FB Twitter

East Ballabane Farmhouse

East Ballabane Farmhouse

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


East Ballabane is a traditional Manx farmhouse in a wonderful position overlooking the coast and farmland of the north of the Isle of Man.

Amazing getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, cozy cottage providing a great getaway for the three of us (me,wife and dog)
Well kept, clean and perfect for a week away relaxing.
Good location for seeing all the north has to offer and definitely recommend popping into Bride tea rooms!
Massive thank you to the owners who made it so homely and comfortable.




Island Escapes Team replied 47 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at East Ballabane Farmhouse. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Beautiful old house in a peaceful location.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although in need of a little maintenance & repair this is a delightful 17th Century cottage in a rural setting. We enjoyed a short drive to nearby beach car parks and Ramsey with free parking using the parking disc provided. There is an excellent cafe at Bride with a big car park just down the hill which is open most days from 11am until 4pm. We had very good meals at the pub in Andreas and at the Mitre in Ramsey for Sunday lunch. The ice cream parlour at the market place in Ramsey is the best ever.



Traditional quiet and cosy farmhouse

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2022
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Farmhouse located at the northern end of the island in Smeale, very quiet and conveniently located near to the point of Ayre but definitely need a car to get around. Well equipped for a self catering holiday and the game room is a real bonus if you have children. Cleanliness could definitely be better in particular the windows to which I ended up cleaning a number of them myself!



Peaceful base for Island adventures.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was a lovely home from home. It was in a beautiful, peaceful country location which was a perfect place to start and end our daily adventures. We felt we could allow the children to play safely without disturbing anybody The barn containing toys and the games and DVDs provided was a wonderful touch The Garden is amazing space wise. The house itself was all that we needed it to be. It was comfortable, spacious and we had enough choice room wise to suit varying needs throughout the day (ie Conservatory was bright and sunny, Sitting room was cosy and cooler). The Aga was a new experience but there were also other options. The Welcome pack was very welcome and made good use of. We were really glad we had opted to take the car as it was needed. Most days we drove into Ramsey (parking disk provided) then accessed the Islands wonderful transport system from there. The only downside to the whole experience was that one of the mattresses could do with changing or a topper. I solved the issue by using a blanket. We all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would recommend the Farmhouse to anyone wanting a country place to stay.



Family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the property, there was everything we needed here. The views to sea were lovely, it was quiet and peaceful.



What a lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in a lovely farmhouse. "Home from Home". Everything provided we could wish for, all clean and tidy. The garden was much appreciated by our dog!!!!!. A little isolated perhaps in the north of the island, you certainly needed your own transport to get about but we appreciated the peace and quiet it gave us after a couple of difficult years. Would certainly stay here again.



Wonderfully peaceful place in the country

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a rural staycation for 5 adult family members at the opposite end of the Island from where we live and this was ideal. There was plenty of parking (we had 3 vehicles) and plenty of space in the house, which has the benefit of a cosy sitting room and a sunny conservatory. The large and wonderful gardens outside were great for eating outside, playing badminton and ball games and for our dog. The bluebells were beautiful in early May.
Being in a flat area and on a quiet road, it was ideal for cycling, so we brought our bikes and went as far as Andreas, the Point of Ayre and the Ayres NNRs. The location also enabled a walk (2 miles) to the sea via a nearby path and a short drive to Ramsey and to Jurby (for the Motor Museum).
For an old property it was remarkably clean. Some of the glasses and pans needed a wash before use, but there was no dust or spiders in the house. Comfort was great except that the single bedroom was far too hot (due to the heating system) and one of the twin beds needs a new mattress (springs poking up). Being supplied with two (good) towels and the welcome pack was much appreciated.
We had booked a hot tub hire (in case of bad weather) which sat perfectly under the shelter.
A great four day break.




Comfortable, cosy and relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable,always feel so relaxed here.Everything supplied that you can possibly imagine.5 *



Lovely farmhouse and gardens - brilliant place to reset your batteries.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse is in a great location, close to the national nature reserve. The gardens are beautiful and ideal for a family get together and dog friendly. We would definitely go back but think some of the equipment should be updated I.e. the little electric oven which wouldn’t heat up and the single beds were rather uncomfortable.



A lovely, relaxing traditional cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, comfortable cottage with everything needed for a gorgeous stay on the island for our family and dog. The welcome pack was very welcome after our journey. The cottage is in a gorgeous, quiet location with super grounds and sea view in the peaceful North of the Island. Great for walking, beach visiting and bird spotting. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend East Ballabane.



Heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where to start..

The location was fantastic. The gardens and grounds lovely, and dog proof too. The house was just perfect - both the layout, size, choice of rooms and decor. Apparently there was a games rooms too although I never got around to looking in there, too much to do! I've stayed in many places before but this one was the closest to perfect I've ever been to. I cannot wait to return!

The only constructive feedback I can bring is that the television has a fault - the colours are all tinged blue for some reason so sadly needs fixing / replacing.




A lovely staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our half term staycation. Seals at point of ayre, bowling in Ramsey and family time around the dining table playing games were the highlights. Memories made in the fresh air x x x



East Ballabane

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay on the Isle of Man. The house was spacious, but homely, the groceries were a lovely welcome. We did find quite a lot of cobwebs, probably to be expected in an older property. The beds were comfortable and there were lovely views out to sea. The garden was beautiful with snowdrops and crocuses and the children enjoyed the games barn. We did miss the dvd player, we'd brought some old favourites with us for when the days got colder and darker. It was disappointing that one didn't appear after we'd contacted the owners. Overall, we had a relaxing and cosy time and enjoyed visiting places further north in the island than we have on previous visits.



Wonderful farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What a great place. Such a cozy place, great wood burner. Dogs loved it too. Welcome package was lovely. Would love to visit again.



Dogs loved it!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great value for money, surprised as more spacious than expected. Chose location due to dog allowances and they absolutely loved it and didn’t want to leave. Would definitely come again maybe as a group next time. Thank you!



Autumn at East Ballabane

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely traditional, spacious farmhouse in a quiet area of the Isle of Man. Games room and large garden are an added bonus.



Spacious and tranquil

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything generally very good/excellent but slightly let down by cooking arrangements. Not everyone is familiar with cooking on an Aga and the alternative cooking facilities are inconveniently situated and inadequate. Sporadic wifi.



Overall very good and would visit again

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse was lovely. It was very hot due to the Aga having to be on all the time.
The beds were also not very comfy, changing these would be a recommendation.
A good clean of the conservatory is a must as there are a lot of flies and generally the frame work required a clean.
The shower in the bathroom also could do with a clean, due to black mould the grouting also looked dirty and not white.
We did thoroughly enjoy our break and would go back but these are just a few of the recommendations to make it even better.




comfortable and relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to completely relax with the family and our dog was welcomed too. No worries about having a baby or a dog completely safe for the dog to wander around the garden. He loved it too.



Home away from home

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcoming little touches of a loaf of bread on the dining room table, milk and cheese in the fridge were so lovely and made us feel very cared for upon arrival.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and we loved the farmhouse homely decor. The warm conservatory became our spot for hours of knitting, reading aloud to the kids and playing board games into the evenings. The barn games room was an absolute haven when it began to rain - kids were out of the house but still under cover. Lovely gardens for them to also explore, run races and play imaginary games, with some nice herbs to include in your cooking!

They’ve thought of everything their guests may need. The owner, Claire, was incredibly helpful and friendly.

We spent lots of time riding bikes through the Ayres Nature Reserve and walking along the massive stretch of beach. It seems to be warmer and sunnier up there as when we got back to Douglas it was definitely a few degrees cooler.

We’ll be booking again soon!




Characterful farmhouse comfortable and tranquil

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse is lovely, full of old character and very comfortable. Tranquil location with views to countryside, sea and across to Scotland. Great sunsets. Plenty of room for a family with serperate living room, dining room and conservatory. and two bathrooms We did not need the third bedroom but if you do you may find it very hot - this needs addressing.
Great garden for chidren and dogs and sitting/eating outside. Really relaxing.
John and his island escapes team were very helpful, Thank you.




Staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very welcome break on a quiet road within reach of the coast in a lovely setting and perfect weather.



Lovely staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. The farmhouse is lovely. Loved the added extras of bread, milk and eggs being left for us. All local produce as well! Plenty of room for a family of 5 and our dog loved exploring the large garden. The only negatives we have are that the mattresses and master bed could do with an update. Also, the single bedroom was so unbearably hot. The radiator can not be turned off as it’s required for the AGA. We had to move the mattress from the bed into the master bedroom as my daughter just couldn’t sleep in the heat. Wasn’t ideal but it didn’t ruin our staycation, we still loved the house.




My son and I went with our dogs and were delighted to find so much space for the pooches!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual I was too busy to read all of the blurb, so just booked the farm house going off the pictures and we were delighted to find what the place had to offer! We had a paddock for the dogs and they loved it, the beds were nice and comfy and the bath was huge with nice hot water, the place was very clean and tidy and spacious. The tv was large and easy to operate, the area cooked a lovely chicken roast dinner, I just threw it in and checked it a while later and decided it needed another ten minutes and it was perfect. I had a look inside the other cottage , this was gorgeous, modern whilst ours was gorgeous traditional. Nice comfy couches and warm. I got my head round the washing machine easily and then hung out the washing to dry outside , but the birds from the trees above used the washing as their loo haha, so ended up using the maiden in the conservatory next, so be warned, it was dried in no time . The gardens were kept well and the whole place was very pretty with lovely paintwork around windows and barn doors etc. The barn has a games room , great for the kids. When you drive toward the property you will see a lovely iron gate painted green on the right hand side so don’t miss it . That is if you approach from the church, take the road that runs down the left hand side of the church and it’s one straight road from there green gate on the right. They left us some supplies and lots of bathroom products and many towels , bedding was nice and crisp and clean. They work hard to provide a lovely place for us to stay. Very pleased and will return again . Thanks very much



Fantastic pet-friendly farmhouse

Review submitted on Thu, 13 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to experience our first staycation in the IOM and picked the perfect accommodation and location. The farmhouse had everything we could need and our dog had the best time. A few things could be updated or cleaned a little better in readiness for new guests, but at the same time we were comfortable and wanted to stay for longer. The yard and garden are fenced in and gated so no chance of dogs escaping. We highly recommend and will definitely return. Much appreciated welcome pack too.



Nick Venables - Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Roz, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a good staycation and look forward to your next booking! Kind regards, Nick

Staycation number 4

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This ten day staycation at east ballabane farmhouse is our FOURTH in just over a year. We absolutely love the place. It is full of antiquities a truly old farmhouse with AGA cooker, roll top bath, three bedrooms two bathrooms fantastic conservatory, two log fires, the list goes on. It is dog friendly and Has a dog safe front garden with small adjoining field. Barn in courtyard has the loft converted into kids playroom with small pool table. Everything you need is here,books,games. It’s warm and cosy and loads of room for a family. Free WiFi.



The place to stay for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant staycation, amazing views and even the weather was beautiful. Fully equipped to meet every need, and comfortable as well.




Everything was excellent, lovely house and grounds in beautiful surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was excellent, lovely house in a traditional farmhouse style and grounds in beautiful surroundings.



CHRISTMAS BREAK

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third stay at Ballabane, it’s beginning g to feel like home from home. We requested a Christmas tree and we had a lovely big tree with lights in the conservatory, holly and decorations all around. Thank you for making it so Christmassy. We suggested the owner might replace the tiny television And it has been replaced by a large screen one. The welcome pack was best ever, eggs,bread, milk. Ballabane provides everything you could want for a cosy staycation. Beautiful stonebuilt thick walled farmhouse, log burners, roll top bath, two en suite bedrooms and a single bedroom. We have had a lovely Christmas, thank you. We will be back for a fourth stay.



Winter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic farmhouse - so cosy and well laid out. Perfect for a break away with the dogs. Amazing walks on the doorstep and lovely conservatory to relax in on wetter days.
Lots of places to go for food round about if you don't fancy cooking.




East Ballane

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was so lovely, the cozy fire and bath were amazing, perfect for a winter night in. The garden was also amazing for our dog, she loved it. Will definitely be back!



Five days down North

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The farm house was a joy to stay in. We were blessed with good weather and had some lovely walks in the surrounding countryside. We would come again .



Staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second if 3 visits this year. Everything was great apart from the small tv. Welcome pack was fabulous, gear big bath towels everything you could possibly need. Love the house, love the garden. Peaceful comfortable holiday and dogs love it too.



Charming farmhouse

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here and found it so relaxing being somewhere this remote. Even though we’d only travelled from Douglas it felt like a real holiday.
The house is comfortable and well equipped yet retains all the features of a traditional farmhouse. Our children particularly enjoyed their time in the play barn, and we enjoyed the table tennis.
The extensive grounds, behind secure gates, were ideal for our dog - he didn’t want to leave!




Staycation at Ballabane Farmhouse

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This cottage is a Little gem if you like old style, The wood burners When lit warm the cottage up so quick And made it so cosy. We booked the farmhouse and the milking parlour Together so we had all of the farm to ourselves, there is also a games barn which is great for all.



More seals than humans

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great sized property for 5 people. Beautiful views, nice owners, very quiet and extremely close to the Ayres.



Lovely week spent as a family

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse was clean and comfortable with a quirky layout! The welcome gift on arrival was much appreciated. All amenities and attractions in the North within easy reach by car. The barn with pool table and table tennis was enjoyed by our teenagers, and there were plenty of toys for younger children also.



Our staycadtion

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
One hiccup. No one to meet us. No prior information on key. Tried over 3/4 hr to contact someone in end husband went to neighbour who told us location of key. Farmhouse was excellent every possible need addressed. Warm comforting and very quiet with excellent garden for dogs. We absolutely loved our stay and would definitely go again. Box of chocolates waiting for us but have suggested they leave some milk for hot drink on arrival. Tea and coffee there and it is quite a haul to nearest shop. We would recommend East Ballabane Farmhouse midway between the Point and Smeale on the jurby road it is a real country retreat filled with quirky and antique memorabilia. Big rooms superb conservatory and the cream on top for me a working aga. I would live to be there at Christmas, two working log burners. Beautiful old cottage.



Loved the Conservatory and gardens....

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at the farmhouse, but the 2 adults who shared the twin room both said it was time for new mattresses on the single beds as they were uncomfortable, perhaps they are ok for young children but not grown up children!



Beautiful farmhouse in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Ballabane farmhouse has been amazing! Great location for exploring beaches and beautiful grounds to relax in the sun. Looking forward to staying again!