FB Twitter

Maggies Cottage

Maggies Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Maggie's Cottage is a delightful one-bedroomed holiday cottage located on a farm, nestled into the hills and enjoying spectacular views over the Central Valley, Greeba.

A memorable stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here alone for two weeks at the start of November.
Nice location at the end of a lane/track up a hillside, overlooking a valley.....fairly easy to find in my opinion.
Coming from an area that suffers from 24 hour noise and light pollution I especially appreciated the peace and darkness. I expect on a clear night with a new moon the night sky would be quite a sight. Although on a farm it's not a busy noisy working farm. Just a few sheep, ponies and a few chickens pecking away here and there. .....plus a few wild ducks using the pond.
Ideally located for easy access to all parts of the Island. The heritage trail (former railway line) is just down the lane for safe flat walking/cycling. East to Douglas or West to St.John's/Tynwald Hill and beyond, Peel. There is also a bus stop at the end of the lane, should you wish to bus one way and then walk back. A busy co-op, a short drive or healthy walk to Crosby has most things you will need. It's also handy for when you arrive in the early evening via the boat from Douglas and need fresh produce.

Maggie's cottage is comfortable and well equipped and wants for nothing. Good wifi for research/planning trips/info etc.. and an extensive range of tv channels/you tube etc. for dark evenings. The owners live nearby but are not intrusive. However they are friendly and informative.

All in all, excellent place ideal for a single/couple...which in itself is a rare find as many properties are much larger and generally more expensive.

Now if only they would rebuild the Douglas to Peel railway with a halt at Greeba.....wishful thinking I'm afraid.

A memorable stay. Gura mie ayd.




Island Escapes Team replied 12 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maggie's Cottage, it sounds like you had a lovely time exploring the island. We appreciate you taking the time to review your trip and we would look forward to welcoming you back to Island Escapes again in the future.

Simply the best......

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Obviously, we are all different and have many and varied tastes and therefore this review must be subjective. With that qualification, I would say that my wife and I have stayed in many cottages, both home and abroad and Maggie's Cottage is right up there with the very best.

If one has a check list of everything one would ask of a holiday cottage, then this has it. As a perfectly equipped place for two to use as a warm and cosy base, this has everything. Add to that the most hospitable hosts you could wish to meet, then whenever we visit the Isle of Man this will be the place for us, absolutely no point in looking elsewhere.

Just off the A1 outside Douglas, the location is rural and very central from which to journey forth. However, this being our first trip to the Isle of Man I was lulled into a false sense of security by my 'phone sat nav. Ended up down a farm track, the extraction from which was particularly difficult! The car sat nav indicated where we were on the road but would not provide directions. The directions from the Agency left a lot to be desired, but the owners of the cottage are addressing this. Once found it's easy to find again!

All in all, from our perspective, a perfect place to stay. Our grateful thanks go to our hosts for sharing their fantastic farm with us.









Island Escapes Team replied 47 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maggie's Cottage. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. We will now work with the owners to ensure the directions provided are more user friendly for our future guests. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Fab place

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Maggie's Cottage this year and as with the first we had a fabulous time, the Cottage is very well presented, Fliss and Phil are excellent hosts. Love staying there, very central to the islands main attractions. Cannot wait to return next year.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived at Maggies cottage to be greeted by Phil with a warm welcome showed us around the cottage.
The place has been done to first class workmenship clean tidy with everything you could want. More than advertised.
Would recommend to anyone looking to stay around that area, good views quiet and peaceful.
Many thanks for our stay




Lovely stay at Maggies Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to the IoM so thought we would stay somewhere different as we normally use hotels. The cottage is ideally located on a small farm, with great views and some nice walks, and being not far off the main road (TT course) within easy driving for the whole island. The cottage is well equipped enabling us to cook our own meals. Phil greeted us and made us welcome straight away. We have already recommended it to our friends and hope to be returning…!



Excellent 5 ⭐️

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow ! what more can we say everything was perfect , the cottage itself is beautiful the location is stunning ,and the scenery is amazing one of the nicest places we’ve stayed on the island . It was great to sit and watch all the animals , especially the ducks and chickens walking past the door. Would definitely recommend this cottage , the hosts were very helpful and welcoming, Phil couldn’t do enough for you and helped us in any way he could .



Beautiful!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, well- equipped cottage in the perfect location - quiet and peaceful yet close to public transport links. Not having a car with us, 'Go Explore ' cards were invaluable for getting around using the excellent public transport system. There are many lovely walks around the island, including the coastal path, the Steam Heritage trail and a lovely walk up Greeba Mountain and beyond. For the reasonably fit, we found a car is not a necessity to explore the beautiful island. Phil and Fliss were great hosts.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the property was excellent, Phil met us as we arrived, nothing was too much trouble and had loads of knowledge about the island.
We had a lovely time and the weather was fantastic, which made it all the better.
Isle of Man is a lovely place, we will be back for sure.




Excellent

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location quite and peaceful. Accommodation excellent spotless / everything modern and everything provided. I would recommend a car .



Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Maggies during TT practice week and it was the perfect location for catching the action. The cottage is located on a small farm and is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed waking up every morning to the stunning views and the sound of birdsong not to mention having chickens, sheep and horses on the doorstep.

Maggies is the perfect place to get away from it all but close enough to main roads to make it a perfect base for exploring. The hosts Phil and Fliss live on the farm so were at hand if we needed anything and nothing was too much trouble. We’d love to return!




Beautiful scenery!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed are stay highly recommend everything we needed. Fresh eggs delivered one morning



Fantastic cottage in a brilliant location

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed our stay at Maggie's Cottage. Lovely well equipped cottage in a beautiful location. Friendly and helpful owners. So much to see, packed a lot in, had a great week.



Perfect comfortable cottage in a perfect location with lovely views. Also for us very dog friendly.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maggie's the perfect holiday cottage for touring the island with amazing views. The owners Phil and Fliss, made us feel very welcome.
The cottage is very clean and comfortable with every thing you need. We have never slept so well and felt so relaxed in a holiday cottage before. Very much looking forward to another 2 weeks walking holiday at Maggie's with our dog.




A Rural Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly the instructions provided by Island Escapes to find Maggies Cottage were excellent as well as very reassuring as this was quite a rural spot to find. The "what3words" app narrows it down even further. Greeted on arrival by the owners and shown around this beautifully presented and well equipped 2 floor cottage. Also introduced to the various farm animals (sheep, chickens, horses, ducks and dogs) and much time was spent watching them over the week. Being there at lambing time was also wonderful to see the new-borns. It is also a wonderful location for visiting all corners of the island, whatever your interests. We particularly enjoy walking and so made use of the disused railway line at the foot of the drive to walk to Peel. There is a cheap and frequent bus service back if legs are tired. We also climbed the highest point (Snaefell) from Laxey and took the lovely quaint mountain railway back. We loved old Laxey and in particular the easy to do Heritage Historic Trail (which gives some idea of the mining there). We visited Castletown and Port Erin (also nice towns) and walked from each along the coast and glens. Lovely flowers at this time of year and also many seabirds. Even saw harbour porpoises in The Sound overlooking the Calf of Man at the southern tip of the island. The island has plenty to offer whatever your interests and it was great to do so from such a nice comfortable base with good wi-fi to plan your day. Thank you Phil and Fliss and every success for the future.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the cottage which was well equipped, in a beautiful location, The hosts Fliss and Phil were welcoming and very friendly, The cottage is in an ideal place for visiting all parts of the island being in a central location. I would highly recommend the property and are looking forward to returning there next year.



Fabulous place and thoroughly recommended.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with amazing views in a great location. Very well presented and we had a super welcome from our hosts. Would certainly recommend a stay at Maggies.



Couldn't have chosen a better place for ou first staycation.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location and a beautiful little cottage.
We were met by Phil who was so welcoming we felt at home straight away.
The cottage is exactly as it appears on the website.
We chose the week in which we had the three big storms and snow.
The cottage was so warm and cosy, we were always happy get "home".
Disappointed we couldn't spend more time with the lovely pets around the farm.
We will definitely return (availability permitting)!
Absolutely highly recommended.




A brilliant holiday cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maggie’s Cottage is a wonderful place for a holiday, set in beautiful scenery in the centre of the island. There is easy access to the Heritage Trail for walks and cycling, with many other local walks and features nearby. The cottage is a delight, well equipped and comfortable. We loved the different animals on the farm including the chickens that wander about freely. Phil and Fliss are great hosts, full of useful information and suggestions. Nothing is too much bother for them.






Autumn break at Maggies cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay! Thank you xx Lovely hosts, location and facilities x
We enjoyed the easy access to the Heritage track and had three days exploring 'by bike' - bicycle this time!
Easy to get to Peel and Douglas too by bus or car and a great central location to explore the rest of the island.
The reknown Hawthorn Restaurant is handy too!




A Welcome Break Away

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 4 night stay at Maggies. We were met by Phil, Fliss, chickens, ducks and the 2 well behaved dogs. The cottage had everything we needed for a short stay. The bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful. The wi-fi was excellent, fast and reliable. There are plenty of different walks from the farm and it was handy to pop into The Hawthorn or The Crosby while on our walks. We would highly recommend.




Perfect location for our Manx adventure

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Phil and Fliss, the property owners, we're very welcoming when we arrived. The cottage itself was lovely and had everything we needed for our stay. We loved the spiral staircase and found the whole cottage lovely and cosy. We were also thrilled to find the dishwasher - who wants to wash up on holiday?!
The location was perfect for travelling all over the island, and the local pub/restaurant The Hawthorn did a delicious Sunday lunch.




Maggies Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Phil and Fliss were excellent hosts.
Very quiet peaceful rural location in the center of the island.
Maggies cottage was perfect for us, we hope to return.
We have one suggestion a microwave in the kitchen would have been useful.




Maggies Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Maggies Cottage for 21 days from 3rd July to 24th July 2021.
It was really very quaint situated in an elevated position with views of Greeba and the Breary hills when looking North.
Fliss and her husband Phil the owners were very welcoming and always on hand to help us out.
The old steam railway track is a 3 minute walk from the cottage which will take you east towards Douglas or West to Peel likewise if you go up to the main road you have a bus stop which takes you to the capital or to Peel and Ramsey in the North of the Island.
Our stay was very enjoyable and we were very lucky with the weather.
Our only negative with the cottage is there was no microwave and we also feel there should of been a dressing table mirror and stool in the bedroom, other than that we couldn’t fault it and would definitely recommend to anyone.
We would stay again