FB Twitter

THE BIRDS NEST

THE BIRDS NEST

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The Bird’s Nest offers Suite-type accommodation to sleep 2, with the addition of several extra amenities which will all add to providing a relaxing and memorable stay.
In addition to a multi-fuel wood burning fire, a full bathroom, goose down duvets and sumptuous linens, there are 2 Televisions with freeview , and lastly … the four velux windows situated above the bed (with remote opening and closing) offer beautiful night views of Galloway’s famous Dark Skies – for those lucky enough to enjoy clear skies. Ample parking, and of course just moments from the wonderful beach at Carrick.

Love this place.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Love staying here. It is such a beautiful location and I always relax instantly. I really didn't want to leave tis time particularly as the weather was really kind with plenty of October sunshine. The only challenge and downside is the access road. I avoid moving the car as the road really does need some repair to make it feel safe for vehicles other than SUV/Jeep style car.



Donald replied 26 days ago
Hello Stephanie, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such amazing surroundings and we are really pleased you had good weather for your stay. Thank you also for the points raised regarding the road.

Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gem of a holiday cottage the best I have stayed in. It was a stunning property so clean and they had thought of everything. The walks were amazing the beach wow…. Can’t wait to return… my only regret didn’t book for longer.



Donald replied 31 days ago
Hello Fiona, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very lucky to have such wonderful surroundings and there is so much to see and do in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Perfect relaxation by the sea

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely retreat, extremely comfortable and very well set up. Everything you need and a few extra touches in a wonderful place.



Donald replied 45 days ago
Hello Melanie. thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The Bird's Nest is situated in an idyllic position for a relaxing break. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely and peaceful short break and a perfect size property for 2. What a shame I couldn’t stay longer!



Donald replied 45 days ago
Hello Emma, it was lovely to welcome you to the Bird's Nest recently. We are situated in the perfect spot for a relaxing break and it's great local amenities are only a short drive away. Our area has so much to offer our guests and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Cosy cottage in a scenic location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week staying in Bird's Nest which is a comfortable, warm and well equipped cottage. It is situated just off the beach at the Carrick Bay where we were blessed with some breathtaking sunsets. There are many beautiful places to explore nearby and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



Donald replied 54 days ago
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are so lucky to have such wonderful surroundings and our area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

A well thought out modernisation

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A property with bags of character. It has been thoroughly modernised in a thoughtful and tasteful way.
The setting is remote and quiet, just the place to unwind.
Four Velux windows in the sleeping area allow you to lie in bed and watch the stars - weather permitting.
I stayed for work, but my wife is asking when she can stay too!




Donald replied 54 days ago
Hello Adrian, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We would love to welcome you back so you can experience what our area has to offer our guests.

Peaceful haven

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very last minute decision and how lucky was I to find such an amazing little place, if you love peace and quiet and wonderful views this is perfect. Wish I could have stayed longer , was a much needed break away



Donald replied 68 days ago
Hello Joyce, thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The Bird's Nest is perfect for that peaceful getaway. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Wonderful and restful location

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bird’s Nest is a luxurious “bothy” with every detail thought out with guests comfort in mind. From the super soft bed linen to the full sized bath and the cosy log burner.
The location is superb just yards from glorious Carrick Bay. You really feel you are in a secret location only known by locals!
The raised decked area is superb affording beautiful views of the water but secluded to give privacy.
We have a wonderful week!!




Donald replied 68 days ago
Hello Ruth, many thanks for your lovely review. We work hard to make our guests experience a positive one and we are really pleased you have enjoyed your stay. The Bird's Nest really is a special place and a great option if you are looking for a peaceful getaway.

Birds Nest

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed in birds nest for the last couple of years and it is a little gem of a place.
It is very well equipped and extremely comfortable although we did have to borrow some pillows from our Family staying in owl cote as they were very flat.
A wonderful place though one we hope we will return to year after year.
Thank you




Donald replied 89 days ago
Hello Patsy, thanks so much for leaving us a review of your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments. We feel The Bird's Nest is ideal for exploring our region, as our area has so much to offer our guests.

Very lovely

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bird's Nest is in a beautiful location and is very comfortable. Everyone was friendly too and it was very nice to meet the owners. The booking was very straightforward and attention to detail was excellent.



Donald replied 96 days ago
Hello Liz, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Excellent convenient accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay. Always great to come back year after year. Looking forward to a stay next year. We are already booked to return



Donald replied 124 days ago
Hello Catherine, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our area has so much to offer our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you back in the coming year.

5* Sanctuary

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the most perfect place to recharge your batteries, take stock and completely relax away from all the stresses of today's life. Bird's Nest provides all the creature comforts that you require, and is luxuriously and comfortably equipped. The bed is super comfy and the bathroom worthy of a 5* hotel. Molly (my dog) and I have just enjoyed a wonderful week staying here and would have liked to have stayed for much longer. We walked a lot, and discovered lots of different places from my stay here in October 2020. We did the Kircudbright Art Tours with the lovely Fiona - although I have to confess that Molly was more interested in the sniffs than in the tour! The weather wasn’t that brilliant (the rest of the UK was basking in a heatwave), but that didn’t affect our activities at all.

My favourite thing? Early morning and last thing at night walks on the beach, completely on our own - and of course it doesn’t get dark until about 10.15 pm! Just glorious.




Donald replied 166 days ago
Hi Sally, many thanks for leaving us a review of your recent stay. The Bird's Nest is perfect for that peaceful getaway and it is so well located for lots of activities around the region. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future.

Wonderful cottage in idyllic location

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully equipped and luxurious cottage - perfect for couple and small dog. Everything for a lovely stay thought of - milk/tea and biscuits just right after a 7 hour drive.
The location is stunning - just near the bay/beach perfect for early morning walks watching he waves and checking out the sunset with a glass of fizz! The added bonus of the raised terrace is a brilliant idea. The owners really have thought of everything that is needed for a smooth relaxing vacation, and are very courteous and helpful.
Some people said there should be an oven but we managed with the hobs and microwave. Also good places to eat out a short drive away
We absolutely loved it (including Buster) and will be back !!




Donald replied 173 days ago
Hi Elaine, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The Bird's Nest is ideal for that peaceful getaway and we are pleased you had a good experience during your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

PERFECT GET AWAY

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend at The Birds Nest, bed is soooo comfy, we just wanted somewhere quiet and out of the way and this is the perfect spot. 2 minutes from the beach, long walks to clear the cobwebs of the past year working no stop.

The only thing that i feel was missing was a washing machine, if I was staying longer than the weekend and the last thing large bath towels as i am not as slim as i used to be..

This is a wee treasure in the most peaceful and tranquil paradise you could wish for..

Will be back.




Donald replied 194 days ago
Hi Mandy, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay we really appreciate your comments. Bird's Nest is perfect for that peaceful getaway and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Great wee find

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect except for the weather - very luxurious little Bothy ideally situated right next to Owl Cote For extra family members. Will definitely be back.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
HI Diane, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Birds Nest and we are pleased you had a positive experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon and the weather improves for your next visit.

Very good but some limitations

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxed stay, well prepared accommodation, excellent standard of the fittings available and good info regarding directions. This is very good as an annex to Owlcote, but is more limited as a stand alone cottage. The area is ideal as a get away from it all. Would recommend as an addition to the large cottage, but with caution as a stand alone as limited options if you want to ‘self cater’.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lynda, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bird's Nest. All of the amenities are as advertised but we really appreciate your comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Beautiful piece of paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay to BN/Owlcote and it didn’t disappoint! Huge comfortable bed and linens of an excellent quality. Very clean and tidy. We’ve not stayed for longer than 4 nights before and our only constructive criticism is the lack of storage. It would be lovely to have better drawers at the side of the bed. It’s extremely cosy and perfect for a romantic getaway. Be prepared for the absence of a cooker but we managed with the two ring stove and microwave. We usually eat out more but didn’t this time due to Covid. The owner and manager lovely to deal with and it’s reassuring to know that it is a managed property should you have any issues. I do think it’s become more expensive but it has a lot to offer. The beautiful bay only a minute walk away. Gorgeous sunsets on the elevated decking was a beautiful way to end the day!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sarah, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback. We are pleased you had great experience and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Birds Nest

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second stay in birds nest and just as lovely as always.
It has everything you need in a compact cosy well thought out space.
Good to book owl cote too for bigger parties and share the cooking
Hopefully back next year




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Patsy, it was lovely that we could welcome you back to Birds Nest and it is great we have Owl Cote to offer for those who require more space depending on the number of guests. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Perfect costal retreat in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a pleasant surprise this little gem was. Carrick shore and bay is a fantastic costal retreat, ideal for sea activities, costal walks and well located for exploring Dumfries & Galloway tourist route. Loved it and did not want to fly the nest.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Gary, thank you very much for your lovely review. Your feedback is much appreciated. Our area offers so much for our visitors and it is great that we have so many local attractions and activities. We are delighted you had a great stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.

Fabulous location in a warm cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, warm and airy - quite bijou but with everything you need. A very short walk to the beach



Nice small cottage beautiful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good small accomodation, clean good parking but terrible rough track to get to the houses, beware if you have a low suspension car. Beautiful bay beach virtually on the doorstep.
Fairly long drive to any shops if you are used to urban life.
Nice romantic place for a couple.