FB Twitter

Colby Mill

Colby Mill

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.4
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.7


Colby Mill is a holiday cottage for six people, in a quiet area of the south of the Isle of Man, next to Colby river.

Clean, spacious property in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous clean, spacious property. Ideal open-plan family living space. Large, well-equipped kitchen. Great base for exploring the island. Walking distance to shop, pub, bus and steam train! Small outdoor area,(enclosed but not secure enough for our dog!) but there are fields at the back of the property which are ideal for dogs. Also 2 min walk to Colby glen which is beautiful.



Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
First impressions count.
-The smell of fish in the living space lasted three days!!!
-no internet which effected the TV for the first evening until 9pm.
-Building work next door which is attached- started at 8-9 am banging noises!!!
-No garden - photos make you think there is one.
James was helpful in sorting the internet & TV problem out
Large living space kitchen, dining, lounge.
Beds comfortable
Everything provided for cooking
Quiet in the evenings




Colby mill

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice clean property, more of a large apartment than a house, front door access not great. overall large and comfortable, Could do with a teapot.



Has the potential to be a great holiday let.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although we enjoyed our time at this property, we would like to highlight some areas where we feel attention is needed.

The property isn't well signposted from the road which meant we drove past it. Access into the property isn't ideal with steep unlit steps. There is a coir mat on top step that moves around causing a potential trip hazard.

The ground floor is well laid out with modern open plan kitchen/lounge space. Unfortunately, the position of the window in dining area meant we had no privacy whenever neighbours used the lean-to/back door of the adjoining property.

The view from the windows in the lounge area were also affected by scaffolding on the wall of the adjoining property. While we know this may be temporary we didn't want to be looking out into building maintenance. We couldn't play DVDs as there was no connecting lead to the TV.

The kitchen is well equipped apart from failing to provide egg cups; cafetière; a teapot; and ice making tray

The first floor bedrooms are situated either side of the toilet/shower (no bath). Bedroom doors are spring loaded which meant they banged shut automatically. This caused a problem with noise especially when the loo was being used in the night.

The property has very little outside space.

The property has the potential to be a great holiday rental when more attention is paid to the points raised above.





A lovely comfortable house in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall we had a lovely stay at the house, so thank you for providing such lovely accommodation - the bread, milk and butter were especially appreciated when we arrived :) and it was spotlessly clean and plenty of space for all of us. Lovely location, loved the Glen nearby and the pub within walking distance was ace.

There were a few things however that we didn't find quite right and would recommend are fixed:

1) The DVD player is unusable - there's no HDMI cable to actually connect it to the TV so it doesn't work, which was quite disappointing as there were a few DVDs we would have watched! This wasn't too much of an issue due to Netflix being installed on the telly but it's a bit pointless having a whole shelf of DVDs you can't watch.

2) The fridge was VERY annoying as it's missing all the plastic bits to hold your items in the door. More than once we had something fall out and land on somebody's foot, so we couldn't keep anything in the door of the fridge.

3) The bed in the upstairs double bedroom broke - on one of the middle nights of our stay we got into bed and the middle slat came out, not from any vigorous activity (!) but us just getting in the bed! It didn't affect out stay so we didn't raise it as an issue but to make you aware this happened.

4) The doors all over the house are a bit of a nightmare. The mechanisms don't work so they all swing open / closed and bang loudly when not shut quietly or if you leave the windows open. Doorstops were provided but it wasn't great to be honest - especially at night when we had the door closed but the windows open and it kept banging as it was hanging loose. It'd be great to get that fixed.

5) There is a washing machine provided but no clothes horse or pegs that we could find to hang up the wet washing with? Would recommend providing a clothes horse.




Colby Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay. Fully equipped kitchen. Lovely location. Tranquil and peaceful. Thank you for your hospitality.



Great time :)

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay in, very nice park area just few min up the hill, specially liked by our dogs :)
Highly recommended if you like nature :)




Perfect stay by the river

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice and cosy House clean and very warm inside All the rooms , If u like the river noise that is for you the right place
The location is good as well
Thanks




Comfortable and spacious

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was comfortable, well equipped and spacious. The items left by Island Escape such as milk, bread and cheese were a wonderful surprise. Place was very clean.
The only drawback was that it only had one bathroom for three bedrooms, and my parents found the stair to the property a bit difficult.




Pet Friendly & very relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, the lounge and kitchen is all open plan, the entire accommodation was warm & cozy. The beautiful kitchen had everything you needed. TV has Netflix. Very quiet location with lots of dog walks nearby, a shop is a short walk away and so is the local pub, bus route & beach in Port Erin. Island Escapes was very helpful when booking which was quick & easy.