FB Twitter

Barhams Cartlodge

Barhams Cartlodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


Barhams Cartlodge is a dog friendly holiday cottage situated directly in 15 acres of private parkland.

Idyllic location

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage, well equipped, garden and grounds perfect if you have dogs. Welcome hamper very much appreciated. We will be back .



September stay at Barhams Cartlodge

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Barhams Cartlodge very much. The location is very tranquil.
We appreciated the warm welcome we received from Chris together with the welcome pack and the book on Higham Village.
However, as the cottage can accommodate six people it would have been nice to have a four slice toaster.
Also, there were no long mirrors in the property.
Everything else was very clean and comfortable and we will look at returning sometime in the future.




Lovely attractive, peaceful spot.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good, helpful and prompt communication with Idyllic Suffolk.
Property all satisfactory but we felt The Cartlodge fell short of the ‘luxury’ description.
Any recommendation we made would have to reflect this.




A relaxing four day break with our mothers.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying at The Cartlodge with our elderly mothers, so that we can visit our family in Colchester. It was an idyllic four days and we enjoyed meeting family for a bbq in the fantastic grounds as well as popping into Colchester and visiting Hall Farm and Fillpots garden centre. A great location and perfect accommodation.



Excellent

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday in this lovely cottage and would thoroughly recommend it for a peaceful stay.



Brilliant Barhams Cartlodge

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had an amazing 4 night stay here. It was everything we hoped for and more. A fabulous welcome pack (with wine) and such high quality everything. Thank you.



We enjoyed the location very muc and loved the Scandi style of the decor

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the cartlodge but we only had two complaints.
1. The toilet seat in our bathroom (ensuite) had completely come away from its fixing which was very inconvenient.
2. One or 2 pictures had come out of their frames and fell down behind the sofa in the sitting room.
I hope we put the rubbish in right bins, the instructions were a bit misleading initially.




A lovely tranquil place to stay for a short break and perfect for dogs.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at Barhams Cartlodge. Our second stay. Place was immaculate and had everything we needed for our stay. Lovely touch having a welcome basket of goodies and the extras.
Beds very comfortable. Grounds were beautifully kept. Was lovely listening to the birds. Our 2 small dogs loved the freedom.
There was nothing additional we needed.
We will definitely be visiting again and highly recommend.




All Good

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay with a lovely welcome on arrival and the best information pack we have ever experienced.



a pleasant stay

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we enjoyed our stay at one of Idyllic Cottages, the walks and weather were fantastic.
It suited us well and there were 3 adults staying plus our little dog.




Lovely Christmas stay at Cartlodge

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our Christmas stay at Cartlodge was two couples and one child aged 12. We all enjoyed our stay at this countryside location with open fields and walks straight out the door. However, whilst only being minutes from the A12, Higham is a small village with no facilities (shop / pub) and so it's always a trip in the car for these. There is really only one large open-plan living space in the property (Kitchen / Dining room and lounge). This mean it was difficult to 'escape' the TV and video game playing at times !
But we all enjoyed our stay and hope to come back again sometime.




A peaceful countryside retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the Cartlodge, which was well placed for exploring both the Essex and Suffolk coastlines and places of interest (Beth Chatto gardens and Sutton Hoo).

The location of the Lodge in the Estate grounds is amazing. It was so lovely to meander through the meadows and also have an immediate safe space for my daughters to keep up their jogging routine in!

The decor in the lodge is calm and comfortable. Comfy beds and plenty of wardrobe and other storage space. The welcome pack, email correspondence and information folder felt very personal. Idyllic Suffolk managers responded promptly and kindly to any queries, feedback and requests.

I’m sure guests in this and any of their properties would be well looked after, and would certainly recommend it!!




tranquil countryside retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A relaxing, quiet place to stay.We only stayed 3 nights and wished we had longer. Wonderful large parkland to walk in at leisure with some interesting life-size animal statues! Comfortable, homely house with large fridge/freezer and ample space for the 4 of us, plus dog. Interesting places to explore nearby including Sutton Hoo and Dedham Lock.



Great setting / quiet location, set in a large field / garden with open countryside views.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cartlodge is tucked-away down a driveway from the road and is very quiet and peaceful location. It's set on the edge of a large cut-grass field which is your back garden, with views to countryside beyond. We found the cottage clean & tidy with a nice welcome pack for that first cup of tea !
The Cottage makes a great base, being only 10mins from the A12, but a car is essential as the village itself is very small with no amenities (eg. groceries / newsagent etc.) - So stock-up, or buy what you need while out & about.
Our party of 4 adults all had a great stay at the cottage and we will be back !




Brilliant holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Carlodge is in the most beautiful parkland setting, is well equipped and the estate manager and his team could not be more helpful. Really comfortable beds combined with peace and quiet ensure a great night’s sleep. Highly recommended



Long weekend in Dedham Vale

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cartlodge is such a peaceful and tranquil environment it was perfect for a long weekend. You wake up to the beautiful view across lawns, woodland and open country stretching into the distance. Once outside you have a range of beautiful walks along the Stour Path, through Dedham Bale and strolls to lovely villages,

Great house, comfortable beds, enormous bath and after a perfect night's sleep, you're ready for another beautiful day. Recommended!




Lovely cottage but in need of some TLC

Review submitted on Sat, 22 May 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the cart lodge, the location was lovely - plenty of outdoor space for the dogs to run off some steam.

The cottage itself was really lovely, with everything you could possibly need for a week away in the countryside. However the cottage could do with a bit of love - there were some patches on the wall that were left without paint, the light fitting on the main bathroom dropped out mid shower, and some of the furniture was lovely but a little on the dangerous side with little ones around. The main carpet was practical but really uncomfortable to walk on, let alone crawl on for my little one. Also the heating system has exposed pipes throughout the cottage which proved a bit of a risk with a little one, so it was an additional practicality to deal with.




A lovely relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Apr 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely relaxing place to stay. It was spacious and comfortable and we plan to return. Charlie and Chris were very helpful The location is excellent, near Colchester for extended shopping and close to historic locations and interesting walks. Just the place to relax watching the variety of wildlife. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to my friends and family.



A lovely relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are really enjoying our stay here. All the bedrooms are spacious and the beds are large and comfortable. The views are fantastic and it is uplifting to watch the wildlife such as the pheasants strut up and down. There have been glorious sunrises if you have a mind to drag yourself out of the snug beds. Everything is here that you need for a holiday and if there are any questions Christopher the Estate Manager is easily available and extremely helpful. Charlie the General manager is friendly and goes out of his way to accommodate requests. If you need to exercise the gardens are large and well-tended. There is a barbeque which we have not used yet but hope to. An excellent place to re-charge your batteries. We would like to stay again.

I would recommend this accommodation for a family, couple or groups of friends.




Quite a long stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cartlodge surpassed all our expectations. It felt so homely and the views are stunning. We felt like we had the biggest garden! The host is ever helpful and we felt so comfortable. Would definitely recommend a visit to the Cartlodge at Higham!