Edinburgh Festivals. It's in an ideal position within easy reach of all the activities, restaurants and sites.
It provides everything you may need for a long stay and is well maintained. Above all Katie is superb from the m moment of booking to arrival she looks after you royally
I've already booked for 2019




airbed

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hello, the airbed lost air quite rapidly - so if possible it would be nice if another bed solution can be found for a third person :-)




Katie replied 354 days ago
Hi Ulrike Thank you for the note regarding the airbed. The airbed has a valve to let the air out, which, if you don't close properly it will leak. The airbed is new so there shouldn't have been any problems but I would have been happy to replace it during your stay if you had contacted me. Sorry that it cause problems for you.

Très beau sejour

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Accueil et informations par mail sms et tel efficace. Disponibilité de l'hôtesse.
Appartement lumineux et tranquille exceptés des travaux dans la rue qui commencent à 7h30
Confortable cosy
Literie pas très propre cependant avec une protection en latex qui a crée des allergies. Prévenir les prochains.
VMC de la salle de bains très bruyante
Cuisine fonctionnelle propre et bien aménagée. Il existe un enfoncement du sol au niveau de l' évier.
Situation de l'appartement idéal au pied du château, accessible aux transports en commun, restaurants etc..
Porte d'entrée jamais fermée.
Très bon séjour. Je recommande.




Great location and cosy apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cosy little apartment was perfect for our stay in Edinburgh for 3 nights. Fantastic location - so close to all of the pubs on the Grassmarket, and to the Royal Mile and the castle. Also very handy having a Sainsbury just up the street.



comfortable, warm, good location, excellent friendly service

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
title says it all but the review webpage forces me to write more: asdf;lkjasdf;lkjdf;lkj basdf/.,mna



Convenient and comfortable apartment with nice view to the castle

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very kind and efficient arrangement of key pickup at the premisses. Superb location and everything you need for two persons.



Great location! Cozy place!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time staying in the apartment! Perfect location, cozy sunny apartment! Easy transaction, flexible host. Dragonfly bar across the street makes really good drinks! Grassmarket is super fun area and close to everything! Thanks Katie!



wonderful Edinburgh base

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fifth year I've stayed at this apartment and it's like home from home. Katie is an excellent host and makes you feel very welcome with flowers shortbread and food and a bottle of wine!

It is ideally situated on the Grassmarket under Edinburgh Castle so be prepared to hear the Tattoo every evening and a spectacular view of the fireworks.

There is everything you could possible need from this one bed apartment including wi-fi, tv, cooker fridge and all the utensils you may need.

A perfect place to explore Edinburgh during the Fringe or indeed throughout the year Most highly recommended.




Edinburgh Vacation

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was very nice and in a great location. Small, would not recommend more than two people to stay here, but completely adequate for 3 people. We had a wonderful time staying here.



Edinburgh stay

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an great stay at this greatly located apartment located at walking distance from all places to visit such as great restaurants, pubs, shopping area...
Katie was amazing and Colin was always reachable and proactive to respond to any questions we had.
Great hosts they were to us.




Comfortable apartment in great location in central Edinburgh

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 of us stayed in Colin's apartment - there was one bedroom and then an airbed in the lounge. The apartment is not very big, but has everything you will need for an enjoyable stay. In the run up to our arrival, Colin was really helpful in providing useful information for things to do in Edinburgh - restaurants suggestions, things to visit etc. The apartment is in a great location - close to lots of bars and restaurants with a view out onto the castle. It did get quite noisy at night but this did not impact the enjoyment of our stay at all! I would definitely recommend this accommodation for a log weekend in Edinburgh although more suitable for 2 people than 3.



Good service delivery by Greatbase

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well maintained, clean and in a good location. Greatbase kept fresh milk, some shortbreads and a vase with fresh carnations for us, which we truly appreciate. the kitchen is very well stocked. Sainsbury's and Tescos are nearby in case you need anything. Representative from Greatbase met and briefed us about Edinburgh in general and the places that we could visit.
just one suggestion to Colin, maybe you can modify the check-in time. 4 pm check-in is a little too stretched.




Cosy, clean and well equipped apartment in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was in a perfect location for exploring the old and new town. It was very clean, well equipped and very quiet at night. Plenty of restaurants nearby and all within walking distance. Local Sainsbury's Express was an added bonus.
Bed was very comfortable and both Colin, the owner and Katie from Greatbase was very helpful. Would highly recommend.




Great location and cosy stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for exploring Edinburgh! A very short walk to the supermarket and to the bars on Cowgate. Very comfortable flat with all the amenities you need - i very much enjoyed the shoot bread biscuits!



Lovely cosy Christmas stay

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time over Christmas in this cosy cottage. The location is excellent for a few days exploring in Edinburgh. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was amazing.



Wonderful apartment in an ideal part of town

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is very well situated and very well appointed. The flowers and ahortbread in arrival were a nice touch and it was reat to be so warmly welcomed. We hope to be back!



Wonderful hosts of a wonderful apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time in this lovely apartment perfect for visiting a lovely city.
Katie was a wonderful host.




Great apartment in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, perfect flat with great service! The apartment was warm and clean with excellent access to the centre of Edinburgh.with great support from Katie snd her team



Excellent!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed by wonderful Katie who provided a welcome pack which wss very..... welcome! The flat is ideal, great for us to explore Edinburgh. Clean, watm and comfortable and quiet, yet remarkably central.



Brilliant apartment, lovely location and great hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was perfect for exploring Edinburgh being right in the historic centre, yet quite secluded from the vibrancy of the Grassmarket. Edinburgh is lovely and Katie could not have been more helpful.



Marvellous place stay and very well looked after

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is ideal for visiting Edinburgh to tour the city or for work. A perfect site and a really nice apartment.



An Edinburgh little gem

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So pleased to have returned to my Edinburgh 'home' for the fringe. Katie and Jack as always had everything ready and were excellent hosts.

I love the little touches to greet you into the apartment and of course the location is simply splendid with views of the castle - ideal for watching the fireworks. There are so many pubs and restaurants on the Grassmarket it makes eating out so convenient but if you prefer to eat in the kitchen has everything you need to cook.

Already booked for next year which will be my fifth yearly visit.

Many thanks for all your kindness




Great Location for our events

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a small one bedroom flat located in Grassmarket area. We were in Edinburgh for a couple of days including the Military Tattoo and the location was excellent. It is located in party central so be prepared to put in the ear plugs at night. All night. We were 10 minute walk from High Street and the Castle. Awesome.

The apartment itself is a bit dated. The bed needs a new mattress. It's hard and lumpy and tough to sleep on, according to my daughter. The air bed we blew up was fine for me but takes up most of the room so it becomes even smaller. The kitchen was well stocked. The entrance to the complex is secured with iron gates and a passcode.

Overall, given the location and the time of year (Festival in Edinburgh), we were lucky to have found this place.





Perfect Location, Perfect Apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is perfect for two (or 3!) It's in an ideal location for seeing the city and is exactly what we needed. The Old Town of Edinburgh is beautiful and right on the doorstep.



Very good location!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable apartment in a very good location. Everything was a walking distance, and although we didn't stay in the apartment for a very long time, we felt at home. Katie was excellent in comunication, and John was very good at explaining things and pointing the main attractions. Definitely would come again.



Excellent base for exploring

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect base for exploring the city with a plethora of good restaurants close to hand. Comfy bed, nice compact flat with everything you need. Would be pushed for space if there were three of you but perfect for two. Weather was humid so we had the windows open overnight which meant we could hear the revellers as it is adjacent to a student area but the noise was not excessive by any means.



Excellent!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent apartment situated underneath the stunning scenery of Edinburgh castle. The customer service provided was fantastic and I cannot recommend Greatbase and their apartments highly enough. We have stayed in numerous locations across Edinburgh with Greatbase and have always thoroughly enjoyed our apartments and the service provided. Cannot recommend highly enough.



Nice apartment in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in grassmarket apartement was very nice. It is a lovely apartment where we liked to stay.
In my opinion it is a little bit too expensive. We would love to come back again.
Thank you for your help with the heating system and the friendly mails.




Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Sorry you found the apartment expensive. Your booking was over the Easter weekend which is very popular time to be in the city. The apartment does sleep 3, £24 per person isn't really that expensive for Easter weekend. I look forward to welcome you back another time.

Excellent apartment, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a city break, short walk to all parts of town and great views from the block of the Castle.

Close by to shops, bars and restaurants. Would definitely recommend and all in all great value.




Cosy stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cosy and such a fantastic location. Our family of four stayed in this flat and loved our time in Edinburgh. It had everything we needed and felt like a home away from home.



Comfortable and great location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is comfortable, quiet and in a great location. Kitchen is well set up and the whole place is clean, light and pleasant. We enjoyed the early morning sun at the breakfast table and the nice touches of flowers and fruit provided.



Great location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and it was the perfect location. Lots of bars and restaurants near by. Cosy, spotlessly clean flat with everything you need. Even though you're in the heart of things we had undisturbed sleep. Comfy bed. Would recommend anyone to stay here.



Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again the perfect location for the Fringe. Katie is the ideal host ensuring that everything is in order. The apartment has everything you could need and the wi-fi is good and reliable most important when you are writing up reviews.

This is my third year there and I look forward to returning again next year




Greatbase- Grassmarket Apartment 4

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Grassmarket apartment 4 was a perfect place to stay for our visit to Edinburgh! It was in an amazing location, so close to the Royal Mile and great resturants and cafés. The apartment itself was extremely comfortable and had everything we needed. Katie was an exceptional host and was always in contact if we had any type of question.



Exactly what it claims to be

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great base, near to central Edinburgh. Small but perfectly formed apartment with everything you need. Sofa could be a bit comfier but otherwise a great place that we would definitely come back to.



A quick visit to Edinburgh

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grassmarket was a great choice for our visit to see my son at the University of Edinburgh. Location was perfect and the apartment very comfortable and light and airy. View of the castle was amazing. We will return.



Great apartment in perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is cosy, clean, fully equipped for an extended stay and perfectly located in the Grassmarket: the apartment building is located below the Edinburgh Castle in walking distance from Royal Mile, Princess Street etc

All in all highly recommended!




Such a lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Greatbase Apartments in Grassmarket. It was cosy, comfortable and very homely. So much so that we were sad to leave and wanted to stay! We'll definitely be coming back again in the future.



Comfy flat in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This flat is perfect for two people, but it worked as well for us three.
Katie was very nice and avalaible for any concerns.
Great stay!! Perfect for hogmanay since we were really close to the street parties.




Shaky start

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Dec 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
When we arrived we were told that the apartment we had booked was not available and were in another one. It was the same size but the lay out in the living area was very cramped. We had to move the dining table to sit comfortably on the sofa and put it back again to eat!
That said the management were very apologetic and brought round a welcome bottle of wine! They did offer to move us in to our original choice later that day but had unpacked etc so opted to stay where we were.
The kitchen was well equipped and the flat was spotlessly clean. It was perfect for 2, it had a sofa bed in the living area but would have been very cramped for 4 people.
The area is excellent, lots of bars, shops etc on the door step and a short walk to princes street and the castle.
Would definitely visit again.




Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second year at greatbase 4 all arrangements worked perfectly. A faulty fridge was swiftly replaced and there were lovely touches including fruit milk and flowers on arrival

Perfectly situated Nd will return next year as long as they don't increase prices more than inflation




Greatbase for Great time in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and very good recommendations for restaurants and activities from Katie. Would definitely stay with Greatbase again!
Location of apartment was perfect for walking the city. Don' t miss the view from Aurther's seat.