FB Twitter

The Gildhall

The Gildhall

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


A beautiful thatched Suffolk country cottage in the grounds of Higham Place, at the heart of The Dedham Vale.

A lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing time at the Gildhall this was our 4th visit as usual a lovely welcome basket, everything you could need in the kitchen, large secure area for the dogs and plenty of walks.
A lovely old cottage with plenty of space and it’s warm and cosy.Chris the estate manager is at the end of the phone for any minor issues, we cannot praise the property enough. Already booked for return visit next year.




Beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you think the photos are nice, it is even better in person!
We all had an anazing stay and have already booked again




The Gildhall cottage October 2022

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage set in beautiful surroundings. The cottage was spacious and the gardens were perfect for our dog.
Our family of 6, 1 tiny baby and dog had plenty of room and were able to have lots of quality time together to celebrate
a special family members birthday. The walk around the estate was good and we were blessed with warm weather for October.
Charlie was particularly helpful when we needed to contact him and would fully recommend The Gildhall experience.




Fab place to stay and introduction to Suffolk and the dog loved it!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place. Lots of room for 6 peeps and a Cockapoo.. great social areas with large dining room and living room with a lovely kitchen with all the things you need.

Outdoor area was great too. Totally dog safe and very comfortable letting him roam the large gardens.

Would definitely return.

The property is also close to quite a few things so a good location to explore and we certainly enjoyed seeing Suffolk for the first time.




Charming historic house in beautiful village surrounded by bucolic landscape, but not without issues

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Characterful spacious house in lovely setting, close to the best that Dedham Vale has to offer.
Delightful outdoor area, plus adequate parking, though the lane a little noisy morning and evening.
Whilst the cleanliness was excellent the house was a little tired in places, needing some care and attention. In particular the windows in two of the bedrooms didn't open, and the third only with considerable effort, also the floors upstairs have several trip hazards, and one has to remember to duck! The staircase is difficult, not least the rocking bottom step and tight turn at the top, so I would not recommend this house for the elderly or infirm.
Whilst the kitchen, as with the rest of the house has charm, in my view it needs a complete rethink and up grade.
The added heat from the Aga in a hot week made it almost impossible to work in. When on holiday one needs ease of use and efficiency, and the Aga with no alternative conventional cooker other than a microwave simply doesn't offer that, which made enjoying the house when dining in frustrating . Also several everyday items of equipment were missing or in poor condition. The company were responsive, and quickly provided a new toaster for example, and sharper knives, (plus fixing the leaking loo) but in my view these were symptomatic of a wider problem. The rubbish wasn't collected mid week as stated, and the system of use unclear.
I could not stay here again because of the Aga, but despite my observations above, I would recommend the house, which is beautiful and in a lovely area, and Charlie very helpful and accommodating beforehand. I am familiar with and enjoy the idiosyncrasies of historic buildings and yet it is possible with care to adapt them so that they are safe and comfortable.




Wonderfull holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Gildhall for two weeks during June. We loved the garden with the wonderfull smelling roses and flowers. The house itself is like living in a museum, because it makes you think you are back in the time of the knights! For a 4 year old boy it was wonderfull to discover al the 'hidden' doors and cupboards. It really is a wonderfull house to stay in. We would certainly recommend this house!



I would Recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had our third stay at the gildhall, the welcome basket was a lovely touch, perfect place to just chill, lovely enclosed garden for the dogs and walks round the estate. Due to come back again in November.



Ideal wedding base

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used The Gildhall as a bridal party base for our daughter's wedding as it was located minutes away from the church at Stratford St Mary. The photographer and the videographer both raved about the cottage and garden, just perfect for photo memories.
We scored excellent value for money as three rooms in a local hotel would have been considerably more expensive.
Picture perfect and a great place to kick back and relax.
We were very pleased with the cottage and would definitely stay again.




Beautiful Cottage - very well equipped

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gildhall is a beautiful cottage which was exceptionally well equipped with everything we could possibly need for a lovely family break. The downstairs rooms are huge so plenty of space to spread out. My only slight moan was that the fabric covered sofa under the window was really uncomfortable!
Upstairs the main bedroom and en-suite bedroom are both very generously sized double rooms. Unfortunately the 3rd double bedroom is tiny. The bed is pushed against the wall to fit it into the room. We managed for a weekend but I think an adult couple would struggle to stay in this room for any longer than a couple of nights. It is a shame that there is not an up to date photo of this bedroom on any of the websites to show you before you arrive just how small the room is.
Outside the gardens are stunning and completely dog friendly and safe even for our escape artist terrier, and the advantage of having access to the park area at the bottom of the garden was fabulous.
There were plenty of things to do and see in the area and all in all we had a lovely break.
I would certainly recommend this cottage to others with the caveat that you need to be aware how small the 3rd bedroom is!




Constable Country Cosy Comfort

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Guildhall offers a perfect location for exploring Constable Country and surrounds. We received a very warm welcome with a lovely basket of goodies. This beautiful house (c1550) is full of character and charm. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it to families or couples.



Great dog friendly cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely garden and very dog friendly. Only quibble is the bathrooms needed some TLC as the shower leaked.
Great customer service and prompt responses - highly recommend Idyllic Suffolk and the cottage. We will definitely be back.




a lovely winter break in a charming cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The strong points of the Gildhall were the charm and character of the cottage, and the sympathetic decoration and furniture (I loved the dining room table!). The living and bedrooms were spacious, the beds were very comfortable and we slept well. The grocery pack left for us was very welcome!

In terms of improvements, the points are minor. We had an issue with the curtain closing mechanisms, which I reported during our stay. With the number of guests in the cottage an extra hairdryer would have been useful, and in the kitchen a couple of extra (smaller) baking trays, one larger pan and a roll of aluminium foil would have been handy. The large bedroom was a bit chilly at times and the radiator next to the door in that room never really came up to full heat, so there may be an airlock in the system?

None of those issues had a significant negative impact on our stay, though, and Chris at the Idyllic Suffolk office was very helpful with regard to receiving and bringing over some post that we needed to have delivered whilst we were on holiday. We will definitely hope to book with them again.




A Winter Break at the Gildhall

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed every aspect of our stay in The Gildhall. The cottage is beautiful….spacious yet cosy, with the Aga at it’s heart. We found it well equipped, comfortable and full of character. Also it’s lovely and warm!

The setting is stunning too with a beautiful backdrop of gardens and parkland.

The hamper was a lovely touch and most appreciated.

A return visit is already booked.

Thank you Christopher and Charlie.







New Year Stay with friends in this character cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a group of 6 adults (3 couples) staying at Gildhall. The property has loads of character inside and was quite spacious for the 6 of us with separate Kitchen, Dining room and Lounge areas. Some people might find the stairs a little steep and difficult to manage. If you are tall, watch-out for the low beams and doorways throughout. Banged heads did occur ! But the property is warm and comfortable - but shame there's no log fire. (it's electric). Location is good with the back of the property backing onto fields. However, the front is vey close to the road and on a bend, so some care is required when pulling out in the car. Higham is quite a small village and has no facilities (shop / pub) so a trip in the car is required for these, but with easy access to the A12 main towns are not too far away. We all had a great stay at Gildhall and hope to be back again some time.



Gorgeous cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
They’re not called “idyllic” for nothing, very apt.

Beautiful cottage in a pretty village with lots to visit and see nearby. The cottage itself was very homely and full of history with beams and a quirky layout, but very spacious, and it also had everything you would need. The kitchen is well equipped and there is also a lovely warm aga, and upon arrival there was a welcome basket of goodies. There was also a pretty Xmas tree for our mid-December visit!

We would definitely return.




Simply Beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third time staying at the Gildhall we fell in love with it the first time and still love it now its a beautiful cottage lovely and cosy we felt relaxed straight away.
Can't fault anything it was very clean & tidy and well looked after.
There are some lovely walks near by & a nice farm shop.
We will definitely be booking again.




Lovely setting

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect setting for our two dogs who never tired of walking around the estate every morning.

The property is charming. The kitchen is lovely & warm with the aga running but not sure how pleasant that would be over the summer months!

We really enjoyed our stay, felt at home immediately. Odd things need some tlc but that’s the charm of the place and, given it’s popularity, any maintenance works would be difficult to plan.

Well done to Charlie & the team at Idyllic Suffolk - suspect we will be back!




Second stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely situation and the Gildhall is spacious and comfortable. Minor issues sorted out very quickly. Our second visit but hopefully not our last.



Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the beautiful Guildhall cottage for the weekend of our daughter's wedding and could not have chosen a better location. The cottage was spotlessly clean, spacious, well equipped and 'Idyllic' in every sense of the word. The lovely weather enabled us to enjoy the exquisite gardens and stunning views. Charles and Andrew were available at all times and dealt with our queries efficiently and promptly. I would highly recommend this property.



Our first post Covid get together with our best friends.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a find!!! Beautiful cottage in splendid location. Cottage had such a lovely homely feel and provided all we could have hoped for. One of the sofas is well past its best and not very comfy, but other than that we found everything in great condition given the age of the property. The odd cobweb only added to the 16th century ambience of the Gildhall.

All in all, I think we found a gem and would love to return some day. Thanks to Charlie and Chris for their help.




Beautiful Cottage in a pretty location

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is wonderful. Spacious, clean and well equipped. Good quality bedding and towels. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. We loved the large garden and having access to the park for our dog. The welcome hamper was much appreciated.
Easy access to footpaths to walk to neighbouring villages.
The Gildhall far exceeded our expectations. We would have no hesitation in returning, and recommending the property.




Fabulous thatched cottage paradise for dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay. Excellent cottage and have already recommended it to several family members and friends. Wouldn’t hesitate to return again and again. Thank you to everyone at Idyllic Suffolk for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.



Quarantining at The GildHall, Suffolk

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Whilst the nature of our stay prevented us from exploring the wider area, we couldn't have chosen a more beautiful cottage to spend fourteen days in quarantine. It is spacious, well equipped and has that quintessential old world English charm that epitomises Constable Country.
We would most definitely stay here again and hopefully under different circumstances, in the near future, will be able to discover the delights of this part of the South Suffolk and north Essex countryside depicted by John Constable.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay beautiful cottage in a lovely location perfect for the dogs a well equipped kitchen and lovely and warm, the welcome basket was a very nice touch the cream carpets are not ideal for heavy traffic or animals and would benefit from having darker carpets as nice as they look they were stained. We are definitely going to book a return stay, we would highly recommend.



This could be 5 star...

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This historic house is in a great location surrounded by beautiful and well maintained gardens. It was a wonderful experience to stay in such a a lovely setting but the house itself is in serious need of some repairs. We were without a working hot tap in the kitchen, two broken chairs also in the kitchen and torn curtains in the bedroom. Charlie the estate manager was helpful and courteous but nevertheless the interior was quite shabby. With a bit of TLC this house could truly be 5 star.



Enjoyable short break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Well equipped and comfortable. Very attractive surroundings. Would like to stay again.



Not very clean.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Very dissatisfied with the cleanliness considering what we are all going through at the moment, filthy dirty in places Ie behind bed, windows full of dead flies, and windows screwed shut, can't see that that's even legal... no disinfectant provided to wipe kitchen table or work tops down, rusty oven trays that look like they've been left out in the rain!!!
I've emailed direct and only response I received was thy would pass my concerns on to owner......
Not pleased at all!




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely fantastic stay here for a long weekend in September with some friends and it was an truly wonderful experience.

The house was warm and cozy, the welcome package very welcoming and generous, and the surroundings idyllic. Sitting in the garden in the sun with dog haring about while grilling some steaks was perfect, and the walks in the countryside around the house were lovely too.

The bedrooms are a comfortable size with a huge living room, perfect for a family get away or a couples retreat. Perfect for a quintessentially British getaway.

Chris was a cracking host and extremely attentive which was much appreciated.