FB Twitter

The Gildhall

The Gildhall

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


A beautiful thatched Suffolk country cottage in the grounds of Higham Place, at the heart of The Dedham Vale.

New Year Stay with friends in this character cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a group of 6 adults (3 couples) staying at Gildhall. The property has loads of character inside and was quite spacious for the 6 of us with separate Kitchen, Dining room and Lounge areas. Some people might find the stairs a little steep and difficult to manage. If you are tall, watch-out for the low beams and doorways throughout. Banged heads did occur ! But the property is warm and comfortable - but shame there's no log fire. (it's electric). Location is good with the back of the property backing onto fields. However, the front is vey close to the road and on a bend, so some care is required when pulling out in the car. Higham is quite a small village and has no facilities (shop / pub) so a trip in the car is required for these, but with easy access to the A12 main towns are not too far away. We all had a great stay at Gildhall and hope to be back again some time.



Gorgeous cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
They’re not called “idyllic” for nothing, very apt.

Beautiful cottage in a pretty village with lots to visit and see nearby. The cottage itself was very homely and full of history with beams and a quirky layout, but very spacious, and it also had everything you would need. The kitchen is well equipped and there is also a lovely warm aga, and upon arrival there was a welcome basket of goodies. There was also a pretty Xmas tree for our mid-December visit!

We would definitely return.




Simply Beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third time staying at the Gildhall we fell in love with it the first time and still love it now its a beautiful cottage lovely and cosy we felt relaxed straight away.
Can't fault anything it was very clean & tidy and well looked after.
There are some lovely walks near by & a nice farm shop.
We will definitely be booking again.




Lovely setting

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect setting for our two dogs who never tired of walking around the estate every morning.

The property is charming. The kitchen is lovely & warm with the aga running but not sure how pleasant that would be over the summer months!

We really enjoyed our stay, felt at home immediately. Odd things need some tlc but that’s the charm of the place and, given it’s popularity, any maintenance works would be difficult to plan.

Well done to Charlie & the team at Idyllic Suffolk - suspect we will be back!




Second stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely situation and the Gildhall is spacious and comfortable. Minor issues sorted out very quickly. Our second visit but hopefully not our last.



Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the beautiful Guildhall cottage for the weekend of our daughter's wedding and could not have chosen a better location. The cottage was spotlessly clean, spacious, well equipped and 'Idyllic' in every sense of the word. The lovely weather enabled us to enjoy the exquisite gardens and stunning views. Charles and Andrew were available at all times and dealt with our queries efficiently and promptly. I would highly recommend this property.



Our first post Covid get together with our best friends.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a find!!! Beautiful cottage in splendid location. Cottage had such a lovely homely feel and provided all we could have hoped for. One of the sofas is well past its best and not very comfy, but other than that we found everything in great condition given the age of the property. The odd cobweb only added to the 16th century ambience of the Gildhall.

All in all, I think we found a gem and would love to return some day. Thanks to Charlie and Chris for their help.




Beautiful Cottage in a pretty location

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is wonderful. Spacious, clean and well equipped. Good quality bedding and towels. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. We loved the large garden and having access to the park for our dog. The welcome hamper was much appreciated.
Easy access to footpaths to walk to neighbouring villages.
The Gildhall far exceeded our expectations. We would have no hesitation in returning, and recommending the property.




Fabulous thatched cottage paradise for dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay. Excellent cottage and have already recommended it to several family members and friends. Wouldn’t hesitate to return again and again. Thank you to everyone at Idyllic Suffolk for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.



Quarantining at The GildHall, Suffolk

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Whilst the nature of our stay prevented us from exploring the wider area, we couldn't have chosen a more beautiful cottage to spend fourteen days in quarantine. It is spacious, well equipped and has that quintessential old world English charm that epitomises Constable Country.
We would most definitely stay here again and hopefully under different circumstances, in the near future, will be able to discover the delights of this part of the South Suffolk and north Essex countryside depicted by John Constable.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay beautiful cottage in a lovely location perfect for the dogs a well equipped kitchen and lovely and warm, the welcome basket was a very nice touch the cream carpets are not ideal for heavy traffic or animals and would benefit from having darker carpets as nice as they look they were stained. We are definitely going to book a return stay, we would highly recommend.



This could be 5 star...

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This historic house is in a great location surrounded by beautiful and well maintained gardens. It was a wonderful experience to stay in such a a lovely setting but the house itself is in serious need of some repairs. We were without a working hot tap in the kitchen, two broken chairs also in the kitchen and torn curtains in the bedroom. Charlie the estate manager was helpful and courteous but nevertheless the interior was quite shabby. With a bit of TLC this house could truly be 5 star.



Enjoyable short break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Well equipped and comfortable. Very attractive surroundings. Would like to stay again.



Not very clean.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Very dissatisfied with the cleanliness considering what we are all going through at the moment, filthy dirty in places Ie behind bed, windows full of dead flies, and windows screwed shut, can't see that that's even legal... no disinfectant provided to wipe kitchen table or work tops down, rusty oven trays that look like they've been left out in the rain!!!
I've emailed direct and only response I received was thy would pass my concerns on to owner......
Not pleased at all!




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely fantastic stay here for a long weekend in September with some friends and it was an truly wonderful experience.

The house was warm and cozy, the welcome package very welcoming and generous, and the surroundings idyllic. Sitting in the garden in the sun with dog haring about while grilling some steaks was perfect, and the walks in the countryside around the house were lovely too.

The bedrooms are a comfortable size with a huge living room, perfect for a family get away or a couples retreat. Perfect for a quintessentially British getaway.

Chris was a cracking host and extremely attentive which was much appreciated.