FB Twitter

Blackie

Blackie

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Blackie House is a stylish, 17th century penthouse. Its commanding position offers guests fantastic views across the city, while the location is perfect for those wishing to immerse themselves in Scotland’s beautiful capital city.

Full details >>

Great Place!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackie House 2 is a fabulous place for 2 people. The location couldn't be better, the interior is a work of art, and the views are fantastic! It's on the top, 6th, floor and the small but perfectly adequate elevator opens into the apartment. The historic location makes you feel you are in a special place each time you walk through the courtyard and a tour group is discussing the area. I would choose this place again and again.



A beautiful apartment, filled with bespoke furniture in top location.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located just off the Royal Mile, this 6th floor apartment is beautifully furnished with bespoke furniture, modern kitchen and bathroom. Fantastic views over the parks and new town. Easy access by lift direct to the apartment. Short walk to many attractions and restaruants. Enjoy.



Great location and comfort

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unbeatable location, can walk to everything in Old Town, and New Town is very close. Apartment very comfortable, great views. Elevator opens directly into the flat.



Gorgeous apartment in great central location

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a beautiful apartment in a central location adjacent to the Writers Museum in a small square off the Royal Mile. Close to everything really. It feels like staying in someone’s home rather than a holiday rental because it is furnished beautifully and one can see the personal touches.
I would have liked some more instruction information to assist with the technologically advanced lighting and heating systems but we survived. There was a problem with the internet which was annoying but the agency provided a hot spot replacement which was ok without being as good as WiFi.
The apartment is highly recommended and would give it 5 stars on TripAdvisor.




Superb location, stylish and very comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last year we spent a week here during the Fringe and were delighted when we could book again this year; it’s a lovely place and puts you right in the thick of all the action.

The Castle is just up the hill while one of the biggest Fringe venues - the Mound Assembly hall - is almost directly beneath this ancient tenement. Yet this flat is remarkably quiet - the result, perhaps, of being at the top floor of a six-storey building. Climbing the stairs is a slog (though we could have used the lift) but the payoff is a stunning view over the New Town, across the
sea to Fife.

We’re already talking about another return visit.




A stunning apartment right in the centre of Edinburgh Old Town

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an amazing place to stay. The apartment is on the 6th floor (with a lift, old school style!) with views over Makars Court to the south and across Princes Street Gardens and the city across the firth to the north. It is larger than the photos give it credit, and the furniture is stunning. All facilities are there, but you are right in the heart of the city so restaurants all around within minutes. Central heating very effective. Lovely dedicated CD system but if you are not a fan of classical or opera, bring your own CD's! Has a DVD player and TV but we never had time to watch anything, too much exploring to do. We've stayed with Greatbase a few times now, and the properties and communications are excellent.



Unique

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unique historical Edinburgh Location and views + Unique Edinburgh designer deco and furnishings = unique Edinburgh experience.











Superb location, stunning view

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We knew we’d be within a few yards of cathedral, castle and royal mile. But we hadn’t realised quite what a stunning view we’d be enjoying. The apartment is perched high above the Mile and higher still over Princes Street so we could see way way beyond the Firth of Firth.

The building itself is venerable but the apartment is has been modernised to a high standard, making it very comfortable. The furniture and design are striking, the shower was excellent and the bed was luxurious.

Highly recommended.





Amazing location and apartment!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is gorgeous, well kept, with sweeping views of the city and prime location to all things Old Town Edinburgh! It was one of the first "sky scrapers" in Edinburgh, sits atop a hill and the apartment is on the 6th floor! The views are INCREDIBLE and you feel like you're in the midst of it all. Would HIGHLY recommend.



Super interesting apartment in the greatest location.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You can't pick a better location if you are looking to stay in the High Street area. Attractions, shops, pubs, restaurants all within steps. Elevator right into the apartment is a big plus in an older building. Very much as pictured with some very unusual but usable furniture. Super friendly and helpful staff - no complaints here.



High style

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This glorious eyrie, with wonderful views to the sea, is set in the heart of old city history. Marvellous light and stunning contemporary atmosphere make fine additions to a comfortable and well equipped home-for-the-moment. It was a great location for our many festival jaunts in all directions and really peaceful for relaxing in between.



Designer flat

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a real designer gem, from the details of construction to the furniture.
The views from any part of the flat are breathtaking.
The location is perfect for visiting all of the Old Town attractions with 7 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley train station and within 8 minutes walk to the Castle and the National Museum. All street artists are on your door step.
Jack met us at the house at our arrival and gave us all possible information on the house and the city. Thank you Jack!
A perfect stay!




Scaling the heights of Edinburgh castle and UK self catering

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For the last 7yrs we have taken 3 UK self catering holidays a year, winter, summer and autumn. Spending around £500-600 for a weeks break we have enjoyed a wide variety of accommodation types and locations.
Taking all aspects of our stay into account I have no hesitation in awarding Great Bases and Blackies2 our number one spot, Top of the Heap, Cream of the Crop, Best of the Bunch.
Indeed Braw Bonny Blackies is simply the best.




Nice and comfortable apartment with excellent views, very well placed in Edinburgh old town.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I strongly recommend this apartment, located near to the Royal Mile, a few minutes walking of the most famous tourist Edinburgh places. The apartment is very comfortable, calm in the nights, and has excellent views of the town.



Blackie House 2

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a 5 night stay at the end of November. On entering the apartment, it is stunning. However after a day or so the style over substance started to wear a little thin.
Things we liked. The location and fabulous views over Edinburgh, the feeling we were staying somewhere special. The furniture looks stunning but not so great to use. A good shower. Milk, tea, coffee and biscuits for use on arrival.
Things we did not like. The heating failing (apparently a recurring problem), the noisy bathroom radiator which was very hot and leaking, the very draughty windows, blinds that did not block out the light (although it was November the bedroom was hugely illuminated all night by the Christmas Market Big wheel on Princes Street), no pillow protectors, the heated under-blanket on the bed, having to clean the grill tray which was full of fat.
Whilst problems can occur we were not impressed with the housekeeping/agents failing to sort the post and notice the envelope that had been there for several weeks. This clearly stated that the lock on the final exit door to the apartment block was going to be changed. Unfortunately I wasted an afternoon trying to gain access as the lock had been changed and the replacement key was located in the owners post in the apartment. Calls to the Agents were not overly sympathetic or apologetic and they were more concerned about how they were going to gain access.




A wonderful base, beautifully appointed with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My fiance and I booked this apartment for the three days around our wedding in Edinburgh.

The apartment is truly stunning and the main room was ideal to allow our small wedding party to gather for refreshments before and after the ceremony in nearby Lothian Chambers.

I cannot speak highly enough of the apartment itself, or of the friendly and helpful welcome that Katie gave us. For a special occasion or a romantic weekend you will not do better than renting this apartment.